Cork V Limerick Hurling Semi Final.

Replying To ballydalane:  "Ref did ok in a very fast paced match but he failed to blow for a clear push in the back by Cian Lynch on Daniel Kearney as Kearney was bending over to rise the ball and to add insult to injury, Lynch was putting the ball in the net 5 seconds later! I had a Limerick relative in the house with me watching the match and had to freeze frame the moment when Lynch's hand was extended onto Kearney's back as Kearney was bending over, but she still wasn't having it! Maybe it wouldn't have made a difference to the result, who knows, but conceding a goal just before half time is a sickener."
Hard to argue with the fact that our boys have beaten Cork, Tipp and KK on the way to the final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2018 23:53:38    2127419

Replying To ballydalane:  "Ref did ok in a very fast paced match but he failed to blow for a clear push in the back by Cian Lynch on Daniel Kearney as Kearney was bending over to rise the ball and to add insult to injury, Lynch was putting the ball in the net 5 seconds later! I had a Limerick relative in the house with me watching the match and had to freeze frame the moment when Lynch's hand was extended onto Kearney's back as Kearney was bending over, but she still wasn't having it! Maybe it wouldn't have made a difference to the result, who knows, but conceding a goal just before half time is a sickener."
Of course that proud Shannonside Lady dismissed your 'concerns', it isn't as if a Kilkenny player never got away with a minor indiscretion in the lead up to a vital score.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/07/2018 08:41:12    2127433

Often a very overused cliche game was a roller coaster, but it's best I can come up with the game had everything, I was on the edge of my seat as a neutral so I can only imagine how both sets of fans felt , all a fan can ask is you leave it all on the pitch no regrets, Dalo used to say you can live with the pain but not with the shame , well no one shamed themselves, all comments could as easily apply to Galway Clare another classic , seeing some negativity on some posts which leads me to my final cliche some fec7ers are never happy.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/07/2018 08:41:32    2127434

Replying To Mayfair:  "Very hard to say what is a foul from one game to another. But exciting games yesterday and today.
However a clock like the women's football or rugby is essential to cut out the added time that seemingly is the ref not wanting to call a halt and give teams a chance when the game is close."
If you are referring to the extra time in the Galway/Clare game, go back and count up how long one of the Galway players (Johnny Glynn I think it was?) was attended to for, there you get your extra extra time.
Maybe players are being their own worst enemy bringing on the physio/doctor/etc every time the opposition has a bit of momentum?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 30/07/2018 09:58:54    2127450

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Hard to argue with the fact that our boys have beaten Cork, Tipp and KK on the way to the final."
And all results were well deserved and playing outstanding hurling. I didnt get the hype about Limerick erarlier in the year but how wrong was I! They use the ball so well and have an unreal panel.
The team to beat now without a doubt. Led my an outstanding captain as well.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/07/2018 10:22:03    2127458

Replying To tiobraid:  "And all results were well deserved and playing outstanding hurling. I didnt get the hype about Limerick erarlier in the year but how wrong was I! They use the ball so well and have an unreal panel.
The team to beat now without a doubt. Led my an outstanding captain as well."
I think it's the panel that is the key for Limerick.........the subs they brought on all made a massive impact and in the high intensity/high octane game now you need that bench.......of the four semi finalists I would argue they have the best bench to call on, it was the difference yesterday and may yet prove the difference before the year is out.......cork's lack of options killed them as they made changes in last ten mins and all it seemed to do was deflate the team while limericks subs had the opposite impact......

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 30/07/2018 10:43:19    2127464

Well done Limerick, brilliant stuff - hope we get to see a Clare v Limerick final - two counties that ourselves in hurling parishes in north Kerry always loved to shout for!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/07/2018 11:24:35    2127483

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "I think it's the panel that is the key for Limerick.........the subs they brought on all made a massive impact and in the high intensity/high octane game now you need that bench.......of the four semi finalists I would argue they have the best bench to call on, it was the difference yesterday and may yet prove the difference before the year is out.......cork's lack of options killed them as they made changes in last ten mins and all it seemed to do was deflate the team while limericks subs had the opposite impact......"
Without a doubt. Look at the names of the players they took off.. Possibly their 7 best players this year were taken off and not one of them played poorly, in fact they were excellent.

Peter Casey for Tom Morrissey (51), Shane Dowling (1-4, 1-0 pen) for Flanagan (59), Seamus Hickey for Byrnes (77), Barry Nash (0-1) for Gillane (80), William O'Donoghue for O'Donovan (70), David Reidy (0-1) for Hannon (87), Pat Ryan (1-0) for Mulcahy.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/07/2018 13:23:01    2127529

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course that proud Shannonside Lady dismissed your 'concerns', it isn't as if a Kilkenny player never got away with a minor indiscretion in the lead up to a vital score."
Start building the undergrou d shelter, ballydalane.. if the world down't end tomorrow the martians will land any minute and we'll all be doomed.
Working on your golf game these days?

Come On Ye Boys In Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 30/07/2018 15:56:59    2127570

Cometh the hour, cometh the man,

Sums it up for me , and below comment by Vincent Hogan deserves to stand alone.

None of this might have mattered mind, but for Nickie Quaid's intervention with the sides level and the game deep in injury-time. Seamus Harnedy must have felt like a seagull had swooped on his house keys.

Come On Ye Boys In Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 30/07/2018 16:04:12    2127576

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Kyle Hayes came on the scene last year with his performance against Clare in Thurles.

All those players have been marked as future stars for a couple of years now. Anyone who was thinking otherwise is a casual fan of the game.

My thoughts on Limerick last year was that hey should have beaten Kilkenny in Nowlan Park except they couldn't score.

I didn't see Limerick making an All-Ireland final at the start of the year but I quickly changed my opinion on them after the Galway game in the league.

What Limerick have achieved this year is astonishing. It usually takes at least one more year for a young team to get to a final I.e. lose a semi final this year, a final next year and win it in 2020. So they have skipped a year which is an amazing achievement.

Fair play to them, when lads like Ronan Lynch can't make the panel and Dowling, Peter Casey and Barry Nash are subs you know you have a strong panel."
jaysus Ronan Lynch..what a player and as you say he didn't make the panel.Alan Dempsey, Tommy Grimes and Conor Boylan, Cian Hedderman, Daragh Fanning and Mikey Mackey..seen them lads in action and to see them left out must indicate a very very strong panel...interesting to see will any of them make it back in the future...pity the way lads fall away for one reason or another...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 30/07/2018 17:07:57    2127598

Replying To Dec82:  "Well you were. It was level after 70 minutes and thats the time you were predicting. I had the draw backed at 10/1. Great game, fairplay limerick. Fully deserved."
The game didn't end after 70 mins though!!! Still Limerick are 6-7 points better and will win the All Ireland.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/07/2018 19:38:01    2127632

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "I think it's the panel that is the key for Limerick.........the subs they brought on all made a massive impact and in the high intensity/high octane game now you need that bench.......of the four semi finalists I would argue they have the best bench to call on, it was the difference yesterday and may yet prove the difference before the year is out.......cork's lack of options killed them as they made changes in last ten mins and all it seemed to do was deflate the team while limericks subs had the opposite impact......"
fully agree,now a 20 man game,no longer 15 is enough.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/07/2018 21:42:20    2127668

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course that proud Shannonside Lady dismissed your 'concerns', it isn't as if a Kilkenny player never got away with a minor indiscretion in the lead up to a vital score."
Ah oldtourman, makes no odds to me what frees the ref did or didn't give, was just replying to the assertion that Paid O'dwyer had a great game in the middle, I thought he did ok but that was a big I thought call he got wrong. Having said that, I don't think it was the winning and losing of the match, Cork had still gotten themselves six points up with ten minutes to go.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 30/07/2018 22:14:59    2127681

If Limerick manage to pull it off it could be argued as the best ever Championship win considering Theyll have beaten 5 of the top teams. Probabaly the top 5 this year aside from themselves.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 31/07/2018 09:09:45    2127742

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "jaysus Ronan Lynch..what a player and as you say he didn't make the panel.Alan Dempsey, Tommy Grimes and Conor Boylan, Cian Hedderman, Daragh Fanning and Mikey Mackey..seen them lads in action and to see them left out must indicate a very very strong panel...interesting to see will any of them make it back in the future...pity the way lads fall away for one reason or another..."
It's up to the individuals I suppose but unfortunately a lot of those lads will probably not get there in the future.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2018 13:15:14    2127845

Replying To blackspot91:  "If Limerick manage to pull it off it could be argued as the best ever Championship win considering Theyll have beaten 5 of the top teams. Probabaly the top 5 this year aside from themselves."
well it is probably also the only time they ever had the chance of beating 5 of the top teams as well......

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 31/07/2018 15:06:09    2127893

Replying To perfect10:  "well it is probably also the only time they ever had the chance of beating 5 of the top teams as well......"
true for sure, I know that. Just my point it is big to win the first one where there is a lot of games with current format.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 31/07/2018 18:55:05    2127985

Replying To blackspot91:  "If Limerick manage to pull it off it could be argued as the best ever Championship win considering Theyll have beaten 5 of the top teams. Probabaly the top 5 this year aside from themselves."
I wouldn't argue with it being one of the best ever all irelands but the losers of Clare v Galway, would they not be in your top 5? I wouldn't have waterford or Tipp as a top 5 team either on current form.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 31/07/2018 21:49:24    2128036

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Limerick to shock the hurling world tomorrow , it's going to happen and then they will win the All Ireland it is their time. People of limerick enjoy, this is the team you've been waiting for all you're lives."
You brought a tear to my eye. Thank you.

70_laps (Limerick) - Posts: 31 - 31/07/2018 22:29:26    2128056