Why Is Kerry Called The Kingdom?

My Dad was a Kerryman and always referred to his native county as the Kingsom. But i'D like to ask why Kerry folk proudly call their county The Kingdom. Sure there hasn't been a king around these parts since Moses was a gossoon.there might have been an oul king down there once but sure the bloody country was full of them at one time . If that was the case we could all call our county , The Kingdom or The Royal, Do we Gaels still harbour deep seated Royalist pretensions? Perhaps Kerry folk believe the title refers to their former pre/eminence in Gaelic Foitball- but sure those days are over now. Anyway if anybody from The King- sorry the county of Kerry can answer me these questions I'd be very grateful.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 13:33:44    2135595

It was Ciar's Kingdom, bout 50 AD or so.

Pre-Norman so it has nothing to do with the English.

On the other hand Cork is the rebel county because they supported some fella called warbeck, as during the war of the roses he was a pretender to the throne of England -)

Also I wouldn't write us of yet in terms of Gaelic football as ye still have a fair way to go yet before ye can start comparing yer success to ours.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 22/08/2018 14:24:46    2135615

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "It was Ciar's Kingdom, bout 50 AD or so.

On the other hand Cork is the rebel county because they supported some fella called warbeck, as during the war of the roses he was a pretender to the throne of England -)

Also I wouldn't write us of yet in terms of Gaelic football as ye still have a fair way to go yet before ye can start comparing yer success to ours."
Well I have consulted with several Gaelic scholars and they all tell me that the original Gaelic form was Ciar Raighe. The - ry part does not have its root in the Irish word Riocht but in 'raighe'- meaning tribe or people. Now I know 'Kingdom' sounds great but it really is just fanciful thinking isn't it.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 14:37:20    2135618

Also I wouldn't write us of yet in terms of Gaelic football as ye still have a fair way to go yet before ye can start comparing yer success to ours."
Rattled.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/08/2018 15:15:22    2135627

It's because they are the King of Dumb

Kerry man jokes exist for a reason

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2018 15:26:50    2135630

Replying To avonali:  "My Dad was a Kerryman and always referred to his native county as the Kingsom. But i'D like to ask why Kerry folk proudly call their county The Kingdom. Sure there hasn't been a king around these parts since Moses was a gossoon.there might have been an oul king down there once but sure the bloody country was full of them at one time . If that was the case we could all call our county , The Kingdom or The Royal, Do we Gaels still harbour deep seated Royalist pretensions? Perhaps Kerry folk believe the title refers to their former pre/eminence in Gaelic Foitball- but sure those days are over now. Anyway if anybody from The King- sorry the county of Kerry can answer me these questions I'd be very grateful."
I'm sure your Kerry father is very proud of you. Why don't you ask him why we're called the kingdom !

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2018 15:34:19    2135633

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm sure your Kerry father is very proud of you. Why don't you ask him why we're called the kingdom !"
My father, R.I.P. , was very proud of me. His pride in his family was rooted in values that were broader and far more important than perceived loyalty to one county or another. He had a broader perspective than that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 15:38:51    2135634

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's because they are the King of Dumb

Kerry man jokes exist for a reason"
Jaysus lads, have a bit of decorum and stop with the petit nonsense.

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 22/08/2018 15:39:10    2135635

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "Jaysus lads, have a bit of decorum and stop with the petit nonsense."
Petty

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2018 15:43:09    2135637

Replying To avonali:  "My father, R.I.P. , was very proud of me. His pride in his family was rooted in values that were broader and far more important than perceived loyalty to one county or another. He had a broader perspective than that."
Sounds like a great guy!

RIP

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2018 15:52:30    2135641

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sounds like a great guy!

RIP"
Down thumbing my comment regarding the great personality of a posters deceased father RIP

Now that's petit

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2018 16:02:23    2135642

Ciar was the son of the King of Ulster.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 22/08/2018 16:04:38    2135643

Replying To avonali:  "My father, R.I.P. , was very proud of me. His pride in his family was rooted in values that were broader and far more important than perceived loyalty to one county or another. He had a broader perspective than that."
As Garry McMahon said in his poem , it's about pride of place and love of race that inspires the love of land.

We are the kingdom.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2018 16:18:24    2135647

I always thought it was because of the scenery no? I mean you can't get better although hat tip to Donegal and Mayo too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2018 16:22:22    2135649

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "As Garry McMahon said in his poem , it's about pride of place and love of race that inspires the love of land.

We are the kingdom."
Hence why generations have got the feck out of the place as quickly as possible

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2018 16:28:54    2135653

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hence why generations have got the feck out of the place as quickly as possible"
Generations of people have left every county in Ireland including the west brits so what's your point jim?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2018 16:44:57    2135657

Replying To Jackeen:  "I always thought it was because of the scenery no? I mean you can't get better although hat tip to Donegal and Mayo too."
I think a lot of our coastal counties have similarly amazing scenery.

Kerry is a great county for a week away. Corca Dhuibhne and the Iveragh Peninsula are hard to beat to be fair. Inishowen and Fanad are personal favourites in Donegal too as well as the Glens of Antrim, Cushendall (Joe's Pub!) and Cushendun (the nicest little village in Ireland for me) being perfect places to spend a few days imo. The Burren in Clare is unreal as well as it's very different to the rest.

The Dublin/Wicklow mountains though are some spot to head up into for a hike to get away from it on a Saturday morning as well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/08/2018 17:49:37    2135674

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think a lot of our coastal counties have similarly amazing scenery.

Kerry is a great county for a week away. Corca Dhuibhne and the Iveragh Peninsula are hard to beat to be fair. Inishowen and Fanad are personal favourites in Donegal too as well as the Glens of Antrim, Cushendall (Joe's Pub!) and Cushendun (the nicest little village in Ireland for me) being perfect places to spend a few days imo. The Burren in Clare is unreal as well as it's very different to the rest.

The Dublin/Wicklow mountains though are some spot to head up into for a hike to get away from it on a Saturday morning as well."
No idea why someone would red thumb your post. Pffffft! Ooooh Cushendon is gorgeous! Ye we have a very scenic country thankfully. Makes up for a lot if the rotten stuff going on somewhat.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2018 18:09:09    2135681

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Generations of people have left every county in Ireland including the west brits so what's your point jim?"
Could you just explain to me what the term "West Brit' signifies please??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 18:27:33    2135686

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sounds like a great guy!

RIP"
He had his faults Jimbo but he was a sound man.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 18:30:32    2135687