If The Dubs Were To Win 4 In A Row

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/eamonn-sweeney-enough-of-tiresome-dubbegrudgery-35057279.html

I think the above article will once again prove to be as relevant now as it was when it was first written.

The mad thing is if Dublin were to actually lose the upcoming All Ireland final they'd probably get more credit for what they had previously achieved compared to the reaction they'd receive if they were to win it.. it's been manufactured to such a degree that Dublin sort of can't win in certain quarters and that's exactly what will be said.

It's already set in stone that Limerick will win team of the year. As O'Se said last year after the various awards were handed out "Dublin were shafted"

More is to follow if Dublin become easily the greatest side of all time.

I think the above article sums it all up perfectly.

If Dublin win the predictability of what's to follow on here isn't difficult to imagine.

The copy and paste merchants have their fingers primed and hovering..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/08/2018 18:24:02    2138001

Replying To jimbodub:  "https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/eamonn-sweeney-enough-of-tiresome-dubbegrudgery-35057279.html

I think the above article will once again prove to be as relevant now as it was when it was first written.

The mad thing is if Dublin were to actually lose the upcoming All Ireland final they'd probably get more credit for what they had previously achieved compared to the reaction they'd receive if they were to win it.. it's been manufactured to such a degree that Dublin sort of can't win in certain quarters and that's exactly what will be said.

It's already set in stone that Limerick will win team of the year. As O'Se said last year after the various awards were handed out "Dublin were shafted"

More is to follow if Dublin become easily the greatest side of all time.

I think the above article sums it all up perfectly.

If Dublin win the predictability of what's to follow on here isn't difficult to imagine.

The copy and paste merchants have their fingers primed and hovering.."
Yea and when we lose and go a few years without one our finances will be used as a stick to beat us like it was on here pre 2010..

Everything can be twisted to suit an agenda.

Dublin are awesome. A brilliant brilliant group of players and management team just like the brilliant Kerry and Tyrone teams of the past. We will rightly go down irrespective of the result on Sunday as the greatest Dublin team ever and potentially one of the greatest ever which can and will be argued but no one will ever agree on that unanimously.

People used to say back to backs in this age is almost impossible.. this Dublin team are on the brink of doing back to back back to backs.. says it all. Sensational

Whatever happens on Sunday, thos team like all teams is one to be immensely proud of and are a truly wonderful team and I don't give a shite what begrudgers say.

If Tyrone win, all the best to them

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2018 19:15:48    2138008

It's All Ireland weekend and your dragging out a newspaper article from 2 years ago, Christ sake lads will ye go enjoy your weekend and stop looking to stir sh*te and gain a reaction........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2018 19:37:43    2138015

Replying To Richieq:  "It's All Ireland weekend and your dragging out a newspaper article from 2 years ago, Christ sake lads will ye go enjoy your weekend and stop looking to stir sh*te and gain a reaction........"
Spot on. Let's concentrate on the task in hand and just do this. If we lose we lose and if we give 100% and lose what more can we ask? 110% maybe!! FOCUS. No distractions.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2018 20:41:43    2138028

The neediness of a few dubs on here is hilarious. Yes Dublin are a wonderful team, whatever happens on Sunday. We just don't need an excuse to start yet another thread to express it. I think at this stage lads it's generally accepted so you can all relax. If it's not said here every five minutes it's "begrudgery"...............It's not begrudgery, its just not everyone else's job to feed egos. Good luck to both Dublin and Tyrone on Sunday, the best team will win no matter what anyone says.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 01/09/2018 00:04:15    2138067

Replying To waynoI:  "Yea and when we lose and go a few years without one our finances will be used as a stick to beat us like it was on here pre 2010..

Everything can be twisted to suit an agenda.

Dublin are awesome. A brilliant brilliant group of players and management team just like the brilliant Kerry and Tyrone teams of the past. We will rightly go down irrespective of the result on Sunday as the greatest Dublin team ever and potentially one of the greatest ever which can and will be argued but no one will ever agree on that unanimously.

People used to say back to backs in this age is almost impossible.. this Dublin team are on the brink of doing back to back back to backs.. says it all. Sensational

Whatever happens on Sunday, thos team like all teams is one to be immensely proud of and are a truly wonderful team and I don't give a shite what begrudgers say.

If Tyrone win, all the best to them"
No harm Waynol but this team are not on brink of back back to backs. Half the team is different than the one that won the first. When football people talk of the great teams in the past doing back to backs etc it was the same group of players that were achieving it. Unfortunately the Dublin conveyor belt keeps churning out new talent each year and this more than anything is the reason why this present Dublin brand are not getting the plaudits....and probably rightly so....they are not achieving what teams have achieved in the past.

Really think tomorrow's game will be a classic and I won't rule out a draw. Enjoy it everyone.

FarneyheadFarneyheart (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 01/09/2018 10:21:50    2138087

Is it not kinda ironic to cite people as being copy and past merchants whilst bringing up an article from 2 years ago copy and pasted again!!

The ironic thing about that article is it's basically saying the dubs winning in 2016 isn't that big really, they aren't that dominant, it was an reticle written on the back of Dublin possible winning back to backs, not a big deal not real dominance and no real sign it will continue, that worked out well for Eamon's theory since then hasn't it?

His point back then was that it's only in leinster where this dominance is really and score margins after Leinster price this, yet these scoring margins in the last 2 years have jumped again.

In reality this article has t actually aged well to be honest.

But again why do Dublin supporters care whether they're loved or not outside the capital which in reality is what this post is all about.

If it was me and Wexford were in the same position I wouldn't care less!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 01/09/2018 10:31:31    2138089

Replying To kildare73:  "The neediness of a few dubs on here is hilarious. Yes Dublin are a wonderful team, whatever happens on Sunday. We just don't need an excuse to start yet another thread to express it. I think at this stage lads it's generally accepted so you can all relax. If it's not said here every five minutes it's "begrudgery"...............It's not begrudgery, its just not everyone else's job to feed egos. Good luck to both Dublin and Tyrone on Sunday, the best team will win no matter what anyone says."
Couldn't have said it better. The constant need for reassurance is tiresome. Dublin are one of the most lauded teams in the history of the game but no amount of praise is enough for some.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/09/2018 10:39:32    2138090

As good as this Dublin team is I could never regard them as the greatest of all time, they have too many unfair advantages over every other county, there is a tier below them eg Kerry Mayo etc that are well looked after too but they don't have anywhere near the clout behind them that the Dubs have. I have nothing against Dublin, I always love when we get the chance to play them, Dublin fans are great and the buzz of playing them in Croker is brilliant,
If you look across the water at soccer as an example, the likes of Man City with all the money they have now, yes they are a great side, but if you have the money to buy all the top players and pay the wages it isn't the same thing as a club that have nurtured their own talent and built success from the ground up,
this Dublin team seem a bit engineered to me, the blue machine as I called them this week, they have some brilliant individuals who would have been among the best around in any era, but for me Tyrone and Kerry in the noughties were better, Dublin just seem a bit soulless, having Jim Gavin as manager doesn't help in that regard, I'm sure he's a great fella but he just seems so dull when he does media stuff.
Wishing both teams all the best tomorrow, I'll be cheering on the neighbours and I'm saying it all week Tyrone are going to pull off a shock and win by 2 points.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 01/09/2018 13:11:17    2138132

Ironic you mention the copy and paste merchant's but then wayno starts off with a copy and paste reply. It works both ways.

What will happen when you win the 4 in a row? You'll be tipped by everyone to do the 5. Now that's the true history breaker and we'll fully expect it to happen. Hard to know if you'll do 6 or more in a row though.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/09/2018 13:19:50    2138134

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "As good as this Dublin team is I could never regard them as the greatest of all time, they have too many unfair advantages over every other county, there is a tier below them eg Kerry Mayo etc that are well looked after too but they don't have anywhere near the clout behind them that the Dubs have. I have nothing against Dublin, I always love when we get the chance to play them, Dublin fans are great and the buzz of playing them in Croker is brilliant,
If you look across the water at soccer as an example, the likes of Man City with all the money they have now, yes they are a great side, but if you have the money to buy all the top players and pay the wages it isn't the same thing as a club that have nurtured their own talent and built success from the ground up,
this Dublin team seem a bit engineered to me, the blue machine as I called them this week, they have some brilliant individuals who would have been among the best around in any era, but for me Tyrone and Kerry in the noughties were better, Dublin just seem a bit soulless, having Jim Gavin as manager doesn't help in that regard, I'm sure he's a great fella but he just seems so dull when he does media stuff.
Wishing both teams all the best tomorrow, I'll be cheering on the neighbours and I'm saying it all week Tyrone are going to pull off a shock and win by 2 points."
Are you drawing parallels between Man City and Dublin? I just want to be clear about what you are saying. In what sense are Dublin 'engineered'. Your post is quite long and you seem to be making several points at once ranging from Dubln's resources, to Gavin's handling of media, to Dublin being engineered etc. really it's just a rehash of all the other anti -Dublin posts that have been posted here.
But just spell out to me how Dublin resemble Man City. We don't 'buy' players. These players are born and bred in their county. They are no bought like commodities in the manner if professional players.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/09/2018 13:32:10    2138139

England have never won a World Cup outside of England. It's always an impressive feat for rural counties to come to Croke Park and win regardless of the opposition.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 01/09/2018 13:34:06    2138140

Replying To legendzxix:  "England have never won a World Cup outside of England. It's always an impressive feat for rural counties to come to Croke Park and win regardless of the opposition."
If there's a final between 2 rural counties and 1 wins is it a greater achievement because it was played in Croke Park.i remember when Kerry teams loved coming to Croke Oark to give the Dubs a spanking.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/09/2018 14:00:35    2138146

Replying To avonali:  "Are you drawing parallels between Man City and Dublin? I just want to be clear about what you are saying. In what sense are Dublin 'engineered'. Your post is quite long and you seem to be making several points at once ranging from Dubln's resources, to Gavin's handling of media, to Dublin being engineered etc. really it's just a rehash of all the other anti -Dublin posts that have been posted here.
But just spell out to me how Dublin resemble Man City. We don't 'buy' players. These players are born and bred in their county. They are no bought like commodities in the manner if professional players."
Yes I know it's not an exact comparison obviously because the Dublin players are not 'bought' the way professional soccer players are, but I'm just giving my opinion , I am not anti Dublin, I don't know exactly what it is and it is not begrudgery but there is something about this Dublin set up that seems a bit unnatural.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 01/09/2018 14:02:45    2138148

Replying To legendzxix:  "England have never won a World Cup outside of England. It's always an impressive feat for rural counties to come to Croke Park and win regardless of the opposition."
Careful with those nails of yours, do savage damage the way your scrapping the bottom of the barrel, loving your pain at the moment loving it .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/09/2018 14:18:21    2138151

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "As good as this Dublin team is I could never regard them as the greatest of all time, they have too many unfair advantages over every other county, there is a tier below them eg Kerry Mayo etc that are well looked after too but they don't have anywhere near the clout behind them that the Dubs have. I have nothing against Dublin, I always love when we get the chance to play them, Dublin fans are great and the buzz of playing them in Croker is brilliant,
Wishing both teams all the best tomorrow, I'll be cheering on the neighbours and I'm saying it all week Tyrone are going to pull off a shock and win by 2 points."
If you look across the water at soccer as an example, the likes of Man City with all the money they have now, yes they are a great side, but if you have the money to buy all the top players and pay the wages it isn't the same thing as a club that have nurtured their own talent and built success.

You're rambling. What's your point? It makes no sense.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/09/2018 14:19:52    2138152

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yes I know it's not an exact comparison obviously because the Dublin players are not 'bought' the way professional soccer players are, but I'm just giving my opinion , I am not anti Dublin, I don't know exactly what it is and it is not begrudgery but there is something about this Dublin set up that seems a bit unnatural."
Question did you like the Dubs when they had flash hair , played to the Hill and strutted arrogantly across Croke Park ? I seem to remember those guys being hated , no we have a completely different type of player with zero petulance, and guess what people can't take to them either , can't win

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/09/2018 14:21:55    2138153

Replying To avonali:  "If there's a final between 2 rural counties and 1 wins is it a greater achievement because it was played in Croke Park.i remember when Kerry teams loved coming to Croke Oark to give the Dubs a spanking."
In 2001, Kerry wanted a toss of a coin for All-Ireland quarter-final home advantage. Dublin were happy to go to Thurles instead for some reason?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 01/09/2018 14:44:50    2138156

Replying To Damothedub:  "Careful with those nails of yours, do savage damage the way your scrapping the bottom of the barrel, loving your pain at the moment loving it ."
Firstly my comments are balanced and fair. Secondly, after last year's final, I congratulated Dublin and said no more about it until the league started. Dublin deservedly wintered well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 01/09/2018 14:48:29    2138158

Replying To avonali:  "Are you drawing parallels between Man City and Dublin? I just want to be clear about what you are saying. In what sense are Dublin 'engineered'. Your post is quite long and you seem to be making several points at once ranging from Dubln's resources, to Gavin's handling of media, to Dublin being engineered etc. really it's just a rehash of all the other anti -Dublin posts that have been posted here.
But just spell out to me how Dublin resemble Man City. We don't 'buy' players. These players are born and bred in their county. They are no bought like commodities in the manner if professional players."
Dublin club teams are a bit like Man City to be fair ;-)

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/09/2018 15:04:19    2138161