Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To Farney1977:  "No it's not per norm.... I'm a football purist and to be honest there is no better sight than a football team in full flight and Dublin have provided this many times over the years. They are a phenomenal team of athletes but I really do not see why referees feel the need to give them an advantage....is it that they are afraid of losing out on the next big game?? Dublin do not need any help from refs but they always get it. But I would also worry about the mindset of Dublin and teams that play them. Yes they win games in 2nd gear but when teams go at them and make them hit top gear they are vulnerable. Look at mayo over last few seasons. Does Jim Gavin think it's right to have a team play like they did in last 10 minutes just cos they 5 points up. Just take a look at what Tyrone did to the rossies. Someday Gavin's complacency will catch him out."
Excellent post. If you are coasting along in 3rd gear and the tide suddenly turns it might not be easy to up the ante and they could get caught out, refs seem to favour the 'big' teams in all sports I think, but the GAA football championship is so lopsided in favour of Dublin it's a bit ridiculous to be honest, home advantage for the big games, money for coaching and big population etc etc.
I think you could divide Dublin in 4 and they'd nearly have the 4 teams in the super 8's!! the 4 regions was it our friend from Kerry used to say.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 14/07/2018 23:58:32    2121873

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "and not everyone living in donegal is born and reared in donegal"
True enough, there's the two McBreartys for a start.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 15/07/2018 00:00:00    2121875

Replying To ruanua:  "We conceded 6+ short kick outs and Dublin got around 4 points from that( missing one and misseda resultant 45. Could easily have been 3/4 goals"
Most of the goal chances came after the 2nd goal went in when we lost our shape defensively. Much like the league the crucial periods just before and after HT were critical. Don't forget Donegal were worth a goal or 2 too plus had some very bad misses with better options ahead. Regardless never ever a 20 point game. The first half was largely equal and scores tit for tat in the second half. So while I concede that Dublin were definitely worthy winners of a few more scores it actually finished 17 scores to 16 with the goals been crucial. Plus I think with the experience gained today you won't see a repeat performance early doors from our very young and inexperienced keeper Shaun Patton.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 15/07/2018 00:53:41    2121885

Dublin are seriously impressive when they go in front. they just never look like losing.

That's a very good donegal side and we beat them relatively comfortably in all honesty..

to the people who are slagging dublin for keeping the ball in the last 10 or 15. They are playing 3 games in 4 weeks. Why kill themselves with a massive game in omagh next week? it just doesn't make any sense at all. The game was done after the second goal. Donegal where the ones who where chasing it. The ball was in their court and they decided to still get men back. I've no issue with that because on the occasion donegal did go forward and we won possession back and attacked second half on the counter we looked lethal.

the same people who are having a go for playing within ourselves and not going full foot to the floor with donegal care the very same people who would crucify us if we got unnecessary injuries or ran out of steam in the next few games.

it's all about managing the game. we won. That's all that matters. I'd rather play within ourselves and win that play great and lose

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/07/2018 01:13:14    2121890

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "So every free you got was justified of course, right?? Dublin's opposition frees are always spot on of course...."
It is playing in Croke Park all the time and Referees that allow the Dubs to have an unfair advantage. Dubs AI s will always have a But and what if? attached to them.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 15/07/2018 02:00:58    2121895

I would almost be satisfied with that result. We did quite well in terms of defense and can improve there too. Kickouts were very shaky today. We missed some major chances too. Still managed to stay within 5 points of the dubs in "croke park". Unfortunately, the Tyrone result today means if they get a win in omagh we are effectively out even if we get 6 points. Still, we are doing our best without p Mac b. What a difference he makes to the forward line. I would like to see Stephen mcbrearty start next game.

Dublin are classy. They won pulling up with a long time to go until full time.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/07/2018 02:39:48    2121901

Dublin played the majority of the game with 15 men behind the ball when not in possession so I don't understand why you're all on your high horses about donegal tactics.

And in relation to the closing stages, if it goes to point difference in the final stages, maybe it might help with a smaller deficit against the dubs, although tyrone blew that out of the water with an 18 point win this evening.

On a separate note, how good was Brian Fenton tonight? He's an absolute machine although ClUxton makes it easy for him with the kick outs. If anyone is to beat Dublin, they have to push right up on the kick outs and turn them over. Although let's hope no one does it in the next two games.

ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 204 - 15/07/2018 02:45:37    2121903

Also, just to point out, don't understand the criticism of Dublin either. Why would they be stupid enough to go into the mass defence of donegal and risk their lead? Lessons learned from 2014. You play to win and that's exactly what they did.

And to the people criticising donegal, did you watch roscommon continually make the same mistakes against tyrone and end up on the receiving end of an eighteen point defeat? Moral will be really important next weekend and I'd rather be in the donegal camp than the roscommon one at the minute.

ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 204 - 15/07/2018 03:01:54    2121905

Donegal stayed with Dublin for long periods yesterday and could and should have scored a few goals. They were missing Paddy McBrearty but never looked out of place or less talented. Dublin looked very sluggish but their professional stamina and a stronger bench brought them through.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 15/07/2018 03:04:43    2121906

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "I think you're pretty delusional if you think Dublin were in second or third gear. Thankfully you're past your peak with Brogan, Connolly etc coming to the twilight of their careers, and being replaced by players not of the same exceptional ability. We will see when we meet again. You clearly have a dislike of Ulster given with the exception of the last few years Ulster teams have usually turned you over on the big occasions, which have been many. Fair play to Dublin for bagging a glut of All Ireland's rather than the usual one or two a decade ( We've no interest in football from the time of the hedge schools), given all the advantages you have. TBH, country people living in Dublin should reduce involvement and contribution to the Dublin football at club level. You're well within reach of a few other teams now."
Oooooohhhh....salty!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/07/2018 06:42:37    2121914

Isn't it amazing to hear all this giving out about Dublins tactics in the last 10 minutes .Donegal sat back when they should have been trying to win the game all Dublin done was show up how stupid this tactic of ultra defensive football really is.Laois played keep ball against Carlow for the last 10 minutes and i didn't hear the outcry that's coming from some on here. Remember Kerry tried the same tactic in the last 10 minutes of the All Ireland in 2011 and it backfired and the reason it did was because the Dubs pushed up and tried to win an All Ireland. Fortune favours the brave.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 15/07/2018 08:23:00    2121921

Some people have actually not got a clue .

Dublin were cruising in that match and Donegal were physically exhausted in final 10 and it's not just as simple as pushing up and 'go for it '. Dublin would possibly rattle in 2 or 3 more goals at their ease . Donegal were not able to go for it . Match was over .

Dublin never looked in danger despite it only being 5 - serious team.

Referees performance beggared belief at times .

Not the winning and losing of the match but the fouling of the ball by Dublin was farcial at times but that's not their fault .

Dublin play 15 behind for long periods too but their transition it incredible.

They were never in danger yesterday - not once.

The team to beat again .

I thought it was an impossible task without our best forward.

paddy92 (Donegal) - Posts: 141 - 15/07/2018 08:37:16    2121924

Replying To waynoI:  "Dublin are seriously impressive when they go in front. they just never look like losing.

That's a very good donegal side and we beat them relatively comfortably in all honesty..

to the people who are slagging dublin for keeping the ball in the last 10 or 15. They are playing 3 games in 4 weeks. Why kill themselves with a massive game in omagh next week? it just doesn't make any sense at all. The game was done after the second goal. Donegal where the ones who where chasing it. The ball was in their court and they decided to still get men back. I've no issue with that because on the occasion donegal did go forward and we won possession back and attacked second half on the counter we looked lethal.

the same people who are having a go for playing within ourselves and not going full foot to the floor with donegal care the very same people who would crucify us if we got unnecessary injuries or ran out of steam in the next few games.

it's all about managing the game. we won. That's all that matters. I'd rather play within ourselves and win that play great and lose"
Good post wayno, I couldn't figure it out myself & your point about the heavy schedule makes sense. I had never seen Dublin play like that before, they usually go for the jugular when they are on top but up to now they would be sure of a couple of weeks break to recover instead of a trip to Omagh next week.

I thought Cluxton was brilliant & the high fielding from Dublin was superb. As opposed to that they were uncharacteristically sloppy in front of goal, young O'Callaghan being a culprit here, that won't do against a Tyrone team who are improving with every game.

For a young & inexperienced Donegal team this was a very valuable learning experience & to their eternal credit they didn't fold after the second Dublin goal but came back to score four points in a row. They still have a distance to go but the ingredients are all there.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2018 09:10:00    2121929

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think you're completely missing the point?

Why did Dublin do it?

Why did Donegal keep 15 players behind the ball when 6-7pts down with 10 minutes to play?

They barely lay a hand in Dublin....

Donegal needed the ball abd Dublin owned it.

Why did Dublin do it???

Dublin just completely exposed once again the complete futility of such tactics.. Dublin slowly smudged a cream pie into the face of such tactics"
Christ jimbo, wind it down a bit will you?

There is no need for such an ill mannered response to a genuine question. You won the game & won well, something which has been freely acknowledged by Donegal posters, & yet there are a couple of Dublin posters on HS who are really narky about everything.

Look at wayno's response to my post. His answer makes sense & it has nothing to do with "smudging a cream pie into anyone's face" something Jim Gavin would be far too classy to do in any case.

You could learn a thing or two from him.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2018 09:18:16    2121932

well that game has certainly blown a few myths out of the water:

1) dublin play the way game as it should be played and play to the traditional values of the game;
this is to paraphrase what is often trotted out by gavin in his post match interviews...well if what we saw in that last 15 mins was the "traditional" way, then we all must have experienced a completely different game back in the sixties and seventies...also dublin took every opportunity to get 13 men behind the ball when donegal did attack

2) donegal have completely changed their mentality and are a new attacking force
it was laughable to once again hear rte commentator prattle on about this exactly when they had 13 men behind the ball and wouldn't come out and try and dispossess the dubs as the dubs played keepball in their own half. Donegal reverted to type.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 15/07/2018 10:09:11    2121944

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "It is playing in Croke Park all the time and Referees that allow the Dubs to have an unfair advantage. Dubs AI s will always have a But and what if? attached to them."
There are no buts and whys when you beat every team there is home and away in league and championship. The so called experts have dubbed them the greatest team to ever play the game. Enough said.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/07/2018 10:15:28    2121947

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "well that game has certainly blown a few myths out of the water:

1) dublin play the way game as it should be played and play to the traditional values of the game;
this is to paraphrase what is often trotted out by gavin in his post match interviews...well if what we saw in that last 15 mins was the "traditional" way, then we all must have experienced a completely different game back in the sixties and seventies...also dublin took every opportunity to get 13 men behind the ball when donegal did attack

2) donegal have completely changed their mentality and are a new attacking force
it was laughable to once again hear rte commentator prattle on about this exactly when they had 13 men behind the ball and wouldn't come out and try and dispossess the dubs as the dubs played keepball in their own half. Donegal reverted to type."
See many explanations above as to why Dublin played the way they did in the last 15. Amazed that you can't see this. But anyway, tell us how and more importantly WHY Dublin should have played any differently and put their lead at risk?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/07/2018 10:19:57    2121948

I think people are forgetting too that dublin did score 2-15. That's a nice score to notch up when not really going full pelt.

we scored 1 point in the last 15, I know it's pie in the sky stuff but with Donegal clearly knackered and Dublin knocking it around, and the fact the goalkeeper for donegal made a few saves, I believe if the game in omagh was 2 weeks away, you could have seen us knock up and go for a few extra score in that last 15. 2-15 against a hardened opposition is good going. While we have a game on saturday against Tyrone, they also played yesterday and cruised. Didny have to break sweat. This guff that dublin look one game at a time, scully said it himself after the game. I think with 3 weeks between games in the championship they probably do but with two massive teams in 7 days in the super 8s stage I believe they had both games in mind make no mistake about it they watched Tyrone and no doubt felt if we got a lead we too try and conserve some energy and keep ball.

it's not complacency like someone said. it's confidence in our ability. if we can do it for 90 seconds with a 1 point lead against mayo in an all ireland final with a team hunting us down in packs, then there is no reason why it shouldn't work against a shattered team who didny lay a glove on us.

We are being rated by our incredibly high standards that we set ourselves to be fair, and that performance is probably below what we as fans expect, what other county fans expect of us and probably management too in terms of the sloppiness.. the unforced errors in our play but it's a very young team from the midfield on..

think we're in a good place going to omagh next week

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/07/2018 10:24:18    2121950

Replying To Joxer:  "See many explanations above as to why Dublin played the way they did in the last 15. Amazed that you can't see this. But anyway, tell us how and more importantly WHY Dublin should have played any differently and put their lead at risk?"
Have to agree with Joxer here If you have a lead and the opposition won't push up on you to get the ball back then tough. Games are about winning. If the shoe was on the other foot and Donegal had the lead I would expect them to do the same .

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 15/07/2018 10:25:30    2121951

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "well that game has certainly blown a few myths out of the water:

it was laughable to once again hear rte commentator prattle on about this exactly when they had 13 men behind the ball and wouldn't come out and try and dispossess the dubs as the dubs played keepball in their own half. Donegal reverted to type."
You miss the point here as so many others have done.

Traditional championship football is a one off game with a minimum two week break after each game. It is a do or die effort with no second chances.

The Super 8's is different, it is a league competition with the goal for each team being one of the coveted top two places at the end of the series of three games. So it should come as no surprise that Dublin didn't go hell for leather in the last 10 minutes with a difficult away game in Omagh next week while for Donegal their biggest weakness has been a very porous defence which they went a long way towards shoring up yesterday.

Asfor trying to dispossesss Dublin, it's very difficult to do that to a top class side if they are intent on keeping the ball & at that stage of the game I'd say Donegal were in energy conservation mode as well. It was a warm evening & playing Dublin is an energy sapping business.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2018 10:26:08    2121952