Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "At long last a light has been shone on the corrupt relationship between the upper echelons of the GAA & how Croke Park is being used to favour the county with the most supporters & hence biggest gates. The scheduling of the Donegal Dublin game for 7.00 on Sat evening being the latest example.
There may well be nothing that can be done about it this year but there is no way this nonsense will be tolerated from here on in.
Some Dublin supporters have acknowledged the unfairness of it all & fair play to them but to those that are dismissive of obvious wrongdoing I can tell you this.
This great Dublin team will now not receive the accolades due to them because every time some fool starts rabbiting on about "the greatest team of all time" there will be a small voice in the crowd who will whisper "Fix" & everyone will know exactly what they're talking about."
This Dublin team has never received the accolades due to them so nothing new there and I firmly believe & know that this is what drives them on so you and everybody else can spout fix to your hearts content.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/07/2018 09:02:13    2118307

Replying To Jackeen:  "This Dublin team has never received the accolades due to them so nothing new there and I firmly believe & know that this is what drives them on so you and everybody else can spout fix to your hearts content."
You've just reaffirmed what he is saying.

With all the advantages laid at their feet they haven't been given the opportunity to prove that they are the greatest - surely that's something that even the players themselves would like??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/07/2018 09:12:48    2118313

Replying To arock:  "The time for anyone to object is BEFORE the dice is thrown, not after, pure opportunistic nonsense."
Arock dice isn't thrown because the game hasn't been played? Donegal fully entitled to object.

Has dublin have a problem with there own county grounds that is parnell park? Parnell or nowhere!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 04/07/2018 09:15:58    2118315

Replying To cavanman47:  "You've just reaffirmed what he is saying.

With all the advantages laid at their feet they haven't been given the opportunity to prove that they are the greatest - surely that's something that even the players themselves would like??"
This Dublin team know their worth. That's all that matters.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/07/2018 09:20:15    2118321

Replying To Ban:  "Another mess. Dublin have used Croke Park as a home venue all year. It should be no surprise that they would continue for the Super 8's.

The problem is that this means 2 away games for Donegal. This is not fair and they have every right to object.

Maybe this game should have been played in Clones. I think both teams would have been happy with that."
How's it not fair? A game in Croke Park, an away game, and a home match, the same as every other team! Maybe Donegal should play them all at home, maybe that's fair

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 04/07/2018 09:22:40    2118323

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "How's it not fair? A game in Croke Park, an away game, and a home match, the same as every other team! Maybe Donegal should play them all at home, maybe that's fair"
I don't see what Donegals argument is here. They have 1 home ,1 away and 1 in a neutral venue or. Croker. The way I see it is that Donegal want to be treated differently than every other team and play no QF games in Croker. Maybe Monaghan should ask for same. Its who ever plays Dublin in their HOME game that may have an argument but I don't see how this affects Donegal.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 04/07/2018 09:33:59    2118325

The whole issue about not wanting to play in Croke Park is unreal. Youngsters are meant to be dreaming all their lives to play there. Footballers have too many opportunities to play there. Munster hurling teams have to win the munster championship or get to a semi-final through the back door to play in Croke Park.

As regarding a home venue for Dublin, it is a home venue. They have Hill 16 as good as allocated to them for all their matches, they have Hill 16 season tickets. Its a home venue all but in name

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 04/07/2018 09:35:36    2118326

Have to say I'm very surprised by this becuase it's not the "neutral" game that's the issue (where did neutral come out of btw, hasn't it always been a match fixed for Croker?)

I want us to play the Dubs in Croke Park in all honesty. It's a great experience and you can't beat the atmosphere. But is Croke Park their home pitch officially? I suppose that is the question here.

Fair play for seeking clarification I suppose but I wonder about it's benefits to the squad. Can't help the preparation to have this going on in the background.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/07/2018 09:37:12    2118327

Replying To FootblockREF:  "The GAA seem to be willing to let this slide which is a big mistake because if either Donegal or the winners of the Roscommon v Armagh game protest, then this house of cards falls down because this is simply not fair. Parnell Park can barely hold the Dublin season ticket holders so it isn't a viable option. Dublin have won 5 of the last 7 All Ireland's. They are a brilliant side and therefore they last thing Gaelic Football needs is Croke Park manufacturing ways to give them additional advantages. But remember, Dublin will play wherever they are sent. This is not Dublin's fault. It's the GAA's fault for not correcting an issue that was raised even before the proposal was passed. Personally, I think that the ego's in Croke Park are so fragile, they can't have another climbdown after last week and before last week, they didn't know what a climbdown was!"
Damn, I'm good! Or at least average.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 04/07/2018 09:59:58    2118330

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "How's it not fair? A game in Croke Park, an away game, and a home match, the same as every other team! Maybe Donegal should play them all at home, maybe that's fair"
Donegal are the only team with 2 away games. Kerry and Galway would be doing the same thing if their game in Croke Park was against Dublin.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 04/07/2018 10:09:43    2118334

Replying To PressureKick:  "This is by far the biggest issue here. How on earth were Galway fixed to play Sunday when their hurlers could well be playing the same day. Galway Kerry were group 1 of the super 8s and should've been fixed for Saturday. How can the GAA justify having that game on Sunday and not the Dublin one given the potential clash with the hurlers?"
Absolutely. I sympathise with Donegal more so with the 7pm throw in (for their fans) as opposed to the issue with CP being the Dub/Don venue given this was agreed at congress. On our particular predicament i will be astounded if this situation is allowed. There is a very real chance Kilkenny will beat us in the hurling and if we are subjected to this nonsense it would be a disgrace. Before i get the ire of Dublin fans up this would not happen to you. What the GAA would do in this situation is put both your teams on the same bill or worst case scenario on different days if different venues.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 04/07/2018 10:13:26    2118337

Replying To Farney1977:  "I don't see what Donegals argument is here. They have 1 home ,1 away and 1 in a neutral venue or. Croker. The way I see it is that Donegal want to be treated differently than every other team and play no QF games in Croker. Maybe Monaghan should ask for same. Its who ever plays Dublin in their HOME game that may have an argument but I don't see how this affects Donegal."
Read their statement. They are not protesting against playing in croke park.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/07/2018 10:22:04    2118343

I really can't see the GAA moving this fixture to let's say Clones even though I'd actually love it to be up there. Nice road trip and we would arrive in droves for it. For anyone saying that Croke Park is our home ground then effectively it as served pretty much as just that over the past number of years but that hasn't been our doing whatsoever. It's the money men in the GAA that have made it such. Realistically are we going to insist on playing games in Parnell Park? No chance due to ticket demand and depriving a lot of genuine fans the chance to see the team play. As someone previously pointed out the conversation has started this year but I feel it's too late to do anything about it for 2018 and will definitely be changes made for next year's Super 8s. I have to laugh though at the usual rubbish of Dublin having an unfair advantage playing in Croke Park constantly. Are our lads more familiar with the surroundings? Yes. Would we fancy our chances in any other ground in the country? Yes. Was anyone giving out about us playing in Croke Park all the time prior to 2011? No. Was playing in Croke Park previously a negative factor for Dublin teams? Yes. The reality is and one that is being constantly overlooked is that prior to 2011opposition teams had no fear of Dublin, the stadium was by and large irrelevant and in fact shutting the thousands of Dublin fans up was a big deal for any opposition teams. The fact is now most teams can't outplay us on the pitch and suddenly the venue is called into question. What about each of the finals we've played v Mayo since 2013? On each occasion we were outnumbered fairly easily in the stands but ultimately it boils down to what happens on the pitch. I won't be as simplistic as to suggest the "at the end of the day it's a patch of grass and 15 on 15" argument as I do acknowledge the surroundings to have some effect but not nearly as big as an effect as some people are making out. I would more be complaining as an opposition fan about journey times/cost to Croke Park compared to another neutral venue. It's the first year of the Super 8s and it will need time to develop ideally into a Super 16 in a couple of years and in that time hopefully we have more provincial stadia up to hosting big games of this stature. The GAA need the money to see that other stadia are upgraded i.e. Navan, Casement Park etc and that's why they'll be very reluctant to move Dublin out of Croke Park at the moment.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 04/07/2018 10:36:30    2118353

Replying To Farney1977:  "I don't see what Donegals argument is here. They have 1 home ,1 away and 1 in a neutral venue or. Croker. The way I see it is that Donegal want to be treated differently than every other team and play no QF games in Croker. Maybe Monaghan should ask for same. Its who ever plays Dublin in their HOME game that may have an argument but I don't see how this affects Donegal."
But Donegal are the only team in the Super 8's being made to play 2 away games - how do you think that is fair? If Monaghan come through the qualifiers next week, would you be happy if they had to play 2 away games? We are only asking to be treated the same as the other 7 teams, nothing more or nothing less.

The least the GAA could have done was fix the game at an earlier time, that is just rubbing salt into the wound.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 04/07/2018 10:46:55    2118358

Replying To cavanman47:  "Read their statement. They are not protesting against playing in croke park."
No harm meant but I don't think super 8's will be worrying Cavan for foreseeable future. So what are they objecting too only playing a game in Croke Park. Dublin's HOME game should be in Parnell but I don't see how it would be an advantage to any team as Dublin would be out to have a point to prove.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 04/07/2018 10:53:58    2118363

To be fair to Donegal if Dublin played two games in Croke Park so would another team in the group, Roscommon or Armagh would have two games in Corke Park too.

Thats two teams in one group who would be playing twice in the same venue. While two teams have to play in three different venues.

I also agree on the throw in time its an utter disgrace should be two and four throw in times.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/07/2018 11:20:10    2118379

Replying To joeteor:  "Donegal are the only team with 2 away games. Kerry and Galway would be doing the same thing if their game in Croke Park was against Dublin."
Is a game in Croke Park and another game in any other County's home ground not 2 away matches?

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 04/07/2018 12:05:38    2118404

Replying To Green_Gold:  "But Donegal are the only team in the Super 8's being made to play 2 away games - how do you think that is fair? If Monaghan come through the qualifiers next week, would you be happy if they had to play 2 away games? We are only asking to be treated the same as the other 7 teams, nothing more or nothing less.

The least the GAA could have done was fix the game at an earlier time, that is just rubbing salt into the wound."
If Monaghan come through qualifiers we have Kildare/Fermanagh in Croke Park (away) Kerry in clones (home) Galway in Salthill (away)...... I see only 1 home game there

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 04/07/2018 12:53:21    2118430

Neutral: not supporting or helping either side in a conflict, disagreement, etc.; impartial.

Dublin fans arguing playing in croker doesn't help them more are laughing. Croker isn't neutral. However the rules state that a match must be played in croker. Not a neutral venue. So imo dublin should get away with this. However the rule should be amended for next year. Dublin under no circumstances should be playing 2 in the super 8 in croker. Just another unfair advantage they have.

They should also be told to build a home stadium suitable to host matches of say 40k or else lose their home advantage for all championship matches bar leinster finals and all Ireland semi finals.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 04/07/2018 13:19:29    2118445

Replying To Farney1977:  "If Monaghan come through qualifiers we have Kildare/Fermanagh in Croke Park (away) Kerry in clones (home) Galway in Salthill (away)...... I see only 1 home game there"
Kildare/Fermanagh isn't away it's neutral is this a wind up lol

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 04/07/2018 13:29:50    2118450