All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

It would be naive to believe that any member of the Tyrone team or management is free to make his own decision about speaking to or on RTE. However, I don't see why such a fuss is being made over it. Accept it and move on. All you ever hear in such interviews, 'meet the teams' etc. is a load of tripe. As for 'Up-for-the-Match', the format seems to have become a bit stale and in need of a shake-up. No doubt the people who are on it find it enjoyable as probably do their friends. With Tyrone not showing up maybe the Minor teams and their supporters will get a look-in.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/08/2018 17:22:21    2134928

Replying To realdub:  "Matters not a *****, all that does actually matter is the 70+mins on field action that follows 15:30 on 2/9/18!"
Same as that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 17:23:57    2134931

Replying To seanie_boy:  "It's called showing solidarity with your manager and they have every right to opt out once they've left the team set up."
Solidarity??? Solidarity usually isn't a short term thing, no once the players are out of the circle of trust they are more than happy to exchange solidarity for euros and for that I don't blame them for that

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/08/2018 18:01:37    2134960

Replying To Richieq:  "Solidarity??? Solidarity usually isn't a short term thing, no once the players are out of the circle of trust they are more than happy to exchange solidarity for euros and for that I don't blame them for that"
They were never asked to put their lives on hold permanently and I have it on good authority that the squad players choose to stand behind their manager. Some posters have mentioned how the likes of Seán Cavanagh,Ricey and Philly Jordan etc are now on rte etc. These are the very core group of lads who would have known Michaela as she was always at games etc with Mickey during their playing days. I'm sure they fully understood the reasons why they were standing behind Mickey through those years. They have the right to further their lives after their playing days too. Those fellas are doing their own thing and still standing up for Tyrone GAA in another appropriate way. Just like Seán Cavanagh was able to tell Pat Spillane lately on The Sunday Game that he used to criticize as "puke football" that which he was lauding lately.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 18:49:00    2134984

Replying To Richieq:  "Solidarity??? Solidarity usually isn't a short term thing, no once the players are out of the circle of trust they are more than happy to exchange solidarity for euros and for that I don't blame them for that"
For what it's worth if I was lucky enough to call myself an ex Tyrone player there's a 99% chance I wouldn't speak to RTE no matter what they paid me, and in the 1% chance I did I'd make sure I'd be highlighting the biased coverage that potrays Tyrone of everything that's bad about football, listen back to Ger Cannings commentary at the end of the Meath match and tell me that he's a neutral/ impartial commentator and he's not out on his own in that respect! The All-Ireland will take place regardless of whether Tyrone speak to RTE or not, personally as I've stated before I care not a jot, but it certainly seems to bother a lot of people. I wonder why.....

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 20/08/2018 21:19:58    2135015

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Haha you are crediting me with running the MH out cabal - seriously???. Instead of you questioning whether I asked every single fan in Croker - after Monaghan match if they wanted MH to stop boycotting RTE - perhaps you can do a more simple exercise and read the posts made by many people long before me who are actual Tyrone people who wanted Harte out and then you can comment on me. Are you seriously saying that all those fans showed up at Croker was a vote of confidence in MHs stance on RTE or indeed are totally behind MH instead of just wanting to watch their county in a semi final - then if that's the case then you are even more deluded than I thought. Are you from the Errigal Ciaran club? I also know people from that club who are not big MH fans and want him gone so instead of you throwing ***** around waiting for it to stick you should actually be a little more tolerant to other people's opinions."
You seem to be getting a tad hot under the collar there lad. Don't be getting yourself worked up.

You clearly made a ridiculous comment ie most throne want boycott to end. No proof or facts. Just hearsay. Most posters on here seem to be in agreement with MH.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/08/2018 22:10:15    2135043

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You seem to be getting a tad hot under the collar there lad. Don't be getting yourself worked up.

You clearly made a ridiculous comment ie most throne want boycott to end. No proof or facts. Just hearsay. Most posters on here seem to be in agreement with MH."
Definitely, I'm another MH fan when it comes to his boycott, fair play to him.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/08/2018 23:39:49    2135092

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You seem to be getting a tad hot under the collar there lad. Don't be getting yourself worked up.

You clearly made a ridiculous comment ie most throne want boycott to end. No proof or facts. Just hearsay. Most posters on here seem to be in agreement with MH."
Not a bit of it my friend - read your own posts directed at me then you'll see who is getting all worked up. I have merely highlighted you're blantantly incorrect and ridiculous comments towards me that's all. I also notice you haven't answered any of my questions which says enough for me. The Tyrone set up, led by Mickey, can do whatever they want with respect to RTE but as many people say the final will still happen and I genuinely hope Tyrone do well - in my opinion and I've been consistent in this, Tyrone have the players to win it's whether or not they are allowed to express themselves - if they do what they did last August it will be an easy win for Dubs and the many posters who have advocated MH departure will be back in full swing - not may I say led by me - you give me far more credit than I deserve!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2018 11:16:40    2135181

Replying To MesAmis:  "I totally disagree. Mea is a great man complaining about games on sky etc. yet one of the finalists won't give any prematch interviews to the free to air broadcaster. Remember what started this? And it wasn't the john Murray thing.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 13729 - 20/08/2018 13:50:13

The John Murray thing is exactly why Harte and Tyrone won't speak to RTÉ. You know this is true but for some unknown reason you want to make it look like Harte and Tyrone won't speak to RTÉ over something trivial. Why are you doing that?

If the John Murray sketch didn't happen Tyrone would speak to RTÉ. Stop pretending this isn't true.

If someone mocked your daughter's death would you speak to them?

Simple question. I know I wouldn't and even if I would I'd understand perfectly why someone else wouldn't speak to them.

This has nothing to do with games on Sky."
Anyway...Tyrone speak to Sky, Newstalk, Today FM, Joe.ie etc.

RTE should have categorically apologised and everyone should move on.

The only bit I think could be changed is that players should be free to speak to them. It was a personal thing for MH. If its a case where they stand in solidarity fair enough but it looks more like an overall ban imposed.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 21/08/2018 11:28:35    2135186

I would agree with MH and I like the comment he has made: 'I learn't a long time ago that we really shouldn't determine how well we feel ourselves by what someone else says'. 'That's really handing away the power of our own wellbeing to somebody else'. Over the years there has been a bias by our national broadcaster against certain teams fuelled by guys/herds trying to analyse games to an agenda

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/08/2018 11:52:38    2135197

I see a number of schools are closing the Monday after the final. I like it :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2018 14:20:29    2135281

Replying To Jackeen:  "I see a number of schools are closing the Monday after the final. I like it :)"
Yeah Jackeen I think Mickey wanted this to happen in Tyrone and you know what Mickey demands he gets - this is a joke by the way so please don't take the bait some Tyrone fans. Are they closed in Dublin also.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2018 14:49:26    2135296

Sound move!

Nice to give the kids a day off.

It'll give them time to get over the disappointment..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2018 14:58:39    2135298

Replying To browncows:  "I would agree with MH and I like the comment he has made: 'I learn't a long time ago that we really shouldn't determine how well we feel ourselves by what someone else says'. 'That's really handing away the power of our own wellbeing to somebody else'. Over the years there has been a bias by our national broadcaster against certain teams fuelled by guys/herds trying to analyse games to an agenda"
Excellent browncows ... classy comment.
I'm glad this issue is being written and commented on as RTE refuse to discuss it .
Sunday Game presenters give the impression of not knowing why Tyrone dont talk to them.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 21/08/2018 15:06:18    2135305

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Yeah Jackeen I think Mickey wanted this to happen in Tyrone and you know what Mickey demands he gets - this is a joke by the way so please don't take the bait some Tyrone fans. Are they closed in Dublin also."
I don't believe so but I'm open to correction.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2018 15:06:39    2135306

Question to bring it back to football

The narrative is that the football championship has been muck and to be fair, think we can all accept that Leinster and Munster championships have been dead for some time and the super8s have potential but there is work to be done

But

What would a Tyrone win do for football if anything ? I mean, it'd stop the Dublin monopoly of 4 all Irelands in a row and the predictability that people talk about would be broken with new winners (hopefully not going to be the case as a Dublin fan).

Would a Tyrone win save football if you like ?

Would a Dublin win kill it ?

I mean, I accept football has been second best to hurling, but you can see Kildare had a decent summer, mayo will be back refreshed, Dublin should they lose would be back next year, Kerry will be a year older with a very exciting group of young lads with serious potential, Tyrone would be champions, and Monaghan would be looking to go one better. Galway would still be there and you'd hope one or two others could improve

If Dublin win you have the exact same as above in terms of everyone else, and Dublin would be going to make history by winning 5 in a row

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 17:02:38    2135356

Replying To waynoI:  "Question to bring it back to football

The narrative is that the football championship has been muck and to be fair, think we can all accept that Leinster and Munster championships have been dead for some time and the super8s have potential but there is work to be done

But

What would a Tyrone win do for football if anything ? I mean, it'd stop the Dublin monopoly of 4 all Irelands in a row and the predictability that people talk about would be broken with new winners (hopefully not going to be the case as a Dublin fan).

I mean, I accept football has been second best to hurling, but you can see Kildare had a decent summer, mayo will be back refreshed, Dublin should they lose would be back next year, Kerry will be a year older with a very exciting group of young lads with serious potential, Tyrone would be champions, and Monaghan would be looking to go one better. Galway would still be there and you'd hope one or two others could improve

If Dublin win you have the exact same as above in terms of everyone else, and Dublin would be going to make history by winning 5 in a row"
Good point waynol,
The competition to lead the chasing pack is quite competitive actually. Teams like Kerry, Mayo, Galway, Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone and possibly Kildare would fancy taking points of each other on any given day. The issue is that the gap between this group and Dublin seems to be widening. A lot of comment about only 105,000 combined total at this years semi-final ( would have been higher if you had Mayo instead of Galway a week before their hurling final). Attendances of less than 30,000 were common in semi finals during late 70s-early 80s when the great Kerry team dominated.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 21/08/2018 17:37:29    2135370

I will be supporting Dublin, I am from Ballyronan South Derry, I would always support the 5 Northern teams against southern teams but not Tyrone, I admire their players and history, I saw them play a lot in 2000s so I remember how good they were but I think they are like the NI soccer fans, claiming they have a monopoly on Ulsters core history, the red hand, etc, it is insulting to me as an O'Neill and a proud Ulsterman who actually lives in land once ruled by the O'Neills.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 223 - 21/08/2018 20:01:39    2135416

Away from the 'soundbites' and back to the game. I don't see any reason why Tyrone players would feel they are inferior to the players on this Dublin team, good though they are. Let Micky do his talking to the players, show his motivational ability and them and then let them play to their ability. If this happens, they won't have any need to talk because everybody will be talking about them in a positive way.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/08/2018 20:19:31    2135417

Replying To waynoI:  "Question to bring it back to football

But

If Dublin win you have the exact same as above in terms of everyone else, and Dublin would be going to make history by winning 5 in a row"
You're hitting form at the right stage of the season, well done, lad.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/08/2018 20:27:57    2135420