If Monaghan Can Compete, Why Can't The More So Called Traditional Counties

It's over a week now since Monaghan lost their semi final by a whisker against Tyrone, but they where really good this year and have been consistently playing division 1 football, competing for Ulsters (and winning some) and getting to the last 8 minimum of the championship for a few years with a mix of youth and experience, while they haven't yet been good enough to get to a decider this is as close they are going to get without getting there and all this with a tiny population, and only 50 clubs in comparison to corks 259 (granted a lot of them are hurling clubs), my point being though, considering population, amount of clubs, pick to choose from, how can Monaghan consistently compete among the best teams ? For me, and admittedly I'm not an expert, but it comes down to what I argued before, attitude. The reason counties outside of the big two Dublin and Kerry have been consistent down the years is cause they have an absolutely ferocious mentality that can only be lauded, players who are hungry, and even if they do feel there are imbalances there don't moan about it, they just get the head down and work hard, cause hard work thrumps all and rather than feeling sorry for themselves.

I struggle to see what Meaths excuse is. What corks excuse for their pathetic showing this summer is.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 15:32:39    2134868

Translation: I'm a Dub looking for an excuse to kick Meath!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 20/08/2018 18:23:30    2134967

Replying To waynoI:  "It's over a week now since Monaghan lost their semi final by a whisker against Tyrone, but they where really good this year and have been consistently playing division 1 football, competing for Ulsters (and winning some) and getting to the last 8 minimum of the championship for a few years with a mix of youth and experience, while they haven't yet been good enough to get to a decider this is as close they are going to get without getting there and all this with a tiny population, and only 50 clubs in comparison to corks 259 (granted a lot of them are hurling clubs), my point being though, considering population, amount of clubs, pick to choose from, how can Monaghan consistently compete among the best teams ? For me, and admittedly I'm not an expert, but it comes down to what I argued before, attitude. The reason counties outside of the big two Dublin and Kerry have been consistent down the years is cause they have an absolutely ferocious mentality that can only be lauded, players who are hungry, and even if they do feel there are imbalances there don't moan about it, they just get the head down and work hard, cause hard work thrumps all and rather than feeling sorry for themselves.

I struggle to see what Meaths excuse is. What corks excuse for their pathetic showing this summer is."
We've only 30 clubs Wayno!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 20/08/2018 21:08:07    2135013

Replying To waynoI:  "It's over a week now since Monaghan lost their semi final by a whisker against Tyrone, but they where really good this year and have been consistently playing division 1 football, competing for Ulsters (and winning some) and getting to the last 8 minimum of the championship for a few years with a mix of youth and experience, while they haven't yet been good enough to get to a decider this is as close they are going to get without getting there and all this with a tiny population, and only 50 clubs in comparison to corks 259 (granted a lot of them are hurling clubs), my point being though, considering population, amount of clubs, pick to choose from, how can Monaghan consistently compete among the best teams ? For me, and admittedly I'm not an expert, but it comes down to what I argued before, attitude. The reason counties outside of the big two Dublin and Kerry have been consistent down the years is cause they have an absolutely ferocious mentality that can only be lauded, players who are hungry, and even if they do feel there are imbalances there don't moan about it, they just get the head down and work hard, cause hard work thrumps all and rather than feeling sorry for themselves.

I struggle to see what Meaths excuse is. What corks excuse for their pathetic showing this summer is."
Take your head out of the sand. Look at Dublin's income, sponsorship, facilities, finances, population etc. compared to any other county.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 20/08/2018 21:28:01    2135023

In fairness Wayno, I don't have an answer. However the Monaghan fans love the trips to Dublin - it's always a bonus as we get to check out our investment properties there. We may be small in numbers, but cute hoors none the less

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 20/08/2018 21:28:06    2135024

Pity it wasn't as simple as that. Monaghan have been blessed with an excellent bunch of footballers, a golden generation if you will.
Unfortunately they won't be in this position forever. I think Kildare will come good and Meath? I don't know what's going on there. But if a dominant Dublin isn't enough to wake this sleeping giant, they're going to need a big kiss from a charming prince!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 20/08/2018 21:28:27    2135026

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Take your head out of the sand. Look at Dublin's income, sponsorship, facilities, finances, population etc. compared to any other county."
What has any of that got to do with Monaghan consistently being able to compete at the business end of the championship compared to other counties with similar and even bigger populations? You know, like Wayne said in his post?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/08/2018 21:38:24    2135031

You make a good point , however I think your nerves are at you and you can't stop posting , you were anything but complimentary to Monaghan this year,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2018 21:38:27    2135032

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Take your head out of the sand. Look at Dublin's income, sponsorship, facilities, finances, population etc. compared to any other county."
answer the question..how can monaghan compete and others can't...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 23:15:52    2135084

Replying To Damothedub:  "You make a good point , however I think your nerves are at you and you can't stop posting , you were anything but complimentary to Monaghan this year,"
FYI, I'm off work for a bit, dont get as much time to post anymore but when I've a bit of time to spare I do comment and post, irrelevant how often I post anyway, address the post and the points made, that's generally how a forum works

I stand by my comments on monaghan though. I never said they wouldnt compete Damo. some points I made where .....

1/ they where the weaker of the 4 teams in the semi final, that wasn't me not being complimentary, they where in the last 4 I just didn't see them going further (I was right, they didn't go any further)

2/ they got some very handy draws in the qualifiers, blew it against kerry, and had to beat a galway team already through to progress last the super 8s - not their fault and you can only beat what's in front of you, I don't think you can argue any of that point can you ?

just cause I didnt rate monaghans chances and felt they weren't a brilliant team or ready to beat a TOP team like Tyrone in a semi final doesn't discredit my point at all.

like I said. Small population, few clubs, yet consistently doing well over the last few years in division one, with less money and resources than most inter county teams but they're able to compete? I'm asking what other counties excuses are so have you got an answer

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 23:28:27    2135087

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Translation: I'm a Dub looking for an excuse to kick Meath!"
2 small pieces of advice for you RoyalBadger

1/ get over yourself.

2/ get a better translator.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 23:35:31    2135090

on the contrary, I don't think it's your head in the sand, I think it's your whole body, and I think it's that deep in the sand it's not far off lying on top of one of earth's tectonic plates.

ironically, what you have said only emphasises the point I've made though so thanks

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 23:47:18    2135094

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "What has any of that got to do with Monaghan consistently being able to compete at the business end of the championship compared to other counties with similar and even bigger populations? You know, like Wayne said in his post?"
Monaghan currently have a golden generation who are maxing out their potential. Despite this I'd have given them no chance to beat Dublin in the final.

We should ask the other question. With dublins current situation why should any county bar 1 or 2 in any given year be able to get anywhere near them.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/08/2018 23:58:59    2135102

Try stick to the question instead of mentioning Dublin. We've enough threads about Dublin doing the rounds.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2018 08:17:41    2135126

@Waynol....

Some of this reads very much like a baiting attempt for Cork, Meath etc. Things clearly wrong in those counties at a higher level.

However, its straightforward for me. 1. You need finance (Monaghan are very strong is raising revenue - never can compete with the finances of Dublin obviously!), 2. You need talent. We have a great crop of players and have had largely a great crop for 15 years coming through), 3. You need a great management and support of the county board (This is what largely seperates us from the others - MOR is a fantastic manager. He gets in to every detail not just focus on senior players. The difference in poor management and good management is emphasised by our last three managers. Banty was fair to good, he couldnt get us over the line but we were a good team under him. Eamon McEnaney took Banty's division 1 team to Division 3 and barely raised a threat in Ulster. MOR won Ulster with that same panel from Division 3! 4. You need a culture of the game. Monaghan people love football. soccer or motor sport comes second/third a fair bit back. Hurling and Rugby are very much in the minority. Successes under Banty would have led too more and more youth sticking at the game and we now see the benefits. There is a great culture in the county and MOR and the county board have put structure in place to keep that momentum.

I largely disagree on your assessment on the last four. Its Dublin and then Tyrone/Monaghan/Galway in any order. The other three are all capable of beating each other. Tyrone, unless they surprise everyone with some grand plan, will not beat Dublin. They will do well to keep it below +5 IMO. So for us, we are as good (or bad) as any of the rest at the moment. I omit Mayo from this. I am not sure where they are at - it was a bad season but I think they are still likely the closest to being able to topple the dubs. I except them to come back next year and prove that.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/08/2018 10:34:41    2135163

i've always been of the opinion that the vast majority of Dubs just don't get the GAA.

Threads like this reinforce that opinion for me.

I hope you have time to enjoy the build up to the all ireland while worrying about the general state of the game in the traditional counties.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 21/08/2018 10:37:29    2135164

Replying To waynoI:  "FYI, I'm off work for a bit, dont get as much time to post anymore but when I've a bit of time to spare I do comment and post, irrelevant how often I post anyway, address the post and the points made, that's generally how a forum works

I stand by my comments on monaghan though. I never said they wouldnt compete Damo. some points I made where .....

1/ they where the weaker of the 4 teams in the semi final, that wasn't me not being complimentary, they where in the last 4 I just didn't see them going further (I was right, they didn't go any further)

2/ they got some very handy draws in the qualifiers, blew it against kerry, and had to beat a galway team already through to progress last the super 8s - not their fault and you can only beat what's in front of you, I don't think you can argue any of that point can you ?

just cause I didnt rate monaghans chances and felt they weren't a brilliant team or ready to beat a TOP team like Tyrone in a semi final doesn't discredit my point at all.

like I said. Small population, few clubs, yet consistently doing well over the last few years in division one, with less money and resources than most inter county teams but they're able to compete? I'm asking what other counties excuses are so have you got an answer"
Did you miss the part where I said GOOD POINT , hence why would I have answers I was agreeing with you , perhaps a nap is in order Wayno1

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/08/2018 11:25:43    2135184

Replying To Jackeen:  "Try stick to the question instead of mentioning Dublin. We've enough threads about Dublin doing the rounds."
We dont have half enough of threads actually to highlight the growing unbalance between Dublin and the rest. Even though this place is 90% full of dubs I think ye are getting a bit embarrassed with all the favoritism.

Sometime needs to change or we will end up with a competition to see who gets to play the dubs in the final.

Yes Monaghan had a great year but if they played Dublin they would have lost by 7 or 8 points at a minimum similiar to most other teams. That is not competing.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/08/2018 11:53:01    2135198

Replying To waynoI:  "on the contrary, I don't think it's your head in the sand, I think it's your whole body, and I think it's that deep in the sand it's not far off lying on top of one of earth's tectonic plates.

ironically, what you have said only emphasises the point I've made though so thanks"
Mmmmmm,
Tectonic plates, ahhhhhhhh.

County boards.
Management.
Structures and organisation.
Grass roots input perhaps.
Combination of all. Take your pick.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/08/2018 12:18:27    2135215

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Monaghan currently have a golden generation who are maxing out their potential. Despite this I'd have given them no chance to beat Dublin in the final.

We should ask the other question. With dublins current situation why should any county bar 1 or 2 in any given year be able to get anywhere near them."
Why should we ask that question on a thread about Monaghan?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/08/2018 12:41:43    2135227