Hurling Gets All The Plaudits But Is It Played Within The Rules?

As we look forward to 2019 all the talk is centered on the football code and the recent rule changes. as always we'll have a mixture of good and bad, the good possibly being the offensive mark and limiting the hand pass with the bad having to go forward from a line ball and the sin bin (I just hate the sin bin in any sport including Rugby) it just leads to a lull in the game where most viewers are just hoping it ends without influencing the result of the game too much and without VAR it's a cop out for refs and it'll lead to much debate.

Hurling on the other hand gets all the plaudits but is the game played within the rules? I don't think so. Its common place now for players to take 7,8,9 steps in most situations, throwing the ball is now accepted by all refs, anything goes in the tackle and something needs to be done regarding the scoring zone. Why anyone would wish to play in the full back or full forward lines in hurling is beyond me as the ball just keeps going over their heads. Its not a skill any more to hit a ball from sixty, seventy yards over the crossbar and its ruining the game. where would the great inside forwards such as Nicky English, pat fox, jb murphy, noel lane, eddie brennan, tony doran, tomas mulcahy, joe deane etc fit in to the modern game today? and finally aside from croke park and maybe semple the smaller provincial pitches are not suitable for inter county hurling today.

when you pare it back and take away the crazy tackling (UFC with sticks) the overzealous and often embarrassing punditry of the likes of tommy walsh, micheal duighan and john mullane it's not what it's made out to be.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 28/11/2018 08:59:42    2152681

Why anyone would wish to play in the full back or full forward lines in hurling is beyond me as the ball just keeps going over their heads.
What a ridiculous statement, just add up how much full forward lines score.

Its not a skill any more to hit a ball from sixty, seventy yards over the crossbar and its ruining the game.

It is a skill, and a very difficult one at that.

where would the great inside forwards such as Nicky English, pat fox, jb murphy, noel lane, eddie brennan, tony doran, tomas mulcahy, joe deane etc fit in to the modern game today?

If they were good enough to play at the increase tempo and skill then probably in the same positions as they were in their hayday. Graeme Mulchahy wouldn't be too dissimilar to Joe Deane, Jonathan Glynn is often played in the Tony Doran role, Patrick Horgan is every bit the player that JBM was.

and finally aside from croke park and maybe semple the smaller provincial pitches are not suitable for inter county hurling today.

Why? Which are the smaller ones you refer to? Gaelic Grounds? Pairc Ui Choimh? Pearse Stadium? Wexford Park? Nowlan Park?

Im actually surprised that I am even bothering to respond to such a ridiculous post

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 28/11/2018 10:17:27    2152686

Sure the rule book was thrown out of Hurling years ago :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/11/2018 10:47:38    2152693

Replying To 890202:  "Why anyone would wish to play in the full back or full forward lines in hurling is beyond me as the ball just keeps going over their heads.
What a ridiculous statement, just add up how much full forward lines score.

Its not a skill any more to hit a ball from sixty, seventy yards over the crossbar and its ruining the game.

It is a skill, and a very difficult one at that.

where would the great inside forwards such as Nicky English, pat fox, jb murphy, noel lane, eddie brennan, tony doran, tomas mulcahy, joe deane etc fit in to the modern game today?

If they were good enough to play at the increase tempo and skill then probably in the same positions as they were in their hayday. Graeme Mulchahy wouldn't be too dissimilar to Joe Deane, Jonathan Glynn is often played in the Tony Doran role, Patrick Horgan is every bit the player that JBM was.

and finally aside from croke park and maybe semple the smaller provincial pitches are not suitable for inter county hurling today.

Why? Which are the smaller ones you refer to? Gaelic Grounds? Pairc Ui Choimh? Pearse Stadium? Wexford Park? Nowlan Park?

Im actually surprised that I am even bothering to respond to such a ridiculous post"
Take the blinkers off good lad.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 28/11/2018 11:07:45    2152695

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Sure the rule book was thrown out of Hurling years ago :-)"
The OP's name should quickly explain his post! As the great Bob Dylan aptly put it years ago, "Don't criticize, what you don't understand."

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 28/11/2018 11:25:49    2152697

Replying To shoulderghost:  "The OP's name should quickly explain his post! As the great Bob Dylan aptly put it years ago, "Don't criticize, what you don't understand.""
enlighten me and welcome to Hoganstand

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 28/11/2018 11:34:40    2152698

Hurling is finished!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/11/2018 12:35:46    2152705

i was out on wexford park numerous times this year at half-time and to say that the sod was impeccable would be an understatement.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 28/11/2018 12:46:47    2152708

Hurling is the best field sport in the world full stop. However we cannot get complacent for two reasons. One is in fairness to the topic poster the rules are been flaunted. The second is these hybrid games will lead in someone deciding to make rule changes like football and ruin the game.
The thrown of the ball is ignored. Simple, from the stick to the free hand and a striking motion. Not thrown up and pushed or thrown forward with the same hand. Players are taking 6 or 7 steps with the ball because they are bottled up by third, fourth and fifth man coming in to tackle. Simple again, everyone can challenge for a loose ball. Once someone is in possession the first to challenge him can shoulder, block or hook him. Enforce the third man tackle rule. The others will move away from the ball is what you want. This will control the rucks we are getting.
As I would say about football enforce the existing rules. Hurling being such a dynamic games some of the cracks creeping in can get covered over.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 28/11/2018 14:35:01    2152723

Hurling is a great game but it's failure to break out of it's traditional heartlands in the last 120 odd years is disappointing.

It seems to be going a little backwards if anything with the decline of traditional hurling counties like Antrim and Offaly in the last 15/20 years.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 28/11/2018 14:50:20    2152727

Replying To Canuck:  "Hurling is the best field sport in the world full stop. However we cannot get complacent for two reasons. One is in fairness to the topic poster the rules are been flaunted. The second is these hybrid games will lead in someone deciding to make rule changes like football and ruin the game.
The thrown of the ball is ignored. Simple, from the stick to the free hand and a striking motion. Not thrown up and pushed or thrown forward with the same hand. Players are taking 6 or 7 steps with the ball because they are bottled up by third, fourth and fifth man coming in to tackle. Simple again, everyone can challenge for a loose ball. Once someone is in possession the first to challenge him can shoulder, block or hook him. Enforce the third man tackle rule. The others will move away from the ball is what you want. This will control the rucks we are getting.
As I would say about football enforce the existing rules. Hurling being such a dynamic games some of the cracks creeping in can get covered over."
Fair play to you. We can't get complacent is 100% spot on. Reason I say fair play to u is not sarcasm it is because most hurling people cannot accept that the game is anything but perfect and even constructive criticism is attacked.

Sin bin is much better than black card and I would always hope it affects the result because it should punish cynical behaviour. However I heard a good alternative from Michael Quirke (former Kerry player) move frees for these offences 50 meters forward. Easier to implement and guarantees a score most of the time.

Hurling is in good place but I have noticed some things that need to be looked at. While there was huge scores this year bar one or two games I thought the man on man intensity was missing (eg Galway v Tipp 3 years in a row). A lot of short passing before the tackle and points being scored from 70 yards +. We won an All Ireland without scoring a goal except for the first round. Is the ball becoming too light like golf? Obviously we cannot extend pitches that easily so maybe we need to look at this.

Cynical play also exists in hurling and needs to be refereed. Maybe a sin bin needs to happen in hurling too. Don't wait until it is becoming epidemic, fix it now. It is definitely increasing. I remember our full back body slamming S Callinan to stop him scoring a goal (coulda/shoulda been red). Hurling is not a game of saints.

Hurling is a great game but don't get complacent!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 28/11/2018 15:07:38    2152728

Ok some are saying the ball is being thrown or pushed, the rule says a striking motion, it doesn't say what height it can be struck at. I do think some of the tackling is getting more dangerous and I also think the helmet is not fit for purpose way too many facial and ear injuries. Now if the ball is made heavier it will probably kill someone. Imagine making the ball heavier and a keeper standing in goal for a penalty? a ball to the throat or spleen could do some terrible damage and all this because some footballers want the rules "balanced" with football!!!

To reduce the scoring from free counts make technical frees (two many steps, picking ball off ground, throwing ball etc) indirect frees - simple or you can only score from a free in your own half. Making the ball heavier is not on for player welfare alone.

But overall there is not much wrong with the game, it is fast, free flowing, vibrant, hugely skillful and a joy to watch. The fact is it is declining in some counties and has failed miserably to make any break through in other counties. But a lot of counties north of the Dublin/Galway line are not interested they only want to go toe to toe with the Dubs in football so they are not interested in promoting the game at all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 28/11/2018 17:52:37    2152749

Replying To arock:  "Ok some are saying the ball is being thrown or pushed, the rule says a striking motion, it doesn't say what height it can be struck at. I do think some of the tackling is getting more dangerous and I also think the helmet is not fit for purpose way too many facial and ear injuries. Now if the ball is made heavier it will probably kill someone. Imagine making the ball heavier and a keeper standing in goal for a penalty? a ball to the throat or spleen could do some terrible damage and all this because some footballers want the rules "balanced" with football!!!

To reduce the scoring from free counts make technical frees (two many steps, picking ball off ground, throwing ball etc) indirect frees - simple or you can only score from a free in your own half. Making the ball heavier is not on for player welfare alone.

But overall there is not much wrong with the game, it is fast, free flowing, vibrant, hugely skillful and a joy to watch. The fact is it is declining in some counties and has failed miserably to make any break through in other counties. But a lot of counties north of the Dublin/Galway line are not interested they only want to go toe to toe with the Dubs in football so they are not interested in promoting the game at all."
Arock it is simple. From the stick to a striking action of the free hand. Except he is some kind of genius that will be from his shins to around his waste. If above that he will not pass successfully very often. It IS been thrown and pushed and that can be seen by a visually impaired man on a horse.
You do make some good points but again implement the rules as intended and then take a look. I believe the requirement for further rules will diminish.
P.S.
Standardize the hurley size (included the goalie)checked with a gauge. A red card if caught with an illegal stick. Standardize the ball weight. This will take care of some of the issues you mentioned.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 28/11/2018 19:07:11    2152756

Replying To mayomanic:  "As we look forward to 2019 all the talk is centered on the football code and the recent rule changes. as always we'll have a mixture of good and bad, the good possibly being the offensive mark and limiting the hand pass with the bad having to go forward from a line ball and the sin bin (I just hate the sin bin in any sport including Rugby) it just leads to a lull in the game where most viewers are just hoping it ends without influencing the result of the game too much and without VAR it's a cop out for refs and it'll lead to much debate.

Hurling on the other hand gets all the plaudits but is the game played within the rules? I don't think so. Its common place now for players to take 7,8,9 steps in most situations, throwing the ball is now accepted by all refs, anything goes in the tackle and something needs to be done regarding the scoring zone. Why anyone would wish to play in the full back or full forward lines in hurling is beyond me as the ball just keeps going over their heads. Its not a skill any more to hit a ball from sixty, seventy yards over the crossbar and its ruining the game. where would the great inside forwards such as Nicky English, pat fox, jb murphy, noel lane, eddie brennan, tony doran, tomas mulcahy, joe deane etc fit in to the modern game today? and finally aside from croke park and maybe semple the smaller provincial pitches are not suitable for inter county hurling today.

when you pare it back and take away the crazy tackling (UFC with sticks) the overzealous and often embarrassing punditry of the likes of tommy walsh, micheal duighan and john mullane it's not what it's made out to be."
Congrats for living up to my life long belief that even the village idiot is entitled to his opinion, your comment is not worthy of debate

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/11/2018 20:05:33    2152764

some of ye lads are hard to believe. You have a championship game being played at full pelt then you have a referee stopping the game every two seconds for an over carry or a mistaking hand pass, who gets the the worst report from the same of you? yes ye have guessed it the referee for being over fussy and whistle happy. Theres no keeping ye happy at all. the reason the hurling championship was so good this year was because the way it is refed please dont be bringing football problems into hurling

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 28/11/2018 20:36:39    2152769

"when you pare it back and take away the crazy tackling (UFC with sticks) the overzealous and often embarrassing punditry of the likes of tommy walsh, micheal duighan and john mullane it's not what it's made out to be. "

When you pare back any game with the level of cynicism youve afforded hurling then all sports are not what they are made out to be. Ridiculous post.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 28/11/2018 22:21:25    2152778

Sport goes in cycles that much we can all agree, football has issues but there seems to be massive disagreements to what's required, some believe leave well alone others can't stand watching evolution of the game , new rules to be trialed have been met by and large with hostility , but they are footballs problems and looking at another code to make you feel better about yourself ain't helping anyone , personally don't have any issues with hurling ay t the moment but as cycles go that could change , biggest issue for hurling is old boys club not putting enough into helping counties to bridge the sizable gap that's there being satisfied with a 10 county hurling fraternity

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/11/2018 22:36:27    2152781

The standardisation of match day sliotars is something that needs to be looked at for sure. There are any amount of various brands of sliotars all carrying the official CLG stamp and the differences between them can be huge. You'll never see anything else other than an oneills football being used for championship. Hurling needs to do the same as opposed to each keeper using a bag of his favourite type.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 29/11/2018 09:40:29    2152796

Replying To Bon:  "The standardisation of match day sliotars is something that needs to be looked at for sure. There are any amount of various brands of sliotars all carrying the official CLG stamp and the differences between them can be huge. You'll never see anything else other than an oneills football being used for championship. Hurling needs to do the same as opposed to each keeper using a bag of his favourite type."
I'm sure I read that is happening, that some new sliothar is being developed with a chip inside it to confirm it meets the standard. It will also be yellow rather than white to make it easier to see. They used them in the games in Boston and are now looking to have them for all games.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 29/11/2018 10:57:08    2152806

I agree 100% with -

"To reduce the scoring from free counts make technical frees (two many steps, picking ball off ground, throwing ball etc) indirect frees - simple or you can only score from a free in your own half. "

One of the reasons why the steps rule is not enforced is that the penalty is often a point for the opposition. Especially given that Goalkeepers regularly put it over from 100 yards.

I would add a couple other rule changes.

- Frees from the hand unless a score is being attempted.
- If you get a free, take it to yourself and keep running. Borrow from super 11s which in turn borrowed from Hockey.
- Shin pads mandatory. For heavens sake they are mandatory in soccer.
- A box mandatory for goalkeepers and defenders on the line from frees. (Again see hockey short corners)

I love hurling, but the way I watch it now is I record it and start watching at half time. I fast forward through all the frees. Makes it great.

shaneShankill (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 29/11/2018 11:09:04    2152808