Galway V Monaghan

Replying To OrielAbu:  "This should be a cracking game, last 10 minute's will be crucial, cool heads and composure, hopefully we will prevail. Hon the Farney"
More likely the way the game will play out as opposed to the crazy commentary by some of your fellow county people.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2018 21:06:28    2128610

hopefully we can compete with Galway and be there or thereabouts in the final 10 think the extra week off could benefit monaghan more mentally and physically as they had 4 matches in 4 weeks and the shock of kerry getting a draw out of that match in clones plus a couple of injuries should have cleared up as for galway kildare werent far off them in the end 2 weeks ago so hopefully we can put it up to the tribesmen

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/08/2018 22:52:18    2128636

Replying To GDL:  "You have really got to drop your complaining, yes there was holding and dragging but the Galway full forward line experienced way more abuse than the Kildare one. In fact before the game wven started the Kildate number 7 was giving Dhane Walsh some unbelievable abuse. Your number 10 should have gine for striking Peter Cooke and number 19 for the numerous digs on Varley."
There was lots going on on both sides in that game and well you know it. Didn't see any angel wings stuffed under the maroon jerseys. Moolick for one got mauled every time a kick out was sent his way but got nothing from the referee. Maybe you just couldn't see your own shirt numbers. Love how you said we should drop the complaining...........Then preceded to give a litany of your own.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 02/08/2018 22:54:55    2128637

Paul conroys presence in the dressing room to push the Galway lads over the line .

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 03/08/2018 20:04:12    2128813

Replying To kildare73:  "There was lots going on on both sides in that game and well you know it. Didn't see any angel wings stuffed under the maroon jerseys. Moolick for one got mauled every time a kick out was sent his way but got nothing from the referee. Maybe you just couldn't see your own shirt numbers. Love how you said we should drop the complaining...........Then preceded to give a litany of your own."
I would never moan about playing Kildare, I wish we got them every year like the Dubs, because you know they will fold, always do.
Now we have moved on to Monaghan and then our semi why don't you try the Kerry/Kildare thread.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 725 - 03/08/2018 21:19:30    2128820

Replying To sarah122:  "Any pubs in Galway city you'll get into with a 17 year old on the Saturday night ? Thanks"
Depends on what the 17 year old is looking for! Skeff, Kings Head, Quays will be lively. For a good pint but a bit sedate/civilised there's Freaneys, Garavans, Muphys, Bunch of Grapes. Roisin Dubhs, Monroe's, The Blue Note for music. Taafes and The Crane for trade. I'd recommend Myles Lees Dew Drop Inn close to the bottom of Shop Street, top of Quay St. A small but great no bullshit pub, not so touristy that'll show sports and mighty porter. If he looks underage walk in , say nothing and don't let him but the drink. Don't know the pubs with a younger crowd any more, don't get to Galway too often anymore ,!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 03/08/2018 22:28:18    2128835

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Depends on what the 17 year old is looking for! Skeff, Kings Head, Quays will be lively. For a good pint but a bit sedate/civilised there's Freaneys, Garavans, Muphys, Bunch of Grapes. Roisin Dubhs, Monroe's, The Blue Note for music. Taafes and The Crane for trade. I'd recommend Myles Lees Dew Drop Inn close to the bottom of Shop Street, top of Quay St. A small but great no bullshit pub, not so touristy that'll show sports and mighty porter. If he looks underage walk in , say nothing and don't let him but the drink. Don't know the pubs with a younger crowd any more, don't get to Galway too often anymore ,!"
What does trade mean?

Workingclass (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 04/08/2018 02:21:53    2128858

Safe travels to all going to matches this weekend. Hoping Monaghan do the business , in fact I'm confident of a 4/5 point win. Hoping Galway keep things sporting and play fair, Have been waiting 30 years for this. HON THE FARNEY.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 04/08/2018 07:17:09    2128865

Replying To GDL:  "I would never moan about playing Kildare, I wish we got them every year like the Dubs, because you know they will fold, always do.
Now we have moved on to Monaghan and then our semi why don't you try the Kerry/Kildare thread."
Harsh on the Lillies. They are a decent team and their age profile younger than most other counties in the super 8's. Very talented bunch imo and we had to earn that win. They played a lot better than what i saw of them against Monaghan the previous week. Look the last day there was two teams going hammer and tongs. Yes some off the ball stuff but no team are angels in modern day football. Romantics looking for what we had 20 years ago will unfortunately be looking for a while. However the match in Newbridge was one of the better ones this year. On Kildare I expect them to challenge Dublin big time in the next few years

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2018 08:14:44    2128866

Jeez the Galway lads are really losing the run of themselves. Was on their home page for a bit of a gander and there's are topic up about social media. Looking for the twitter and all so they are. And the snap chat. One lad reckons they the biggest brand in gaa at moment.... jaysus..... Anyway enjoy game everyone....HON THE FARNEY

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 04/08/2018 08:46:31    2128869

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Jeez the Galway lads are really losing the run of themselves. Was on their home page for a bit of a gander and there's are topic up about social media. Looking for the twitter and all so they are. And the snap chat. One lad reckons they the biggest brand in gaa at moment.... jaysus..... Anyway enjoy game everyone....HON THE FARNEY"
I think you will find the biggest brand point you make is largely because of the hurlers success. There is a love in with our hurlers (rightly so) at the moment and the footballers are going about their business in a quiet unassuming way. When you win all Irelands the adulation follows. Hurling being a better game to watch is easier to attract the marginal fan when you come from a dual county. Safe travels to our Monaghan brethren.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 04/08/2018 10:11:25    2128879

Galway to edge this one for me.
Monaghan had their chance and blew it.
Should have beaten Kerry when they had them at their mercy.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/08/2018 11:27:24    2128892

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Jeez the Galway lads are really losing the run of themselves. Was on their home page for a bit of a gander and there's are topic up about social media. Looking for the twitter and all so they are. And the snap chat. One lad reckons they the biggest brand in gaa at moment.... jaysus..... Anyway enjoy game everyone....HON THE FARNEY"
Safe travels and leave yourself plenty of time to get across town.
You'd never know, we might hear from you under another new name after the match, if the result goes a certain way.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2050 - 04/08/2018 11:51:40    2128894

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Galway to edge this one for me.
Should have beaten Kerry when they had them at their mercy."
Trot along.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 04/08/2018 12:03:50    2128897

Replying To Workingclass:  "What does trade mean?"
Sorry. Good spot Workingclass. Hastily typed on phone, predictive text. Should be trad. Trade sounds a bit dodgy!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 04/08/2018 12:31:55    2128904

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Galway to edge this one for me.
Should have beaten Kerry when they had them at their mercy."
Just because we didn't win the last day, doesn't mean we can't win again.

Galway are a tough game but not the unbeatable juggarnaut some like to portray them as.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 04/08/2018 12:50:51    2128913

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Sorry. Good spot Workingclass. Hastily typed on phone, predictive text. Should be trad. Trade sounds a bit dodgy!"
I know! I was nearly on my way. :-)

Workingclass (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 04/08/2018 13:26:42    2128920

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Trot along."
Can't make it unfortunately.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/08/2018 13:49:13    2128923

Replying To patk:  "Just because we didn't win the last day, doesn't mean we can't win again.

Galway are a tough game but not the unbeatable juggarnaut some like to portray them as."
Of course it doesn't but ye had the better of Kerry all day in that game and let them off the hook.
I just think that inability to kill them off will come back to haunt Monaghan. It'd be more the psychological blow the draw has which could do most damage.
Anyway, it should be a good game and if ye manage it then fair enough ye will have earned a place in the semi's.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/08/2018 13:59:33    2128926

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Safe travels and leave yourself plenty of time to get across town.
You'd never know, we might hear from you under another new name after the match, if the result goes a certain way."
No new name for me win or lose....but Monaghan will win today....this is our time.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 04/08/2018 14:12:31    2128932