Galway V Monaghan

Replying To giveitlong:  "Kerry will come on a ton from the Monaghan game and will, I believe, rack up a big score against Kildare who have nothing to play for. Because of the winning tradition Kerry bring to semi finals and finals, it would be better for Galway if they did not go through. Galway have several players with minor injuries who need rest. Will KW go all out and give his 1st choice team the benefit of another tough full blooded battle, or will he give a chance to those who have been waiting on the bench, Cummins, Molloy, FOC etc. On the other hand I could not see the Kerry backs keeping out the Dubs in a semi-final, but Monaghan have the advantage of having beaten them in the NFL."
No disrespect to Monaghan but Monaghan beat Dublin in a nothing league game with the final placings already secured. Probably good psychologically in fairness. Monaghan are a good side and yes they will come to Salthill confident but it is not when/when not is the best time to play Dublin or keeping/not keeping Kerry in the championship. Winning is a habit and i expect our boys to have the full press on. I mean are people only copping on to where we have come from. This has been coming for two years. Nudie Hughes a great footballer in his day on the radio yesterday as i drove back from Newbridge when asked about Galway. 'Yea good side they have all the Corofin players back' was his response. Sorry Nudie we have one Cororfin player on the 26 st the moment (Ian Burke albeit their best player) . Simple facts are missed and i know Nudie was caught up by the events in Clones. I think this reflects the general thinking on Galway. People are surprised that where we are but i mean most of these guys have won u21 all irelands or played in underage finals so its not as if we are coming from nowhere and have beaten Mayo 3 years running. Yes some bad days in the mix but we have serious footballers. Salthill on Sat week should be another cracker and what the Super 8's are about.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 23/07/2018 11:07:21    2125059

This talk of fielding weakened teams to prevent Kerry progressing is something a man like KW wouldn't stand for I'd imagine.
There is no integrity in that or in suggesting it either.
I suspect the carrot of avoiding Dublin and keeping the momentum going is more important.
Either way Kerry can only worry about Kildare now.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2018 11:28:34    2125083

Replying To kiloughter:  "No disrespect to Monaghan but Monaghan beat Dublin in a nothing league game with the final placings already secured. Probably good psychologically in fairness. Monaghan are a good side and yes they will come to Salthill confident but it is not when/when not is the best time to play Dublin or keeping/not keeping Kerry in the championship. Winning is a habit and i expect our boys to have the full press on. I mean are people only copping on to where we have come from. This has been coming for two years. Nudie Hughes a great footballer in his day on the radio yesterday as i drove back from Newbridge when asked about Galway. 'Yea good side they have all the Corofin players back' was his response. Sorry Nudie we have one Cororfin player on the 26 st the moment (Ian Burke albeit their best player) . Simple facts are missed and i know Nudie was caught up by the events in Clones. I think this reflects the general thinking on Galway. People are surprised that where we are but i mean most of these guys have won u21 all irelands or played in underage finals so its not as if we are coming from nowhere and have beaten Mayo 3 years running. Yes some bad days in the mix but we have serious footballers. Salthill on Sat week should be another cracker and what the Super 8's are about."
What would Nudie Hughes know about the Galway football squad in all fairness? What would your average exGalway player from the 1980s know about the Monaghan squad? Sfa, I'd suspect. The Galway footballers are gaining national attention in 2018, probably for the first time since 2001.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3466 - 23/07/2018 11:31:49    2125087

Replying To kiloughter:  "No disrespect to Monaghan but Monaghan beat Dublin in a nothing league game with the final placings already secured. Probably good psychologically in fairness. Monaghan are a good side and yes they will come to Salthill confident but it is not when/when not is the best time to play Dublin or keeping/not keeping Kerry in the championship. Winning is a habit and i expect our boys to have the full press on. I mean are people only copping on to where we have come from. This has been coming for two years. Nudie Hughes a great footballer in his day on the radio yesterday as i drove back from Newbridge when asked about Galway. 'Yea good side they have all the Corofin players back' was his response. Sorry Nudie we have one Cororfin player on the 26 st the moment (Ian Burke albeit their best player) . Simple facts are missed and i know Nudie was caught up by the events in Clones. I think this reflects the general thinking on Galway. People are surprised that where we are but i mean most of these guys have won u21 all irelands or played in underage finals so its not as if we are coming from nowhere and have beaten Mayo 3 years running. Yes some bad days in the mix but we have serious footballers. Salthill on Sat week should be another cracker and what the Super 8's are about."
Galway on form are deservedly rated no 2 side in country and we got a huge challenge ahead of us now to reach a semi final but sure look we will throw the kitchen sink at it in salthill and see what happens. We will be written off by all and sundry after yesterday chance gone etc but that might just suit us. Unlike 07 there is a second chance here to go again.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 23/07/2018 11:35:51    2125089

Replying To WanPintWin:  "With Kildare now out and with Daniel Flynn suspended, I think Kerry could put a big enough score on them at home. That would leave Monagahan needing something in Salthill, as they're unlikely to have Kerry on score difference.
Galway and Monaghan should play out a nil all draw. :)"
Was thinking the same thing myself, avoid Dublin and knockout Kerry'!!!! Ah the Gael is too honest for that sort of thing.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 23/07/2018 11:40:54    2125091

Replying To seanie08:  "Galway on form are deservedly rated no 2 side in country and we got a huge challenge ahead of us now to reach a semi final but sure look we will throw the kitchen sink at it in salthill and see what happens. We will be written off by all and sundry after yesterday chance gone etc but that might just suit us. Unlike 07 there is a second chance here to go again."
I certainly won't be writing ye off. Have followed your progress and ye are not one hit wonders. MOR has developed a squad with a number of years behind ye.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 23/07/2018 12:03:34    2125111

I think monaghan will get something here
even if galway were needing the points for the semi
it would still be a hard game for galway
monaghan have a huge prize to play for
the way monaghan set up and the experience they have
will make it difficult for galway anyways
galway will prob give Armstrong,,varley. duane, o donnel a run
most of these lads have been good for galway before in previous yrs,
it shows how strong the panel is when those lads are on the bench

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/07/2018 21:34:18    2125435

The end of the game yesterday was like a kick to the gut and I was like a bull for the rest of the day. Tough one to take. But after reflecting on it today, while there were some negatives(not least the inability to kill off Kerry), there are still many positives we can take from it too. We're still in the championship, our fate is still in our own hands, and indeed the chance to top the group is too. After the low of the Fermanagh defeat, we'd have taken that position without a doubt.

Had this game been this weekend, I'd have been a bit worried, but the 2 week break gives us a good chance to regroup and go again. Galway have had a fine year but I feel like we're well capable of going down there and getting a result. Should be a great occasion with it being race week too!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 23/07/2018 23:14:40    2125495

Very interesting game, if Kerry do get through it will be a very intense battle between themselves and the Dubs, with the probability of a Red card for someone fairly high.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 24/07/2018 08:47:02    2125551

Hopefully we will pick up a win in Galway. Can someone answer what happens if Kerry wins by 4 points and Monaghan lose by a point ? Just wondering ... hopefully not the case.

OrielAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 24/07/2018 12:36:26    2125636

Speaking with a lot of Kerry folk after the match on Sunday and one thing that struck me was the level of contempt that Kerry people have for Galway. They seem to think that it's a shame that Galway have already qualified and undeserving of it. I know Galway beat Kerry but is there a history there than instills such bitterness in the Kerry folk?

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 24/07/2018 14:28:15    2125713

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Speaking with a lot of Kerry folk after the match on Sunday and one thing that struck me was the level of contempt that Kerry people have for Galway. They seem to think that it's a shame that Galway have already qualified and undeserving of it. I know Galway beat Kerry but is there a history there than instills such bitterness in the Kerry folk?"
Unless it was from the mid sixties. Then we beat them three years in a row in the championship (2 finals and 1 semi final and only county outside Cork to do so I believe). I know this did not go down well at the time a bit like their antipathy towards Tyrone in the noughties or maybe dare I even mention what their true feelings on the Dubs arevnow. Personally I have not experienced any ill will from them towards us but I do get the feeling that Kerry are fine until such time they are being dominated by one team in particular and then the dynamic changes. Most Kerry folk I have spoken to recently don't feel their team is there yet anyhow but do expect serious green shoots to come.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 24/07/2018 14:43:37    2125724

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Speaking with a lot of Kerry folk after the match on Sunday and one thing that struck me was the level of contempt that Kerry people have for Galway. They seem to think that it's a shame that Galway have already qualified and undeserving of it. I know Galway beat Kerry but is there a history there than instills such bitterness in the Kerry folk?"
They usually talk like that about Cork, with Cork people putting it down to bitterness about being able to function as a high level dual county. Perhaps it's the same with Galway?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 211 - 24/07/2018 14:47:01    2125730

Not that I know of. Sure up to the week before last we hadn't beaten them in championship since 1965 and most games between the two in recent years have barely seen a hard tackle in them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 24/07/2018 14:54:00    2125735

Rubbish.
I'm supprised at some of the guff spouted on here from Monghan supporters since Sunday.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/07/2018 15:05:23    2125739

Replying To westkerry:  "Rubbish.
I'm supprised at some of the guff spouted on here from Monghan supporters since Sunday."
Have to agree here - always got on really well with Kerry folk at games, but then I guess it was easy for ye to get on with us for the last 50 years because ye always beat us!!!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 24/07/2018 15:42:24    2125769

Galway have played 5 games in the championship and indeed against ourselves in the league were a red card for the opposition has benefited Galway. O'Conner vs Mayo, Young vs Kerry and Flynn vs Kildare. All games were in the balance when the dismissals occurred. So Monaghan must keep 15 on the field Saturday week.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 24/07/2018 15:46:24    2125773

I just wonder is the Galway management gonna make the right decision in resting players. I think Galway would have a serious chance against Dublin in the semifinal and is it really worth risking players with two really tough games against northern teams.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 24/07/2018 16:14:10    2125781

Now this has tight game written all over it. If it was in Croker I'd just about fancy Monaghan, but this is a toss of a coin.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 24/07/2018 16:15:41    2125783

I doubt that very much, as we played pure muck against Galway and you can see the way we slated our own team on here and on our own page after the game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/07/2018 16:19:01    2125785