Bringing Children To Games

We have become a nation where personal responsibility is somebody else's responsibility.
Will the crowd hush because her baby wants to sleep?
I have no problem with very discreet breastfeeding, but at a GAA match I can be arms and elbows - so I should go to the match and sit beside somebody breastfeeding, and my team get a goal am I expected to hush, sit down, and not throw my arms around?
What about if a drunk lad comes in and sits beside her?
Sorry lady, but time you lived in the real world. A GAA ground is not a suitable place for a 16 week old baby.
The sense of entitlement here is incredible.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 14/08/2018 14:07:39    2133204

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=Jackeen:  "[quote=keithlemon:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

What do other posters think of this story doing the rounds?

Maybe I'm in the minority here but I honestly don't know why you would bring a child of that age to a game. I've brought nephews and nieces from 5 years old and up knowing full well that they'd be bored in 5 minutes but wanted to see how they'd take to it. But 16 weeks old!!
Is this just another weak news article aimed to have a pot shot at the GAA? We had the breastfeeding story not so long ago along with random other mild complaint stories around delays, venue selection etc. I know Irish people like to moan but giving out about having to pay for a ticket to bring a 16 week old baby is nuts.
For one the child will not understand what is going on at all, the noise at a football match, especially an All Ireland final would be very daunting for any child especially one that young.
Maybe don't go to the game and then you won't be hit with the burden of paying money for a ticket.

Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?"
As a woman this post really annoys me. The woman in question is breastfeeding her baby exclusively which means the baby can't be left with anybody. The baby will be strapped to her for the entire game. There will be a spare seat next to her. The GAA and its ridiculous rules again. Health & safety?? How is this impacting Croke Park? I think you are being very cynical about this. She is highlighting a ridiculous rule in my opinion."
I'm not sure Jackeen. When you have kids you gotta make choices.

I think it's fairly sensible that every person in the ground on the day of a sell out should have a ticket. I presume it's illegal for Croke Park, Aviva etc to have it any other way. I bloody well hope it is illegal to be honest.

Whether or not those tickets should be full whack at 80 quid is another matter though.

It's unfortunate in some ways that Tyrone's first final in 10 years comes when they have an infant that needs to be breastfed but that's how it is.

When you have chislers you're going to miss out on the odd match, party, wedding, etc, etc, etc. Just got to deal with it.

We never took any of our 3 to matches when they were infants. Someone, or both had to stay at home."]And I get that. My point is this is a new born. It won't need a seat. It is strapped to his man. Why should she need to pay in??"]I'd say that one is down to their health and safety policy. Its easier to state that all attendees must have a ticket than have an amendment which states that the exception would be for all children up until a certain age. this would need to be approved and go through a whole range of bureacracy. I know that's hardly a good enough reason to dismiss such exceptions out right but I understand why an organisation would want to avoid this headache and insuring its being adhered to.

Then you have the question of what age is appropriate? Imagine the mess that could lead to if a child is a week or two over that age. Are people at the turnstiles going to have to start checking I.D's of infants? How do you insure it is or isn't being implement correctly?

I believe the Aviva allows for children up until the age of 2 to be allowed in for free. Has anyone any experience of this and how the stewards implement this?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 14:09:58    2133206

The mother is just being selfish. The noise of people shouting, kids with airhorns etc must be very damaging to a newborn babies ears. I cannot understand how she would do that to her baby.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 14/08/2018 14:14:07    2133211

She is probably just another self-entitled soccer mom who thinks the whole world should stop.
Child has been to 7 games already? Have Tyrone even had 7 games in the last 16 weeks?
The Independent needs to stop becoming more like a sensationalist rag-mag every day and giving sob stories such oxygen

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 14/08/2018 15:07:52    2133237

Have to stay I'm astounded by the lack of empathy for this lady. I don't see it that she has a sense of entitlement at all. It's not about the breastfeeding so much as paying in for a child that won't be sitting in a seat.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 15:43:33    2133260

Replying To Jackeen:  "Have to stay I'm astounded by the lack of empathy for this lady. I don't see it that she has a sense of entitlement at all. It's not about the breastfeeding so much as paying in for a child that won't be sitting in a seat."
The lack of empathy is due to the fact that it is very difficult to empathise with such a selfish irresponsible parent. To bring a child of 16 weeks into a match is crazy, especially with a crowd of 80,000. Travelling from and back to Tyrone as well, that's a full day, it's exhausting for adults, never mind new born babies. She even said she brought the child to the Carlow match, that was weeks ago. Bringing up the issue of breastfeeding is just a further irrelevant tangent to the story. Nobody is forcing her to go to the match, so she could stay at home and breastfeed perfectly fine. She is choosing her enjoyment of football over her parenting responsibilities.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 14/08/2018 16:31:33    2133276

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "The lack of empathy is due to the fact that it is very difficult to empathise with such a selfish irresponsible parent. To bring a child of 16 weeks into a match is crazy, especially with a crowd of 80,000. Travelling from and back to Tyrone as well, that's a full day, it's exhausting for adults, never mind new born babies. She even said she brought the child to the Carlow match, that was weeks ago. Bringing up the issue of breastfeeding is just a further irrelevant tangent to the story. Nobody is forcing her to go to the match, so she could stay at home and breastfeed perfectly fine. She is choosing her enjoyment of football over her parenting responsibilities."
nail on head.
also,did she have a back-pack with nappies etc,unless parenting has changed significantly in the last 5 years,no matter where you go you need a back-pack full of stuff!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 16:44:29    2133285

Jackeen makes a fair point though, I mean it's a free country after all and if a parent wants to bring their 16 week old baby with them to a match then it makes no sense for them to pay for a ticket for a child of that age.
You might not bring a child of that age to a game, I certainly wouldn't, but in the event that someone does then it really doesn't make sense.
However, I do think its unfair for another new item like this to attack / paint the GAA in a bad light for its policy on this. This isn't an everyday request. Maybe this might spark a change in the policy but its hardly an item worthy of a newspaper in my view, hence the reason for my cynical comment at the end of the original post. I wouldn't be surprised if a picture of this woman with her baby shows up on Twitter post the All Ireland final under the tag of either
1. The GAA are a great bunch of lads
2. Grab All Association Price Baby Out Of First All Ireland Final

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 16:48:47    2133288

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "The lack of empathy is due to the fact that it is very difficult to empathise with such a selfish irresponsible parent. To bring a child of 16 weeks into a match is crazy, especially with a crowd of 80,000. Travelling from and back to Tyrone as well, that's a full day, it's exhausting for adults, never mind new born babies. She even said she brought the child to the Carlow match, that was weeks ago. Bringing up the issue of breastfeeding is just a further irrelevant tangent to the story. Nobody is forcing her to go to the match, so she could stay at home and breastfeed perfectly fine. She is choosing her enjoyment of football over her parenting responsibilities."
She's well placed to decide for herself & her own child. I dont think she is in the slightest bit irresponsible here. Such judgement.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 14/08/2018 17:01:33    2133302

Replying To perfect10:  "nail on head.
also,did she have a back-pack with nappies etc,unless parenting has changed significantly in the last 5 years,no matter where you go you need a back-pack full of stuff!"
What has that got to do with it???

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 17:02:31    2133303

Replying To Jackeen:  "What is wrong with expecting to be able to bring your 16 week old baby into Croke Park for free??? The baby will be strapped to the mother. In nobodies way and not taking up a seat at a final where tickets will be like gold dust?"
It's already been pointed out to you that it wouldn't stop there . People would start looking to bring toddlers in and have them sit on their parents knees . I think that this is as much about the child's mother being able to go to the final as it is about the child itself going to the final . When you bring a child in to the world your own life is second to the needs of the child. Sometimes sacrifices have to be made in the best interests of the child . Parents make sacrifices all the time . This is one of those instances where a sacrifice has to be made . Croke Park's position on this is entirely understandable

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 14/08/2018 17:03:32    2133304

My thoughts:

- The mother gets to decide what is right for her baby, not us. Children are taken into noisy, crowded environments all the time - shopping centres, busy high streets, loud swimming pools. The child's senses are so barely developed at that age, it won't be damaged in any way from his day out in Croke Park. And, if the child does become agitated, I'm sure his mother will take him out.

- The comment above from the Wexford man who says he has 'no problem with very discreet breastfeeding' makes me think we are back in the 1970s. Pathetic.

- The comments about the long drive etc are also red herrings. We have no idea how many stops the family will make on their way to Dublin, the baby's sleeping pattern etc. It's unlikely that they would do this if they thought it would be a nightmare for the whole family.

- The GAA statement about Health & Safety is a nonsense. It seems this is the standard response from HQ now any time they make a mistake and get bad press. The only possible reason that I can think of for charging €80 for an infant that doesn't need a seat, is to discourage parents from bringing babies full stop.

- Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/08/2018 17:08:20    2133310

Replying To keithlemon:  "Jackeen makes a fair point though, I mean it's a free country after all and if a parent wants to bring their 16 week old baby with them to a match then it makes no sense for them to pay for a ticket for a child of that age.
You might not bring a child of that age to a game, I certainly wouldn't, but in the event that someone does then it really doesn't make sense.
However, I do think its unfair for another new item like this to attack / paint the GAA in a bad light for its policy on this. This isn't an everyday request. Maybe this might spark a change in the policy but its hardly an item worthy of a newspaper in my view, hence the reason for my cynical comment at the end of the original post. I wouldn't be surprised if a picture of this woman with her baby shows up on Twitter post the All Ireland final under the tag of either
1. The GAA are a great bunch of lads
2. Grab All Association Price Baby Out Of First All Ireland Final"
Yup. I don't think I would have brought my babies at that age either but I would never judge a parent for it at all. And i do think it should be highlighted & brought to the publics attention because it doesn't make any sense as it stands.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 17:08:24    2133311

Ridiculous bringing a 16 week
Old baby to an all Ireland...like those clowns that bring kids up the reek.

It's one person per seat no matter what age you are. If the kid got injured god forbid the Gaa would be taken to town in the courts.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 14/08/2018 17:12:31    2133316

Replying To Greengrass:  "It's already been pointed out to you that it wouldn't stop there . People would start looking to bring toddlers in and have them sit on their parents knees . I think that this is as much about the child's mother being able to go to the final as it is about the child itself going to the final . When you bring a child in to the world your own life is second to the needs of the child. Sometimes sacrifices have to be made in the best interests of the child . Parents make sacrifices all the time . This is one of those instances where a sacrifice has to be made . Croke Park's position on this is entirely understandable"
It has been pointed out but I disagree. A baby under 2 should be able to sit on a parents knee without a ticket. A policy similar to the one the Aviva has. If they can do it so can CP. I don't know why you are bringing up the fact that sacrifices have to be made as a parent. I fully accept that. Regardless what you think a parent should sacrifice on this incident can you explain to me why CP would charge for a seat that will not be used?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 17:12:45    2133317

Im all for letting children in for free. So long as its seating. Last thing I want to see is some infant turfed up in the air Lion King Sthyle while the crowd around him/her goes into warp speed celebrations

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 14/08/2018 17:23:12    2133325

Replying To Jackeen:  "It has been pointed out but I disagree. A baby under 2 should be able to sit on a parents knee without a ticket. A policy similar to the one the Aviva has. If they can do it so can CP. I don't know why you are bringing up the fact that sacrifices have to be made as a parent. I fully accept that. Regardless what you think a parent should sacrifice on this incident can you explain to me why CP would charge for a seat that will not be used?"
I'm just playing devil advocate here and yes I know it would never ever happen but what is health and safeties position on this, is it something the Aviva are doing against their wishes? Say 40/50k turned up with an under 2 year old each would that be deemed ok or is there a certain number that would be acceptable. Again I'm not saying this would happen.

On the whole argument I'm on the fence, personally I don't think it's an environment for an infant but that would only be my own perspective on it. I wouldn't have any problem however with a child sitting on a parents lap in general without paying for a ticket but I would have serious questions about the mother if a big crowd, atmosphere and everything with the day put the child in discomfort and a position that upset it.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 14/08/2018 17:28:39    2133329

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

- The mother gets to decide what is right for her baby, not us. Children are taken into noisy, crowded environments all the time - shopping centres, busy high streets, loud swimming pools. The child's senses are so barely developed at that age, it won't be damaged in any way from his day out in Croke Park. And, if the child does become agitated, I'm sure his mother will take him out.

- The comment above from the Wexford man who says he has 'no problem with very discreet breastfeeding' makes me think we are back in the 1970s. Pathetic.

- The comments about the long drive etc are also red herrings. We have no idea how many stops the family will make on their way to Dublin, the baby's sleeping pattern etc. It's unlikely that they would do this if they thought it would be a nightmare for the whole family.

- The GAA statement about Health & Safety is a nonsense. It seems this is the standard response from HQ now any time they make a mistake and get bad press. The only possible reason that I can think of for charging €80 for an infant that doesn't need a seat, is to discourage parents from bringing babies full stop.

- Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's."
Fair points there but would you draw a line anywhere?
I mean, do you think its ok for a child of that age to be brought into a cinema or theatre or a rock concert for example?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 17:30:17    2133332

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

- Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's."
I firmly disagree with any argument that says "the mother gets to decide what is best for her baby".
It's a nonsense argument. You are basically saying that whatever the parent decides for the baby is the right thing to do. The parent could be doing the completely wrong thing for the baby on this and a plethora of other issues and everyone has a right to comment on it. It shows you have essentially no argument when you throw out things like this or trust the mother or don't judge the mother.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 14/08/2018 17:55:19    2133338

my dad lifted me over the turnstiles for '83, '84 and '85 All Ireland Finals. Of course, there was no such thing as health and safety in those days, just something which used to be known as 'personal responsibility'

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/08/2018 18:15:10    2133345