Who Can Challenge Dublin In 2019

Replying To Dubsfan28:  ""Muncan, sculls were on 7"? Lay off the glue, pal."
Forgive me, I meant murchan scully and Howard were only 7 years ond when the funding of Dublin started. Predictive text ehh!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/09/2018 16:14:19    2139184

Replying To waynoI:  "Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, Galway.

That's it."
Utter rubbish. Quit the pantomime here.
Every Dublin poster playing the poor mouth!
Will yas even get out of Leinster next year lads? Or are Laois a real danger?

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 04/09/2018 16:15:11    2139185

The pick of Kerry Tyrone and Galway with Mickey Harte in charge wouldn't beat Dublin. Until the obvious inequality issues are addressed inter county football will no longer command enough interest. This will enable other sports to gain a higher profile.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 04/09/2018 16:22:20    2139186

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm not clutching at anything Damo, did ye not win 4 U21s and a minor title since 2010?
Did ye not win a hurling league title and a Leinster championship since 2010? In fairness winning Leinster championship in hurling is massive considering ye are in with Kilkenny Galway Wexford and Offaly considering where ye'r hurlers were around the turn of the century.

Ye will eventually get to the top in hurling like ye are in the football it's inevitable considering what's being pumped in.

As for ours and Galway's success at underage we have won 5 in a row minor titles but still not even 1 U21 or U20s title , I don't know have Galway won any U21 hurling titles lately either as I don't follow the underage hurling that closely."
Yes we did , and have you seen who where the spine of those teams Kilkenny jack lowndes Costello etc a special bunch the same players that are playing senior , what's happened since nothing ,do you know how many of the Leinster 2013 winning hurling team are currently playing for county ? Eight ? Did you see us hurl in 2018 ,
If it's a conveyer belt it's supposed to move , our break through at juvenile level has come to a very abrupt stop , something you either don't get or are to stubborn to accept

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 16:41:11    2139189

Replying To Joxer:  "Why aren't these resources delivering a string of minor titles then? Where is all of this underage success now, bought with these 'resources', that will feed this neverending conveyor belt of Sams that Dublin will deliver? Dublin are weaker now IMO opinion than they were 3-4 years ago. Yet other counties have regressed further it seems."
How do Dublin fend off interest from the AFL?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 04/09/2018 17:15:21    2139200

Replying To Jimin10:  "The pick of Kerry Tyrone and Galway with Mickey Harte in charge wouldn't beat Dublin. Until the obvious inequality issues are addressed inter county football will no longer command enough interest. This will enable other sports to gain a higher profile."
Very defeatist attitude....not typical of what Meath used to be

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/09/2018 17:25:22    2139205

A lot of rubbish being posted here, embarsing tripe to say the least, once proud county's supporters asking for the bar to be lowered instead of getting the finger out. When Kerry were at there peak I don't rember the same level of talk . Tyrone tried and were beaten , there level of S/C looked every bit as good as us but they don't have a squad good enough at the moment.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 04/09/2018 17:33:39    2139208

Replying To legendzxix:  "How do Dublin fend off interest from the AFL?"
what interest ? Trials are organized in Dublin up to lads to attend if they want , we lost one lad this year , like it or not maybe Aussie isn't as attractive a proposition for a Dub compared to our country cousins, my lad hopefully part of under 20 squad next year has been around squads for last 6 years knows no one who's gone for it

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 17:39:17    2139210

Donegal with some new players to come back into the squad, am easier spring in div 2 might help bed in the team better,
A rejuvenated Mayo could challenge again, depends how the new manager can build the team up again, new blood needed there too, Galway Tyrone Monaghan Kildare also. and Kerry must be able to do better after 5 years of winning the minors they must have potential there.
I'd like to see the pick of Ulster take on the Dubs say around Halloween, that would be a sell out in Croker, let the proceeds go to charity, I'd like to see this Dublin team really pushed to their full potential, at the minute they are winning in 3rd gear, my pick for the Ulster team, 3 from Donegal, Eoin Ban, Murph, and Ryan McHugh, be good craic picking the other 12 starters.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 04/09/2018 17:42:40    2139211

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Utter rubbish. Quit the pantomime here.
Every Dublin poster playing the poor mouth!
Will yas even get out of Leinster next year lads? Or are Laois a real danger?"
whats rubbish about that ??

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/09/2018 17:44:24    2139214

Replying To yew_tree:  "Very defeatist attitude....not typical of what Meath used to be"
You need to get over 96. I'm sure Liam Mc Hale has.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 04/09/2018 17:47:33    2139216

Replying To Jimin10:  "You need to get over 96. I'm sure Liam Mc Hale has."
Well if that's the best you can come back with then ill say no more. Pathetic.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/09/2018 17:59:26    2139218

Replying To JoeSoap:  "They'll win the 5-in-a-row. You'll see the same bunch in the Super 8s except Mayo will be back, probably for Roscommon.

The problem now with the new structure is you have to "catch" Dublin in a semi-final or final. If they are beaten in the Super 8s it won't matter, they'll adjust and win their last 2 matches to get through anyway. I can't see them losing twice in a single summer. So, I think they might get a shock from someone like Kerry in the Super 8s, and then they'll go on to win the 5 in a row. After that, who knows - people talk about a conveyor belt but I just think the talent in Dublin means they will be competing rather than dominating for the next 10 years. I don't think their backups are as good as the likes of Cluxton and Philly McMahon or Jonny Cooper. There are very good players in that squad but you can't replace that experience and talent easily. So, after winning 5 in a row I think you'll see a few retirements and then it's up to the rest of us to step up and properly test the new faces.

But as for next year, it's the Dubs again."
I think Meath will make the super 8s next year, (should have this year at the expense of Tyrone) another year under mcentee will improve them again. However that's as far as we go, and here lays the problem going forward, I'll give my super 8 for next year.
Dublin
Mayo
Galway
Tyrone
Donegal
Kildare
Kerry
Meath
Assuming they all avoid each other (which is by no means certain)
Of them Meath ? Might beat Kildare, Tyrone or donegal, can't see them beating Galway mayo or Kerry, and would be beat by dubs, replace Meath with Tyrone Kildare donegal and it's the same thing for them , Galway mayo Kerry would probably beat the others and have 50/50 chance between themselves. As for Dublin? They'd beat the pick of them all. So 5 in row? Easy, the question we should be looking at is who can stop 10 in a row.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/09/2018 18:18:26    2139222

Replying To Damothedub:  "Yes we did , and have you seen who where the spine of those teams Kilkenny jack lowndes Costello etc a special bunch the same players that are playing senior , what's happened since nothing ,do you know how many of the Leinster 2013 winning hurling team are currently playing for county ? Eight ? Did you see us hurl in 2018 ,
If it's a conveyer belt it's supposed to move , our break through at juvenile level has come to a very abrupt stop , something you either don't get or are to stubborn to accept"
Maybe ye need more money Damo, also you mention all the underage games you go to and said you've been to more underage games than Iv been to senior game, what makes you think that?
My young lad has been involved with development squads for the last 3 years and I've been all over the place supporting him I just don't make a big deal about it like you do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/09/2018 18:19:36    2139224

Our lads just aren't that greedy.
Ye'll go to the ends of the earth down there if there's a few bob in it.
With all the money ye have down there would ye not look after the players a bit better.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/09/2018 18:40:27    2139227

Iv often wondered that myself legend, it's almost like they're given their young players some kind of monitory assistance to keep them at home, we could never afford that down here.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/09/2018 19:32:10    2139234

Is it not enough for you posting this question on boards .ie ? you really have it bad .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/09/2018 19:56:21    2139240

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Maybe ye need more money Damo, also you mention all the underage games you go to and said you've been to more underage games than Iv been to senior game, what makes you think that?
My young lad has been involved with development squads for the last 3 years and I've been all over the place supporting him I just don't make a big deal about it like you do."
Maybe you should drop this obsession with Dublin it's not healthy.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/09/2018 19:58:54    2139241

Replying To waynoI:  "whats rubbish about that ??"
Sure let's go through them team by team.

Tyrone; that was the absolute best Tyrone had to offer on Sunday. There's nothing left, no brilliant U20 the county is raving about to come in. The total sum of their parts. A wholehearted display let down by the fact that 4 of their forwards are not good enough. Dublin played Tyrone 3 times this year, twice away and won all 3. I'd say in the 3 games, Dublin got out of 3rd gear for a total of 45 minutes combined.

Donegal. You played Donegal twice this year. Once at home in Croke Park in the league and once at a neutral venue in Croke Park in the Championship. Here's an indication of how far ahead you are of Donegal. They were thrilled with their relatively narrow defeats.

Kerry. I'm not going into this again. But suffice to say that as evidenced by Kerry posters here and their results this year. They are not getting it right enough to win in 2019. By the way, let Kerry stick to the poor mouth stuff. It's the only thing that they're better than you at.

Galway. Dublin gave Galway a harsh lesson in the realities of Championship football. A draw and a narrow defeat in league followed by a chastening thrashing when it mattered. Again, Dublin full tilt in Championship match for maybe 25 minutes.

Mayo. Everybody wants Mayo to win an All Ireland. But everyone wanted Jimmy White to win a World Snooker title. As the philosopher Jagger once said "You can't always get what you want". Their window has gone, they know it, i know it, you know it. But expect a soap opera to unfold while appointing this new manager.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 04/09/2018 20:30:16    2139249

They fend for themselves, just ask our main man, Ciaran Kilkenny. Prefers to represent the Dubs rather than get paid for playing sleeveless egg-chasing.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/09/2018 20:40:20    2139250