NFL Division 2

Jim hearing from beyond the pale times changed and severe weather warnings, any truth to these ???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2019 13:36:17    2172221

Kildare, Armagh, Donegal and Clare all to win.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 14/03/2019 17:59:07    2172245

Replying To katser:  "Kildare, Armagh, Donegal and Clare all to win."
That be some turn around for Clare if they could do it. Their heaviest defeats of both campaigns for last 2 years came against Meath. So fair play if they have came on that much while Meath have improved too

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2019 18:58:17    2172255

Replying To royaldunne:  "That be some turn around for Clare if they could do it. Their heaviest defeats of both campaigns for last 2 years came against Meath. So fair play if they have came on that much while Meath have improved too"
Every team is prone to an off week in the league. Didn't down beat roscommon last year and get relegated. We beat Meath very easily last year and beaten this year. I would say looking overall at Clare the last few years that Meath match was an uncharacteristically poor performance and not one to judge them on

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 14/03/2019 19:32:07    2172262

Replying To royaldunne:  "That be some turn around for Clare if they could do it. Their heaviest defeats of both campaigns for last 2 years came against Meath. So fair play if they have came on that much while Meath have improved too"
I guess it's not really a game Meath can afford to lose or Clare either...... for different reasons, so there is a lot at stake for both teams with the way Division 2 is? Meath would probably be desperate for a win in Ennis to be sure of promotion with a tricky last game at home to come

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 14/03/2019 20:30:45    2172276

Replying To katser:  "I guess it's not really a game Meath can afford to lose or Clare either...... for different reasons, so there is a lot at stake for both teams with the way Division 2 is? Meath would probably be desperate for a win in Ennis to be sure of promotion with a tricky last game at home to come"
Actually as it turns out (assuming donegal win both their games ) this is not a game that really matters to Meath in the big scheme of things, it all hinges on Fermanagh on last day, we could win this by 20 points and get beat by 1 v Fermanagh and not go up, on the other side we could lose by 10 v Clare and scraping a 1 point win v Fermanagh. And be promoted, just as it turns out

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2019 21:07:05    2172282

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually as it turns out (assuming donegal win both their games ) this is not a game that really matters to Meath in the big scheme of things, it all hinges on Fermanagh on last day, we could win this by 20 points and get beat by 1 v Fermanagh and not go up, on the other side we could lose by 10 v Clare and scraping a 1 point win v Fermanagh. And be promoted, just as it turns out"
If the Clare game doesn't really matter to Meath and they can afford to lose it, then Meath could be in a position.... depending on and relying on needing to scrape a 1pt win on the last day against a team in a similar situation in a 50/50 game which could go either way.... but then again assumption is the mother of all f...ups!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 14/03/2019 22:31:06    2172299

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually as it turns out (assuming donegal win both their games ) this is not a game that really matters to Meath in the big scheme of things, it all hinges on Fermanagh on last day, we could win this by 20 points and get beat by 1 v Fermanagh and not go up, on the other side we could lose by 10 v Clare and scraping a 1 point win v Fermanagh. And be promoted, just as it turns out"
But funny enough if Donegal meath and fermanagh all win this weekend then fermanagh are promoted no matter what happens on the last day, but if fermanagh and Donegal win but meath lose then fermanagh could lose out on score difference on the last day providing Donegal win and meath beat fermanagh. So strangely enough it's in fermanagh's best interest providing they beat armagh this weekend to see meath beat clare, Confusing

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 14/03/2019 22:38:58    2172301

That only works if we lose to Armagh.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/03/2019 09:18:27    2172332

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jim hearing from beyond the pale times changed and severe weather warnings, any truth to these ???"
Any games that fall foul to expected bad weather will be played Sun/Mon. Calls need to be made asap

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 15/03/2019 16:24:17    2172412

Meath Armagh Kildare Donegal

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 15/03/2019 18:13:55    2172432

Replying To seadog54:  "Any games that fall foul to expected bad weather will be played Sun/Mon. Calls need to be made asap"
Ok back in land of Emerald Isle. Nice break if exhausting, now back to the real passion, any word on game going ahead??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/03/2019 21:11:54    2172471

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok back in land of Emerald Isle. Nice break if exhausting, now back to the real passion, any word on game going ahead??"
Update from Chronicle, Ennis pitch is in good order and game will go ahead, would still check in morning before setting off.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 15/03/2019 22:04:12    2172475

Replying To seadog54:  "Update from Chronicle, Ennis pitch is in good order and game will go ahead, would still check in morning before setting off."
Thanks for that. The weather pretty bad where I am at min.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/03/2019 07:18:20    2172504

Bring it on. We are on the cusp of promotion, today in ennis is a big day, despite the weather I yet again like in cork expect Meath supporters to outnumber Clare. As Andy said there is something happening here, the players can feel it the fans can feel it, there has been many false dawns for Meath since 99, 07,09,10. But this for some reason feels different.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/03/2019 07:45:52    2172508

Replying To royaldunne:  "Bring it on. We are on the cusp of promotion, today in ennis is a big day, despite the weather I yet again like in cork expect Meath supporters to outnumber Clare. As Andy said there is something happening here, the players can feel it the fans can feel it, there has been many false dawns for Meath since 99, 07,09,10. But this for some reason feels different.
Hon the royal."
Isn't the month of March during the league a bit early for these kinds of statements? I really hope you're right though, I would love if Meath could get back up the ladder and challenge Dublin in championship. We could have a Leinster championship again.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 16/03/2019 09:33:00    2172518

Replying To royaldunne:  "Bring it on. We are on the cusp of promotion, today in ennis is a big day, despite the weather I yet again like in cork expect Meath supporters to outnumber Clare. As Andy said there is something happening here, the players can feel it the fans can feel it, there has been many false dawns for Meath since 99, 07,09,10. But this for some reason feels different.
Hon the royal."
Too much sugar in the tea rd we win division 2 titles for fun, the next step up will tell u were ye are.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 16/03/2019 09:54:05    2172530

Replying To kildare73:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "Allianz FL Division 2 round 6
Clare v Meath, Cusack Park, 2pm Clare by 1 point
Cork v Donegal, Pairc Ui Rinn, 2pm Cork by 1 point
Kildare v Tipperary, Newbridge, 2.30pm Kildare by 3 points
Armagh v Fermanagh, Athletic Grounds, 3pm Armagh by 1 point"
I think Meath and Donegal will win away, hopefully our lads will beat Tipp and Armagh/Fermanagh is a coin toss. Meath very much have promotion in their hands and I don't expect them to blow it. Second place in the division is between Fermanagh and Donegal, even if Kildare beat Tipp I wouldn't fancy us getting something in Donegal on the last day with the home side possibly needing the points. If Fermanagh go up it will be an excellent performance by them even if i have my reservations about their style, you can't take it away from them over 7 games."
Donegal have rarely picked up points away in Pairc Ui Rinn over the last 10 years or so, its a match that could go either way. Cork started very poorly, but look to be finally waking up.

I would expect Kildare to beat Tipperary, although Tipp are not to be taken lightly, as they have shown repeatedly this year.

Armagh v Fermanagh was one I thought would be a tight battle, Fermanagh have looked the stronger so far this season, and with Armagh missing a couple of players, I think Fermanagh might squeeze out a win. One thing about Armagh though, when they decide to play, they are an excellent team, with quality footballers. This is my tie of the round, I expect a lot of cards as the two teams have played a lot in recent seasons. I want Armagh to win it, but think Fermanagh will.

Meath should beat Clare, and win promotion. Clare have played extremely well this year, but this Meath team are focused and on a mission now, the Royals will win this comfortably.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 16/03/2019 10:14:07    2172538

Clare v Meath off. I hope you are not on the road already RD? That's a long drive to Ennis!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 16/03/2019 10:59:27    2172556

Who are we losing to today:D

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 16/03/2019 12:04:17    2172570