I'm NOT A Dub....BUT....

I think it's scandalous that a player with the talent and ability of Diarmuid Connolly is sitting in Boston watching on TV as his team plays in the Championship. He is a wonderful footballer, headstrong yes, annoying at times yes but still a great player. He SHOULD be here playing for his county.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 23/07/2018 03:27:35    2124957

fully agree

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/07/2018 08:58:37    2124974

Not a Dub either and I fully agree
One of the best players of the modern generation not involved is a real shame.
That game on Saturday was crying out for a player like him

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/07/2018 09:24:18    2124984

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think it's scandalous that a player with the talent and ability of Diarmuid Connolly is sitting in Boston watching on TV as his team plays in the Championship. He is a wonderful footballer, headstrong yes, annoying at times yes but still a great player. He SHOULD be here playing for his county."
I'm sure he'll look at incidents such as Kevin McStay pushing a linesman at the weekend, without fear of punishment, and think to himself, I'm glad I'm here in the land of milk and honey away from all of that c€&p. On the other hand I'm sure he pines for the game itself and the roar of 80,000 fans at a packed Croke Park, whatever about the media hounds waiting to pounce on him. He is an incredible talent and hopefully one day we'll see him back in blue for a spell but I wouldn't blame him if he stayed over there away from the SG witch hunters lying in the long grass waiting for him to slip up. One thing's for sure, it'll be some time before we see a talent like his again. Not shabby with the small ball either.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2018 09:45:00    2124999

The lad probably just needs a break from the whole thing to be honest and best of luck to him, hes dead right, more to life than just football and not as if he has anything to prove in that regard

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 23/07/2018 09:59:29    2125010

As a fan of Gaelic football it is a pity not to see him, I think outside of Murphy he is the most complete footballer I've seen in the flesh but sure look, leave the man alone for the year and hopefully whatever is going on in the background will get sorted in the New Year and we'll see him at the top level again next summer.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/07/2018 10:12:59    2125015

I'm really happy for him to be honest, forget the begrudges and enjoy life, hope he is having a ball.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2018 10:14:36    2125017

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think it's scandalous that a player with the talent and ability of Diarmuid Connolly is sitting in Boston watching on TV as his team plays in the Championship. He is a wonderful footballer, headstrong yes, annoying at times yes but still a great player. He SHOULD be here playing for his county."
Such a shame that one of the greatest players of the modern generation is not on show for our games. A lot of great Irish sportsmen in the past lived on the edge in their sports and that, in some sense made them the greats that they were eg. Best, Keane, Higgins. I'm sure Diarmuid Connolly gets far more peace in America and possibly enjoying himself more out there.
I've always been a big fan of Connolly and hope we see him playing again in Croke Park soon.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 23/07/2018 10:38:39    2125027

Cant believe we are still talking about Diarmuid Connolly...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2018 10:46:02    2125033

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Such a shame that one of the greatest players of the modern generation is not on show for our games. A lot of great Irish sportsmen in the past lived on the edge in their sports and that, in some sense made them the greats that they were eg. Best, Keane, Higgins. I'm sure Diarmuid Connolly gets far more peace in America and possibly enjoying himself more out there.
I've always been a big fan of Connolly and hope we see him playing again in Croke Park soon."
All you have to is look at the public reaction to what Andy Moran and now Kevin Mcstay have done to officials and compare it to the reaction Connolly got and you can understand why he's sick of it all. Mcstay was a disgrace yesterday but cause he's a nice guy and let's be honest not a Dub no one cares.

The Connolly incident was one of the worst witch hunts I've ever seen for a Gaa player and I'm sure you's all thought at the time it wasn't and if it happens again to someone else that it will get the same outrage as Connolly well it's happened again Cody, Moran and Mcstay and barely a word about any of them , forgotten about in a day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2018 11:02:55    2125050

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All you have to is look at the public reaction to what Andy Moran and now Kevin Mcstay have done to officials and compare it to the reaction Connolly got and you can understand why he's sick of it all. Mcstay was a disgrace yesterday but cause he's a nice guy and let's be honest not a Dub no one cares.

The Connolly incident was one of the worst witch hunts I've ever seen for a Gaa player and I'm sure you's all thought at the time it wasn't and if it happens again to someone else that it will get the same outrage as Connolly well it's happened again Cody, Moran and Mcstay and barely a word about any of them , forgotten about in a day."
Agree pal.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2018 11:14:19    2125066

I'll be honest, I don't see what's scandalous about it at all, or what should be done about it.

I don't think he'd be starting for Dublin anyway.

Not because he's not talented, not because he doesn't improve the team but because his lack of discipline is a risk that Jim Gavin just doesn't need to take to win the All Ireland.

Dublin are probably 5 points better than their nearest rivals. Maybe adding Connolly makes them 6 points better. It doesn't affect their odds of winning a game all that much. Him getting sent off in a game would have a huge impact on Dublin's chances of winning. The risk/reward of Diarmuid Connolly is not worth it to Dublin.

It's sort of just the way it is, any other team in the history of the game he'd be a key player for but the current circumstances are what they are and the current state of play isn't that illogical.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 23/07/2018 11:44:56    2125092

Get him back so he can be dragged and pulled and when he reacts he gets crucified .
Fellas salivating with the excitement of getting out their premeditated rule statement and nearly wetting themselves at the prospect of being able to get rid of him.
Mmmm, I don't think he'll miss that somehow.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 23/07/2018 11:57:24    2125105

Absolute shame and a real loss to the game, if you saw his goal at the weekend it was a joy to watch.
I think however fair play to him, 5 All Irelands nothing to prove I hope he is enjoying himself out there.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2018 11:57:34    2125107

He has made the right choice imo. He faces the same challenges that Michael Murphy, Paul Galivn etc and most recently, David Clifford all face. Constant harassment on the pitch with little or no protection. In fact, the law always seems to come down hard on these lads when they eventually crack.

The championship will miss him for sure but he might not miss it too much.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/07/2018 12:00:49    2125108

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All you have to is look at the public reaction to what Andy Moran and now Kevin Mcstay have done to officials and compare it to the reaction Connolly got and you can understand why he's sick of it all. Mcstay was a disgrace yesterday but cause he's a nice guy and let's be honest not a Dub no one cares.

The Connolly incident was one of the worst witch hunts I've ever seen for a Gaa player and I'm sure you's all thought at the time it wasn't and if it happens again to someone else that it will get the same outrage as Connolly well it's happened again Cody, Moran and Mcstay and barely a word about any of them , forgotten about in a day."
Except Cody, Moran and McStay didn't have a similar poor disciplinary record to Connolly which did him no favours. The Connolly suspension was ridiculous alright, it was the linesman that got him for some reason. Maybe he wanted a taste of the limelight? Too little common sense and too much bad interpretation of rules for Connolly. I hope he summers well in the US in 2018.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 23/07/2018 12:01:11    2125109

Delighted for him and I hope he's enjoying himself. He'll never play inter-county again because why would he bother?

Getting abuse from all corners for most of the summer or enjoying yourself in the sunshine? Easy choice really when you consider that he's got 7 Senior All-Irelands won between club and county, why bother?

You see how the country reacts to him pushing a linesman and then look at how they react when others do similar things and you get an idea imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 23/07/2018 12:07:09    2125115

Not at all. He is way happier where he is for the moment. I cant see him ever returning to this current Dublin setup.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2018 12:10:30    2125119

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'm really happy for him to be honest, forget the begrudges and enjoy life, hope he is having a ball."
Of course he's having a ball. He's playing for Donegal!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/07/2018 12:43:51    2125138

Replying To waynoI:  "Cant believe we are still talking about Diarmuid Connolly..."
Very good footballers will always be talked about.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/07/2018 13:03:36    2125152