It Just Doesn't Feel Right

Replying To Damothedub:  "Certainly not my club sending tickets back , raffle has taken place tonight with hundreds of very disappointed members , I know plenty of people without tickets"
My club certainly didn't back any tickets either, big interest now like there was the last few years.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/08/2018 22:31:28    2137779

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm working in Omagh today and there's not a whole pile of buzz about. Not a lot of talk about the match, very odd here. I agree with pool sturgeon, i think the condensed calendar has taken away from it. I thought there was a lack of a buzz in the build up to the hurling final too."
you must have been working in a different omagh from the one i'm living in!!!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/08/2018 22:57:13    2137783

your right gotmilk should be looking forward to the hurling this weekend yet that happened almost 2 weeks ago and now the football on sunday nothing to look forward to in September gaa wise but hey flat out club championships which at the end of the day is where inter county comes from ?

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 30/08/2018 23:13:51    2137787

Replying To royaldunne:  "I take that and completely agree, however I think it's the neutral gaa football fan who is not energized by it is the problem, look one of my favorite days in the calander is all ire football final day, I can go back more years than I care to remember, and each one of them had a build up and special place for me, it's my game, no other sport can come near it, and it's the pinnacle of my sport I guess like the super bowl is for the yanks. Now of course 87/88/90/91/96/99/01 are ones that I remember with the most excitement, however I also remember every other one from mid 70s to today with joy. One of the kids has a party to attend on Sunday and herself said sure I'll bring her as you will be glued to the match , and I said I really don't mind, I'll keep up to date on tracker. And then it hit me, this is the most uninterested I have ever been in a all ire final. And it's not that the result is a forgone conclusion either (I've watched other ones too and it didn't bother me) I think it's the whole super 8 thing tbh, and I'm surprised at that actually as I was all in favor of it in beginning, but it's diluted the whole thing.
Hopefully on Saturday lll get that old buzz , but I'm not feeling it now, and there is no one talking about the biggest day in Irish sport, and that's something I've never encountered before either. While I am sure it's to the forefront in Tyrone and Dublin, it's not in rest of country. Even the dubs down here view it as a non event."
Have to pull you up on that one. The All Ireland hurling final is the biggest day in Irish sport. Nothing has or ever will that top and I am from a football county.
Even Tomas o Se admitted that before that All Ireland hurling final day was King.
The TV viewings back that up too.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 726 - 30/08/2018 23:15:04    2137788

Replying To gotmilk:  "From talking to people down here in Omagh a number of clubs have sent back tickets. Errigal and Newtownstewart are supposed to have sent tickets back, a lot of Dublin clubs are supposed to have sent numerous tickets back."
"Dublin clubs sent tickets back". Not too sure where you heard that from because all I've been hearing about is huge demand and club members crying out for more. There's loads of fans ticketless in the capital. The demand is fierce.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/08/2018 23:47:54    2137794

Replying To gotmilk:  "From talking to people down here in Omagh a number of clubs have sent back tickets. Errigal and Newtownstewart are supposed to have sent tickets back, a lot of Dublin clubs are supposed to have sent numerous tickets back."
What Dublin clubs are these? Where did you get this information?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2018 07:10:37    2137809

Gaelic football has become characterless and boring hence many neutrals couldn't be bothered to watch it or not . Like a Meath poster said earlier as a child I'd have the tv on from md morning awaiting the game but now I'm not bothered if I see it or not .
The whole game has become too clinical , analytic , defensive etc ... unless rule changes can work the game of Gaelic football is under serious pressure in many counties .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 31/08/2018 08:57:53    2137821

Replying To OpenStand:  "Gaelic football has become characterless and boring hence many neutrals couldn't be bothered to watch it or not . Like a Meath poster said earlier as a child I'd have the tv on from md morning awaiting the game but now I'm not bothered if I see it or not .
The whole game has become too clinical , analytic , defensive etc ... unless rule changes can work the game of Gaelic football is under serious pressure in many counties ."
Yeah that's it, look well done to limerick on the hurling, great achievement for them. It's not my game though whereas football is, and while the new format seems to have energized hurling it has done the opposite to football. Bring back the quarter finals and and restore the natural date of all ire final days. The winter is long enough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2018 10:04:34    2137840

Replying To Game2Halves:  "It certainly wont feel right for Dublin when they go behind and panic sets in. This Dublin outfit will be hit with an intensity level they have never experienced. Tyrone in a final, christ i'd worry for any Dub out on that field of play. They will know what a battle is as Tyrone will go hammers and tongs. Tyrone will be fighting for their very lives, for the memory of loved ones, for the people of their county. The sage mentality creates a ferocious animal in the red and white Jersey. Up Tyrone."
Sage mentality... interesting.
Sage is certainly a wonderful flavoursome herb. Will this sage mentality be created by adding it to the players scrambled eggs at breakfast on Sunday morning? or will they wear a sprig of it on their jerseys?
or both?!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/08/2018 10:08:39    2137841

Replying To Jackeen:  "What Dublin clubs are these? Where did you get this information?"
This is what I heard at work yesterday. Again it could be a case of hear a lie, tell a lie. But then wasn't the game between the two sides in Omagh not supposed to be a sell out and tickets nowhere to be got before the game yet there were thousands of tickets left untaken.

And Mayo tyrone man coming in from the Dromore side and going down by the showgrounds and out to the council carpark there is little to no bunting. Even up on main street theres very little to make you think there is an all ireland in two days. The only thing that suggested it was the car randomly going round with the megaphone yesterday evening for some reason and the two lads from Galway selling flags beside the coach inn.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/08/2018 10:28:19    2137848

To be honest I don't think the date has anything to do with it. It's not like it's being played in the depths of winter. Some people touched on it but i think the lack of interest is in the neutral counties and driven by the expected lack of excitement. Most people expect an easy enough Dublin win in a game dominated by back and forth handpasses. Also there's no bigger story to look at this year like mayo trying to break the curse, a Dublin Kerry rivalry or maybe next year a Dublin team going for five in a row.

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 31/08/2018 11:11:23    2137854

I love the Dubs and the way they play football, but they are now an unstoppable juggernaut; playing population/ financial resources/home venue, they are so superior that it takes some excitement from the occasion. Every so often, a team will rise to challenge them, but it won't be Tyrone. The only question is the winning margin

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 31/08/2018 11:46:17    2137865

Replying To gotmilk:  "This is what I heard at work yesterday. Again it could be a case of hear a lie, tell a lie. But then wasn't the game between the two sides in Omagh not supposed to be a sell out and tickets nowhere to be got before the game yet there were thousands of tickets left untaken.

And Mayo tyrone man coming in from the Dromore side and going down by the showgrounds and out to the council carpark there is little to no bunting. Even up on main street theres very little to make you think there is an all ireland in two days. The only thing that suggested it was the car randomly going round with the megaphone yesterday evening for some reason and the two lads from Galway selling flags beside the coach inn."
One is not the same as the other in this instance. This is the all ireland final we are talking about. I can't imagine any club in Ireland Never Mind Dublin sending back their ticket allocation for an All Ireland Final. Heresay I would imagine.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2018 11:51:14    2137867

Replying To Past hurler:  "Have to pull you up on that one. The All Ireland hurling final is the biggest day in Irish sport. Nothing has or ever will that top and I am from a football county.
Even Tomas o Se admitted that before that All Ireland hurling final day was King.
The TV viewings back that up too."
Typical hurling hype that. Football has had higher tv viewing figures for 17 out of the last 20 finals.

Here is a link to a few of the years viewing figures:

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2018/0109/932142-rte-had-top-20-most-viewed-tv-shows-in-ireland-in-2017/ - 2017

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0112/844499-rte-soccer-and-gaa/ - 2016

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0922/729512-all-ireland-final-was-most-watch-programme-in-2015/ - 2015

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2015/0112/671979-rte-broadcasts-all-top-20-shows-of-2014/ - 2014

https://www.rte.ie/about/en/press-office/press-releases/2014/0115/498095-rte-provides-19-of-the-top-20-television-programmes-of-2013/ - 2013

https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2013/0117/363267-rte-sport-scores-well-in-2012-viewing-figures/ - 2012

https://www.rte.ie/about/en/press-office/press-releases/2012/0119/293191-190112top50progs/ - 2011

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2011/0125/275536-rte/ - 2010

Out of the last 8 finals 2010 was the only one hurling had higher viewing figures.

A Another (None) - Posts: 193 - 31/08/2018 12:45:28    2137888

Feeling that it's a foregone conclusion would be the main factor. That said, some of you clearly haven't been to the Tyrone captain's home village ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2018 13:07:51    2137895

Replying To befair:  "I love the Dubs and the way they play football, but they are now an unstoppable juggernaut; playing population/ financial resources/home venue, they are so superior that it takes some excitement from the occasion. Every so often, a team will rise to challenge them, but it won't be Tyrone. The only question is the winning margin"
I'm not so sure, Tyrone have a better chance than many are expecting in my opinion, Mickey Harte is no mug. Dublin also are without Connolly this year, he was the winning of the final for them last year. There's pressure too trying to land the 4 in a row how ever much it's played down, no pressure on Tyrone,
Everyone is expecting the Dubs to stroll it, dangerous state of mind to be in and that stuff seeps into the team whatever is said.
My prediction is Tyrone by 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 31/08/2018 13:36:37    2137904

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah that's it, look well done to limerick on the hurling, great achievement for them. It's not my game though whereas football is, and while the new format seems to have energized hurling it has done the opposite to football. Bring back the quarter finals and and restore the natural date of all ire final days. The winter is long enough."
I doubt very much if you would be saying that had Meath extended their summer and qualified for the super eights.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/08/2018 13:42:31    2137906

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'm not so sure, Tyrone have a better chance than many are expecting in my opinion, Mickey Harte is no mug. Dublin also are without Connolly this year, he was the winning of the final for them last year. There's pressure too trying to land the 4 in a row how ever much it's played down, no pressure on Tyrone,
Everyone is expecting the Dubs to stroll it, dangerous state of mind to be in and that stuff seeps into the team whatever is said.
My prediction is Tyrone by 2."
Ironically enough, it's mostly non Dubs predicting a big win.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/08/2018 13:50:49    2137907

Replying To Past hurler:  "Have to pull you up on that one. The All Ireland hurling final is the biggest day in Irish sport. Nothing has or ever will that top and I am from a football county.
The TV viewings back that up too."
Sorry pal ye couldn't be more wrong, football final is biggest day in Irish sport. As is shown by demand for tickets and TV audiences

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 31/08/2018 14:03:03    2137910

Replying To Miami305:  "Sage mentality... interesting.
Sage is certainly a wonderful flavoursome herb. Will this sage mentality be created by adding it to the players scrambled eggs at breakfast on Sunday morning? or will they wear a sprig of it on their jerseys?
or both?!"
lol

It'll go nicely with the stuffing Tyrone have to look forward too

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/08/2018 14:07:32    2137911