Galway Vs Kerry

Replying To westkerry:  "Congratulations to deserving winners today. This will give our boys a reality check."
That's the truth of it. They haven't learned anything from the U21 loss against Galway last year.

Kerry won a first minor in 20 years in 2014. You'd have to allow at least 5 years from that until lads are 23 for anything from that age group that are coming through.

It was Galway'a day. Full credit to them.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 15/07/2018 21:10:26    2122393

Replying To aristocratickingdom:  "Christ lads I'm actually bewildered at some peoples prediction on this game. Even some fellow kerry fans saying it's going to be tight. I'm sorry but if kerry dont win this one by 6+ points i will be worried. Yes galway are a decent team and probably have the best footballer in the country at the moment in shane walsh but i feel paul murphy will do a good man marking job on him. Take him out of it and Galway are a bit toothless. Galways midfield is nowhere near the level required to win an all ireland neither is their defence. Kyne and bradshaw are just waiting to be taken to the cleaners. Big Croke park field will show up their flaws.

Now to the people questioning kerry on their recent wins over cork and clare

2017 we beat clare by 6 points
2018 we beat clare by 22 points

2017 we beat cork by 11 points
2018 we beat cork by 17 points

Now lads not only is the points diff impressive but the performance, intensity in the tackle, and fast kick passing has gone up a level... Tbh if i was galwegian id be happy and hopeful to lose by less than10 points. That would be success.
Screenshot this and whatever but im telling ye watch this space. Up the kingdom"
Your ignorance has only come back to haunt you.
Is suspect you'll disapear fairly rapid now thank God

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/07/2018 21:51:14    2122412

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Good man. Ye hammered a poor Cork team and did very little today in a must win game. Of course we'll support Roscommon and Galway now that we're out. A real Kerry poster would be a gracious loser today. Off with you now and buy a spellchecker before you pick a new username to post even more rubbish."
That so called Kerry poster doesn't post on the Kerry page, if in fact he is a real Kerry poster at all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/07/2018 23:02:05    2122446

Replying To aristocratickingdom:  "These strange mayo fans are out in their droves for galway again. very funny behavior from them. Anyway to the main stuff. Galway got their win, fair play to them but tbh there was a league feel to that game evidenced by galway winning as they are only a league team. Kerry now know they've to win next week so it will be real champo game and kerry will blitz an average monaghan team. But sorry to bust your bubble galway and mayo fans but that was galway's all ireland today. We will never play as bad again. kildare will prob beat galway and so will monaghan. Not an all ireland winning team at all. Some folk on here saying they top2 team and whats worse is people saying tyrone are in contention now. The same tyrone that got taut a lesson last august against a dwindling dub team that will eventually be taken down this year by the might of the kingdom and then onto win all ireland. haters gonna hate"
With that sort of insight you'd be better off sticking to singing on your YouTube channel!!!

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 15/07/2018 23:48:07    2122457

Kerry we're a huge letdown today, Galway are now officially in the running!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/07/2018 01:45:50    2122474

On this - and nothing to do with Kerry supporters more the media and how Galway are portrayed.

Since the start of this season Galway must be the 'luckiest' team in the history of the GAA:

League: The media have portrayed Galway's wins over Tyrone, Donegal and the draw with Dublin ALL as the opposition playing really poorly with the narrative around the Mayo and Kerry wins is that Galway's system wont stand up to summer and championship football where these teams will have the beating of Galway.

Championship: The Roscommon game it seems as though (if you believe the media) that Roscommon stopped playing in the 2nd half and just let Galway take the win....that was fair sound of them and again this morning the narrative is al around how poor Kerry were yesterday.

What do Galway have to do to gain some modicum of respect out there that maybe they are forcing/pressuring teams to play poorly that they are enstilling their own game and other teams are coming off 2nd best to it?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/07/2018 08:17:20    2122489

While I'm on a rant here this morning - did anyone pick up on the RTE live coverage of the game that Daly started for Galway in place of the previously mentioned (and shown on screen) Adrian Varley - not this was an original switch for McHugh.

10mins in: Marty M tells us that Daly is on the pitch but doesn't know for who
12mins in: Marty M asks Martin Carney who is Daly on for to which he responds "I think he in in place of Johnny Heaney" - this is after Johnny H had been involved in 3 separate moves!

Anyway - it was not confirmed for who Daly was playing in place of for the remained of the half.

Like seriously, that's not good enough!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/07/2018 08:21:59    2122490

Replying To aristocratickingdom:  "Christ lads I'm actually bewildered at some peoples prediction on this game. Even some fellow kerry fans saying it's going to be tight. I'm sorry but if kerry dont win this one by 6+ points i will be worried. Yes galway are a decent team and probably have the best footballer in the country at the moment in shane walsh but i feel paul murphy will do a good man marking job on him. Take him out of it and Galway are a bit toothless. Galways midfield is nowhere near the level required to win an all ireland neither is their defence. Kyne and bradshaw are just waiting to be taken to the cleaners. Big Croke park field will show up their flaws.

Now to the people questioning kerry on their recent wins over cork and clare

2017 we beat clare by 6 points
2018 we beat clare by 22 points

2017 we beat cork by 11 points
2018 we beat cork by 17 points

Now lads not only is the points diff impressive but the performance, intensity in the tackle, and fast kick passing has gone up a level... Tbh if i was galwegian id be happy and hopeful to lose by less than10 points. That would be success.
Screenshot this and whatever but im telling ye watch this space. Up the kingdom"
Your lucky it wasn't Galway by 6 - the Kerry goal scored when the game was up.

Credit to the majority of Kerry supporters always great insight into the game and hopefully ye'll re-group and win in Clones

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/07/2018 08:36:49    2122492

Be nice if Marty and Get stopped getting over excited every time a Kerry forward makes a good pass or scores after that showing.

Be nice if all the comparisons to 1975 took a bit of a break too.

Be nice if finally Mcmanus, McBrearty, Flynn and Rock might finally be considered as good enough to earn a place on the Kerry front six ahead of the scoreless OShea, ODonohue and others.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 16/07/2018 08:38:01    2122493

Replying To Rockies:  "Galway for the double doesn't sound so ludicrous now.
Favourites in hurling and semi final contenders in football."
may not be ludicrous. but it's still not going to happen

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2018 09:13:20    2122508

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "Be nice if Marty and Get stopped getting over excited every time a Kerry forward makes a good pass or scores after that showing.

Be nice if finally Mcmanus, McBrearty, Flynn and Rock might finally be considered as good enough to earn a place on the Kerry front six ahead of the scoreless OShea, ODonohue and others."
You forgot Shane Walsh. Seriously though most Kerry fans on HS are realistic apart from one WUM. In fairness Fitzmaurice did say during the week yesterday would not define them. They will have a say yet. Most people giving out about the quality yesterday. Was not much better for Monaghan Kildare and surface much damper for the Galway Kerry game. All to play for and group wide open.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/07/2018 09:18:55    2122513

Also injuries to key players for us means our squad will be stretched. Missing Paul Conroy an inspirational warrior plus rookie midfielder motm against Mayo Ciaran Duggan. Few out due to other issues but at least our curve is upwards.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/07/2018 09:21:22    2122515

Replying To Beacaire Gorm:  "Be nice if Marty and Get stopped getting over excited every time a Kerry forward makes a good pass or scores after that showing.

Be nice if finally Mcmanus, McBrearty, Flynn and Rock might finally be considered as good enough to earn a place on the Kerry front six ahead of the scoreless OShea, ODonohue and others."
In fairness to seanie o'shea he's only 19 and He was involved in a heavy collision with Paul conroy In which conroy broke his leg and seanie couldn't even kick the frees afterwards .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/07/2018 10:18:09    2122544

Replying To The_DOC:  "Your lucky it wasn't Galway by 6 - the Kerry goal scored when the game was up.

Credit to the majority of Kerry supporters always great insight into the game and hopefully ye'll re-group and win in Clones"
Relax Doc, Mr Aristocrat is obviously not from Kerry, and most likely from Galway. Username & posts to date are a little unsubtle, and have 'blown cover' written all over them.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 16/07/2018 10:32:00    2122551

Well firstly congrats to Galway they are consigning their poor record in Croker to history. A first Championship win over us since 1965 so another little bit of history made yesterday.

As for the Kingdom, where to start? Yes we know Cork and Clare were very poor but the team I saw yesterday was not the same side that was bouncing off the ground down in PUC. So so strange to see them turn up and serve up that slurry. It doesn't make sense to me. I don't mind losing but what I can't stand is coming away from a loss and knowing you never really landed a pinch. This keeps happening under EF, 2015 final, replay last year and yesterday, each performance worse than the last.

Everything on the line now in Clones we could have a very short summer yet. But if these young lads are the men we all hope they are, they will turn up next Sunday and give it their all. If it's good enough it's good enough, if it's not, it's not.

Finally best wishes to Paul Conroy, what a horrible thing to happen and I could hear the break from where I was sitting. I hope he's ok and gets back playing ASAP

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/07/2018 10:47:56    2122567

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well firstly congrats to Galway they are consigning their poor record in Croker to history. A first Championship win over us since 1965 so another little bit of history made yesterday.

As for the Kingdom, where to start? Yes we know Cork and Clare were very poor but the team I saw yesterday was not the same side that was bouncing off the ground down in PUC. So so strange to see them turn up and serve up that slurry. It doesn't make sense to me. I don't mind losing but what I can't stand is coming away from a loss and knowing you never really landed a pinch. This keeps happening under EF, 2015 final, replay last year and yesterday, each performance worse than the last.

Everything on the line now in Clones we could have a very short summer yet. But if these young lads are the men we all hope they are, they will turn up next Sunday and give it their all. If it's good enough it's good enough, if it's not, it's not.

Finally best wishes to Paul Conroy, what a horrible thing to happen and I could hear the break from where I was sitting. I hope he's ok and gets back playing ASAP"
Was last minute Kerry goal legal?

Looked to me as if it came off a thrown illegal hand pass.

Any views?

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/07/2018 11:37:46    2122606

Replying To Moyle:  "Was last minute Kerry goal legal?

Any views?"
I haven't had a chance to watch the game back yet so I don't know to be honest.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/07/2018 11:49:09    2122613

Replying To Moyle:  "Was last minute Kerry goal legal?

Any views?"
FFS..... legal goal!!!!! There's not much bothering you!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 16/07/2018 12:32:44    2122645

When playing Kerry things you hate to see is Donaghy and Darren O Sullivan coming on they always cause trouble.

When playing Kerry things you love to see when leading is Donacha Walsh and Marc Griffin coming on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2018 13:06:01    2122668

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I think most Kerry people have a gra for Galway football. I know I loved that 1998-2002 team when I was growing up and the battles we had in 2000 were brilliant.
Yeah look, Galway looked clueless in the first half of the Connacht final but they survived it and came out the other end and the Rossies are a serious team.
Galway have had a far better examination of their credentials to date than we have had.
They will be a serious, serious test and of course they can win this game.
I'm just hoping this new Kerry side can show in two weeks that they have the capability to become the team we all hope they can."
The problem with Kerry is an age old problem. Paddy Tally was a massive influence on the Tyrone breakthrough. Talk is he was the main influence in the tactics used during that famous 2003 semi final. Kerry have re-invented themselves this year as they thought football had moved on. When Kerry teams are shown no respect and not allowed to dance around a pitch, as we have seen time and time again they struggle. Paddy Tally has now brought his methods to a very talented group of Galway footballers and yesterday in many ways reminded me of the Kerry, Tyrone battles of yesteryear. Kerry teams don't like battles.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/07/2018 13:06:39    2122669