It Just Doesn't Feel Right

Replying To Game2Halves:  "It certainly wont feel right for Dublin when they go behind and panic sets in. This Dublin outfit will be hit with an intensity level they have never experienced. Tyrone in a final, christ i'd worry for any Dub out on that field of play. They will know what a battle is as Tyrone will go hammers and tongs. Tyrone will be fighting for their very lives, for the memory of loved ones, for the people of their county. The sage mentality creates a ferocious animal in the red and white Jersey. Up Tyrone."
Tyrone in a final?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/08/2018 21:39:03    2137545

Replying To gotmilk:  "I don't know about the rest of you but to me the build up to this years All Ireland feels very mute and lethargic. I don't know if it's the fact that in most peoples eyes the result is all but sewn up or if it's the new format with all the games being played sooner than before but it's just not the same. There seems to be no enthusiasm or talk of the match in general. Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me that thinks it doesn't feel like an All Ireland final week?"
This used to be Hurling final weekend,maybe the final has come around too quick or something, I feel the same about it even though it's the next door neighbours involved, there isn't even much buzz in around Tyrone that I see anyway, I suppose they don't go as nuts as we do out here when we get to a final.
I expect Tyrone to give them a good game and I think they can win it despite what the bookies odds would tell you, but they need everything to right and that's not easy, not really too excited about it but I'm still looking forward to it.

Tyrone by 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 29/08/2018 22:22:21    2137551

Replying To waynoI:  "sure look, we're just going to enjoy the occasion qnd the day in general really and look if we manage to compete it would be a bonus. Expecting nothing but hoping for a miracle. Tyrone rightly hot favourites."
sarcasm really becomes you

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/08/2018 00:08:12    2137556

Replying To Game2Halves:  "It certainly wont feel right for Dublin when they go behind and panic sets in. This Dublin outfit will be hit with an intensity level they have never experienced. Tyrone in a final, christ i'd worry for any Dub out on that field of play. They will know what a battle is as Tyrone will go hammers and tongs. Tyrone will be fighting for their very lives, for the memory of loved ones, for the people of their county. The sage mentality creates a ferocious animal in the red and white Jersey. Up Tyrone."
Dublin have been behind in games this season and in All Ireland's finals in the recent past so I don't think there will be any panic stations if they are behind this Sunday, not this Dublin team anyway.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/08/2018 00:36:52    2137558

Replying To waynoI:  "Same here ... as a fan this is my 5th final in 7 years and bar the first one, I honestly don't think I've been as excited for one."
First one in 32 years waynoI, you never lose that feeling!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/08/2018 08:04:20    2137576

Scary stuff. Listen, will you come back here after the match on Sunday and discuss your predictions in the light of what actually happened - as opposed to what you want to happen.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/08/2018 08:22:47    2137577

Are you just trolling your fellow Tyrone fans?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 30/08/2018 08:44:15    2137582

Settle petal, you're not Mayo!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2018 08:46:27    2137583

Replying To Damothedub:  "There's two different questions are Dublin supporters excited in a Frenzy definitely yes , my what's app hasn't stopped, my Mum a big fan has been in hospital for four weeks we have arranged for her to get out for a few weeks and will drop her back , Is the county gone all Gaa crazy No , are the bandwagon supporters in a frenzy No , but who cares"
Football aside,hope yer Ma gets well.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2018 08:48:01    2137584

It's August. It's still holiday season. Lots of people go abroad and have other things on their mind besides football. It's just one aspect of the own goal the GAA have made by changing the final dates

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 30/08/2018 11:44:38    2137626

I'm working in Omagh today and there's not a whole pile of buzz about. Not a lot of talk about the match, very odd here. I agree with pool sturgeon, i think the condensed calendar has taken away from it. I thought there was a lack of a buzz in the build up to the hurling final too.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/08/2018 13:43:03    2137661

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm working in Omagh today and there's not a whole pile of buzz about. Not a lot of talk about the match, very odd here. I agree with pool sturgeon, i think the condensed calendar has taken away from it. I thought there was a lack of a buzz in the build up to the hurling final too."
These days all the chatter appears to be confined to social media.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/08/2018 14:32:55    2137673

Replying To gotmilk:  "I don't know about the rest of you but to me the build up to this years All Ireland feels very mute and lethargic. I don't know if it's the fact that in most peoples eyes the result is all but sewn up or if it's the new format with all the games being played sooner than before but it's just not the same. There seems to be no enthusiasm or talk of the match in general. Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me that thinks it doesn't feel like an All Ireland final week?"
Feels great tor me. Can't wait for it

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/08/2018 14:49:50    2137676

I live near the border with Tyrone and am in the county quite a lot and there has been no real buzz at all, definitely not like there was in the 00's. I wonder if the fans are behind this team like they were with the noughties team, that was like a shared journey between the players and the fans. I think it is understandable that there is no buzz in Dublin as this will be their 6th All-Ireland final in 8 years, so not a big deal for the general public there. I don't think it helps having the final so early in the year.

What has it been like getting tickets for the final in both counties? Would you say its been easier picking up tickets compared to other years?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 30/08/2018 14:59:44    2137683

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I live near the border with Tyrone and am in the county quite a lot and there has been no real buzz at all, definitely not like there was in the 00's. I wonder if the fans are behind this team like they were with the noughties team, that was like a shared journey between the players and the fans. I think it is understandable that there is no buzz in Dublin as this will be their 6th All-Ireland final in 8 years, so not a big deal for the general public there. I don't think it helps having the final so early in the year.

What has it been like getting tickets for the final in both counties? Would you say its been easier picking up tickets compared to other years?"
From talking to people down here in Omagh a number of clubs have sent back tickets. Errigal and Newtownstewart are supposed to have sent tickets back, a lot of Dublin clubs are supposed to have sent numerous tickets back.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/08/2018 16:02:42    2137708

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Football aside,hope yer Ma gets well."
Thanks much appreciated

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/08/2018 16:43:44    2137719

Feels just fine to me, can't wait!
Next year will be even better when we do the 5 in a row!
Have that Kerry!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/08/2018 19:35:22    2137750

Replying To gotmilk:  "From talking to people down here in Omagh a number of clubs have sent back tickets. Errigal and Newtownstewart are supposed to have sent tickets back, a lot of Dublin clubs are supposed to have sent numerous tickets back."
Certainly not my club sending tickets back , raffle has taken place tonight with hundreds of very disappointed members , I know plenty of people without tickets

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/08/2018 21:53:37    2137764

Replying To realdub:  "Dublin is a far different place than it was 20 years ago, most people don't care, only the GAA people take note, and despite what some ignorant people think, our 'large' population has very little effect.
I personally can't wait, I'm as excited as ever and I don't care if others aren't, believe me, if their county was playing it would be a far different story.
Don't worry folks, this side won't last forever."
I take that and completely agree, however I think it's the neutral gaa football fan who is not energized by it is the problem, look one of my favorite days in the calander is all ire football final day, I can go back more years than I care to remember, and each one of them had a build up and special place for me, it's my game, no other sport can come near it, and it's the pinnacle of my sport I guess like the super bowl is for the yanks. Now of course 87/88/90/91/96/99/01 are ones that I remember with the most excitement, however I also remember every other one from mid 70s to today with joy. One of the kids has a party to attend on Sunday and herself said sure I'll bring her as you will be glued to the match , and I said I really don't mind, I'll keep up to date on tracker. And then it hit me, this is the most uninterested I have ever been in a all ire final. And it's not that the result is a forgone conclusion either (I've watched other ones too and it didn't bother me) I think it's the whole super 8 thing tbh, and I'm surprised at that actually as I was all in favor of it in beginning, but it's diluted the whole thing.
Hopefully on Saturday lll get that old buzz , but I'm not feeling it now, and there is no one talking about the biggest day in Irish sport, and that's something I've never encountered before either. While I am sure it's to the forefront in Tyrone and Dublin, it's not in rest of country. Even the dubs down here view it as a non event.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2018 21:59:16    2137768

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I live near the border with Tyrone and am in the county quite a lot and there has been no real buzz at all, definitely not like there was in the 00's. I wonder if the fans are behind this team like they were with the noughties team, that was like a shared journey between the players and the fans. I think it is understandable that there is no buzz in Dublin as this will be their 6th All-Ireland final in 8 years, so not a big deal for the general public there. I don't think it helps having the final so early in the year.

What has it been like getting tickets for the final in both counties? Would you say its been easier picking up tickets compared to other years?"
I was through a lot of Tyrone last Saturday and there wasn't much colour on show except they have the tinneys well dressed up as you go into Strabane, they don't seem to go as mad as us with flags etc, funny in there because the other half of the population are flag crazy.
I think they should have left the final as it always was 3rd Sunday in Sept, there'll be nothing after this now till January,
I can never rem an All Ireland final with less build up, there's more interest about in what's happening in Mayo, the Dubs fans themselves weren't even too enthusiastic about the semi final, super 8's were a bit flat and this final feels the same.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 30/08/2018 22:02:47    2137770