I'm NOT A Dub....BUT....

Great player but time to move on...Pity he wasant in Boston last year

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/07/2018 18:16:19    2125347

A fantastic player and competitor who never got the protection from officials he deserved, he was one of the most feared players Dublin had, he could turn a game in Dublin's favour as I think he did in last years final, it could come to pass that Dublin will have big regrets they haven't got him there to call on later on this Summer,
just wish we could draft in in to the Donegal panel for next year seeing as he's playing for Donegal Boston now!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 23/07/2018 19:55:33    2125379

I would imagine he is in Boston or wherever not because of any witch hunt from the media but because he feels badly treated by Dublin and Jim Gavin in particular.

I think Jim analysed the situation and decided he was just too much of a liability and for the greater good of the team he had to go.

As other posters have said there is no comparison between recent incidents and the repeated nature of his, and he should not feel like some martyr because quite simply he was becoming too much of a liability.

Having said all of that, yes I agree with most posters in that I would like to see him still involved.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 23/07/2018 21:35:03    2125436

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "I would imagine he is in Boston or wherever not because of any witch hunt from the media but because he feels badly treated by Dublin and Jim Gavin in particular.

I think Jim analysed the situation and decided he was just too much of a liability and for the greater good of the team he had to go.

As other posters have said there is no comparison between recent incidents and the repeated nature of his, and he should not feel like some martyr because quite simply he was becoming too much of a liability.

Having said all of that, yes I agree with most posters in that I would like to see him still involved."
would imagine he is in Boston or wherever not because of any witch hunt from the media but because he feels badly treated by Dublin and Jim Gavin in particular.

Wrong.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2018 23:08:53    2125492

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All you have to is look at the public reaction to what Andy Moran and now Kevin Mcstay have done to officials and compare it to the reaction Connolly got and you can understand why he's sick of it all. Mcstay was a disgrace yesterday but cause he's a nice guy and let's be honest not a Dub no one cares.

The Connolly incident was one of the worst witch hunts I've ever seen for a Gaa player and I'm sure you's all thought at the time it wasn't and if it happens again to someone else that it will get the same outrage as Connolly well it's happened again Cody, Moran and Mcstay and barely a word about any of them , forgotten about in a day."
agreed 100%

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 24/07/2018 00:14:00    2125516

Replying To browncows:  "Very good footballers will always be talked about."
Why wouldn't he go to Australia and make money from his talents. Surely Clubs would be lining up for him.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/07/2018 02:57:31    2125542

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "I would imagine he is in Boston or wherever not because of any witch hunt from the media but because he feels badly treated by Dublin and Jim Gavin in particular.

Having said all of that, yes I agree with most posters in that I would like to see him still involved."
Let's say you're right and he's fallen out with Jim and Dublin but then why wouldn't he still play for Brian Mullins and Vincent's ? From what I heard it's nothing to do with Jim but maybe what I've been told is wrong.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/07/2018 11:11:13    2125589

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Let's say you're right and he's fallen out with Jim and Dublin but then why wouldn't he still play for Brian Mullins and Vincent's ? From what I heard it's nothing to do with Jim but maybe what I've been told is wrong."
You're not wrong clon.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2018 12:18:19    2125625

Fantastic player.
I personally don't like him to be honest. Obviously don't know him personally but any interviews he's done he seemed arrogant. Their are also incidents in his personal life that, I feel, he should never be forgiven for.
Just my opinion.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/07/2018 12:21:46    2125628

Nothing to do with Gavin or the Dubs setup. He's grand where he is. Would be great to see him back in blue in the future, but hard to see it at this stage.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/07/2018 12:46:49    2125645

Ultimately players do what they think is best for themselves. He does get into trouble which he should avoid. I will say that the incident last year went full swing into a witch hunt against him. Why did he depart- to find out I would ask himself and Gavin may not have helped by leaving him on the side line.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 24/07/2018 12:48:36    2125648

Great thread. Zzzzzzzz

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 24/07/2018 18:04:57    2125830

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Fantastic player.
I personally don't like him to be honest. Obviously don't know him personally but any interviews he's done he seemed arrogant. Their are also incidents in his personal life that, I feel, he should never be forgiven for.
Just my opinion."
Never be forgiven ? Come on , I'm sorry for the mans injuries but non of us are perfect. Everyone deserves a second chance.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/07/2018 20:07:47    2125870

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Let's say you're right and he's fallen out with Jim and Dublin but then why wouldn't he still play for Brian Mullins and Vincent's ? From what I heard it's nothing to do with Jim but maybe what I've been told is wrong."
Yep - reason for his exit is pretty well known in Dublin. Silly lad but best of luck to him

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 24/07/2018 20:23:34    2125881

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Never be forgiven ? Come on , I'm sorry for the mans injuries but non of us are perfect. Everyone deserves a second chance."
Not getting into it but it's my opinion, horrible action and I still don't know how he got away with a slap on the wrists. We all know what happened. He shouldn't even be in USA, he should be in ---.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/07/2018 21:46:15    2125914

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Yep - reason for his exit is pretty well known in Dublin. Silly lad but best of luck to him"
Care to elaborate?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/07/2018 22:45:25    2125939

So then every human whose got in a fight should never be forgiven?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/07/2018 08:10:33    2125986

It shouldn't happen but who hasn't had a fight outside the local chipper or in your town? It happens I've been in loads of scraps when I was younger even with fellas I know I don't hold any grudges and either do they , my best mate hit me a punch on the nose I've a scar on it for life cause of it ,it happens but I forgive him for it. No one is perfect we've all done things we regret.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/07/2018 10:13:31    2126009

Replying To clondalkindub:  "It shouldn't happen but who hasn't had a fight outside the local chipper or in your town? It happens I've been in loads of scraps when I was younger even with fellas I know I don't hold any grudges and either do they , my best mate hit me a punch on the nose I've a scar on it for life cause of it ,it happens but I forgive him for it. No one is perfect we've all done things we regret."
Read the court report-it's in the internet.
Yes we have all made mistakes, but I have never done what Connolly done, I don't think many people have. Let's not trivialise what he done here.
Still don't know how he got away with it and is in USA earning good money while the completely innocent victim has to live the rest of life with the scars of that night.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 25/07/2018 11:05:16    2126030

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Read the court report-it's in the internet.
Yes we have all made mistakes, but I have never done what Connolly done, I don't think many people have. Let's not trivialise what he done here.
Still don't know how he got away with it and is in USA earning good money while the completely innocent victim has to live the rest of life with the scars of that night."
From what I know of the case, from people who were there that night, there were no "completely innocent" victims.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/07/2018 18:36:39    2126510