Donegal V Tyrone

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Donegal are brilliant in Ballybo, they have a neck for kicking very long range points there.
I don't think they have lost a game there in 8 years.

Maybe we need to bring back Justin McMahon for some Bully tactics on Murphy, still cant see a win for red heands here."
I think the last match we lost in Ballybofey was Down in the 2010 Championship after extra time. The players have said in the past they really enjoy playing there as well. It should be worth a couple of points for us but I don't know if it will be enough.

Should be a cracking atmosphere regardless

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/07/2018 16:23:54    2125298

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Another massive game especially considering the winner doesn't see a Dublin Kerry or Mayo waiting for them In the semi final, a massive chance to get to the All Ireland final here."
Kerry have failed to beat Galway and Monaghan in their last two outings, so who's afraid of Kerry right now? As for Mayo, Galway have had them 'waiting for them' in pre-Connacht final fare for the last 3 seasons, and have managed to interpret that as 'a massive chance' to reach a Connacht Final on each occasion.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3452 - 23/07/2018 16:58:51    2125308

Balls. Eoghan Ban has been ruled out.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 24/07/2018 13:21:01    2125670

Good auld ding dong battle coming up, won't be pretty but should be enthralling. Can't pick a winner.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/07/2018 14:26:37    2125712

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Of which I'm one! Of course it's a big game not saying otherwise, but ultimately even if you win to land Sam you would arguably have to beat Dublin, so I don't see how it's neither here nor there. Your season doesn't stop if you win in Ballybofey, if you lose of course it does, but if you win and don't land Sam the result is neither here nor there as the winner will end up with the same as the loser! Sweet FA!!"
Dergforeeva, that has to be the strangest logic ever, you think neither team should really bother trying to win because they wont beat Dublin. I think both sets of players would love to be running out at Croke Park in a semi final, and even more so in a All Ireland final.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 24/07/2018 16:52:58    2125801

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Balls. Eoghan Ban has been ruled out."
Is that official? What's wrong with him? Hope it's not long term.
I see McCarron out, possibly McNamee. Lee Brennan not fully fit yet. Injuries are part of the game now unfortunately, time for others to step up. Young McKernan for Tyrone was excellent against Dublin.
Going to be a titanic battle. If I'm been honest I'm not a fan of Ballybofey, never have. Always strikes me as been a bit out of date, delapadated even. But that all plays into the hands of Donegal I suppose.
The match ups are going to be very interesting and probably the winners will be decided here. In the past Justy McMahon or Cathal McCarron have marked Murphy. With them not there I'm not sure who they will put on him. Hampsey maybe but I felt he had a poor enough game against Dublin, he seemed nervous which is understandable as he's young. Conor Meyler will probably mark McHugh which will be worth a watch. A player who's impressed me this year is the centre back, his name escapes me, Brennan I think, covers every blade of grass and drives forward.
Can't wait for this match, counting down the days!!!!
Tyrone by 4.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/07/2018 17:36:46    2125816

Cant describe how significant a loss Eoghan Ban is to Donegal. The man has been immense all year, a potential All Star.

Tyrone's players back to full fitness at the right time as well (Lee Brennan and Mark Bradley), while the injuries are starting to mount up for ourselves unfortunately. Tilts the game in their favour in my opinion.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 24/07/2018 17:43:21    2125820

If Eoghan ban is out now as well I think whatever slim chance we had of putting it up to Tyrone is gone, our record since 2010 in Ballybofey is on the line on the 5th of August and I think Tyrone will end our unbeaten run.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 24/07/2018 17:48:52    2125821

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Is that official? What's wrong with him? Hope it's not long term.
I see McCarron out, possibly McNamee. Lee Brennan not fully fit yet. Injuries are part of the game now unfortunately, time for others to step up. Young McKernan for Tyrone was excellent against Dublin.
Going to be a titanic battle. If I'm been honest I'm not a fan of Ballybofey, never have. Always strikes me as been a bit out of date, delapadated even. But that all plays into the hands of Donegal I suppose.
The match ups are going to be very interesting and probably the winners will be decided here. In the past Justy McMahon or Cathal McCarron have marked Murphy. With them not there I'm not sure who they will put on him. Hampsey maybe but I felt he had a poor enough game against Dublin, he seemed nervous which is understandable as he's young. Conor Meyler will probably mark McHugh which will be worth a watch. A player who's impressed me this year is the centre back, his name escapes me, Brennan I think, covers every blade of grass and drives forward.
Tyrone by 4."
If Ballybofey had a swimming pool in the middle of it like Healy Park would that come up to your standard?

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 24/07/2018 17:52:35    2125822

Replying To TyroneUltra:  "Dergforeeva, that has to be the strangest logic ever, you think neither team should really bother trying to win because they wont beat Dublin. I think both sets of players would love to be running out at Croke Park in a semi final, and even more so in a All Ireland final."
Not atall. I never said they shouldn't bother trying to win, nothing more than a Tyrone victory I want, but as Mickey Harte has said himself what good is moral victorys? At this stage of the season, Sam is all that counts, if we are lucky enough to beat Donegal and get to a semi-final be nobody happier than me, but the ultimate goal is to win the All-Ireland. Dublin are still the team to beat, I'm not saying you don't try to get there and beat them but you got to do it. Anyway we've enough to think about with the trip to Ballybofey. Up Tyrone!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 24/07/2018 17:53:09    2125823

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Is that official? What's wrong with him? Hope it's not long term.
Tyrone by 4."
It does seem that more players are picking up serious enough injuries this year compared to other years. Mayo lost Keegan, S O' Shea and Parsons, Donegal with Mc Brearty, Eoin Ban and P Mc Grath (now back thankfully) and Tyrone with Mc Carron, possibly Mc Namee and others who are just back. Dublin, with the strongest panel of all have been luckiest of all.
Injuries can open up opportunities for new players though and the opposition managers can sometimes not plan for the unknown replacements. Ballybofey will be interesting and hopefully competitive but as I've said previously I think it will be a step too far at present for this young developing Donegal team.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 24/07/2018 18:05:30    2125831

Tyrone by 4."
Been to omagh a good few times and its nothing special either. eoin ban has a elbow injury which happened against Roscommon the last day,dont know the exact nature of it but the Donegal media have him ruled already,hopefully there wrong because hes a serious operator. I just love watching this lad play. looking forward to this game should be some atmosphere . a lot at stake for both teams, tyrone probably a year or two ahead of us but you always live in hope.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 24/07/2018 18:11:33    2125835

Big loss. Lovely player.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/07/2018 18:18:16    2125838

I didnt hear anything about Eoin Ban but if he is out, then we are missing a very good and key man. We have been hit hard this year with injuries. I still think we have the beating of tyrone despite all of this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2018 19:15:01    2125854

Really looking forward to this game - should be a fantastic duel.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 24/07/2018 19:30:21    2125860

No quarter asked or given here and certainly be no walk in the park for Tyrone like last year where physically Donegal fell apart, big Hugh and Leo will make sure of that. Unfortunately the losses of Paddy McB and possibly Ban tilt the game in favour of Tyrone. While I was not overly impressed by Tyrone this changed after the Roscommon game and again against Dublin. The inter changeable half back line of Frank Burns, Tiernan McCann and of course Peter Harte is incredible and definitely give Tyrone an edge here as it is the strongest line between either side. However I think even without Paddy Donegal have better natural forwards but if some of the shooting is like what it was against Roscommon we will be in bother. The game in Ballybofey and the hurt from last year are probably worth a couple of scores but these are taken away by the losses of 2 very key men. My head says Tyrone with the draw a big player while my heart obviously says Donegal. In saying that alot will come down to the day and who has their shooting boots on.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 25/07/2018 00:00:11    2125975

Cant wait to see how Tyrone handle this talented donegal team, really enjoyed watching Murphy, Mac Niallais, Ryan McHugh, Brennan and Langan this year. Interesting to see the reshuffle if mcnamee isnt fit to play at full back. Does harte bring in McCrory or move Hampsey back into 3 with mattie donnelly going to midfield and bradley into forward line? Thoughts?

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 25/07/2018 09:28:48    2125998

The match ups will be crucial. Everyone knows about Tyrone's runners and the danger they pose but keeping tabs on Sludden will be vital too. I've been very impressed with him this year. He's almost like a throwback to the old traditional centre half forward. A very clever player who makes things happen and has an great eye for a score. I would think Eamon Doherty might be given the task of picking him up.

Physically I think we're better equipped to deal with Tyrone's runners this year. Last summer they ran riot so I'd be expecting us to keep the house well guarded next weekend. If we can manage that and we can get our key men like Murphy and Ryan motoring we should have enough.

Jesus I haven't looked forward to a game as much in a long time - butterflies already! Christ!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 25/07/2018 10:37:54    2126018

So we are officially without John Ban, which is a huge pity now. Big game required by whoever steps in. That is going to be tough.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/07/2018 10:44:41    2126023

Replying To budlight:  "Cant wait to see how Tyrone handle this talented donegal team, really enjoyed watching Murphy, Mac Niallais, Ryan McHugh, Brennan and Langan this year. Interesting to see the reshuffle if mcnamee isnt fit to play at full back. Does harte bring in McCrory or move Hampsey back into 3 with mattie donnelly going to midfield and bradley into forward line? Thoughts?"
I would say Declan McClure will come back into midfield and Hampsey will move back into the Full back line. I really rate Hampsey and can even see him picking up Murphy possibly. The lads that have established themselves this year for Tyrone have been outstanding. Frank Burns and McKlernon in particular. Apart from being tight at the back, 4 or 5 of Tyrone' s defenders are capable of knocking over a few scores each in every game.

Lee Brennan is another who I can see coming back into the Tyrone starting team. He'll have another 2 weeks to get up to full match speed and is a better option inside than Richie Donnelly.

Match ups will be interesting. Eoghan Ban is a huge loss as I think he would gave picked up Sludden who is in serious form this year. Meyler will pick up Ryan McHugh. Meyler's engine is outrageous, there's hardly a player that runs more in the country.

Few positives for ourselves was seeing how well Neil McGee and Michael Langan played last week. And Marty O Reilly coming back gives us another option off the bench.

I think Lockjaw alluded to it earlier. I think the performance of Michael Murphy will be the winning or losing of this game for Donegal. The form he's been in recently, I think you can expect another big one from him.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 25/07/2018 12:01:44    2126045