Galway V Monaghan

Replying To shaggylegend:  "In the league final, Michael Dara is running with ball he loses possession and falls, Paul Conroy drops his knees into McAuley, while Barry McHugh puts two fingers into his opponents mouth and pulls firmly on gum.

Fair play to Michael Dara for not reacting as that's what Galway hoped for."
Yet you conveniently fail to point out that Philly and Cooper took turns to down Damo Comer in the 1st 20 mins of that match. Selective you are I would suggest. Fingers in mouth going on for years.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 28/07/2018 17:50:13    2127031

A draw here would be ideal
Galway vs Donegal/Tyrone in the Semis
Monaghan vs Dublin in the Semis
And Kerry to be knocked out
Hoping for a Draw now!!!

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 28/07/2018 20:36:29    2127077

All teams that aspire to be competitive must play on the edge but I think the question the article is asking is where we want that edge to be. Galway with their quality would benefit more than most if the game was cleaned up a bit ie if officials and there is enough of them enforced the rules

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 28/07/2018 20:41:28    2127082

Replying To oakleafersir:  "A draw here would be ideal
Hoping for a Draw now!!!"
Me too.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 28/07/2018 20:56:43    2127088

Replying To kiloughter:  "Yet you conveniently fail to point out that Philly and Cooper took turns to down Damo Comer in the 1st 20 mins of that match. Selective you are I would suggest. Fingers in mouth going on for years."
A fairly general response. Not nearly as specific as McKenna.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/07/2018 21:33:38    2127099

Replying To katser:  "Monaghan are probably hoping Galway will foul alot and give away frees so that Beggan can score the long range frees and Mcmanus score the close range frees because that's all Monaghan seem to have is the two trick pony's of Rory Beggan and Conor Mcmanus."
The Galway lads should be well used to handling a few ponies.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/07/2018 21:36:46    2127101

Seriously a draw will not happen. I'd say Galway will win by 3-5 points. Obviously want the reverse of this but I have to realistic.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 28/07/2018 22:37:35    2127119

Galway should win, but don't mind a draw in this one.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 28/07/2018 22:50:14    2127127

A draw is worth a small bet.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 28/07/2018 23:09:47    2127131

I'd be happy with that scenario, we have no business going up against the dubs this year as they would beat us by 15-20 points imo.

If we could have a good game against Kildare and squeeze a win then that wouldn't be the worst way to bow out for our young bucks in 2018, Monaghan are further down the line then we are at the present and they deserve a semifinal appearance.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/07/2018 00:18:38    2127143

I think to win this game we badly need other forwards to step up to take pressure off McManus o Connell and Beggan who have been different class so far but can't do it all on their own.Likes of McCarthy and McCarron have the ability but have yet to do it under pressure in a big game and this will be the difference in qualifying for a semi final or not.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 29/07/2018 09:26:32    2127172

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd be happy with that scenario, we have no business going up against the dubs this year as they would beat us by 15-20 points imo.

If we could have a good game against Kildare and squeeze a win then that wouldn't be the worst way to bow out for our young bucks in 2018, Monaghan are further down the line then we are at the present and they deserve a semifinal appearance."
If you play well like in the second half in Clones then you should squeeze past Kildare alright.
The herculean efforts to spin against Monaghan from your past greats in the weekend papers, should be enough to tilt a few decisions in the Galway match too.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 29/07/2018 10:18:37    2127182

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "If you play well like in the second half in Clones then you should squeeze past Kildare alright.
The herculean efforts to spin against Monaghan from your past greats in the weekend papers, should be enough to tilt a few decisions in the Galway match too."
Its crossed my mind how the referrers performances may be next weekend. Call me cynical put Dublin Vs Kerry is a commercial and marketing managers dream and has a history of raising the holistic profile of the GAA due to the hype and games over the years. The media and GAA really big up the "rivalry".

Hopefully the above doesn't come into play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/07/2018 11:26:26    2127207

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "If you play well like in the second half in Clones then you should squeeze past Kildare alright.
The herculean efforts to spin against Monaghan from your past greats in the weekend papers, should be enough to tilt a few decisions in the Galway match too."
I haven't seen the papers yet, what kinda stuff are they saying?

I just hope Monaghan go into the game nice and cool and don't try and force it too much and keep a little in the tank for the last 5-10 minutes Galway won't be 100% tuned in you'd imagine considering it's job done for them although winning is a habit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/07/2018 12:05:54    2127216

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd be happy with that scenario, we have no business going up against the dubs this year as they would beat us by 15-20 points imo.

If we could have a good game against Kildare and squeeze a win then that wouldn't be the worst way to bow out for our young bucks in 2018, Monaghan are further down the line then we are at the present and they deserve a semifinal appearance."
Squeeze a win? Lol.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/07/2018 12:13:40    2127217

The Spinmasters were certainly in overdrive alright.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/07/2018 12:17:12    2127218

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "The Spinmasters were certainly in overdrive alright."
And if we do manage to win it will be a case of the opposition lost it rather than Galway winning it. Has been the trait most of the season. Amazed that some still don't see some of the quality in this Galway squad.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 29/07/2018 12:49:40    2127236

What was said at the weekend by the papers?

Kerry v Kildare is money in the bank.

Galway v Monaghan is not for either team, but if Galway go all out to win it, the bookies have them as favourites.
The question is if Galway would want to go into a semi final v Dublin or v Tyrone/Donegal.

I am not sure that Monaghan have the bench to mount a 70 minute campaign v Galway. They faded in the last 20 minutes of the game against Kerry. They will need a 4 or 5 point lead going in at half time imo to see the game out.

I could be wrong here. A great game in prospect but I fancy Galway to continue their winning ways.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/07/2018 13:00:17    2127240

Replying To kiloughter:  "And if we do manage to win it will be a case of the opposition lost it rather than Galway winning it. Has been the trait most of the season. Amazed that some still don't see some of the quality in this Galway squad."
I'd say Monaghan fans feel the same way as ye do,as they get no credit eitherand all I can say is Galway and Monaghan deservedly beat us twice this year in league and championship ( Monaghan drew but should have won)

it's a pity ye picked up injuries to two of yer midfielders, when is Curran due back?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/07/2018 13:34:20    2127245

It's got draw written all over it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 29/07/2018 13:41:25    2127248