Donegal V Tyrone

Replying To HandballRef:  "I would say Declan McClure will come back into midfield and Hampsey will move back into the Full back line. I really rate Hampsey and can even see him picking up Murphy possibly. The lads that have established themselves this year for Tyrone have been outstanding. Frank Burns and McKlernon in particular. Apart from being tight at the back, 4 or 5 of Tyrone' s defenders are capable of knocking over a few scores each in every game.

Lee Brennan is another who I can see coming back into the Tyrone starting team. He'll have another 2 weeks to get up to full match speed and is a better option inside than Richie Donnelly.

Match ups will be interesting. Eoghan Ban is a huge loss as I think he would gave picked up Sludden who is in serious form this year. Meyler will pick up Ryan McHugh. Meyler's engine is outrageous, there's hardly a player that runs more in the country.

Few positives for ourselves was seeing how well Neil McGee and Michael Langan played last week. And Marty O Reilly coming back gives us another option off the bench.

I think Lockjaw alluded to it earlier. I think the performance of Michael Murphy will be the winning or losing of this game for Donegal. The form he's been in recently, I think you can expect another big one from him."
Cant see Brennan starting just being short of championship fitness right now. McClure could be an option but i feel Harte likes bringing him off the bench instead of starting him. Richie Donnelly is more than capable of playing at midfield, but id expect Mattie Donnelly to go in there with a replacement at 10. Hampsey back into 3 is sensible choice to mark murphy, might also go with McCrorys experience however. Agree on Meyler picking up McHugh. Exciting match up that as well as other 1 to 1 battles.

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 25/07/2018 13:57:17    2126097

Very hard to pick a winner in this one.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/07/2018 14:42:01    2126121

It's interesting that no official word has come out that Ban is out. Declan Bonner made a statement about Mc Brearty when ruled out but nothing on Ban yet leading me to hope that he might still be available.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 25/07/2018 18:27:18    2126212

Hard to call indeed. Last year Tyrone gave us a doing in Ulster and it was the beginning of the end for Rory Gallagher. We have improved massively and being Ulster champions on our home patch means we will bring plenty of confidence. However there are some factors to consider that make me think Tyrone will win, however much it grates with me.

They rattled Dublin last week and we didn't when we played them. Dublin sauntered to a finish against us but got over the line against Tyrone somewhat nervously. That is telling and no team can say that anymore bar Mayo of years past. Tyrone were Ulster champions in 2016/2017 so they harbour bigger ambitions. Sam Maguire is next on the horizon. Against Dublin and Roscommon they've been very good. As others have said, if Paddy McBrearty was there then it would be worth a few more scores to us and they could be the scores that matter in the end. Would give Tyrone the slight upper hand on reflection.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/07/2018 18:33:30    2126213

Interesting game with both teams at full strength i would make Donegal slight favourites but ban and McBrearty are huge losses I know Tyrone are without mccarron and possibly McNamee a few of Tyrone subs were very impressive on Saturday. I feel Tyrone are better defensively than Donegal and Donegal will give the Tyrone forwards chances whether they take them is a different story as Tyrone shooting can be poor under pressure. My fancy is Tyrone by 2 in a cracker.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 25/07/2018 18:49:20    2126217

No chance of Justy coming back so that Murph & himself can entertain us all with their own personal version of Love Island?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/07/2018 21:25:50    2126256

This Tyrone team have done really well to get to being one game away from a semi final..the run through the qualifiers has really helped a young team to manage knockout championship football..however the cost of this was that the legs started to struggle 10 mins from the end last week..but now the two week break has come at the right time for their quest for a semi final spot

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 25/07/2018 22:01:11    2126269

Replying To Donegalman:  "So we are officially without John Ban, which is a huge pity now. Big game required by whoever steps in. That is going to be tough."
Been a while since John was available!

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 25/07/2018 22:44:35    2126279

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "This Tyrone team have done really well to get to being one game away from a semi final..the run through the qualifiers has really helped a young team to manage knockout championship football..however the cost of this was that the legs started to struggle 10 mins from the end last week..but now the two week break has come at the right time for their quest for a semi final spot"
I would say the opposite happened in Omagh. Tyrone finished strong rather than weak. This is something that the donegal team will be very aware of in ballybofey. I expect the blanket to be deployed by both teams at certain stages of the game with quick counter attack from the keepers kick outs possibly deciding the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/07/2018 00:18:25    2126286

Very hard to pick a winner but I think we have lost too many good players, we will hopefully have a much better chance next year but I think we are looking at a defeat to Tyrone here unless the lads put in some brilliant performance and Tyrone aren't at their best, lining up for a semi final against this current Galway team either of us would need to at our strongest to have a chance of beating them, I think Galway will push the Dubs to the limit this year.
Very disappointing for Eoghan Ban to miss out on this game, but that's the super 8's format, it favours the stronger panels.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 26/07/2018 00:59:39    2126302

Both camps quietly going about their business for next Sunday. I noticed the some of the bookies have both teams at evens for the game. Nobody seems to be sure what way the game will pan out. It will certainly be all on the day!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 29/07/2018 14:37:29    2127261

Tyrone were on a weekend camp,very confident they will prevail next week.Tirconail did Galway beat Monaghan as you seem to suggest,very defeatist attitude next year what a load of you know what, this is the present and a place in the final is 140 minutes away.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 29/07/2018 18:40:36    2127314

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Beating Dublin is neither here nor there. This is a big game in it's own right for GAA people in both counties."
Agreed. This match has its own local significance for both neighbouring counties. The loss of McBrearty (who was in the form of his life this year, at times simply unmarkable) versus the fact that Donegal always seem to do a number on us at that venue. Anything could happen. It may not keep the holier-than-thou purists happy, but it will be intense and hard-fought. Uladh Abu.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 29/07/2018 20:45:11    2127353

It's a hard one to call. Donegal have done well even without McBrearty and with Michael Murphy you can challenge anyone. Tyrone held their own against Dublin but still don't have the firepower up front. I think home advantage could swing it Donegal's way.......but.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/07/2018 21:01:31    2127359

Replying To essmac:  "Agreed. This match has its own local significance for both neighbouring counties. The loss of McBrearty (who was in the form of his life this year, at times simply unmarkable) versus the fact that Donegal always seem to do a number on us at that venue. Anything could happen. It may not keep the holier-than-thou purists happy, but it will be intense and hard-fought. Uladh Abu."
Yes. Its going to go to the wire.

I think counter attack from the kick outs is where it is going to be at. I think that the officials are going to have to use a bit of cop on when it comes to the advantage rule, taking kick-outs and dead balls quickly and adding on the proper time.

In all seriousness, I think that 14 points could win this one.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/07/2018 21:02:54    2127364

1 N Morgan
2 M McKernan
3 R McNamee
4 HP McGeary
5 T McCann
6 F Burns
7 P Harte
8 C Cavanagh
9 P Hampsey
10 M Donnelly
11 N Sludden
12 C Meyler
13 C McShane
14 R Donnelly
15 C McAliskey

Tyrone starting team named late last night. Late replacement before throw in for McNamee possible.

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 03/08/2018 06:37:10    2128654

I heard whispers that Mattie Donnelly might be injured as well. Don't quote me on that though!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 03/08/2018 09:43:10    2128671

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I heard whispers that Mattie Donnelly might be injured as well. Don't quote me on that though!"
Mickey Harte has named his 26 players both Mc namee and Donnelly in it so both are fit. This 26 can't be changed now so I cants see Mickey Harte naming injured players and depriving other players from making the matchday squad

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 03/08/2018 10:13:14    2128684

No big surprises here. It will be 15 v 15 of our best lads. Good luck to all and may the best team prevail.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/08/2018 10:31:17    2128691

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mickey Harte has named his 26 players both Mc namee and Donnelly in it so both are fit. This 26 can't be changed now so I cants see Mickey Harte naming injured players and depriving other players from making the matchday squad"
Yeah you're probably right. No matter who Tyrone have on the field it's going to be a very tough battle. I really can't call it either way. Could come down to which side is most clinical in the free taking stakes.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 03/08/2018 10:43:09    2128694