Monaghan For AI??

Replying To Bigmickey:  "For me Fermanagh are waiting in the long grass."
Is that some sort of underhand tactic to stop Beggan's kicking?

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 23/05/2018 17:11:57    2103343

Eddie is that you? Have transitioned to Bigmickey?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/05/2018 18:05:11    2103361

We don't have to look too far back to get a result that should show us not to under estimate a team (Down in the semi)
One game at a time

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 23/05/2018 18:21:41    2103365

Replying To greysoil:  "Eddie is that you? Have transitioned to Bigmickey?"
No lad, just sitting back enjoying the discussion...

I was straight certain Monaghan would take a beating on Sunday, coloured by one bad defeat too many over the years I suppose. It was no criticism of the team. Delighted to be wrong and especially given the manner of the win. The quality of the last 10 minutes play gets better on repeated viewing.
The Fermanagh game plan will need to be picked apart in the coming days. Their midfield is excellent under the dropping ball but Kierans has added great presence in there now. It could be a day to start McCarthy. Good article by Dara OSe in the IT today.

Anyone know who was the lad behind the rte commentary box on Sunday? Maybe Hardcore himself?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 23/05/2018 20:45:49    2103385

Replying To Donegalman:  "
Replying To s goldrick:  "[quote=Tir Conaill Abu:  "If Tyrone had won yesterdays clash v Monaghan in the way that Monaghan won, there would be people calling Tyrone one of the favourites for the AI and the team to knock Dublin's dominance. Why is it then that people aren't saying the same of Monaghan? Most of the plaudits coming to them after yesterdays win is that they will win Ulster and make the super 8's but I haven't heard one commentator say they have All Ireland credentials or maybe thats because they don't have the media power that Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin posses.

The facts speak for themselves:
- They have won two Ulster titles in the past 5 years.
- They are now a consistent division 1 team.
- They beat Dublin IN Croke Park this year (Only Kerry have managed that in the past few years)
- They are not solely reliant on the brilliance of Mc Manus any more.
- They have a stronger panel now than the past 5 years.

These lads have the experience to go all the way and I'm a big fan of their attitude and preparation. With the greatest respect to Fermanagh, they'll have too much for them and although we are probably favourites to meet them in the Ulster Final, this young Donegal team aren't ready for them yet. I'll be putting a sneaky few quid on them anyway."
Donegal man indulging in that well known Kerry past-time (cutehoorism)"
Negative. Not building Monaghan up. They won't win all Ireland.

The bookies have them favorites to win ulster based on form and nothing else. Get back to me when u can counter this fact. Oh wait, u probably won't as u can't.

I think Monaghan are a very good team and will take all the beating but won't make the all I reland for reason already given. Just my opinion, I could be wrong."]I was referring to the original poster.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 23/05/2018 23:38:21    2103421

time to put this to bed for another year, theyre just not good enough. plain and simple

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/06/2018 15:42:04    2106786

Replying To waynoI:  "time to put this to bed for another year, theyre just not good enough. plain and simple"
Agree completely, they can get up for the odd game & benefit from having home advantage for Ulster finals but they are very ordinary

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/06/2018 15:54:17    2106804

No chance.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 03/06/2018 15:57:39    2106811

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Agree completely, they can get up for the odd game & benefit from having home advantage for Ulster finals but they are very ordinary"
Spot on Muckross, Monaghan are limited enough when it comes down to it though they do have some great hard working players, Tyrone would have won that today I think, Monaghan remind me a bit of Kildare a few years ago, they look like they can do it but there is just something missing. great day for Fermanagh.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 03/06/2018 16:05:52    2106822

Talk about flattering to deceive, they have me confused as feck.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/06/2018 16:13:24    2106831

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Agree completely, they can get up for the odd game & benefit from having home advantage for Ulster finals but they are very ordinary"
Play out of their skins against largely experimental teams in the spring. Helps them maintain their false position in division 1.

In terms of championship football, save a win vs a half fit Tyrone, they're about the level they showed today.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 03/06/2018 16:20:14    2106839

Replying To s goldrick:  "
Replying To Donegalman:  "[quote=s goldrick:  "[quote=Tir Conaill Abu:  "If Tyrone had won yesterdays clash v Monaghan in the way that Monaghan won, there would be people calling Tyrone one of the favourites for the AI and the team to knock Dublin's dominance. Why is it then that people aren't saying the same of Monaghan? Most of the plaudits coming to them after yesterdays win is that they will win Ulster and make the super 8's but I haven't heard one commentator say they have All Ireland credentials or maybe thats because they don't have the media power that Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin posses.

The facts speak for themselves:
- They have won two Ulster titles in the past 5 years.
- They are now a consistent division 1 team.
- They beat Dublin IN Croke Park this year (Only Kerry have managed that in the past few years)
- They are not solely reliant on the brilliance of Mc Manus any more.
- They have a stronger panel now than the past 5 years.

These lads have the experience to go all the way and I'm a big fan of their attitude and preparation. With the greatest respect to Fermanagh, they'll have too much for them and although we are probably favourites to meet them in the Ulster Final, this young Donegal team aren't ready for them yet. I'll be putting a sneaky few quid on them anyway."
Donegal man indulging in that well known Kerry past-time (cutehoorism)"
Negative. Not building Monaghan up. They won't win all Ireland.

The bookies have them favorites to win ulster based on form and nothing else. Get back to me when u can counter this fact. Oh wait, u probably won't as u can't.

I think Monaghan are a very good team and will take all the beating but won't make the all I reland for reason already given. Just my opinion, I could be wrong."]I was referring to the original poster."]You wrote all that and never mentioned the polo grounds ,and tell me do you think Cavan will ever win another Ulster ??

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 03/06/2018 16:44:05    2106849

Replying To cavanman47:  "Play out of their skins against largely experimental teams in the spring. Helps them maintain their false position in division 1.

In terms of championship football, save a win vs a half fit Tyrone, they're about the level they showed today."
A fairly harsh assessment. They do remarkably well for their resources. I don't know enough about the Cavan/Monaghan rivalry but you are obviously taking some glee from today's loss.

I would not be so quick to kick them when they are down. They still have one of the best players in the country in McManus while Drew Wylie Darren Hughes, Colin Walsh are as good as any player around anywhere. Vincent Corey and Dessie Mone are real warriors and leaders too. They can pick themselves up and still be super 8 team.

Well done Fermanagh though. Today is about them.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/06/2018 23:28:11    2107109

Replying To patk:  "Is that some sort of underhand tactic to stop Beggan's kicking?"
@patk ''twas nothing underhand at all. I just felt that Fermanagh were strong where Monaghan have their weaknesses and the knew how to expose them.

Bigmickey (Kerry) - Posts: 12 - 05/06/2018 01:28:45    2107519

Ulster football is at it's weakest in twenty years; there are no Ulster teams capable of competing for an All Ireland. I don't see that changing over the next couple of years. The fact a poor Fermanagh team have reached the Ulster final speaks volumes for the standard. Donegal are likely the best of a bad bunch and I expect them to win the title. As for Monaghan, whilst unlikely to win the All Ireland this was a great chance to get to the super 8's. Beat a poor Fermanagh and they were one game from the last 8 - with a round robin series it was a great chance to play in an All Ireland semi final. The qualifiers are becoming a minefield, and they have to win three big games before the quarter finals. I don't think we will see Monaghan in the super 8's now; Sunday was a big defeat.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 05/06/2018 14:11:14    2107697

Replying To sam1884:  "Ulster football is at it's weakest in twenty years; there are no Ulster teams capable of competing for an All Ireland. I don't see that changing over the next couple of years. The fact a poor Fermanagh team have reached the Ulster final speaks volumes for the standard. Donegal are likely the best of a bad bunch and I expect them to win the title. As for Monaghan, whilst unlikely to win the All Ireland this was a great chance to get to the super 8's. Beat a poor Fermanagh and they were one game from the last 8 - with a round robin series it was a great chance to play in an All Ireland semi final. The qualifiers are becoming a minefield, and they have to win three big games before the quarter finals. I don't think we will see Monaghan in the super 8's now; Sunday was a big defeat."
How many times have you watched Fermanagh? What are you basing 'this poor team' on?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/06/2018 14:25:45    2107703

Replying To sam1884:  "Ulster football is at it's weakest in twenty years; there are no Ulster teams capable of competing for an All Ireland. I don't see that changing over the next couple of years. The fact a poor Fermanagh team have reached the Ulster final speaks volumes for the standard. Donegal are likely the best of a bad bunch and I expect them to win the title. As for Monaghan, whilst unlikely to win the All Ireland this was a great chance to get to the super 8's. Beat a poor Fermanagh and they were one game from the last 8 - with a round robin series it was a great chance to play in an All Ireland semi final. The qualifiers are becoming a minefield, and they have to win three big games before the quarter finals. I don't think we will see Monaghan in the super 8's now; Sunday was a big defeat."
Pains me to say it but Ulster football is weak enough at the moment. I don't see an Ulster side challenging for the All-Ireland title within the next few years. The Ulster teams just don't put up enough scores to win big games in Croke Park. Donegal are trying to play a more attacking game this year but it's going to take time. I still think its unfair to call Fermanagh a poor team, they have some excellent players, their 2 midfielder are as good as any midfield pair. They aren't going to win the All-Ireland but they are doing the best they can on limited resources.

People are being very harsh on Monaghan, they still are a good side and can make the Super 8's if they can recover. On any given day they could beat most sides but just don't seem to be able to raise their performances consistently. Maybe we all got a bit carried away with the Tyrone v Monaghan game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 05/06/2018 15:01:35    2107725

Possibly no all Ireland in Donegal, Tyrone, or Monaghan but defo will have a say in who wins sam.

The big question is whether any of these teams are able to beat either Dublin or Kerry.

I would definitely fancy Monaghan and tyrone to both stage a rally through the back door provided they dont meet each other. Monaghan in Clones in the Super 8s would be an awful draw for any team. Same with Tyrone home or away. Donegal in Ballybofey against either Dublin or Kerry would be interesting.

Not going to win an all Ireland, but going to enjoy the new championship all the same.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/06/2018 15:28:19    2107738

so...we have 12 teams left standing..i think they can be ranked in the following order;

1. Dublin
2. Galway
both definite contenders for the all-ireland

3. Monaghan
4. Kerry
5. Tyrone
these three definitely are an outside chance

6. Donegal
could well be a dark horse

7. Roscommon
8. Kildare
9. Armagh
can definitely rule these three out, but reaching a semi-final would be a massive achievement for any of them

10. Fermanagh
11. Cork
absolutely no chance of getting an all-ireland and winning their r4 qualifiers next weekend to reach super 8 will be a massive achievement

12. Laois
can forget about even winning r4 qualifier..opponents an easy passage to super 8's

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/06/2018 23:54:10    2117020

On an initial view of this last 12 analysis, both Kerry & Donegal should be one group higher.

Tyrone will be awkward customers for whoever knocks them out.
Monaghan ? Much as it pains me to say it, if we can't beat Fermanagh, we can't expect to be AI final contenders.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 01/07/2018 13:06:52    2117169