Cavan Vs Tyrone

Nothing much about this one, should be a good enough. Cavan are appealing their reds cards, hear they are also looking to play at home rather that Croke Park, their in the right as are Kildare. Tough enough to call when Cavan are in good form but I'm going for Tyrone by at least four.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 25/06/2018 20:25:47    2114935

Hard to look beyond anything but a comfortable red hand win in this one, unfortunately. By all accounts we're playing awful football and did the bare minimum to get through our two qualifiers. Tyrone have had the measure of us for a good while now, bar the drawn game in 2016, and are a superior team. I wouldn't be holding out hope of getting our red cards appealed, and don't know if it would make much difference to the result if they did anyway.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 27/06/2018 10:53:37    2115793

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Nothing much about this one, should be a good enough. Cavan are appealing their reds cards, hear they are also looking to play at home rather that Croke Park, their in the right as are Kildare. Tough enough to call when Cavan are in good form but I'm going for Tyrone by at least four."
Cavan's home field isn't available that is why they played their home tie v Down in Enniskillen.

A step up needed from Tyrone here but regardless of where the game is played (my ticket says Croke Park at 5pm) I think it's a step up they will make. Tyrone by 5 or 6 pts

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 27/06/2018 11:02:51    2115801

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Nothing much about this one, should be a good enough. Cavan are appealing their reds cards, hear they are also looking to play at home rather that Croke Park, their in the right as are Kildare. Tough enough to call when Cavan are in good form but I'm going for Tyrone by at least four."
Sorry but where are you hearing they are looking to play at home? Where are they thinking of holding it, a club ground in Virginia?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 11:10:39    2115806

Replying To the_walls:  "Sorry but where are you hearing they are looking to play at home? Where are they thinking of holding it, a club ground in Virginia?"
Well we surely can't do it in Croke Park now that the GAA has made the right decision about Newbridge. We played Down in Brewster last week so could try there again, or else maybe Clones. Was ludicrous making two Ulster teams trek out of their own province for a qualifier anyway in my opinion.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 27/06/2018 11:36:13    2115844

Replying To TheBlackDeath:  "Well we surely can't do it in Croke Park now that the GAA has made the right decision about Newbridge. We played Down in Brewster last week so could try there again, or else maybe Clones. Was ludicrous making two Ulster teams trek out of their own province for a qualifier anyway in my opinion."
Clones would be a grand spot for it but Irish News is tweeting that they have been told it will be a stand alone game in Croke.

If so it'll be deserted lucky to get 10,000 travelling that far for a single game I'd say

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 27/06/2018 11:46:35    2115857

You are all welcome to Clones on Saturday evening golks. Looking forward to a good contest between 2 Ulster heavyweights.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 27/06/2018 11:51:24    2115865

Replying To TheBlackDeath:  "Well we surely can't do it in Croke Park now that the GAA has made the right decision about Newbridge. We played Down in Brewster last week so could try there again, or else maybe Clones. Was ludicrous making two Ulster teams trek out of their own province for a qualifier anyway in my opinion."
100% it should be in either Brewster or Clones, no point in dragging both of ye down to Dublin, but the original poster said that he had heard that Cavan were looking to play their game at home and cited Kildare for why they would be justified. I would love to know where he "heard" this, considering Breffni Park is unavailable.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 12:46:44    2115914

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "You are all welcome to Clones on Saturday evening golks. Looking forward to a good contest between 2 Ulster heavyweights."
So after all of that we play in Enniskillen @ 5pm on Sat

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 27/06/2018 12:50:13    2115918

So I should just bin my train ticket to Connolly then? Doubt the GAA will compensate that. And the opt out has disappeared off the season ticket website. Disaster of a week for the organisation.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 27/06/2018 14:02:11    2115974

RTE reports that "Cavan's Breffni Park is currently unavailable due to the maintenance work, so the Fermanagh venue is their next choice".

Cavan men....... is is true that Cavan prefer Brewester over Clones for this game ?.....no problem, just find that interesting !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 27/06/2018 20:05:00    2116130

Ah please Shelbourne, give it a rest already.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 27/06/2018 21:34:46    2116157

We have reverted back to playing ultra-defensive football (and playing it very badly). We played quite attacking football during the league and were lucky to get promoted but at least we gave it a go. We shipped a heavy score v Roscommon in the league 2 final but we also scored heavily. We came up against a very strong team in Donegal in the preliminary round in Ulster and were defeated (personally I didn't think it was too bad a performance and never expected to beat Donegal anyway). However the fallout from that game has meant that the management have lost their bottle and are now playing this horrible 1-13-1 formation or sometimes 1-14-0 . We were doing Ok with some of the young forwards that came in during the league but now they don't get a look in as the instruction seems to be to pass it back or sideways. We were so lucky to beat Down given the fact they ended the game without arguably their 5 best players. we scored a flukey goal which brought us back in to the game and only we were up against 14 men at the end we would have not won. Now Tyrone are a big step up from Down so what hope do we have, especially now that Mcveety is suspended. (I think we can cover OK for Moynagh). I can't see the point in appealing the red cards. They should just accept them and thank themselves lucky that more suspensions were not dished out. I also didn't like The Manager's comments when he seemed to blame the Referee for issuing cards after the game had finished, he would have been better off condemning his players for needlessly getting involved in a stupid melee after they had won. Tyrone always beat us and I can't see anything other than a drubbing. probably in the region of 15-20 points.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/06/2018 00:29:10    2116252

I see the two Cavan players got off.
Absolute joke. No point refs giving red cards these days.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/06/2018 22:50:54    2116553

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I see the two Cavan players got off.
Absolute joke. No point refs giving red cards these days."
Absolute joke.....hope Cavan get stuffed out the gate......three times the same Cavan player tried provoke Down players towards and at end of the gam....bad losers is one thing but to fail to show some grace and class when you win really suns up a group of players........

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 28/06/2018 23:31:29    2116560

If the 2 lads were not the culprits in the row then I've no problem with them getting off. But surely then it works both ways and retrospective bans were needed for those who could b seem. Sure mckiernan started the whole thing and nothing. Not a great week 4 the gas. . Again

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 29/06/2018 00:21:57    2116568

Replying To s goldrick:  "We have reverted back to playing ultra-defensive football (and playing it very badly). We played quite attacking football during the league and were lucky to get promoted but at least we gave it a go. We shipped a heavy score v Roscommon in the league 2 final but we also scored heavily. We came up against a very strong team in Donegal in the preliminary round in Ulster and were defeated (personally I didn't think it was too bad a performance and never expected to beat Donegal anyway). However the fallout from that game has meant that the management have lost their bottle and are now playing this horrible 1-13-1 formation or sometimes 1-14-0 . We were doing Ok with some of the young forwards that came in during the league but now they don't get a look in as the instruction seems to be to pass it back or sideways. We were so lucky to beat Down given the fact they ended the game without arguably their 5 best players. we scored a flukey goal which brought us back in to the game and only we were up against 14 men at the end we would have not won. Now Tyrone are a big step up from Down so what hope do we have, especially now that Mcveety is suspended. (I think we can cover OK for Moynagh). I can't see the point in appealing the red cards. They should just accept them and thank themselves lucky that more suspensions were not dished out. I also didn't like The Manager's comments when he seemed to blame the Referee for issuing cards after the game had finished, he would have been better off condemning his players for needlessly getting involved in a stupid melee after they had won. Tyrone always beat us and I can't see anything other than a drubbing. probably in the region of 15-20 points."
First thing we need is a captain who doesn't get involved in stupid melees especially when the game is over.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 29/06/2018 08:17:27    2116585

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I see the two Cavan players got off.
Absolute joke. No point refs giving red cards these days."
No point in them giving red cards in the wrong

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 29/06/2018 08:36:23    2116587

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Absolute joke.....hope Cavan get stuffed out the gate......three times the same Cavan player tried provoke Down players towards and at end of the gam....bad losers is one thing but to fail to show some grace and class when you win really suns up a group of players........"
a touch on the bitter side there i see. dont be worried about us you should worry about your own teams indiscipline which pretty much cost yous the game last weekend.

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 29/06/2018 08:39:23    2116588

Replying To Tim_NicebutDim:  "If the 2 lads were not the culprits in the row then I've no problem with them getting off. But surely then it works both ways and retrospective bans were needed for those who could b seem. Sure mckiernan started the whole thing and nothing. Not a great week 4 the gas. . Again"
McKiernan and o'hagan were at the verbal stuff all game.

The first red card offence was o'hagan striking McKiernan. The 2nd red card offence was o'hagan striking McKiernan a 2nd time.

There were no other red card offences in the 'melee' which amounted to nothing more than handbags.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 29/06/2018 09:18:32    2116595