Senior Hurling Championship

Great achievement from Kiltale. Five in a row and they seemed to have done a Kerry on it and timed their peak to allow them a good shot at Leinster this year. Mark O'Sullivan a big loss though but they have a big squad.

Fair play to Trim as the game was in the melting pot up until the last 12 minutes or so. Especialy after losing James Toher before the game. Even though Trim lead kiltale early in he second half you always felt that Kiltale had another gear which they had.

Kilale will be strong favorites next year but I think that both Trim and Ratoath have the players coming through to challenge them in the next year or so.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/10/2018 08:32:49    2145510

Well done Kiltale. I realised looking at the match program that ye still need one more to break the record for Meath (Drunree also did a 5 in a row in the 1940's). Good luck in Leinster.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 08/10/2018 09:27:45    2145517

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Great achievement from Kiltale. Five in a row and they seemed to have done a Kerry on it and timed their peak to allow them a good shot at Leinster this year. Mark O'Sullivan a big loss though but they have a big squad.

Fair play to Trim as the game was in the melting pot up until the last 12 minutes or so. Especialy after losing James Toher before the game. Even though Trim lead kiltale early in he second half you always felt that Kiltale had another gear which they had.

Kilale will be strong favorites next year but I think that both Trim and Ratoath have the players coming through to challenge them in the next year or so."
Hard to see any team challenging Kiltale. I agree, Ratoath and Trim are best placed to do so, but they lost by 10 points to this Team this year. Kiltale have their eyes on Leinster this year.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 08/10/2018 09:32:11    2145521

why does all that other match programmes in the senior hurling final have kilmessan down as winning 6 in a row during the 40s yet yesterday, i see Drumree down as having won 5 in a row. to my knowlodge Drumree were never even on a role of honor before yesterday? whats goin on there?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 08/10/2018 10:32:05    2145531

I think the Drumree thing is a mistake, it's kilmessan who won 6 in a row in the 40s

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 08/10/2018 16:27:26    2145616

Replying To CastleBravo:  "I think the Drumree thing is a mistake, it's kilmessan who won 6 in a row in the 40s"
I'd be inclined to agree, it has to be a mistake.

If you look up Wikipedia, you'll see in the "Top Winners" (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship#Top_winners), Kilmessan are down for 6 in a row, 1943 - 1948. However, if you scroll down to the "Roll of Honour" (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship#Roll_of_honour), it has Drumree in place of Kilmessan.

If you look at the history of the page, back in 2008, the page stated it was infact Kilmessan who won the 6 in a row, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship&oldid=187288809. But, if you look at the next revision, it was changed to Drumree, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship&oldid=187997886

I wonder did they take their information from Wikipedia?

cashelard (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 08/10/2018 16:46:08    2145621

Replying To cashelard:  "I'd be inclined to agree, it has to be a mistake.

If you look up Wikipedia, you'll see in the "Top Winners" (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship#Top_winners), Kilmessan are down for 6 in a row, 1943 - 1948. However, if you scroll down to the "Roll of Honour" (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship#Roll_of_honour), it has Drumree in place of Kilmessan.

If you look at the history of the page, back in 2008, the page stated it was infact Kilmessan who won the 6 in a row, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship&oldid=187288809. But, if you look at the next revision, it was changed to Drumree, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Meath_Senior_Hurling_Championship&oldid=187997886

I wonder did they take their information from Wikipedia?"
They must have. Meath GAA's own website credits them to Kilmessan:

http://meath.gaa.ie/archive_category/senior-hurling-champions/

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 08/10/2018 20:50:20    2145674

every teacher in the coutry tells u dont reference wiki

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 08/10/2018 22:47:53    2145695

Well last weekend was a great weekend of hurling. Went to the junior game on the Saturday also and have to say the entertainment level was brilliant and well worth the £15 euro. Joey Tooles point from the corner of the hospital end was one of the best score's iv ever seen in navan.

The final on the sunday was a lot closer than I think people expected and the score I think flattered kiltale a bit in the end although they deserved the win in the end. Their class shone through in the end and the quality of their bench came through. Their ability to look first with ball in hand was the telling difference as trim on the other hand hit a lot of ball without looking first and hit it straight to kiltale men who were able to take scores from distance or find a free man.

Kiltale should give leinster a good crack but think they are carrying a good few players who are not 100% and are carrying knocks.

The one sour note from the final I must say was the standard of reffing. blatant fouls and some off the ball hits were not picked up and a few men were lucky not to get marching orders. One call was the worst I have ever witnessed on a gaa pitch when a trim player picked a ball and proceeded to make his way out the field to where a kiltale man tried to shoulder him and In a straight 50/50 the trim man came out fair but a free was awarded in. The ref had far to big an impact on the game unfortunately but kiltale would still have come away with the win regardless.

I agree with the other posts above which said ratoath and trim are best placed to have a crack at kiltale in the coming years but I think it will be two or three before this is realistic. The full back for killyon/longwood in the minor game was immense and definitely a future prospect. Trim's hassling and ability to flick the ball away and block was the winning of their game. Look like a real classy outfit.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 10/10/2018 10:31:21    2145901

Well last weekend was a great weekend of hurling. Went to the junior game on the Saturday also and have to say the entertainment level was brilliant and well worth the £15 euro. Joey Tooles point from the corner of the hospital end was one of the best score's iv ever seen in navan.

The final on the sunday was a lot closer than I think people expected and the score I think flattered kiltale a bit in the end although they deserved the win in the end. Their class shone through in the end and the quality of their bench came through. Their ability to look first with ball in hand was the telling difference as trim on the other hand hit a lot of ball without looking first and hit it straight to kiltale men who were able to take scores from distance or find a free man.

Kiltale should give leinster a good crack but think they are carrying a good few players who are not 100% and are carrying knocks.

The one sour note from the final I must say was the standard of reffing. blatant fouls and some off the ball hits were not picked up and a few men were lucky not to get marching orders. One call was the worst I have ever witnessed on a gaa pitch when a trim player picked a ball and proceeded to make his way out the field to where a kiltale man tried to shoulder him and In a straight 50/50 the trim man came out fair but a free was awarded in. The ref had far to big an impact on the game unfortunately but kiltale would still have come away with the win regardless.

I agree with the other posts above which said ratoath and trim are best placed to have a crack at kiltale in the coming years but I think it will be two or three before this is realistic. The full back for killyon/longwood in the minor game was immense and definitely a future prospect. Trim's hassling and ability to flick the ball away and block was the winning of their game. Look like a real classy outfit.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 10/10/2018 10:39:31    2145904

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Well last weekend was a great weekend of hurling. Went to the junior game on the Saturday also and have to say the entertainment level was brilliant and well worth the £15 euro. Joey Tooles point from the corner of the hospital end was one of the best score's iv ever seen in navan.

I agree with the other posts above which said ratoath and trim are best placed to have a crack at kiltale in the coming years but I think it will be two or three before this is realistic. The full back for killyon/longwood in the minor game was immense and definitely a future prospect. Trim's hassling and ability to flick the ball away and block was the winning of their game. Look like a real classy outfit."
Totally agree, brilliant entainment in Navan on Saturday and Sunday. The standard of hurling in the junior final on Saturday was very good and a very exciting match. Trim deserved the win as they had good hurlers all over the field . Joey Tool was brilliant and was worth the €15 just to watch him play. Trim now up to intermediate, this will give them a good standard of hurling to blood their minors that can play adult next year. They seem to have a lot of very talented hurlers coming now for the last three years. I was looking at the program during the two hour break between the minor and senior finals(What was that all about) Charlie Ennis,Gerard Dwane,Cian Lee,Brian Dowling all won Minors two years ago and all started and in my opinion were all stand out players for Trim. David Murtagh and Michael Cullen came on they also won minor two years ago. Trim Winning the minor again on sunday so they are coming. THeir u16 team is even stronger than the bunch that won on Sunday , I know this because they bet us in the u16 championship by a cricket score and I thought we had a real good team.
Kiltale deserved to win on Sunday, experience stood to them and they got their victory. Have to say their captain Philip Garvey gave a brilliant speech after the match a fitting tribute to Ronan Kelly .

The referees on both saturday and Sunday were terrible and to be honest I don't think any of them know the rules of the game. The ref in the senior game was particularly bad.That free he gave against the Trim defender as he won a brilliant ball, took a great hard fair shoulder from the Kiltale player, and just as the Trim player was clearing the ball he gave a free to Kiltale.If Tommy Walsh had done this playing for Kilkenny the country would be raving about his brilliance. It looked like both sets of players were very frustrated with him as he continued to make decisions that were wrong.Fair play to both sets of player for keeping the head. I was in the Terrace and everybody was flabbergasted with the decisions. His overall performance was verry verry bad.

Well done to Na Fianna who finally regained senior status,
Well done to Kiltale for winning five in a row.
Well done to Trim for winning Junior and Minor .

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 10/10/2018 12:52:02    2145927

I was very impressed by Trim in the final. I think they can look back on the year and with no regrets, no shame in losing to this great Kiltale team. Toher was a huge loss. Hopefully he can take time and get himself back fully fit. Seems to me like he might over-train.

With the refereeing I think all we want is a bit of consistency. Watching the semi finals compared to the finals it was like a different sport.

Have to say that although we're probably all tired of seeing Kiltale win by now, how they conduct themselves as a club is the benchmark for all clubs in the county. Given the difficult year it's been for all involved I think they just ooze class on and off the pitch. Philip Garveys speech at the end epitomized this.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 11/10/2018 10:57:50    2146048

Replying To begining:  "I was very impressed by Trim in the final. I think they can look back on the year and with no regrets, no shame in losing to this great Kiltale team. Toher was a huge loss. Hopefully he can take time and get himself back fully fit. Seems to me like he might over-train.

With the refereeing I think all we want is a bit of consistency. Watching the semi finals compared to the finals it was like a different sport.

Have to say that although we're probably all tired of seeing Kiltale win by now, how they conduct themselves as a club is the benchmark for all clubs in the county. Given the difficult year it's been for all involved I think they just ooze class on and off the pitch. Philip Garveys speech at the end epitomized this."
Great weeknd of hurling overall

Firstly i think everybody knew when the ref was appointed that there would be poor decisions but once he didnt side with one team we could live with it

I think kiltale are now the best club team the county has ever had , to dominate over 7 years and win 6 , throw away one , while the team has changed alot over that time is a credit, they could do 7 or 8 in a row if hunger lets them
People thought they were finished this year and now look

Trim i think they are still a good bit off , how many of there team would start for kiltale? how many of the kiltale subs would be certain starters for trim ? that said they look to be a team getting stronger yearly along with ratoath
Would love to see joey toole give the first team another go, what a talent he still is

i think kildalkey have turned the county on themselves and they can have no complaints
There carry on this year has been a disgrace and somebody needs to tackle them on it

Fair play to na fianna , a proper hurling club , hopefully they can go on and build on this

Think this years senior has been the best i can remember , the groups worked great and lots of excitement
Mayby 2 up and 2 down from a to b would be a improvement ?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 11/10/2018 12:09:00    2146062

Two up and two down is essential, like Trim don't go up next year and they could in theory have been Senior Champions. Now don't jump down my throat and say that they were not going to win the final and I did state in the previous sentence "in theory". It can't be changed for next year but should be changed for the 2020 season.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 11/10/2018 12:25:39    2146065

Replying To MillerX:  "Two up and two down is essential, like Trim don't go up next year and they could in theory have been Senior Champions. Now don't jump down my throat and say that they were not going to win the final and I did state in the previous sentence "in theory". It can't be changed for next year but should be changed for the 2020 season."
ah your on the money in fairness. the two that qualify from B should go up and the bottom two in A should go down. Straight swap. I understand they are trying to not dilute the standard in A too much as I think Trim and longwood (on their day) are the only team's really in B who would compete in the A Group. That's not having a go at the other's but realistically that's the case.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 11/10/2018 14:33:30    2146088

You are forgetting that Kilmessan are also in the B Group next year. They can always, at the least unexpected moment pull a surprise. So that group will be competitive. Na Fianna are also a very young team and if they survive Senior B next year can only improve.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 11/10/2018 19:23:01    2146116

Replying To MillerX:  "You are forgetting that Kilmessan are also in the B Group next year. They can always, at the least unexpected moment pull a surprise. So that group will be competitive. Na Fianna are also a very young team and if they survive Senior B next year can only improve."
I don't disagree but I do fear for kilmessan in the next few years as they don't have much coming through.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 15/10/2018 08:57:08    2146550

If trim were in senior a this year they would have been relegated
by the time they had big players back it would have been to late

kilmessan are only going one way , going to be a long time before they return to challenge

is there any talk of change the inter and junior grades the same way the senior is done?
there is 3 or 4 teams in inter that have no business in it
some very one sided games again this year
it needs looked at

then there is junior champ where teams are lose on purpose to enter junior 2
but again huge gulf between the like of ratoath / trim and some others

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 15/10/2018 11:53:37    2146588

Replying To hurlit:  "If trim were in senior a this year they would have been relegated
by the time they had big players back it would have been to late

kilmessan are only going one way , going to be a long time before they return to challenge

is there any talk of change the inter and junior grades the same way the senior is done?
there is 3 or 4 teams in inter that have no business in it
some very one sided games again this year
it needs looked at

then there is junior champ where teams are lose on purpose to enter junior 2
but again huge gulf between the like of ratoath / trim and some others"
the intermediate grade should definitely be looked at...
top 6 teams from this year in 1 group and then the bottom 6 teams in the other group

it has been a great success at senior level. i hope its hear to stay as there is no games where teams are losing by 20 plus points.

Kilmessan were missing 3 of their top players this year due to travelling. senior B will suit them and they also have 4 on county panel. look at Trim this year.. written off and now people are saying they will win a championship in next 2-3 years.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 15/10/2018 15:40:50    2146638

theres 1 big difference
kilmessan have no good young players on way up - no good underage teams
all there good players on wrong side of 27 / 28
who was away travelling ?

trim have loads of young lads , and good teams winning at minor etc

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 15/10/2018 16:08:11    2146647