Donegal V Tyrone

Time to turn the tables on Mickey lads and widen the pitch. Blame it on RTE. He'll swallow that one given that he understands the quirky demands of these broadcasting companies when it comes to pitch dimensions. Too tight to call but I think Donegal, if Murphy fires and with the crowd at their back, may sneak it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/08/2018 11:12:35    2128702

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I heard whispers that Mattie Donnelly might be injured as well. Don't quote me on that though!"
Hearing that whisper myself this week around the county but not from any reliable sources. No other names can be brought into the 26 now, If they are slightly injured then maybe both players are worth the risk but dont have a full game in them- we will find out sunday.

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 03/08/2018 11:35:56    2128710

intensity is the key, tactics system all good but the team with the highest passion to win the match generally does especially when they are well matched as these 2 teams are. what I like and hate about Tyrone is that the have it. With our young team I don't believe they have been tested, If they man up then they will win , they have the talent even without McBrearty,Eoghan Ban to win.

I have to say I have been positively surprised by Bonnar's tactics , so far so good , I was a non believer but delighted with the job they are all doing.

Lets get behind the boys and send the Forces of Darkness back across bridge with nothing to show for it

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 03/08/2018 12:20:10    2128721

Replying To budlight:  "Hearing that whisper myself this week around the county but not from any reliable sources. No other names can be brought into the 26 now, If they are slightly injured then maybe both players are worth the risk but dont have a full game in them- we will find out sunday."
Yeah that's what I'd be thinking as well. Both men will play some part I'm sure.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 03/08/2018 12:21:44    2128722

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mickey Harte has named his 26 players both Mc namee and Donnelly in it so both are fit. This 26 can't be changed now so I cants see Mickey Harte naming injured players and depriving other players from making the matchday squad"
the 26 can be changed right up to throw-in, every change incurs a fine though

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 03/08/2018 14:35:53    2128751

A lot of ones saying it will be close to call. I'm not so sure. Tyrone won by 9 when we last met, and if it wasn't for a late goal and 3 points it could have been more. They look better than last year. They've been tested this year and we haven't. For ones saying we are better than last year, I think we are.(mainly due to the young lads getting older and stronger), however with Tyrone winning games vs Cork and Roscommon via cricket scores I'd be worried. Not playing the cute hoor card here, just they look very good, espeically without our injured lads. If you said at the start of the year you play Tyrone without Paddy to reach and all Ireland semi not many would be sticking the house on it.

Not all doom and gloom though, I think Tyrones full back line might be weak if it can be exposed. If we keep their 5 or 6 key men quiet we have a chance. Just feel they have more key players currently than we do. Slightly older more experienced and better built at the present. Midfield will be huge and I can see us pressing the majority of times.

If the game is close I'd be happy as it proves we are making strides and with more lads coming through it can only be good.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 03/08/2018 14:35:57    2128752

Replying To TheRock2121:  "A lot of ones saying it will be close to call. I'm not so sure. Tyrone won by 9 when we last met, and if it wasn't for a late goal and 3 points it could have been more. They look better than last year. They've been tested this year and we haven't. For ones saying we are better than last year, I think we are.(mainly due to the young lads getting older and stronger), however with Tyrone winning games vs Cork and Roscommon via cricket scores I'd be worried. Not playing the cute hoor card here, just they look very good, espeically without our injured lads. If you said at the start of the year you play Tyrone without Paddy to reach and all Ireland semi not many would be sticking the house on it.

Not all doom and gloom though, I think Tyrones full back line might be weak if it can be exposed. If we keep their 5 or 6 key men quiet we have a chance. Just feel they have more key players currently than we do. Slightly older more experienced and better built at the present. Midfield will be huge and I can see us pressing the majority of times.

If the game is close I'd be happy as it proves we are making strides and with more lads coming through it can only be good."
I would tend to agree, I think a lot will come down to how clinical we can be in attack and if we're in top form in that regard I think it'll be an end-to-end type match. I don't think our defence has been on top of tackling all year long really so I expect Tyrone's runners to be able to get through for goal chances. I don't think it'll be cagey at all but would love to be proved wrong if it ends up with a one point win for our lads!

Hopefully it's a great day in Ballybofey and a great atmosphere, very exciting to have such a big occasion in the county.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/08/2018 14:44:38    2128756

Replying To TheRock2121:  "A lot of ones saying it will be close to call. I'm not so sure. Tyrone won by 9 when we last met, and if it wasn't for a late goal and 3 points it could have been more. They look better than last year. They've been tested this year and we haven't. For ones saying we are better than last year, I think we are.(mainly due to the young lads getting older and stronger), however with Tyrone winning games vs Cork and Roscommon via cricket scores I'd be worried. Not playing the cute hoor card here, just they look very good, espeically without our injured lads. If you said at the start of the year you play Tyrone without Paddy to reach and all Ireland semi not many would be sticking the house on it.

If the game is close I'd be happy as it proves we are making strides and with more lads coming through it can only be good."
I don't think last years game has any relevance to this weekend. Completely different management and a team reinforced with physicality it did not have last year. Plus our more experienced lads have been campaigned correctly leaving them much fresher and fitter. Tyrone definitely have the advantage when it comes to defensive structure and tackling but I don't envisage Donegal leaving themselves too wide open to any Tyrone counter attacks.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 03/08/2018 16:30:28    2128781

What a great opportunity for one of the four Tyrone, Donegal, Galway or Monaghan to make an All-Ireland Final. Tyrone have a good spread of scores throughout the team and inspired by Sludden who makes things tick I take them to win out against Donegal. A match up against Galway in the semi-final would bring back good memories of wins in 1986 and 1995 but I have a feeling Monaghan may come out on top against Galway.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 03/08/2018 16:53:33    2128784

Replying To ulsterrules:  "intensity is the key, tactics system all good but the team with the highest passion to win the match generally does especially when they are well matched as these 2 teams are. what I like and hate about Tyrone is that the have it. With our young team I don't believe they have been tested, If they man up then they will win , they have the talent even without McBrearty,Eoghan Ban to win.

I have to say I have been positively surprised by Bonnar's tactics , so far so good , I was a non believer but delighted with the job they are all doing.

Lets get behind the boys and send the Forces of Darkness back across bridge with nothing to show for it"
Judging by the two games against Dublin, you'd have to say that Tyrone are going to trot this.

Workingclass (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 03/08/2018 17:41:59    2128791

Replying To downredhand:  "the 26 can be changed right up to throw-in, every change incurs a fine though"
I wasn't aware of that, I read this article the other day which made me think he now must stick with that 26 now.

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte says managers should be granted more leniency when it comes to confirming their match-day squads.

The current rules state that a county must confirm its 26-man squad to a provincial Council or Croke Park on the Thursday morning before a weekend game.

Speaking to the Belfast Telegraph ahead of his team's showdown with Donegal this weekend, Harte, who has had injury struggles within his panel all season, feels it's a rule which is in need of review.

"I don't really agree with the idea that a manager should have to submit a 26-strong match-day squad," the three-time All-Ireland winning manager stated.

"But it's the fact that you can't replace a player prior to the actual day of the match that is the real sticking point. I don't know how that rule ever got through.

"Quite often a club or county team can be hit by a bug immediately prior to a match and you could have four or five people coming down with something. Or maybe you could have a few injuries in the last couple of sessions immediately prior to a game and so are you expected to go into an important fixture with, say, 21 players rather than 26?

"I think this is a very harsh regulation to be enshrined in rule, and I honestly feel that it should be reviewed."

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 03/08/2018 19:09:11    2128808

I think our long unbeaten championship run at home is going to end tomorrow unfortunately, we are missing some key players and this team is just developing, we are a year or 2 from being real contenders, Tyrone are a more developed side and I think they will win this but it will be close enough, Michael will keep us in it for long enough but I think in the end we will come up short this time around, it's been a great year regardless for this young team and there's better days ahead, I hope I'm wrong but that's how I see it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 04/08/2018 12:53:23    2128914

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think our long unbeaten championship run at home is going to end tomorrow unfortunately, we are missing some key players and this team is just developing, we are a year or 2 from being real contenders, Tyrone are a more developed side and I think they will win this but it will be close enough, Michael will keep us in it for long enough but I think in the end we will come up short this time around, it's been a great year regardless for this young team and there's better days ahead, I hope I'm wrong but that's how I see it."
I hope the team have more confidence than you have.You have to seize the moment,it is pointless talking about 2 years down the road.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 04/08/2018 14:07:36    2128929

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think our long unbeaten championship run at home is going to end tomorrow unfortunately, we are missing some key players and this team is just developing, we are a year or 2 from being real contenders, Tyrone are a more developed side and I think they will win this but it will be close enough, Michael will keep us in it for long enough but I think in the end we will come up short this time around, it's been a great year regardless for this young team and there's better days ahead, I hope I'm wrong but that's how I see it."
I don't know about that, saw both Tyrone and Donegal in the league. Donegal had 6 or 7 of what you would call their championship team, granted McBrearty was very good in Letterkenny and it took Galway till late in the game and Shane Walsh to put them away. Tyrone v Galway game was very different Galway had them at arms length the whole game and Tyrone lost their discipline when Galway matched them for aggression. Tyrone had 12 or 13 of their championship side in Tuam and the only regular that was missing was Colm Cavanagh as had been involved in the Moy intermediate all ireland campaign.
Galway had a very similar team to the championship with only Paul Conroy now not involved but Ian Burke has come in. Donegal to win by 3 or 4 if they keep Murphy at 11 and 14 from what I seen in the league.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 04/08/2018 14:57:24    2128936

Absolutely right in terms of seizing the day gunman. Players like Paddy McGrath, Neil McGee, Frank McGlynn, Michael, Ryan and Odhran have been there and done that so why not again tomorrow? I do agree with TirC in that in 2 years time this team will really be hitting its full potential but no reason why they cannot get to an AI semi final. What is the story with ban? I know the media reported last week he was out but is this a definite? There are whispers he could be alright for tomorrow which would be nothing new if u remember back to Paddy's injury during the league. He returned alot sooner than was expected according to the media reports.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 04/08/2018 15:22:19    2128938

Monaghan waiting the winners in the semi final this game is massive , biggest game to be every played up north.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2018 21:50:34    2129096

Can't wait to get to Ballybofey later. This will be the biggest championship game ever at home. It will be a great experience for this young team and would be massive to get over the line.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 05/08/2018 11:12:23    2129284

Without serious defensive intensity and organisation we aren't going to beat Tyrone. A soft centre and we are screwed. Getting the balance key is right. I'm definitely optimistic, but lots of things need to fall into place. Our young lads will rally hard if Neil McGee, Frank McGlynn, Paddy McGrath and of course Michael Murphy are on song. Let's hope Declan and the troops are geared for battle.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 05/08/2018 12:04:29    2129308

Not even 20 minutes gone but I have the right to say this has been the most boring match yet.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 05/08/2018 15:48:25    2129395

Would it be fair to say this is drivel ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 16:03:53    2129411