Galway V Monaghan

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Very disappointed after yesterday's game, not so much about conceding the late goal but that Monaghan only played in snatches. Brilliant sometimes and poor others. But at the same time it's encouraging to know that the team have not played to their potential yet this year and plenty of areas that just need a bit more improvement and show more composure from the man with ball. I have heard some commentators say that Monaghan will find it hard to lift themselves for the next game which is laughable.....Monaghan are probably in the best possible position mentally.....all or nothing game where they go in as underdogs....They will give it everything in Salthill and win or lose the Galway lads will know they have been in a game as they will be hurting for a month after it.... HON THE FARNEY"
The more physical the game, the better it suits Galway. It'll take a better plan than that!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 347 - 27/07/2018 14:42:17    2126748

Replying To DragHimDown:  "I just wonder is the Galway management gonna make the right decision in resting players. I think Galway would have a serious chance against Dublin in the semifinal and is it really worth risking players with two really tough games against northern teams."
Personally, I feel we'd have a better chance of beating Dublin in the semi final with a young inexperienced team.
Alternatively, have a better chance of reaching an All Ireland Final if we avoid Dublin in the semifinal.
Its a case of pick your poison.
I'm hoping for a win v Monaghan but dont think meeting Dublin in the semi Final is necessarily a terrible thing.
To win an All Ireland, we'll have to cross swords with Dublin either way.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 347 - 27/07/2018 14:55:07    2126753

Replying To EDH:  "Galway have an edge but it is nothing in comparisons to what what Monaghan can/do dish out. What is your oppinion of the image of Vinnie Corry grabbing Jack Barry around the throat at the weekend? It got a bit of coverage on social media.
As for aggression at the weekend Kildare came with an agenda what are Galway to do....roll over?"
No need to over react.....all we are suggesting is that you red the article from a national sports journalist whose views should be independent citing numerous specific instances........and it's not just him......Galway have been coming under attack from a host of sources this year for their tactics !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 27/07/2018 15:22:45    2126762

Replying To StopTheLights:  "The more physical the game, the better it suits Galway. It'll take a better plan than that!!"
So the Monaghan boys will just have to add a touch of physicality to their game for once !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 27/07/2018 15:30:53    2126764

I'd take McKenna's article with more than a pinch of salt. The cleverest of teams are at this for years and years. I think Galway are getting a bit of heat about it because it has been a marked change to the Galway we had become used to watching. The nice guys. Let's take Flynn's sending off the last day. If he was on the receiving end of some close treatment from even before the ball was thrown in are you telling me he wasn't 100% prepared for this being their star forward?? He's probably been getting this treatment for club and county for years. I'm not saying it's right or wrong but the fact of the matter is he wasn't well enough equipped between the ears to not only expect it but also to deal with it. As a Dublin fan I've seen it with Lee Keegan's close attention on Connolly over the years, it's frustrating as hell but you have to have faith in your forward player to react in the best way possible. Either waiting for the next 50/50 tackle to exact some retribution or doing what a forward is supposed to do and win the ball and get a few scores off his man and shut him up that way. There are instances i.e. Keegan's rugby tackle on Connolly in the 2015 semi-final when I wouldn't blame Connolly one bit for lashing out as it is a natural instinct to protect himself whilst on the ground wrestling. Flynn the last day was being pulled when he threw his swing, even if the culmination of a day long of niggle he still needs to know it was a silly reaction and one that ultimately cost his team.

If I were Galway this weekend for what it's worth I'd be resting a whole host of their starting 15. A semi-final place is secured, they will have to play Dublin you'd imagine either way if they're to win the All-Ireland. Why not play a rotated team this weekend, let the result take care of itself one way or the other and face Dublin in a semi if that transpires with at least having given your key players a much needed rest. For one I hope they go all out v Monaghan as a 6 or 7 day turnaround is a tough ask for a semi-final regardless of the opposition.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 27/07/2018 15:34:08    2126765

All top teams have an element of 'dark arts' about them. McKenna equals sour grapes. Fails to site the even most obvious manhandling of a player that goes on in most Galway games I.e. that of Damien Comer.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 27/07/2018 15:41:17    2126769

Monaghan are probably hoping Galway will foul alot and give away frees so that Beggan can score the long range frees and Mcmanus score the close range frees because that's all Monaghan seem to have is the two trick pony's of Rory Beggan and Conor Mcmanus.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2229 - 27/07/2018 15:46:33    2126770

Article on Galway written by a Kildare fan with a type writer .. so much for an independent view.
Might we see all 4 provinces represented in the 'after eights' with Dublin v Kerry and Galway v Tyr/DL semi final pairing.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 27/07/2018 15:59:11    2126780

Replying To katser:  "Monaghan are probably hoping Galway will foul alot and give away frees so that Beggan can score the long range frees and Mcmanus score the close range frees because that's all Monaghan seem to have is the two trick pony's of Rory Beggan and Conor Mcmanus."
That about sums it up. Should be a much easier match for yer then. If you can get one of those ponies sent off then you will only have 1 man to beat and not the usual 13 or 14.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 27/07/2018 16:15:17    2126792

Replying To DragHimDown:  "That about sums it up. Should be a much easier match for yer then. If you can get one of those ponies sent off then you will only have 1 man to beat and not the usual 13 or 14."
I hope Katser was tongue in cheek. Most Galway folk would acknowledge ye are a good seasoned side despite at times being over reliant on McManus. Look KW and his troops are going about their business in a quite way. If people cannot see that and want to start something from nothing it is because they are worried that Galway might be the actual ones to challenge Dublin or alternatively they have little to be doing with themselves.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 27/07/2018 16:54:05    2126807

Replying To katser:  "Monaghan are probably hoping Galway will foul alot and give away frees so that Beggan can score the long range frees and Mcmanus score the close range frees because that's all Monaghan seem to have is the two trick pony's of Rory Beggan and Conor Mcmanus."
I doubt Kevin Walsh or his players will be so complacent.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7368 - 27/07/2018 16:57:37    2126808

To be fair. It's a great trick, and has brought us this far!

Monaghan08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 27/07/2018 17:25:46    2126820

Replying To kiloughter:  "I hope Katser was tongue in cheek. Most Galway folk would acknowledge ye are a good seasoned side despite at times being over reliant on McManus. Look KW and his troops are going about their business in a quite way. If people cannot see that and want to start something from nothing it is because they are worried that Galway might be the actual ones to challenge Dublin or alternatively they have little to be doing with themselves."
Either way Kilougher. ..isn't it great to have our footballers back in a all ireland semi final and with our hurlers flying it, there is such a buzz and feel good factor around the whole County :)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2229 - 27/07/2018 17:40:20    2126826

I can't keep up with all the things this Galway team are accused of being. Overly defensive, now dirty, there's a pundit on a certain podcast hosted by a Laois man who the week before the game against Kildare could only describe Galway as been a "dour" team, and then the week after the game was bending over backwards singing the teams praises as skillful players.

What's clear is Big Kev has coached this team to a place where the opposition is having an awful hard time getting their heads around what style they play which probably means the team is all of these things and none of them. And that kind of unpredictability tends to inspire worry, dare I say fear, in teams about to play them?

So lads from Monaghan obsess over this article to ye're hearts content; just remember we play the game under the same rules as ye do and all that matters is the scoreboard on the 70th minute. Focus on that lads.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2018 17:51:55    2126828

Replying To Shelbourne:  "No need to over react.....all we are suggesting is that you red the article from a national sports journalist whose views should be independent citing numerous specific instances........and it's not just him......Galway have been coming under attack from a host of sources this year for their tactics !"
What host? Pat Spillane, Joe Brolly? Do me a favour.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/07/2018 18:34:02    2126842

Replying To festinog:  "I can't keep up with all the things this Galway team are accused of being. Overly defensive, now dirty, there's a pundit on a certain podcast hosted by a Laois man who the week before the game against Kildare could only describe Galway as been a "dour" team, and then the week after the game was bending over backwards singing the teams praises as skillful players.

What's clear is Big Kev has coached this team to a place where the opposition is having an awful hard time getting their heads around what style they play which probably means the team is all of these things and none of them. And that kind of unpredictability tends to inspire worry, dare I say fear, in teams about to play them?

So lads from Monaghan obsess over this article to ye're hearts content; just remember we play the game under the same rules as ye do and all that matters is the scoreboard on the 70th minute. Focus on that lads."
Ha ha big Kev has coached his team......Galway are playing how paddy tally tells them to play.....and this is a system that Monaghan and Tyrone know inside out....yes it is a bit confusing because Galway don't really know themselves what system they play as they have yet to perfect it like the ulster teams have

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 27/07/2018 19:40:06    2126856

Well if that's the case then it's going to be so easy for Galway !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 27/07/2018 19:47:17    2126858

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Ha ha big Kev has coached his team......Galway are playing how paddy tally tells them to play.....and this is a system that Monaghan and Tyrone know inside out....yes it is a bit confusing because Galway don't really know themselves what system they play as they have yet to perfect it like the ulster teams have"
Spot on!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/07/2018 20:12:22    2126863

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Ha ha big Kev has coached his team......Galway are playing how paddy tally tells them to play.....and this is a system that Monaghan and Tyrone know inside out....yes it is a bit confusing because Galway don't really know themselves what system they play as they have yet to perfect it like the ulster teams have"
Ah, so that would explain why we've lost to every northern team we've played in the last 12 months.

Ye've clearly nothing to worry about for the 4th so, and in fact are probably raging hot favorites for the win. Be gentle lads, that's all we ask. We're only a one trick pony after all.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2018 20:48:43    2126870

Replying To festinog:  "Ah, so that would explain why we've lost to every northern team we've played in the last 12 months.

Ye've clearly nothing to worry about for the 4th so, and in fact are probably raging hot favorites for the win. Be gentle lads, that's all we ask. We're only a one trick pony after all."
I'm even more confused now...1 trick pony... 2 trick pony... even the Galway posters are confused

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 27/07/2018 21:04:27    2126873