Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought?

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Maybe if some of the wealth is shared teams like leitrim could afford a few more development officers to help improve the players and the game in leitrim.

No wait a minute money doesn't help a team I forgot."
As I said, spread the money.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/09/2018 18:35:05    2139907

Replying To ulsterrules:  "I remember alot of dubs winging when they were not winning all around them."
No you don't. You're fairly new around here.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2018 18:52:43    2139917

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-worked-slavishly-hard-for-their-allireland-successes-and-its-an-insult-to-attribute-it-to-money-37290634.html

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2018 19:22:52    2139928

Replying To Jackeen:  "https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-worked-slavishly-hard-for-their-allireland-successes-and-its-an-insult-to-attribute-it-to-money-37290634.html"
Nice try but the yahoo's won't read that it offends their prejudice.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 07/09/2018 00:07:52    2140003

Replying To jimbodub:  "CLICK!!!!

There goes your back mate

;)"
That's the end of my break dancing career ;-)

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/09/2018 09:09:46    2140026

The Railway Cup again is the natural solution to this evolution. Six Nations Rugby generates massive revenue and promotes that sport.

A 5 team inter-provincial round robin can also generate revenue for the GAA. It can also assist Gaelic-games being firmly the most played and supported games.
At least I've offered a solution. Congratulations on Sunday. It was an impressive display.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 5654 - 06/09/2018 17:35:33
The railway cup isnt a solution. You are jealous of Dublin and want them out of the intercounty championship to make it easier for kerry to have their biggest rival out of contention for championship.
6 Nations does generate massive revenue but cant be compared to the railway cup which wouldnt generate any form of massive revenue.

There are clubs in dublin that are better run and have more money than some of the weaker counties.
ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 06/09/2018 07:18:10
care to show how that is the case?

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 07/09/2018 09:50:51    2140047

Replying To jimbodub:  "Still doesn't really balance things out though

Dubs will be well into the high 30's if they are to even reach a 5th final

That's quite a gap.. not even remotely close when considering how difficult it can be win a single game

Not sure that's balanced at all..."
You do realise that there are safety nets throughout the championship now???

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/09/2018 10:05:58    2140050

Replying To Jackeen:  "https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/alan-brogan-dublin-worked-slavishly-hard-for-their-allireland-successes-and-its-an-insult-to-attribute-it-to-money-37290634.html"
Had read that yesterday but I'm not sure what it adds to the conversation. Reads like the script to a Rocky movie. Basically describes scenes that are replicated in every county and probably the majority of clubs where unpaid volunteers do trojan work.

Think this thread has run out of legs anyway. There is a grown up conversation to be had on this topic but that appears to be beyond us on here.

Enjoy the celebrations.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 07/09/2018 10:23:49    2140060

Replying To legendzxix:  "At least I've offered a solution. Congratulations on Sunday. It was an impressive display."
No , what you've done is write a post which is not a solution but just a suggestion/deflection to try make any case you can against this Dublin teams achievements.
You know that's never going to happen but posting it might make you feel a bit better about why these lads are successful.
You weren't too bothered about railway cups when ye were winning All Ireland's.
Kerry will be back in finals again and we'll see how concerned you are then about restructuring.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/09/2018 10:45:54    2140066

Reminds me of a Darragh O'Se article and that's not a compliment. Are we really supposed to believe that the professional basketball coaches used in the past, or the dietician and professional soccer coach and video analyst in the current setup are not paid? Nothing wrong with this btw, lots of counties use paid consultants but why lie about it? The article is self serving and not credible quite frankly.

This seems to be a real sore point with Cluxton even mentioning it in his speech and now Brogan coming out with this article. I wouldnt have thought the players would be bothered by it at all. I think Brogan is probably spot on about 2011 I'd say they worked like dogs for that and I am sure they still do but I also think since Gavin came in they have stepped up the sports science and tactical planning and this has to have cost significant money.

Thats not a criticism either, they are making the most of what they have and should be commended but don't take us for fools. Trying to say Dublin just train longer and run harder than everybody else is an insult to all the other counties that do everything they can every summer.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/09/2018 10:48:13    2140067

Replying To Greenfield:  "Had read that yesterday but I'm not sure what it adds to the conversation. Reads like the script to a Rocky movie. Basically describes scenes that are replicated in every county and probably the majority of clubs where unpaid volunteers do trojan work.

Think this thread has run out of legs anyway. There is a grown up conversation to be had on this topic but that appears to be beyond us on here.

Enjoy the celebrations."
I think the point of his article is to try to convey that the Dublin team is exactly the same as any other county team. They have to put in the same work that every other team does. Contrary to popular belief they aren't manufactured in a factory somewhere. That unpaid volunteers are responsible for the bulk of this teams success just like in other teams. If it reads like a script from Rocky, maybe because that's what it feels like to them and all other inter county teams. It's hard work, massive dedication & application from all our amateur players nationwide.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2018 10:50:07    2140069

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Reminds me of a Darragh O'Se article and that's not a compliment. Are we really supposed to believe that the professional basketball coaches used in the past, or the dietician and professional soccer coach and video analyst in the current setup are not paid? Nothing wrong with this btw, lots of counties use paid consultants but why lie about it? The article is self serving and not credible quite frankly.

This seems to be a real sore point with Cluxton even mentioning it in his speech and now Brogan coming out with this article. I wouldnt have thought the players would be bothered by it at all. I think Brogan is probably spot on about 2011 I'd say they worked like dogs for that and I am sure they still do but I also think since Gavin came in they have stepped up the sports science and tactical planning and this has to have cost significant money.

Thats not a criticism either, they are making the most of what they have and should be commended but don't take us for fools. Trying to say Dublin just train longer and run harder than everybody else is an insult to all the other counties that do everything they can every summer."
If it's a sore point it's because people like Ewan Mackenna use their high profile to provide incomplete date and context-free 'facts' to push an agenda, with phraseology that become memes, which then get rabbited and rabbited all over social media and fora like this one.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 07/09/2018 10:59:22    2140070

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Reminds me of a Darragh O'Se article and that's not a compliment. Are we really supposed to believe that the professional basketball coaches used in the past, or the dietician and professional soccer coach and video analyst in the current setup are not paid? Nothing wrong with this btw, lots of counties use paid consultants but why lie about it? The article is self serving and not credible quite frankly.

Thats not a criticism either, they are making the most of what they have and should be commended but don't take us for fools. Trying to say Dublin just train longer and run harder than everybody else is an insult to all the other counties that do everything they can every summer."
I dont blame Cluxton or Brogans one bit for retaliating. At some stage the bear is going to bite if you poke it enough. And my God this Dublin team have been poked enough the past few years. You believe what you want to believe I suppose. Many are choosing to believe McKenna who has no proof for half his rants & lives halfway around the world. That's fine. Some will believe Brogan who at least played on the team in question. Why wouldn't be have his say? He has every right to! Where did he say Dublin train longer and run harder than every of else??

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2018 11:11:38    2140071

Replying To gotmilk:  "You do realise that there are safety nets throughout the championship now???"
lol

How often has Dublin had to use it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/09/2018 11:21:30    2140078

Replying To keithlemon:  "That's the end of my break dancing career ;-)"
Haha!

Fair play man it was a worthy effort

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/09/2018 11:22:33    2140079

And this is the problem with this debate and the issues with Mc Kennas approach.

Theres little point in making it personal which is what he does in articles, when he deals with the facts of the matter he makes numerous valid points, when he tries to claim that this Dublin team is only this good because of the money he is waffling, we dont know that, we cant even prove that one way or another.

And again the likes of Brogans article and others doesnt help either, basically what hes saying is do you know how hard we work? Well of course we do, do you think other counties dont work as hard?

Its a debate that needs to be had and needs to be seperated.

The facts are that the level of Funding Dublin receive versus the rest is unfair and has been for a number of years when you take everything into account.

Its unfair even if Dublin were winning nothing at any level but gets amplified when you look at the domination of the game they have.

The tit for tat arguing is helping no one, this is not a Dublin problem its a wider GAA problem which needs to be dealt with.

We have a situation where one county can afford to pay over half a million a year in wages for administrative staff to run the thing properly and another County being told following review by Croke Park that they need to hire more staff and then be told when they go through that proccess that sorry the money isnt there!

That is completely unfair but it has nothing to do with the players or the teams success.

We need to seperate the issues at hand

No the success of these players isnt tarnished but the funding issue needs to be addressed for nothing more than the actual optics of it being fairer imho.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 07/09/2018 11:36:26    2140081

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "If it's a sore point it's because people like Ewan Mackenna use their high profile to provide incomplete date and context-free 'facts' to push an agenda, with phraseology that become memes, which then get rabbited and rabbited all over social media and fora like this one."
A million times this!!! Well said.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2018 11:43:31    2140083

Replying To Jackeen:  "I dont blame Cluxton or Brogans one bit for retaliating. At some stage the bear is going to bite if you poke it enough. And my God this Dublin team have been poked enough the past few years. You believe what you want to believe I suppose. Many are choosing to believe McKenna who has no proof for half his rants & lives halfway around the world. That's fine. Some will believe Brogan who at least played on the team in question. Why wouldn't be have his say? He has every right to! Where did he say Dublin train longer and run harder than every of else??"
I don't read McKenna's articles I consider him a bit of a clown the way he goes on. My point is that if they have spent money getting to where they are so what? Yes defend it but why try to hide it and lie about it. There are blatant untruths in that Brogan article, I don't believe for a second that nobody except Cullen and the physio gets paid. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with that btw, but be straight about it. He didn't use the 'train harder' words but that's the general undertone of the article.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/09/2018 11:47:13    2140085

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think the point of his article is to try to convey that the Dublin team is exactly the same as any other county team. They have to put in the same work that every other team does. Contrary to popular belief they aren't manufactured in a factory somewhere. That unpaid volunteers are responsible for the bulk of this teams success just like in other teams. If it reads like a script from Rocky, maybe because that's what it feels like to them and all other inter county teams. It's hard work, massive dedication & application from all our amateur players nationwide."
I get the message that he was trying to get across. To me they are not the same as any other county team though. He has presented a version of the story for evening herald readers.

I don't doubt that these lads put in serious effort and i tip my hat to them for doing so. But at the top level in sport there are inches between being the top dog being the next best. So are Dublin an excellent team who have worked their butts off to be able to compete at that top level? Of course they are. Are there factors working in their favour that can potentially make up those inches that make you the dominant top dog? I believe there are.

Anyway. I think it's best to just agree to disagree and live on.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 07/09/2018 12:25:16    2140098

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "The Railway Cup again is the natural solution to this evolution. Six Nations Rugby generates massive revenue and promotes that sport.

A 5 team inter-provincial round robin can also generate revenue for the GAA. It can also assist Gaelic-games being firmly the most played and supported games.
At least I've offered a solution. Congratulations on Sunday. It was an impressive display.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 5654 - 06/09/2018 17:35:33
The railway cup isnt a solution. You are jealous of Dublin and want them out of the intercounty championship to make it easier for kerry to have their biggest rival out of contention for championship.
6 Nations does generate massive revenue but cant be compared to the railway cup which wouldnt generate any form of massive revenue.

There are clubs in dublin that are better run and have more money than some of the weaker counties.
ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 06/09/2018 07:18:10
care to show how that is the case?"
Kilmacud have a bigger pick than Leitrim

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/09/2018 12:33:19    2140102