Galway For The Double??

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The hurlers are the best team in the country. Look a good bet for the Double Liam. 2 in a row..The hurlers used to get allot of criticism. But they have always been there or thereabout, always contenders .

But the footballers have been off the mark for along time. Maybe this year with the league form they will do the business. But kildare in 2013, Derry in 2014, Cork in 2015 and Roscommon in 2016 all had very good div 1 league campaigns similar enough to Galway this year. Yet had a dreadful championship afterwards . I know Galway have beaten Mayo, but until we see Galway doing the business in super 8 then there is a question mark. When you compare Galways record since 2001 to their main rival Mayo its very poor.

Since 2001 in the last 18 years Mayo have reached 5 All Ireland senior finals
In the last 18 years Galway havent won a match in the championship in Croker.
They also didnt win a match in the championship in Croker between 1984 and 1997 also.
Since 2001 Mayo have beaten Dublin twice and kerry once in the championship
Galway havent beaten Dublin in over 90 years and kerry in over 50 years in the championship
Since 2001 Mayo have beaten outside Connacht Dublin Kerry Cork Tyrone Donegal all the top teams all the All Ireland winning team.
Galway havent beaten a top team outside since Meath in 2001.
Galway since 2001 have been knocked out of the championship by Meath twice Westmeath Wexford Antrim Sligo and nearly beaten by Waterford footballers.
Galway have only beaten five top division 1 teams a top 5 or 6 team outside Connacht in the championship in 50 years eg Down in 1971, Derry and kildare in 98 and Derry and Meath in 01.
Mayo have beaten at least 4 top teams, a top 5 or 6 team opposition outside Connacht in championship since 2010 eg Dublin in 2012, Donegal 2015, Tyrone 2016, kerry 2017.

So Galway and we do need a strong Galway and it would great for the GAA to see them back, but they have few hurdles to jump before they are really back..The glory years of Galway football was 1956 to 66 when they won 4 Sams. In the 70s and early 80s they were competitive and eached 3 finals losing them all. But in the last 35 years with the exception of a 4 years a glorious 4 year period between 98 to 01 , where Galway played swashbuckling brillant sucessful football ,Galway have been really being a top team. Since their great team of the 60s Kerry( 15 All Irelands) Dublin ( 10 All Irelands) Meath ( ( 4 All Irelands) Tyrone ( 3 All Irelands) Offaly ( 3 All Irelands) and Down ( 3 All Irelands) have won more All Irelands then Galway ( 2 All Irelands) in the last 50 years. We need a strong sucessful Galway. Hopefully they r back. It would be brilliant for the game."
Hopefully Galway do return as football needs strong Galway and also Down or Armagh or Cork or kildare or Meath teams to name but a few. Imagine a Galway v Dublin All Ireland final as it would be great for the game if Galway were All Ireland contenders . But this is Galways worst decade since Independence. If Galway dont reach a All Ireland senior final this year or next year it will be the first time since 1920s. Its the same for Meath ias would be the first decade since 20s Meath havent reached All Ireland senior final also. But Galway have a much better chance then Meath reaching a final this year or next year.

They have underage sucess, they have the manager and coach, they have a great tradition and have a great foundation now with a strong div 1 campaign this year. Mayo should dip in the next few years when theyre current team breaks up. The Rossies look strong also and u could see great battle between the 2 in the west. But its more likely Galway will be the team to take over in the west. Roscommon have only really dominated Connacht football once in 65 years and that was in the lates 70s with a brillant Dermot Earley snr led team, one of the best teams never to win Sam. It will be fascinating to see if the Tribesmen are back and the next two years will tell allot. Football needs a strong Galway competing for Sam.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 07/06/2018 17:22:23    2108453

Probably the only team that could realistically do it but I'm not sure about them in football yet. They had a great league and everything seems to be coming together nicely for them but I just have a niggling feeling that they'll disappoint us later on, not sure what I'm even basing that on as everything about them looks good. They are certainly a coming team with outstanding young players and I think they will win an All Ireland in the next couple of years if not this year.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/06/2018 18:43:14    2108479

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Hopefully Galway do return as football needs strong Galway and also Down or Armagh or Cork or kildare or Meath teams to name but a few. Imagine a Galway v Dublin All Ireland final as it would be great for the game if Galway were All Ireland contenders . But this is Galways worst decade since Independence. If Galway dont reach a All Ireland senior final this year or next year it will be the first time since 1920s. Its the same for Meath ias would be the first decade since 20s Meath havent reached All Ireland senior final also. But Galway have a much better chance then Meath reaching a final this year or next year.

They have underage sucess, they have the manager and coach, they have a great tradition and have a great foundation now with a strong div 1 campaign this year. Mayo should dip in the next few years when theyre current team breaks up. The Rossies look strong also and u could see great battle between the 2 in the west. But its more likely Galway will be the team to take over in the west. Roscommon have only really dominated Connacht football once in 65 years and that was in the lates 70s with a brillant Dermot Earley snr led team, one of the best teams never to win Sam. It will be fascinating to see if the Tribesmen are back and the next two years will tell allot. Football needs a strong Galway competing for Sam."
When you say Mayo will "dip" do you believe 1-3 seasons of rebuilding or falling of a cliff? Mayo have been told were heading off the cliff for as long as I can remember first going to a Mayo game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 07/06/2018 22:38:30    2108537

Replying To imonmyway:  "With Galway hurlers looking good for 2 in a row and their footballers improving with ever game is there a chance of the first double since 1990?"
No

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2018 22:47:40    2108541

Replying To tribesman125:  "Dare to dream"
no harm in dreaming

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2018 22:55:27    2108543

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think Galway will get to both finals and win the hurling but lose the football to Dublin."
Nah I think Galway will get to both finals and win the hurling but lose the football to Kerry

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2018 23:00:43    2108545

Replying To MesAmis:  "That's true.

Galway hurlers have a great shout because unless Tipperary can get out of whatever rut they've gotten themselves in I don't see anyone to match Galway tbh.

Footballers I'm less convinced by to be honest. They had a good win over Mayo but even with the man advantage they needed a late goal to pull it outta the bag and again against 14 men in the League final they fairly wilted when the game was there for them to win.

They're certainly improving but not quite there yet imo.

It'd be some feat though if they manage it and not necessarily beyond them."
Spot on. Bad and all as Tipp are at moment if they can sneak out of group they have a great panel of players and I would rate them as the biggest danger.

In football or odds really hard to look past Dublin. Saying that on a given day they could be caught. Super 8s wool suit Galway because they have youth and dept inn squad. But I don't think Rossies, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo and a couple others will be afraid of Galway...... But vice versa. Exciting times but next step first.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 07/06/2018 23:09:55    2108548

22/1 eh, tasty odds.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/06/2018 23:39:58    2108554

Replying To yew_tree:  "When you say Mayo will "dip" do you believe 1-3 seasons of rebuilding or falling of a cliff? Mayo have been told were heading off the cliff for as long as I can remember first going to a Mayo game."
I dont know I cannot read the future. But all I know 99.99 % of teams when the players have allot of mileage and players on the scene for near a decade and players hitting their 30s, it usually indicates that team have gone past their peak and will soon decline. It happened to great kerry team in 1987 88..It happened to great Meath team in 1992 93. It happened to the great Galway team in 02 03. It happened to the great Tyrone team in 2011 12. This has been a brillant Mayo team and if they dont win Sam soon, they will go down as the greatest team to never win an All Ireland. But no real great players coming through. There is the possibility Mayo will dip at the start of the 2020s.

But Mayo could build up again and in the mid 20s and late 20s we could see another generation of Mayo players and a new team pushing to win Sam. This year could be there last year. They r good enough. But Dublin will take some beating. And Mayo have a long journey back to Super 8. But Mayo r still.probaly best equipped to beat Dublin. But the issue with losing finals and the age profile of the players could mean we will see a dip for Mayo in the coming years. Galway and Roscommon have younger teams and u get the feeling the balance of power in the west has shifted to Galway and Rossies.

When a team declines in the past. Its usually takes a year or 2 for retirements, a 2 to 3 years transition bringing in new players. So the average dip for teams could be 4 to 5 years, I dont know Im just basing this theory on what has happened to most teams in the past, even kilkenny Tipp hurlers and Dublin and kerry footballers have dipped after a sucessful period. Its not like soccer u cannot buy players. You must blood new players over a couple of years. Thats just my opinion I could be right I could be wrong.

You asked me did I think it will 1 to 3 years rebuilding or fall of a cliff. I dont know. No one knows. But from past evidence I would say when a county has has had a very successful period one of their most successful ever or most sucessful. The county nearly always falls off a cliff. For example Cavan had s great period in 40s and 50s by 70s th5e had fallen of the cliff. Galway had great period 56 to 66 they declined seriously after 70s. Kerry had golden age 75 to 86. They had a very poor period after. In Meath after our best era ever in 80s and 90s we have fallen off the cliff since. So have Armagh. So there is chance that Mayo might follow this pattern.

But the difference could be Mayo havrnt won Sam..And it seems to me every man woman and child players managers are on almost crusade to end the famine and break the curse and win Sam..Thats what keeps driving Mayo teams. I believe if you won in 2012 13 Mayo probably wouldnt reached the final in 16 or 17. Its this hunger to win Sam that keeps driving Mayo teams. Mayo have unique factors motivating and pushing them..So Mayo might just rebuild for 1 to 3 years and a new team takes up the push for Sam. Thats my opinion Im really only guessing. Who knows what the future holds.

But if Mayo decline and Galway dont take their place at the top table and if Monaghan decline will Down Derry Armagh take their place at top table of football. If kerry players arent as good as past players. Then Dublin dominance could continue and for the first time in history of gaelic football a team that had their best era ever eg Dublin 2011 to 2018 or 19. They continue to be sucessful. Dublin should dip and decline in 2020s. Even kilkenny and kerry declined after their best eras. Only having Cody has stopped kilkenny falling off a cliff. But if Dublin continue winning multiple back to back All Irelands in 2020s that would be unprecedented and unheard of in gaelic football. And if Mayo and Monaghan decline and no one takes their place. Dublin could be winning All Irelands in the 2020s the way there are winning leinster titles in this decade..

We r definatly heading out of an era of Kerry Dublin Donegal Mayo Monaghan. The same way at the end of 00s we saw the period of dominance of kerry Tyrone Cork and Armgh coming to close. The same way in the 90s Meath Cork Down Donegal Galway were the top teams in 90s. And kerry Dublin Offaly Meath Cork were the top teams in the 80s.

Football , there is a changing of the guard at the top every 6 or 7 or 8 years. Dublin and kerry are usually strong but teams in the top 5 or 6 teams in the country change every decade r so. Kerry Dublin Galway could be the top teams in 2020s. Who else will join them. And there will be a team no one predicts that will make a breakthrough that no one saw coming. Like how Down in early 60s, Meath in lates 80s, Ulster teams in early 90s, Galway in late 90s, Tyrone in 00s and Donegal in this decade. If u said two or three years before any of those teams won Sam would win the All Ireland noone would have believed in 1959 that Down would win 3 Sams in 60s. Or no one would believe in 2008 or 2009 that Donegal would lift Sam in 3 years time. Things will change. But no ones how they will change in football.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/06/2018 00:33:09    2108560

It's very hard to see anyone stop the Galway hurlers this year.
Has there ever been a GAA team in either code with players as physically big and fine tuned as the Galway hurlers, monsters of men with amazing skill to match.
I don't think the Galway footballers are yet at the level of their Hurling counterparts but are a great shout to get to a semi final this year I feel and getting to a final would be a huge bonus!

22/1 for a double is worth a €20 bet though!!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 735 - 08/06/2018 05:35:33    2108566

Replying To imonmyway:  "All Ireland semi final would be good but if they avoid Dublin at this stage they are capable of beating anyone"
I'd disagree. Everyone is basing where they are at on the League performances. I couldnt see them beating Mayo, Kerry or Dublin in Croke Park. I'd also see Tyrone and Monaghan being possibly too shrewd for them. I think it's still far too early to make them realistic All Ireland contenders. A semi final place would be a major achievement. There wont be a kick of a ball in it in the Connacht final and i'd imagine Roscommon will be confident of beating them too.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/06/2018 08:33:32    2108574

Replying To yew_tree:  "When you say Mayo will "dip" do you believe 1-3 seasons of rebuilding or falling of a cliff? Mayo have been told were heading off the cliff for as long as I can remember first going to a Mayo game."
I'll give ye a free lift to the Cliffs of Moher if ye want?

Only messin before the lads who don't get the craic start lumping in. But your right, ive read and heard in so many places that Mayo football is on the edge of a cliff but I don't believe it too many strong football only clubs in the county for there to be a dearth in talent of them proportions.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 08/06/2018 09:09:33    2108580

Galway football is on the rise. Strong underage teams coming as well. I cannot see them winning Sam this year but they will be in the mix and are back as a serious contender after many years in the doldrums.

As a Mayo man I would love a cut at them in Croke park in July or August in the Super 8 or a semi final where I feel that they are still unproven

The hurlers look like a team who could dominate for the next 2-3 years.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 08/06/2018 10:30:52    2108609

Replying To TheFlaker:  "No."
this!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/06/2018 11:03:34    2108623

I don't think the double will ever be done again. Realistically the only counties that could do it now are Galway & Cork and neither of those two will be winning the All-Ireland SFC with Dublin as strong as they are.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 463 - 08/06/2018 13:47:57    2108689

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd disagree. Everyone is basing where they are at on the League performances. I couldnt see them beating Mayo, Kerry or Dublin in Croke Park. I'd also see Tyrone and Monaghan being possibly too shrewd for them. I think it's still far too early to make them realistic All Ireland contenders. A semi final place would be a major achievement. There wont be a kick of a ball in it in the Connacht final and i'd imagine Roscommon will be confident of beating them too."
Well Tyrone & Monaghan have been booted out of the Ulster championship.
How shrewd was that?
Can't see Galway winning Sam either by the way but I'ld give them every chance of beating anyone bar Dublin in Croker.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/06/2018 16:44:34    2108745

Replying To The_DOC:  "I'll give ye a free lift to the Cliffs of Moher if ye want?

Only messin before the lads who don't get the craic start lumping in. But your right, ive read and heard in so many places that Mayo football is on the edge of a cliff but I don't believe it too many strong football only clubs in the county for there to be a dearth in talent of them proportions."
DOC - I think a few Galway people are getting over excited and hyped up...something often leveled at Mayo fans. Mayo often had great league campaigns but were told to shut up and sit down until we done something in the summer months...Galway have a fine coming team but talk of a double is way to premature in my opinion.

Even on the hurling side you had Damien Hayes on Newstalk saying Galway are as good as the great Kilkenny teams we have seen in recent years...bold statement.

A lot of big and small ball to be played yet....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 08/06/2018 18:12:15    2108766

Anyone who's honest will only express moderate optimism that we'll beat Roscommon; which should say all that needs to be said about our chances of the double!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 08/06/2018 20:32:57    2108799

Replying To yew_tree:  "DOC - I think a few Galway people are getting over excited and hyped up...something often leveled at Mayo fans. Mayo often had great league campaigns but were told to shut up and sit down until we done something in the summer months...Galway have a fine coming team but talk of a double is way to premature in my opinion.

Even on the hurling side you had Damien Hayes on Newstalk saying Galway are as good as the great Kilkenny teams we have seen in recent years...bold statement.

A lot of big and small ball to be played yet...."
A Mayo man started this thread...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/06/2018 20:49:29    2108800

Replying To Belclare1:  "A Mayo man started this thread..."
I think this was stated as tongue in cheek....anyway I was talking generally, not this thread

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 09/06/2018 07:15:58    2108850