Darkhorses 2018

I know Armagh reached the Quarter-finals last year but while most will tip Ulster teams Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal as potential Super 8 qualifiers I think Armagh could reach the last eight again.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 18/04/2018 09:17:23    2093712

Replying To kildare73:  "I'm not sure Galway can keep the levels up for the whole year that they have been playing at. If they can they will be thinking semi finals but I'm not convinced. For me Tipperary are a dangerous team to be going up against, especially in Thurles. The other team I'll be watching is Donegal, lots of potential in that team if they get everyone on the pitch. Like a few said, Limerick in the hurling. Young, talented and hungry."
I'm not giving out here or being sarcastic, but genuinely I've seen this comment in a few places and I'm just wondering what are your reasons for things that Galway CANNOT keep this level of performance up for the 4 summer months?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2018 09:36:19    2093715

Replying To The_DOC:  "I'm not giving out here or being sarcastic, but genuinely I've seen this comment in a few places and I'm just wondering what are your reasons for things that Galway CANNOT keep this level of performance up for the 4 summer months?"
I don't necessarily think that they can't keep up their level of performance, my fear for them would be that the teams around them will improve a lot more than they will before the summer meaning that their advantage in being fitter and sharper early in the year will be significantly eroded.

They have a very good chance of beating Mayo in a couple of weeks for example. I would not be so sure they could do the same thing if they meet in an All Ireland semi when Mayo have several months of full blooded training and meaningful matches behind them. We have seen many teams have exceptional league campaigns in the past and fall away during the summer.

That said, I expect to see Galway in the Super 8's and possibly a semi final. I wouldn't put my money on them getting any further at this stage though. I'd probably rate my own county about the same. Just my two cents.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/04/2018 14:02:07    2093795

These threads are always hilarious. People naming the likes of Tyrone and Galway as dark horses. They are hardly teams coming from nowhere. Dublin are red hot favourites, then you have Kerry, Mayo, Galway and Tyrone who could all be their nearest challenger, if any of those made the final it wouldn't be a shock. And one lad said you can't write off Kerry, the second favourites, earth shattering analysis there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/04/2018 15:48:07    2093814

Replying To TheFlaker:  "These threads are always hilarious. People naming the likes of Tyrone and Galway as dark horses. They are hardly teams coming from nowhere. Dublin are red hot favourites, then you have Kerry, Mayo, Galway and Tyrone who could all be their nearest challenger, if any of those made the final it wouldn't be a shock. And one lad said you can't write off Kerry, the second favourites, earth shattering analysis there."
In fairness it's less and less likely each year that a 'dark horse' will emerge in the Championship. Perhaps an idea for another thread. Who was your favorite GAA dark horse? It might teach people the true meaning of the term if anything.

I think Fermanagh in 2004 would qualify.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/04/2018 15:56:12    2093819

Replying To Lockjaw:  "In fairness it's less and less likely each year that a 'dark horse' will emerge in the Championship. Perhaps an idea for another thread. Who was your favorite GAA dark horse? It might teach people the true meaning of the term if anything.

I think Fermanagh in 2004 would qualify."
Exactly. Someone mentioned Donegal and if they made the semis I would be very surprised so I would consider them a dark horse this year. But they have been pretty good in the recent past so not exactly a bolter either.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/04/2018 16:04:05    2093820

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Exactly. Someone mentioned Donegal and if they made the semis I would be very surprised so I would consider them a dark horse this year. But they have been pretty good in the recent past so not exactly a bolter either."
I think we were so poor in last year's Championship and the fact that we were relegated puts us down the pecking order. But the talent is there if it can be harnessed correctly. Just about 'dark horse' category I'd say.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/04/2018 16:22:24    2093825

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't necessarily think that they can't keep up their level of performance, my fear for them would be that the teams around them will improve a lot more than they will before the summer meaning that their advantage in being fitter and sharper early in the year will be significantly eroded.

They have a very good chance of beating Mayo in a couple of weeks for example. I would not be so sure they could do the same thing if they meet in an All Ireland semi when Mayo have several months of full blooded training and meaningful matches behind them. We have seen many teams have exceptional league campaigns in the past and fall away during the summer.

That said, I expect to see Galway in the Super 8's and possibly a semi final. I wouldn't put my money on them getting any further at this stage though. I'd probably rate my own county about the same. Just my two cents."
Fair point(s). Its good to get the perspective from a non biased viewpoint!

As I would see it that Galway will have some (even if limited) Corofin players coming back in, the lads get a week and a bit off training them come back renewed after a good league to really drive on during the championship - but hey, that my (very) biased view! I also think that Galway now finally have depth in the squad and lads really pushing each other for starting positions which is really great to see and can only be a good thing for the team as a whole.

Not sure if we'll beat Mayo in a few weeks, but I do think we'll get to Super Ocht!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 18/04/2018 16:33:07    2093828

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think we were so poor in last year's Championship and the fact that we were relegated puts us down the pecking order. But the talent is there if it can be harnessed correctly. Just about 'dark horse' category I'd say."
Maybe but I wouldn't fancy the management set up to be honest, I don't expect them to do much but if McBrearty and Murphy are on song I suppose they could step up.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/04/2018 16:34:18    2093829

I think when you say darkhorse you mean a team outside of the usual suspects that are consistently getting to semi finals etc like Dublin mayo Kerry Tyrone ?

Can't see anyone outside them top 4 teams that will win it but I expect other teams to push them 4 even closer and cut the gap between the top 4 and the rest a bit this year could be a shock on the cards somewhere, I think tipp could do well and push Kerry close in Munster the tipp forwards are lethal and could punish anyone on the day ,Monaghan are getting better every year and have some good young players and McManus of course ,Galway can we continue on from our league campaign I'm not sure we will have to wait and see but one thing is for sure we won't be playing the same mayo team we played in the league either way can't wait for it all to kick off

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 18/04/2018 17:30:43    2093836

While their season so far has been poor, I think Kildare are capable of a good run and should at least make super 8s

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 18/04/2018 20:11:57    2093855

Ah we have the best dark horse - he was in Summerhill early this week having won the Grand National in Aintree. I'd say he's the best- no smart replies please!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/04/2018 20:16:34    2093856

Monaghan, and I said I like them before they beat us

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 18/04/2018 20:30:06    2093859

i think Kerry are the dark horse this not
expected to do much

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 18/04/2018 22:16:01    2093874

i think Kerry are the dark horse this not
expected to do much

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 18/04/2018 22:16:31    2093875

Replying To The_DOC:  "I'm not giving out here or being sarcastic, but genuinely I've seen this comment in a few places and I'm just wondering what are your reasons for things that Galway CANNOT keep this level of performance up for the 4 summer months?"
To me right now Galway are playing some of the most effective football in the country. Can they keep that going over the expanse of a whole season without dropping from that level? I don't know and that's all I'm saying. It's not just the next four months but the last four months too. It's a long time to be peaking and to me they look like a team playing at the top of their game. I hope Galway do keep it going because we really do need another team to emerge onto the top end scene. They had a brilliant league, unlike my own crowd, but maybe we are holding our peak:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 18/04/2018 23:25:06    2093883

I think the concept of a dark horse is lost on many people. So I'm gonna jump on board.
Dublin are the dark horses. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2018 08:02:18    2093893

kerry should win this ..Guaranteed place in last 8.Mayo are decline and Dublin will miss Connolly and Brogan at the business end of championship

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 19/04/2018 08:58:55    2093897

You have Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone (then Roscommon, Monaghan, Donegal, Cavan, Tipperary, Cork and Kildare). I would pick the dark horse between Cork and Roscommon. And on a good day Tipp could beat at least 8 of those teams.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/04/2018 09:41:16    2093904

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "kerry should win this ..Guaranteed place in last 8.Mayo are decline and Dublin will miss Connolly and Brogan at the business end of championship"
I agree mate, Kerry have more then a very good chance this year. A lot will come dome down to the make up of the S8's and the semi final pairings. I think they and Galway have the best squad depth outside of Dublin and youthful enough players to deal with what is likely to be a punishing schedule, they shadow boxed in the league but they will be championship ready.

As a team they have been in and around the semis for a few years and with the injection of Clifford, Burns and what looks the pick of the litter to me in O Shea and some stalwarts coming back like of Maher, Star, Fitzgerald and O' Donohuge, i think Kerry can feel very confident about their prospects this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/04/2018 12:48:29    2093947