Cork V Limerick Hurling Semi Final.

following this Limerick team a long time and what a team...supposedly knowledgeable hurling folk were scoffing when Limerick were mentioned as All Ireland contenders all year...same scoffers never heard of Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch (nephew of the great Carey brothers PA and Ciaran) the Morriseys, Seamus Flnagan etc. etc...jaysus they stood up today when it counted..I do thin Cork forwards tired near end of ordinary time but thats credit too to the Limerick backs for harrassing them all day...what a game of hurling....lets hope Limerick can go on and win it now..they certainly are good enough to...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 29/07/2018 18:21:05    2127304

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "My God what a game! I think the hurling was more free flowing, less tight marking and less physicality today than yesterday which allowed for a great spectacle. Like Clare yesterday a great comeback by Limerick. Like Clare yesterday they carried all the momentum into extra time and went the few points up early. They carried a 1 point lead into second period. NOW unlike Clare, The Treaty men were able to finish the job. Like Galway a few of Corks best players had left the pitch and Limerick nailed the Coffin. Simple, the team that comes back wins extra time. Clare failed to do this yesterday. Clare want Galway people to think that they threw it away losing an early lead and allowing them back in it, but it is Clare that could not close it out and do what Limerick did. Well done Limerick, all the experts say it will be Clare you Will be meeting in Final so Good luck."
I think you meant to post that in the other thread for the Galway vs Clare game?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 18:22:48    2127305

Replying To Dec82:  "Jesus wept, cant believe i just read that. Limerick are a good team but 6 or 7 better than Cork, have a word. Mighty dangerous when given lots of space sure most teams would be. Do watch hurling at all?"
Wasn't far wrong was I???

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/07/2018 18:28:21    2127306

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I think you meant to post that in the other thread for the Galway vs Clare game?"
No I did not, actually I was comparing and contrasting the two semi finals. But you are right, Clare people would need to hear it..lol lol. But what a two days of hurling. These Men from all the four teams deserve a Cup each for putting on these unselfish and life on the line displays for us.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 29/07/2018 18:29:44    2127307

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "following this Limerick team a long time and what a team...supposedly knowledgeable hurling folk were scoffing when Limerick were mentioned as All Ireland contenders all year...same scoffers never heard of Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch (nephew of the great Carey brothers PA and Ciaran) the Morriseys, Seamus Flnagan etc. etc...jaysus they stood up today when it counted..I do thin Cork forwards tired near end of ordinary time but thats credit too to the Limerick backs for harrassing them all day...what a game of hurling....lets hope Limerick can go on and win it now..they certainly are good enough to..."
Kyle Hayes came on the scene last year with his performance against Clare in Thurles.

All those players have been marked as future stars for a couple of years now. Anyone who was thinking otherwise is a casual fan of the game.

My thoughts on Limerick last year was that hey should have beaten Kilkenny in Nowlan Park except they couldn't score.

I didn't see Limerick making an All-Ireland final at the start of the year but I quickly changed my opinion on them after the Galway game in the league.

What Limerick have achieved this year is astonishing. It usually takes at least one more year for a young team to get to a final I.e. lose a semi final this year, a final next year and win it in 2020. So they have skipped a year which is an amazing achievement.

Fair play to them, when lads like Ronan Lynch can't make the panel and Dowling, Peter Casey and Barry Nash are subs you know you have a strong panel.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 18:29:47    2127308

Great stuff what a match, what an advertisement for Hurling

GAAdundalk (Louth) - Posts: 641 - 29/07/2018 18:30:57    2127310

What a game of hurling. What a weekend if it actually, brilliant stuff.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/07/2018 18:34:41    2127311

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "My God what a game! I think the hurling was more free flowing, less tight marking and less physicality today than yesterday which allowed for a great spectacle. Like Clare yesterday a great comeback by Limerick. Like Clare yesterday they carried all the momentum into extra time and went the few points up early. They carried a 1 point lead into second period. NOW unlike Clare, The Treaty men were able to finish the job. Like Galway a few of Corks best players had left the pitch and Limerick nailed the Coffin. Simple, the team that comes back wins extra time. Clare failed to do this yesterday. Clare want Galway people to think that they threw it away losing an early lead and allowing them back in it, but it is Clare that could not close it out and do what Limerick did. Well done Limerick, all the experts say it will be Clare you Will be meeting in Final so Good luck."
Sammy, you're taking it all too hard. We have another day to fight it out, and nobody knows who will finally put it to bed. The only winners this weekend were Limerick but they also have one more hurdle to get over, if they can.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 29/07/2018 18:41:09    2127315

There is something that might go unnoticed here and I just remembered it again. Caroline Currid is involved with Limerick this year.

She is some sports psychologist. I am pretty sure she was with Tyrone in 2008. She was with Tipp in 2010 and Dublin in 2011.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 18:48:30    2127318

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "No I did not, actually I was comparing and contrasting the two semi finals. But you are right, Clare people would need to hear it..lol lol. But what a two days of hurling. These Men from all the four teams deserve a Cup each for putting on these unselfish and life on the line displays for us."
I think it's the passion spilling over, nothing wrong with it. Clare had a big point to prove on there return to Croke Park.

One thing is for sure, Liam has taken a sign to Shannonside/ West and is staying there for at least one more year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 18:51:19    2127319

Limerick are an excellent outfit, they just ground Cork down in the end. Antrim played them in Cushendall In February in the League. We did well to hold them for 25 mins but then they just flicked a switch into turbocharge. Some of the Antrim fellas said they hadn't faced such a hard, physically imposing team like Limerick in quite a while. I wish them well in the final.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 29/07/2018 18:55:44    2127320

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Sammy, you're taking it all too hard. We have another day to fight it out, and nobody knows who will finally put it to bed. The only winners this weekend were Limerick but they also have one more hurdle to get over, if they can."
Yeah I think Limerick will be glad of the extra week when you see the amount of players going off with knocks after both games.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 18:57:32    2127321

Unbelievable stuff again. I gave the referee yesterday an A+. Usually hard on them but again today he did a good job. A few mistake but an A for sure. Those few mistakes over 100 minutes by one participant (the ref) are nothing. If the standard of this weekend can be maintained we are in good shape.
Fantastic game. Fantastic sport, Bring it on.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2018 18:58:15    2127322

Congratulations to Limerick. They have momentum now.Great subs bench especially Shane Dowling. Will be some cracker of final against Clare or Galway.
Cork's subs bench was weak.
Still can't figure out how Eoin Cadogan was penalized for over carrying,,,he played the ball on his stick after 2 steps...that free brought Limerick to 4 points and they pressed home from there.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 29/07/2018 19:01:56    2127323

I propose we share it this year. Any takers from Clare or Limerick?...no?...oh well ...worth a shot

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 29/07/2018 19:05:35    2127324

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Limerick are an excellent outfit, they just ground Cork down in the end. Antrim played them in Cushendall In February in the League. We did well to hold them for 25 mins but then they just flicked a switch into turbocharge. Some of the Antrim fellas said they hadn't faced such a hard, physically imposing team like Limerick in quite a while. I wish them well in the final."
Yeah, they finish games out so strongly. Galway in the league, Tipp, Kilkenny, and Cork in the championship.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2018 19:07:41    2127325

was just thinking it'll be some sickner if, in a year where we beat tipp kk and cork, we lose a final to clare or galway

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 29/07/2018 19:24:38    2127329

Absolutely Gutted today fair play to limerick really great team and tourghly deserved. Cork for years have always been strong on the line we have won all Ireland when we shouldnt have from the line. But today that game was lost on the line how the hell was harnedy not subbed when he could Bearley walk let alone run. We also must have made 4 or 5 subs from 60 mins on why? Why change a team that was on top.we also went negative stopped pushing on and didn't compete for second ball 6 became 5 then 4 the 2 until we went a point behind.what did we do then won the next puck out which brought a foul and horgan pointed from. When they were cutting us back we only needed one score to stop the rot but as I said we went negative.lets hope we learn from our mistakes this is a bitter pill to swallow meyler has to have a long look at himself he done well this season but went missing today anyway all the best to limerick in the final

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 29/07/2018 19:25:40    2127331

Replying To Rockies:  "Congratulations to Limerick. They have momentum now.Great subs bench especially Shane Dowling. Will be some cracker of final against Clare or Galway.
Cork's subs bench was weak.
Still can't figure out how Eoin Cadogan was penalized for over carrying,,,he played the ball on his stick after 2 steps...that free brought Limerick to 4 points and they pressed home from there."
there was a foul before that anyway

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 29/07/2018 19:25:52    2127332

One of the themes of the championship, teams losing big leads, this time Cork 1-26 to 1-20 up after 63 minutes, but that's why hurling's such an exciting sport. A six point lead in football, at any stage, is practically game over. In hurling it can be whittled away in minutes.

Don't get me wrong, Cork contributed greatly to a brilliant game, but I thought Limerick blew them away in extra time, they looked full of running while Cork were out on their feet. Limerick's bench made a huge impact too. Shane Dowling doesn't look like he would blitz too many bleep tests but showed that skill and a hurling brain can sometimes make up for not being an athletic specimen.

Maybe they should introduce the hurling super 8s after this championship.....!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/07/2018 19:38:31    2127334