Galway V Monaghan

You Galway lads are a sensitive bunch. Let's keep this in perspective here. An article was published in a national newspaper highlighting Galway tactics and now you're all losing it. I'm sure all the details highlighted are all merely coincidental... Now lighten up, enjoy your weekend, and we'll see you over there on the 4th.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/07/2018 21:05:57    2126874

Replying To festinog:  "I can't keep up with all the things this Galway team are accused of being. Overly defensive, now dirty, there's a pundit on a certain podcast hosted by a Laois man who the week before the game against Kildare could only describe Galway as been a "dour" team, and then the week after the game was bending over backwards singing the teams praises as skillful players.

What's clear is Big Kev has coached this team to a place where the opposition is having an awful hard time getting their heads around what style they play which probably means the team is all of these things and none of them. And that kind of unpredictability tends to inspire worry, dare I say fear, in teams about to play them?

So lads from Monaghan obsess over this article to ye're hearts content; just remember we play the game under the same rules as ye do and all that matters is the scoreboard on the 70th minute. Focus on that lads."
The scoreboard on 75 mins you mean.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 27/07/2018 21:08:03    2126875

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The scoreboard on 75 mins you mean."
Or more probably 80

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/07/2018 21:16:32    2126880

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-why-are-the-nasty-and-spiteful-tactics-in-gaa-right-now-passed-off-as-a-skill-37157511.html

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 27/07/2018 23:58:06    2126917

you have to agree ewan mckenna does have a valid point 9 sendings of for the opposition in 12 matches with 7 of them forwards pretty underhanded stuff we probably will experience it in galway next weekend as well

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 28/07/2018 09:54:46    2126950

The biggest problem the Galway lads have is, their secret is out and hopefully the officials clamp down on starting next Saturday.

Ewan makes extremely valid points, which any Monaghan supporter in Salthill in March would have seen first hand. Conor Mcmanus took a right bit of abuse, leading to a blood substitution. Fintan Kelly reacted after being pulled and dragged form the off.
Monaghan won't play into this trap again, it's about time the officials addressed it, 9 red cards is not a coincidence it's pure dark arts.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/07/2018 11:24:29    2126962

Replying To shaggylegend:  "The biggest problem the Galway lads have is, their secret is out and hopefully the officials clamp down on starting next Saturday.

Ewan makes extremely valid points, which any Monaghan supporter in Salthill in March would have seen first hand. Conor Mcmanus took a right bit of abuse, leading to a blood substitution. Fintan Kelly reacted after being pulled and dragged form the off.
Monaghan won't play into this trap again, it's about time the officials addressed it, 9 red cards is not a coincidence it's pure dark arts."
Ah, but the Monaghan altar boys have also come to people's notice:

Brolly: 'We saw what was happening to him (Clifford) off the ball...'
Colm Keys (Irish Indo): 'And right on cue, just as referee Maurice Deegan was preparing to throw in, every one of the Kerry forwards was being niggled and nudged almost in unison.'

So, it should be something of an MMA battle in Salthill.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 28/07/2018 11:49:10    2126967

Replying To shaggylegend:  "The biggest problem the Galway lads have is, their secret is out and hopefully the officials clamp down on starting next Saturday.

Monaghan won't play into this trap again, it's about time the officials addressed it, 9 red cards is not a coincidence it's pure dark arts."
'Conor Mcmanus took a right bit of abuse, leading to a blood substitution.'
That's a very vague description without much detail. Tell us what exactly led to the blood substitution if you're going to be attempting to link it to foul play.

'Fintan Kelly reacted after being pulled and dragged form the off.'
Fintan Kelly was stupid for reacting to be pulled and dragged. Damien Comer reacted in an FBD match to bad treatment and got a red also. That was stupid on his part and he hasn't done it since.
Our best forward at club level gets pulled and dragged in every match we play. He's not stupid enough to throw an elbow or a punch when it happens.

I'd take the article more seriously if 1) McKenna had actually been to a few Galway matches and seen it. He hasn't as he lives in Brazil. 2) If every other team wasn't doing the same and worse. From the 10+ Galway games I've been at this year, every team has players who pull, drag and wind up opposition players.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2050 - 28/07/2018 11:54:40    2126968

Tyrone pushed themselves into the all ireland reckoning in the 00's and were subjected to a media witchhunt
McGuinness made Donegal competitive and the same thing happened.
Its your turn now Galway. Take it as a compliment.
They never bothered with Mayo...

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 28/07/2018 12:19:21    2126971

Replying To Aibrean:  "Ah, but the Monaghan altar boys have also come to people's notice:

Colm Keys (Irish Indo): 'And right on cue, just as referee Maurice Deegan was preparing to throw in, every one of the Kerry forwards was being niggled and nudged almost in unison.'

So, it should be something of an MMA battle in Salthill."
The big difference is though that the Monaghan challenges are honest & upfront, not veiled & underhand as highlighted in the appraisal of Galway tactics in the Irish Independent.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/07/2018 12:29:28    2126972

Replying To Aibrean:  "Ah, but the Monaghan altar boys have also come to people's notice:

If you were one of the 20 Kerry supporters in Croke Park against Galway, you would have seen James O'Donogue hit his man with a forearm to the face before the ball was thrown in. David Clifford got Kieran Duffy booked, he was the instigator, every time Clifford scored he has to run and charge into the Monaghan players.

Kerry are the saints of football.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/07/2018 12:51:51    2126981

Just read that article.......whats new?...... This has been going on in most GAA games since time began! ..... basically it's just players having "a bit of a cuddle & get to know ya"

It will be a tough, "no quarter given" game in Salthill. I am looking forward to it as I'm living in Galway for 35+years. I fancy Monaghan to shade it,please GOD! ( I owe a "good slagging" to a few Tribesmen).

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 28/07/2018 12:02:59    2126982

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Just read that article.......whats new?...... This has been going on in most GAA games since time began! ..... basically it's just players having "a bit of a cuddle & get to know ya"

It will be a tough, "no quarter given" game in Salthill. I am looking forward to it as I'm living in Galway for 35+years. I fancy Monaghan to shade it,please GOD! ( I owe a "good slagging" to a few Tribesmen)."
The whole theme is doing nasty thing of the ball, putting fingers in players mouth, dropping knees and then when the Galway player get a touch he hits the ground.
I believe Paddy Tally has a lot to do with it, remember he was a key component of the Tyrone team that dived there way to an all ireland in 03.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/07/2018 12:15:57    2126985

Replying To shaggylegend:  "The whole theme is doing nasty thing of the ball, putting fingers in players mouth, dropping knees and then when the Galway player get a touch he hits the ground.
I believe Paddy Tally has a lot to do with it, remember he was a key component of the Tyrone team that dived there way to an all ireland in 03."
I don't miss many Galway games and I don't I've ever seen an opposition player running around with a Galway players finger in their mouth!! Talk about making up absolute muck.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 28/07/2018 12:29:31    2126990

Galway have the right mix of modern day football. Good at defending and can attack with accuracy. They have a few better forwards than Monaghan so it's hard to see Monaghan beat them. Monaghan tho are a doggy team that will play hard and have great patches throughout but over depend on Mac. Their bench not bad but Galway win in this department aswell. Hope it's a good game but my pick is a full strength Galway team who haven't even peaked yet.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 28/07/2018 12:35:02    2126991

As you are quoting Brolly. It sounds like you were not at the game. I saw Duffy and Clifford get their yellow cards as it was straight in front of me. Duffy had his hands in the air and Clifford was grabbing him and swinging him around off the ball. All for the purpose that both would get a yellow and thereafter Duffy would have to be very careful. It was a cynical move.
Regarding the article. It's a nothing article made up from statistics which can always be twisted to prove a point.
Here's to a fair game next week with a good referee and no controversies. Muinichean Abu.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/07/2018 12:54:55    2126995

According to some Mayo and Galway posters, we have both doggies and ponies so with all that, there'll be a right dog-and-pony show in Salthill.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/07/2018 13:22:51    2126998

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Just read that article.......whats new?...... This has been going on in most GAA games since time began! ..... basically it's just players having "a bit of a cuddle & get to know ya"

It will be a tough, "no quarter given" game in Salthill. I am looking forward to it as I'm living in Galway for 35+years. I fancy Monaghan to shade it,please GOD! ( I owe a "good slagging" to a few Tribesmen)."
Exactly. Well said. The supposed interest in this article from some people is strange, given that what he reports takes place in almost every single GAA match, and is carried out by all top teams.

It should be a cracking match in Salthill with what's at stake. A draw would be a nice result. :)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2050 - 28/07/2018 13:43:51    2126999

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I don't miss many Galway games and I don't I've ever seen an opposition player running around with a Galway players finger in their mouth!! Talk about making up absolute muck."
In the league final, Michael Dara is running with ball he loses possession and falls, Paul Conroy drops his knees into McAuley, while Barry McHugh puts two fingers into his opponents mouth and pulls firmly on gum.

Fair play to Michael Dara for not reacting as that's what Galway hoped for.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/07/2018 13:59:58    2127000

Replying To greysoil:  "The big difference is though that the Monaghan challenges are honest & upfront, not veiled & underhand as highlighted in the appraisal of Galway tactics in the Irish Independent."
Vinnie Corry on Jack Barry last weekend. Is that honest. Fintan Kelly totally overreacted in the Salthill league game after being fouled and deserved to go. Opponents better to keep their discipline. Not our responsibility.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 28/07/2018 17:47:57    2127030