NFL Division 2

Replying To Foley91:  "Don't understand fermanagh mentality. Today they at least needed a win but when losing stilled pulled everyone behind the ball when they had a strong wind. Meath really could have just kicked the ball over and back across the pitch to run down the clock and really should have even though it would have been an horrific spectacle. Similar to the clip of the northern schools match that was floated on social media a few weeks ago. There has to be a rule change whereby 4 towards must stay in each half and ball can not return back past half way. Congrats to meath."
Agreed. They got about 10 chances in the first 10 minutes to score because we kept running at them. We should have played keep ball for 10mins and laughed at them. They had to win by 10 so come and get it.

Apart from that first 15mins it was a good performance.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/03/2019 20:42:55    2174948

Delighted to go up.

Congrats donegal. You deserved it. I'm sad we didn't beat you though because Fermanagh would have went up and I think that would have been 2 points for us next year in Div 1 no disrespect to them. You'll obviously be a harder Div 1 team.

See you on Saturday. Up the green and gold, Meath, Liatroim and Donegal.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/03/2019 20:47:22    2174951

A big congrats to my old friend RD.

The head on you tomorrow will indeed be a thing to behold.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/03/2019 21:14:41    2174981

Congrats to Meath on confirming their inevitable promotion after last weekends results. Ye have ur opportunity to put right the wrongs of that night in Ballybofey now next weekend in Croker.

Kildare were very poor today and from a neutral perspective have dropped off from last season. The Kildare supporters pessimism here does look justified even though I was apprehensive when reading in the build up to the game. I thought ye done well in the Super 8's and would have done better if ye kept ur full compliment of players on the pitch. I did expect more especially with winning last years U-20 All Ireland but ironically enough it was Donegal's U-20's from last year who shun despite getting dumped out of that competition early to a Derry side we should have been beating.

In terms of Donegal it ended up been a satisfying campaign despite some mixed performances. At the start of the campaign getting promotion but also getting games into unproven players were the main aims so both boxes ticked there. I did say before a ball was kicked that if Donegal got themselves into a position to go up it would likely be achieved with the cavalry to return which proved to be correct. The return of Leo and MM really steadied the ship. However what was really encouraging was that this coincided with some of our younger lads going to another level too.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 24/03/2019 21:38:25    2174990

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Delighted to go up.

Congrats donegal. You deserved it. I'm sad we didn't beat you though because Fermanagh would have went up and I think that would have been 2 points for us next year in Div 1 no disrespect to them. You'll obviously be a harder Div 1 team.

See you on Saturday. Up the green and gold, Meath, Liatroim and Donegal."
Why not Kerry ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/03/2019 21:54:55    2175003

some serious brown tongue-ing goin down on this thread by the way between Donegal and Meath fans :)

Whats that all about ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/03/2019 21:56:17    2175005

Congratulations to Meath... it's been too long. Thought I'd be going to the league final with a Meath mate to take in the Div 1 and 2 finals, but some eejit saw fit to put them on different days. A bit sh*te really...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/03/2019 22:44:39    2175024

Replying To waynoI:  "some serious brown tongue-ing goin down on this thread by the way between Donegal and Meath fans :)

Whats that all about ?"
To be fair I noticed that and it made me throw up.

It's a race to be the nicest supporter in the world. Pass the bucket.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/03/2019 22:48:04    2175028

Replying To waynoI:  "some serious brown tongue-ing goin down on this thread by the way between Donegal and Meath fans :)

Whats that all about ?"
No idea and a good point! Wasn't a willing participant myself. There's a Meath poster who would nearly put me off the whole lot of them with his ravings.. Be hoping to put them to the sword next weekend.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 24/03/2019 22:49:09    2175029

Whats that all about ?"
Not often we both have something to celebrate at the same time!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/03/2019 22:59:28    2175034

Whats that all about ?"
I think the two teams understand and respect each other after this campaign.

Donegal fans accept Meath were the best team overall in Division and deserve to sit top.

As I said before it was great to have Donegal supporters commiserate after our loss in Donegal not often you get that but just doesn't seem to be a bitter sort of rivalry there

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 24/03/2019 23:38:18    2175051

Replying To waynoI:  "Why not Kerry ?"
They play Sunday? Anyway I'll be cheering for Mayo in that one

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/03/2019 23:39:03    2175052

A county like Cork been relegated to Div 3 for the first time is a shocking indictment on the set up in Cork. The number of fiascos involving Cork over the last few years is shocking, those at the top have been culpable. What happened with PUC took away focus on footballers.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 25/03/2019 01:08:34    2175079

Disappointing start to the year for both Tipp teams. I thought before the league started our footballers would do well but we were poor throughout and looked like we would go down.

It would have been cruel on Clare if we had stayed up at their expense. Tipp and Cork were definitely the weakest teams in division 2 this year. Congrats to Donegal and Meath on their promotion to Division 1.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/03/2019 03:17:48    2175087

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A big congrats to my old friend RD.

The head on you tomorrow will indeed be a thing to behold."
Oh jasus it's not good this morning, thanks my old friend. It's been a long time coming.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2019 07:08:54    2175092

Replying To waynoI:  "Why not Kerry ?"
Because Kerry are playing Sunday. It's only Div 3 & 4 on Saturday.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 25/03/2019 07:37:53    2175099

Replying To kildare73:  "Well done to Meath and Donegal. The best two teams in the division without a doubt. Best of luck in the year ahead and for life in Div 1. Congrats. If anyone can't identify Cloud 9.........it's the one RD is dancing on:)"
Oh yeah. Thrilled delighted.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2019 07:47:51    2175103

I'm absolutely over the moon this morning, well done to all involved in the Meath set up and to the coaches who put in all the hours at underage level on their own time.

I remember being in Navan in 2006 for an NFL Div1 game v Kildare which we lost by 0-13 to 0-12 I think it was, and that's the last time I attended a Meath game in Div1. Ultimately we got relegated after winning 3 games and I remember thinking 'well that's a little bit unlucky but sure it won't too long before we're back in Div1'......little did I know!

Undoubtedly we'll have to keep improving to remain in Div1 but this promotion represents a huge opportunity to progress even further. For me growing up Meath should be in Div1, but for kids across the county this is uncharted territory, they've never seen Meath achieve anything. This is hugely important because they're the future of Meath football, my playing days are done, they need something to look up to and this is a big help.

Anyway, congrats to Meath and Donegal, commiserations to Fermanagh and Kildare for missing out and hard luck to Cork and Tipp for making the drop. Hard to believe Cork in particular will be playing Div3 football next season but I'm sure they'll recover.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2019 08:44:14    2175118

Replying To thecraw1:  "Kildare people always seem to have an excuse blaming managers or referees or pitches or weather maybe the players need to have a look at themselves. I know you have lost players this year but you did win a u20 all Ireland so should be better than you have been showing not always the managers fault"
There are players sitting on the bench that can and do shoot the lights out when on the field... Cian Oneill is consistently fielding Paddy Brophy even when he is in atrocious form and obviously having massive confidence issues. Its hard to watch and unfair on the player i think. Kildare fans are livid because we have the raw material for a great team but lads are not happy to sit on a bench so are leaving the panel, heading to america etc

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 25/03/2019 09:35:05    2175141

Well done Meath and Donegal.

Meath were the best team in the division by a bit.

Congrats royal Dunne. I told you we would meet again in the final.

Saturday will be a really good game..

Think it will be open.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 25/03/2019 09:40:52    2175143