Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The Dublin players are starting to sound like Jim Gavin now in post match interviews, well we knew Galway would put up a fantastic challenge etc etc....…. they'd trot out the same lines if they'd just played Leitrim.
Thanks God for hurling."
Oh the bitterness .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 21:43:12    2131965

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Do the Dublin players and management EVER smile or look as if they are enjoying winning? Definitely a cold, unemotional, mechanical, manufactured, robotic look about them. They have the Nick Faldo exterior about them. This is why most GAA folk can't and don't warm to them."
Any thing else you would like to whinge about ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 21:47:08    2131967

Replying To bigboon:  "Where's the atmosphere here? Such a boring and dull game, no intensity or bite from Galway at all. Borefest so far"
Reminds me of 2017 semi final Dublin v Tyrone such a boring game , no intensity or bite from Tyrone at all

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 21:50:40    2131969

Replying To katser2:  "The only exciting thing I found was the road out of Dublin today!!"
Pity you found the road into Dublin , stop whinging lad and take your beating

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 22:01:33    2131975

I am convinced in about 20 years time (it may not take that long) that we will see regular All Ireland finals consisting of Dublin South v Dublin North or some form or a broken down Dublin.
It can't stop now, there is a lot of talent in Dublin.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 11/08/2018 22:02:13    2131976

Replying To superbluedub:  "Reminds me of 2017 semi final Dublin v Tyrone such a boring game , no intensity or bite from Tyrone at all"
They waved the white flags as I remember. A boring outfit altogether. What's this an Ulster poster used to say in defence of the boring Tyrone and Donegal blanket displays? Oh yeah, "if you want entertainment go to the circus".

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 22:05:21    2131978

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Doing well with your love in with the Dubs like another former Laois poster.............."
No love in. Just not begrudging.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 22:07:58    2131980

just home from match Galway were away off the pace they didnt close down Ciaran Kilkenny they let him have a free run and jack mccafferey Galway lacked intensity all over pitch Armstrong should have been replaced before half time. Damien comer work rate is poor but took his goal well and maybe he should have got more ball played in to him .dublin def not near as good as they were they would have tougher training session than this game

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 11/08/2018 22:08:16    2131981

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Doing well with your love in with the Dubs like another former Laois poster.............."
One can't acknowledge the Dubs achievement or small simple minds accusing you of a love in.

You lot brought no fight to the table today, unlike Mayo over the years. What good is beating Mayo and being bet out the gate when it really matters?

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 22:13:46    2131985

Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

However the rest of us (who love and played this game ) are just sick and bored of the monotony, the horrendously one sided nature of it all. I simply don't enjoy watching Dublin play, they meander through games in 3rd gear winning with embarrassing ease. With the demise/decline of Mayo, the gap has never been wider(worse)
My prediction :
This Dublin team will win 5 in a row pulling up ( would you get Even-money in the bookmakers on that?)
The winning margins will not reduce as their second and even third team could all reach an AI final
Other counties will simply play for second and players will lack motivation
Sponsors and fans will lose interest, attendances will wain. By the time the push for no 6 in row comes around the GAA will wake up to a hole in the Profit and Loss account.
Working group will be setup to examine why the game is dying around the country.
The groundswell for a split of Dublin into 2 or 3 teams will be unstoppable

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 11/08/2018 22:25:29    2131991

Once Dublin is brought out to a neutral venue and allow other teams a fair shot, I will then acknowledge that Dublin is a better team. Impossible to take a penalty or free due to intimidation and jeering and thuggery. Galway was beaten, but not by a better team. I am proud of Galway and will judge them in Fairplay games. Come on GAA organise Neutral Venues for important games. This is a Farce and a Joke. I said the same thing about Mayo Games, so no sour Grapes.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 11/08/2018 22:29:29    2131992

Replying To Past hurler:  "I am convinced in about 20 years time (it may not take that long) that we will see regular All Ireland finals consisting of Dublin South v Dublin North or some form or a broken down Dublin.
It can't stop now, there is a lot of talent in Dublin."
Im convinced your wrong.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 22:29:55    2131993

galway were very poor and their display was evidence that last weeks inept display against monaghan shows they have dipped dramatically. In reality after the hiding they got last week, it was going to be almost impossible to have their heads right for this one..armstrong, heaney and brannigan were exteremely poor...dublin were also very poor in the first half with them being forced into easy turnovers which galway were not able to take advantage of...don't agree that the missed penalty was the turning point...galway were well in the game at half time...the turning point came with about 20 mins left when the dubs pulled away and galway couldn't respond...galways defending was awful, with too many players not being prepared to work hard enough

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 11/08/2018 22:31:51    2131995

Dubs are not unbeatable. Galway pushed them close in the first half. Tyrone will push them all the way too in the final. Sorry Monaghan. Galway missed an easy penalty- this was turning point. After peno miss the game was over. I was not impressed with the "orange boots" of some of the Galway players. Do they think they are Lionel Messi.
Sorry Kevin W, but Galway may need to replace him if they are to win Sam. Good news is there are the Corofin lads and some really good minors in Galway. Gaillimh abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/08/2018 22:33:12    2131996

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "One can't acknowledge the Dubs achievement or small simple minds accusing you of a love in.

You lot brought no fight to the table today, unlike Mayo over the years. What good is beating Mayo and being bet out the gate when it really matters?"
First half Galway were great, they went toe to toe with the Dubs, but poor sideline game plan cost them in second half. Also what gave with the "orange boots"?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/08/2018 22:34:48    2131998

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

However the rest of us (who love and played this game ) are just sick and bored of the monotony, the horrendously one sided nature of it all. I simply don't enjoy watching Dublin play, they meander through games in 3rd gear winning with embarrassing ease. With the demise/decline of Mayo, the gap has never been wider(worse)
My prediction :
This Dublin team will win 5 in a row pulling up ( would you get Even-money in the bookmakers on that?)
The winning margins will not reduce as their second and even third team could all reach an AI final
Sponsors and fans will lose interest, attendances will wain. By the time the push for no 6 in row comes around the GAA will wake up to a hole in the Profit and Loss account.
Working group will be setup to examine why the game is dying around the country.

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy."
Well, when are all the pretenders going to give the Dubs a game? Dublin will only be split if the Dublin county board vote on it, not when nobody's like you say it as fact.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 11/08/2018 22:38:03    2132004

Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

My prediction :

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 11/08/2018 22:40:02    2132007

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

My prediction :

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy."
Man utd under Ferguson , Barcelona under Guardiola , Kerry under Micko , Kilkenny under Cody
etc etc , sorry you are sick and bored of the monotony, but these things go in cycles all great teams come to an end , and this great Dublin team will come to an end , look at Kilkenny, sorry for being so proud of this great Dublin team. up the Dubs !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 22:42:46    2132009

Replying To DragHimDown:  "I disagree with you on many things but yes that was boring. Donegal the team to beat them next year will ya cop on to yourself. But one thing I would say that Dublin have a huge advantage with the amount of subs that can be used during a game. I think it should be taken back that all teams are only allowed 3. It would even give the black card a bit more significance"
Even the most optimistic of Donegal supporters would admit that beating Dublin next year would be a massive ask but if u don't think u can especially the players then why bother? In fairness Donegal probably gave Dublin 2 of their biggest tests this year. Yes Dublin could have scored more goals against us a few weeks ago but there was enough evidence there too that Donegal can give Dublin plenty of problems. Plus when u factor in missing Paddy McB and what he brings to the team and how we play I think Done gal can at least believe on a given day with everything going in their favour that they can really put it up to Dublin.

On todays game congrats to Dublin on reaching another All Ireland final with relative ease. The talent coming off the bench alone is just phenomenal. Dublin can do it anyway they want be it a shootout or ultra defensive which just shows the quality of this team. As for Galway I was surprised to see Brannigan take the pen is he the regular taker? Poor effort esp with Walsh on the field. The 2nd half was very poor. Too many pot shots and desperate aimless balls into Comer. However ye have improved from last year and definitely have quality coming through so lots to be optimistic about.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 11/08/2018 22:48:11    2132013

My prediction :

Dublin are 5/4 with paddy powers to win 5 in a row next. ..... scary thought really.

yaladya (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 11/08/2018 22:51:22    2132016