Colm's Challenge

Replying To Whammo86:  "Some of what annoys me about this whole conversation is the presumption that there's something unfair going on.

There's nothing unfair here, life for different people is different. Someone circumstance in Dublin is different from someone in Kerry is different from someone in Antrim.

So what.

It's different in football, it's different in every other walk of life too.

The be all and end all of the Gaelic football experience is not just about winning the Sam Maguire. Only 30 people do that a year.

Football offers a hell of a lot to a lot of people.

As an Antrim man the woe is me guff that comes on here from predominantly Kerry and Meath people really grinds my gears.

You didn't care about parity for the 120 years before Dublin started winning."
How do you know we didn't care about parity for the last 120 years ?
There was no HoganStand or social midia before 10/15 years ago.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2018 12:51:53    2152292

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How do you know we didn't care about parity for the last 120 years ?
There was no HoganStand or social midia before 10/15 years ago."
There was the regular media.

No one was calling for Kerry to be split when they were winning all around them. In hurling no one was calling for it during Kilkenny's dominance.

Yes Dublin have advantages over other counties.

The 6 counties had plenty of disadvantages over the years that have to a large extent continued to today. This is a current issue that doesn't get much attention.

Rarely are the state of the game in Belfast or Derry hot talking points for these pundits.

The state of hurling in Connacht and Ulster is a very rare talking point.

You compare that to the number of threads on here talking about the Dubs and their advantages and it paints a clear picture to me that the motivation behind this is resentment that gets packaged up as a call for equity. It's pure bs and it really negatively impacts the quality of this forum in my opinion.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 24/11/2018 17:45:39    2152306

Replying To Whammo86:  "There was the regular media.

No one was calling for Kerry to be split when they were winning all around them. In hurling no one was calling for it during Kilkenny's dominance.

The 6 counties had plenty of disadvantages over the years that have to a large extent continued to today. This is a current issue that doesn't get much attention.

Rarely are the state of the game in Belfast or Derry hot talking points for these pundits.

You compare that to the number of threads on here talking about the Dubs and their advantages and it paints a clear picture to me that the motivation behind this is resentment that gets packaged up as a call for equity. It's pure bs and it really negatively impacts the quality of this forum in my opinion."
How could you split a county like Kerry with a population of 140,000? Or Kilkenny with a population of 70/80,000 ? That would be nuts especially as depopulation will see us finished in the next 15-20 years.

Ourselves and Kilkenny were always going to have a limited shelf life due to our small and fading populations but Dublin are doing something that has never been seen before in our sport.

Dublin are pulling away and the rift is only going to get bigger, you'll remember this in a few years when dubs are going for 8 , 9 or 10 in a row.

And wait till they sort their hurling team out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2018 19:09:21    2152314

Is this the right time to metinon that Kerry's population rose in the last census.

Sure their all traveling down from The Dublin, scaling mountains and swimming a lap of the country to get to training anyway. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/11/2018 19:40:59    2152315

I don't think O'Rourke is anti Dub. A lot of his article was about rural clubs struggling for numbers and comparing this to big clubs who have huge numbers. These big clubs have developed due to huge population growth. The success of the GAA was built on was the way the clubs connected to people in local small areas. If you were from a small area if you stuck with it there would be a good chance you would play for the club team as an adult (I mean a first team). This made the club teams very close to communities and was a big part of these communities identity. When clubs cover an area with a huge population its much harder for them to have the same connection to their local area. Less players get a chance to play for a first team. I think its better if if you have a few clubs covering a high population area as opposed to 1 big club. I think it would increase participation rates.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 24/11/2018 20:53:21    2152322

Replying To TheUsername:  "Is this the right time to metinon that Kerry's population rose in the last census.

Sure their all traveling down from The Dublin, scaling mountains and swimming a lap of the country to get to training anyway. ;)"
I wouldn't take that stuff again if \i were you.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 24/11/2018 23:20:23    2152338

Replying To neverright:  "I wouldn't take that stuff again if \i were you."
In my defense i did a reasonable internet search and the product was clearly contaminated. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/11/2018 11:08:13    2152346

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I don't think O'Rourke is anti Dub. A lot of his article was about rural clubs struggling for numbers and comparing this to big clubs who have huge numbers. These big clubs have developed due to huge population growth. The success of the GAA was built on was the way the clubs connected to people in local small areas. If you were from a small area if you stuck with it there would be a good chance you would play for the club team as an adult (I mean a first team). This made the club teams very close to communities and was a big part of these communities identity. When clubs cover an area with a huge population its much harder for them to have the same connection to their local area. Less players get a chance to play for a first team. I think its better if if you have a few clubs covering a high population area as opposed to 1 big club. I think it would increase participation rates."
There's no parish rule in Dublin. People are free to play for whoever they want, these clubs are huge because people want to play for them. Why should that be dealt with?

There's a lot to be said for having these big Dublin clubs. They have the resources to be in the schools, getting the kids into GAA. They're big enough it makes sense to have GDOs designated to them. They do great work to nurture a relationship with their community.

As for rural clubs struggling. I dislike the parish rule. I think it wouldn't be a bad thing if there were fewer but bigger clubs in rural counties. People should have the freedom to choose who they play for.

I think club competitions should be organised on a Provincial level rather than county level.

It'd be good if there were Club amalgamations/divisional teams playing in a well structured Provincial club competition.

It'd be so much better for juveniles. The small rural club is not meeting the needs of young adults in between juvenile and senior and that's why there's a huge dropout rate.

There needs to be a proper under 19 or under 20 age grade at club levels. One that provides a proper program of upwards of 14 games a season for these players to help them make the step up.

Some can do it at 20 but most can't. I think the rural club structures are too small to be able to provide this for players.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 25/11/2018 12:08:40    2152351

Replying To TheUsername:  "In my defense i did a reasonable internet search and the product was clearly contaminated. ;)"
Is that why diarmuid Connolly went to America for the summer?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/11/2018 12:21:14    2152353

Replying To TheUsername:  "In my defense i did a reasonable internet search and the product was clearly contaminated. ;)"
What a BS excuse! As if that would ever work... oh no wait...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/11/2018 12:51:52    2152356

Replying To icehonesty:  "Dublin as the biggest asset... they will eventually kill the popularity of gaelic football. Wait and see."
Think the current style of play is doing that far better.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/11/2018 17:05:00    2152377

Replying To Richieq:  "Yeah it is the same shit different day and why, because the GAA continually decide to ignore what O'Rourke called the "elephant in the room", here's more of the same shit that happens on different days....

Dublin will again play two Super 8 games in Croke Park in 2019
Dublin will again play all their NFL home games in Croke Park
Dublin will again refuse to look at developing their own county ground that they need and their supporters deserve
Dublin will again not have to play in tough, uncompromising places like Aughrim, Newbridge, Mullingar or Longford but will, if they do leave their home in Croke Park, have the higher comforts of Nowlan Park, Portlaoise or Tullamore.
Hundreds of talented Dublin footballers will again see another 12 months go by where their talents will go unrewarded by not even having a trial or a run out at inter county level when he could be nearly gauranteed a starting place on any other county team in Ireland

So the phrase "same shit" really covers a multitude when it comes to Dublin, O'Rourke is certainly not anti dub and for that matter neither am I but I do believe that Dublin at county board level are now so cosy and content that they have taken the eye off the ball in terms of developing their own facilities and according as much of the playing population as possible a chance of intercounty football. The GAA have a lot to answer for too, I don't blame Jim Gavin or his players in fact I'll applaud them lads for their efforts and brilliance all day long but the administrators in Parnell Park know that Croke Park aren't going to ruffle their feathers and that essentially they can do as they please, the football report of 15 years ago magically disappeared and Dublin carry on regardless and then not only sought to stay as one county but sought provincial status!!!! Where will it all end?"
So its only Football then - the hurling in Dublin is grande yeah! mad arguments.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/11/2018 17:07:30    2152379

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What about recovery time? I can't speak for other counties but nearly all of our players are working and going to college outside the county so have big distances to travel after grueling training sessions , ye don't have that problem.

What about playing all yer games at home?
The list of yer advantages are massive."
Damn its so unfair Dublin having all the jobs and all the colleges to hand, make them all travel to Galway to make a level playing field!! You and your like are hilarious.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/11/2018 17:13:06    2152380

Replying To Whammo86:  "There was the regular media.

You compare that to the number of threads on here talking about the Dubs and their advantages and it paints a clear picture to me that the motivation behind this is resentment that gets packaged up as a call for equity. It's pure bs and it really negatively impacts the quality of this forum in my opinion."
Nail on the head, they don't mind Dublin Hurling - until we win something, proof that their urban myths are real,

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 25/11/2018 17:14:36    2152382

Replying To realdub:  "Jaysus and there's me all worried about you, and the first thing you do when you're back is start laying into us poor auld Dubs. At least it means you're in good health :D"
would never be worried for him

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/11/2018 21:02:24    2152529

Leave the Dubs alone.They are not what is wrong with football. They are a fine panel and a joy to watch. Besides,we want to beat Dublin not a subset of the real thing!!!!

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 26/11/2018 23:03:30    2152543

Replying To Whammo86:  "There's no parish rule in Dublin. People are free to play for whoever they want, these clubs are huge because people want to play for them. Why should that be dealt with?

There's a lot to be said for having these big Dublin clubs. They have the resources to be in the schools, getting the kids into GAA. They're big enough it makes sense to have GDOs designated to them. They do great work to nurture a relationship with their community.

As for rural clubs struggling. I dislike the parish rule. I think it wouldn't be a bad thing if there were fewer but bigger clubs in rural counties. People should have the freedom to choose who they play for.

I think club competitions should be organised on a Provincial level rather than county level.

It'd be good if there were Club amalgamations/divisional teams playing in a well structured Provincial club competition.

It'd be so much better for juveniles. The small rural club is not meeting the needs of young adults in between juvenile and senior and that's why there's a huge dropout rate.

There needs to be a proper under 19 or under 20 age grade at club levels. One that provides a proper program of upwards of 14 games a season for these players to help them make the step up.

Some can do it at 20 but most can't. I think the rural club structures are too small to be able to provide this for players."
Yes, I'm all in favour of better competition between 'units' of comparable strength.
In Munster it would be great to see the likes of Dr Crokes, Nemo etc going head-to-head in an 8 to 10 club league, playing home and away - like a Pro 14 lite ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2590 - 27/11/2018 00:03:25    2152548

Replying To Hardtimes:  "I understand what you're saying Username regarding population percentages but your pick is still huge. And any county will give youth a chance if the quality is there. But it has to be better than what is already there. Dublin simply have massive competition within their pick.
But it's still early to press the panic button yet. A few more years will tell a clearer tale but if I were to bet I cannot see the Dubs falling off. They're only getting stronger if anything and I don't think other counties have the same scope for improvement. I'd hate to see the same apathy befall the AI series series that has happened to the Leinster Championship. If that happens the GAA will have a massive decision to make."
Any neutral observer should want to see a good competitive encounter - I don't see how adding regional or additional Dublin teams takes from that endeavour, especially as the existing Dublin juggernaut is left intact.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2590 - 27/11/2018 02:07:11    2152552

Replying To superbluedub:  "would never be worried for him"
Human being first, Kerryman 2nd.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/11/2018 02:19:05    2152553

Replying To Whammo86:  "Some of what annoys me about this whole conversation is the presumption that there's something unfair going on.

There's nothing unfair here, life for different people is different. Someone circumstance in Dublin is different from someone in Kerry is different from someone in Antrim.

So what.

It's different in football, it's different in every other walk of life too.

The be all and end all of the Gaelic football experience is not just about winning the Sam Maguire. Only 30 people do that a year.

Football offers a hell of a lot to a lot of people.

As an Antrim man the woe is me guff that comes on here from predominantly Kerry and Meath people really grinds my gears.

You didn't care about parity for the 120 years before Dublin started winning."
As a Corkman I never complained of the unfairness of Kerry going for 9-in-a- row in Munster in 1983, nor more recently, Kilkenny going for Liam's 5-in-a-row in 2010. Of course, I was envious.

However, I honestly believe the current Dublin scenario is different - given the financial and population clout.

I still compromise - leave the Dubs juggernaut alone - add more teams even the 'culchies' among us could route for a regional Dubs team against the juggernaut, so long as we are entertained by the football product on offer.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2590 - 27/11/2018 02:23:21    2152554