Dublin Vs Galway

I predict a 3-5pt win for Dublin. The lads with another week's training under their belts and I'd say Jim will be making at least 3 or 4 changes to the starting line up on Saturday. I think Gavin realises the need for an extended break this year as it's another year with more miles in the legs especially for a few of the more experienced lads. I have to chuckle at the reactions of some people on the performance v Monaghan. First day out regardless of how much training Dublin had done, regardless of who was unavailable etc was always going to be a potential banana skin. I think getting a good tough game under the belts, trying a couple of new lads and importantly not getting any significant injuries are all great plus points to take away from Sunday's game. I'm happy to sit back and congratulate Monaghan on a fine victory but also have full faith that our lads will be peaking later this year just like they always do and produce the goods.

I would love to see Connolly back this year but I just can't see it happening. I did hear that a core group of the panel didn't in fact want him back though, too disruptive an influence and some players just had enough of it. Anyone else hear this??

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 29/01/2019 09:13:44    2160624

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I predict a 3-5pt win for Dublin. The lads with another week's training under their belts and I'd say Jim will be making at least 3 or 4 changes to the starting line up on Saturday. I think Gavin realises the need for an extended break this year as it's another year with more miles in the legs especially for a few of the more experienced lads. I have to chuckle at the reactions of some people on the performance v Monaghan. First day out regardless of how much training Dublin had done, regardless of who was unavailable etc was always going to be a potential banana skin. I think getting a good tough game under the belts, trying a couple of new lads and importantly not getting any significant injuries are all great plus points to take away from Sunday's game. I'm happy to sit back and congratulate Monaghan on a fine victory but also have full faith that our lads will be peaking later this year just like they always do and produce the goods.

I would love to see Connolly back this year but I just can't see it happening. I did hear that a core group of the panel didn't in fact want him back though, too disruptive an influence and some players just had enough of it. Anyone else hear this??"
I've heard it but I don't believe a word of it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/01/2019 11:02:04    2160659

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I've heard it but I don't believe a word of it."
Nah...no truth to that. It's up to Connolly and Connolly alone if he wants to play. Gavin doesnt dance to the tune of his players. As it should be.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/01/2019 11:28:42    2160665

Galway have the players to put it to Dublin but im guessing they will roll over and be happy with a 5-6 point defeat saving their energy for other opponents.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 29/01/2019 13:48:50    2160719

Replying To Vishred:  "Galway have the players to put it to Dublin but im guessing they will roll over and be happy with a 5-6 point defeat saving their energy for other opponents."
Interesting perspective. I don't expect to roll over but expect Dublin to win primarily with them losing last Sunday. Us winning with a mixed performance against Cavan was vital as the hope I guess is to give more game time to newbies until the injured/ other committments are gone.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 29/01/2019 17:38:51    2160777

Replying To kiloughter:  "Interesting perspective. I don't expect to roll over but expect Dublin to win primarily with them losing last Sunday. Us winning with a mixed performance against Cavan was vital as the hope I guess is to give more game time to newbies until the injured/ other committments are gone."
What he is saying is Galway rolling over is much the same as what Mayo did v Kerry Tyrone Dublin and ourselves last year in the league.. Mayo's ould fellas saved their energy to grasp a draw v Donegal.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 29/01/2019 18:43:41    2160784

Come on Galway. Let's beat the Dubs.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 29/01/2019 22:04:14    2160820

Replying To Vishred:  "Galway have the players to put it to Dublin but im guessing they will roll over and be happy with a 5-6 point defeat saving their energy for other opponents."
Well for a start they would need a full deck of players to deal from to put it up to the Dubs which Galway definitely won't have next Saturday. By all accounts they are not targeting the league this year like they did last year and Kevin Walsh would be content to just stay up and maybe find a new player or two. It's pretty much a free hit against Dublin next weekend. Dublin will want to get points on the board after the Monaghan game so I would expect it to be close for a while but Dublin to pull away in the end.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 30/01/2019 00:18:25    2160846

Dublin have a better pick of players for this game, hope Galway can show some character and get the win

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 30/01/2019 20:57:33    2161053

Galway have a chance here especially if McMahon,O'Sullivan,McCaffrey,McCarthy,Kilkenny are out again and as last sunday proved the dubs are no where near as strong and more beatable without those players, plus Dublin have little training done right now so Galway are getting them at a good time.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 31/01/2019 12:31:07    2161164

They streamed live the DIT v UCD game last night , Liam Silke stood out a mile he's some player reminds me of Lee Keegan.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/01/2019 12:38:28    2161165

Very good player alright but I'd be surprised if he played for Galway again in the league unless Corofin lose their semi-final.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 31/01/2019 14:04:36    2161185

Replying To Marooned:  "Very good player alright but I'd be surprised if he played for Galway again in the league unless Corofin lose their semi-final."
Personally I want a Corofin v Crokes final

The two best club teams let's see who the best is, it will be some final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/01/2019 14:22:51    2161189

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I predict a 3-5pt win for Dublin. The lads with another week's training under their belts and I'd say Jim will be making at least 3 or 4 changes to the starting line up on Saturday. I think Gavin realises the need for an extended break this year as it's another year with more miles in the legs especially for a few of the more experienced lads. I have to chuckle at the reactions of some people on the performance v Monaghan. First day out regardless of how much training Dublin had done, regardless of who was unavailable etc was always going to be a potential banana skin. I think getting a good tough game under the belts, trying a couple of new lads and importantly not getting any significant injuries are all great plus points to take away from Sunday's game. I'm happy to sit back and congratulate Monaghan on a fine victory but also have full faith that our lads will be peaking later this year just like they always do and produce the goods.

I would love to see Connolly back this year but I just can't see it happening. I did hear that a core group of the panel didn't in fact want him back though, too disruptive an influence and some players just had enough of it. Anyone else hear this??"
Nice positive post and also when you think about it ye only about 5 more away games left this year.

Sorted.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2019 14:37:31    2161191

Any season ticket holders able to print the tickets yet? I presume we have to print the tickets rather than use the card because it's assigned seating in Croker.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 31/01/2019 16:11:04    2161225

Replying To Rocky.Road:  "Any season ticket holders able to print the tickets yet? I presume we have to print the tickets rather than use the card because it's assigned seating in Croker."
Usually up on the Thurs evening a chara.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/01/2019 17:39:26    2161250

Replying To TheUsername:  "Usually up on the Thurs evening a chara."
Will be available after 1PM tomorrow. They sent an email earlier this week.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 31/01/2019 19:21:07    2161263

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Nice positive post and also when you think about it ye only about 5 more away games left this year.

Sorted."
The Dublin obsession continues ! so sad .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/01/2019 19:45:07    2161268

Did you see what that Indo hack Ewan McKenna said about Dublin? Typical horrible journalism.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 31/01/2019 23:11:41    2161300

Galway with Liam Silke in defense and with their lethal forwards will be even better this season. Silke is going to a huge addition to the Galway team in championship football.

Galway forwards cause the Dublin defense more trouble than any other team in the championship last year especially the first half , 2nd half our mid field took over and the Galway forwards were starved of possession.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/02/2019 09:24:43    2161337