Pitch Invasions - Yay Or Nay

Just wondering on the views on pitch invasions. I always loved them but they were stopped at most grounds due to player safety. I have now seen this twice this year in the league; first in Castlebar where kids are looking for autographs while players are trying to do warm downs. The players look like di*ks for ignoring the kids but its all very pro now. Then in Galway yesterday (am amazed this is not already a topic) some fans accosted and abused players after running on at full time (adults btw). So should county boards do more to keep people off the pitch. Should it go as far as fines?? Discuss...

Ray

Rawsy (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 19/03/2018 18:21:39    2085932

Pitch invasions are a joke, they are also potentially dangerous, Tomas O' Sé alluded to the fact that he was hit a box at the end of a game when a pitch invasion took place, that is an assault and whoever did that should have been brought to court.

You wouldn't see these pitch invasions going on in any other country in the world, it is totally ridiculous and should be stopped immediately.

If it's a case of children wanting to get autographs there are more orderly ways of doing that.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 19/03/2018 19:03:21    2085948

Get rid of them.

It isn't long ago Jonny Cooper was attacked with a knife which would naturally have left not only visible scars but mental scares aswell, Yesterday immediately after the game he was approached from behind by a fan and was dragged by this fan (witnessed this myself) Jonny was obviously caught off guard and with the help of the guards managed to get back into the dressing room area but was clearly distressed.

Now listen. Jonny Cooper is no angel by any stretch and he was probably luck having already had a yellow card, not to get a second towards the end when he dragged and threw a galway player to the ground in an attempt to get the ball back for a Dublin line ball, I understand that people may not like Jonny as a player and some of his antics and people are well within their right to hold that opinion, But it is wholly unacceptable for any player to be approached by a fan in such a manner when tensions are high. It was one Galway fan, and there where hundreds out there on the field of play immediately after the game that behaved impeccably but it only takes one gobshite to act the muppet before someone else gets involved and before you know it you can have a real issue on your hands. Luckily enough the guards where there to put an end to it very quickly.

Joe McQuillan was also approached I believe, didn't see that personally but its what ive been told. Again, irrespective of my opinion on how he handled/didn't handle big decisions on the day, The dude is doing a very difficult job and I don't believe for one second a ref intends to have a bad game and he will never, ever get 100% of decisions right, but no matter how many he gets right he will always have his critics and its dangerous letting fans approach referees or his officials.

So to sum up, Stop these pitch invasions. They are dangerous. The playing field should be for the players end of story.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2018 19:26:31    2085957

I understand the dangers of them but after we won connacht last year it made the day for us fans and actually for the players too to be able to enjoy to whole win with there teammates, family's and friends with them. Was also one of the scenes of the year. Was no trouble at all and everyone enjoyed themselves. If you do get clowns and lowlifes who use it as a chance to cause trouble they I obviously don't agree them

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 19:28:01    2085958

Replying To waynoI:  "Get rid of them.

It isn't long ago Jonny Cooper was attacked with a knife which would naturally have left not only visible scars but mental scares aswell, Yesterday immediately after the game he was approached from behind by a fan and was dragged by this fan (witnessed this myself) Jonny was obviously caught off guard and with the help of the guards managed to get back into the dressing room area but was clearly distressed.

Now listen. Jonny Cooper is no angel by any stretch and he was probably luck having already had a yellow card, not to get a second towards the end when he dragged and threw a galway player to the ground in an attempt to get the ball back for a Dublin line ball, I understand that people may not like Jonny as a player and some of his antics and people are well within their right to hold that opinion, But it is wholly unacceptable for any player to be approached by a fan in such a manner when tensions are high. It was one Galway fan, and there where hundreds out there on the field of play immediately after the game that behaved impeccably but it only takes one gobshite to act the muppet before someone else gets involved and before you know it you can have a real issue on your hands. Luckily enough the guards where there to put an end to it very quickly.

Joe McQuillan was also approached I believe, didn't see that personally but its what ive been told. Again, irrespective of my opinion on how he handled/didn't handle big decisions on the day, The dude is doing a very difficult job and I don't believe for one second a ref intends to have a bad game and he will never, ever get 100% of decisions right, but no matter how many he gets right he will always have his critics and its dangerous letting fans approach referees or his officials.

So to sum up, Stop these pitch invasions. They are dangerous. The playing field should be for the players end of story."
I did see some verbal abuse in Galway yesterday but not the physical side you mention. Love Galway and the place was full of Dubs for the weekend with craic had by both sets of fans. It is only a few gobshites but hopefully the cameara caught it and Galway GAA can do something about it.

Rawsy (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 19/03/2018 21:15:08    2086030

Just to mention what Rawsy has already said, where he said that he was surprised that this wasn't a topic already, he's right, there should be much more focus placed on this, it is a serious issue.

Absolutely defies believe how in a first world country, people can just walk/run onto a sports field after a game where tensions/emotions are probably still high if the game had a tight finish.

Beyond a joke and IT NEEDS TO STOP NOW.

What has to happen? A player to be serious injured??!!

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 19/03/2018 21:28:11    2086031

The pitch invasion in castlebar in 2016 was brilliant players being lifted in the air as we sang the fields of athenry. When only the diehard Galway fans had bothered to travel because no one gave us a chance. I'm sure Roscommon people will fondly remember the pitch invasion last year in Galway but the Galway manager was approached by an angry Galway fan that day

Alas I agree that they need to be stopped because as another poster has said one person can ruin it for everyone. Regardless of how players behave during the match it shouldn't be possible for any fan to be able to physically attack them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 19/03/2018 21:43:10    2086036

A correction they do allow pitch invasions in some sport, in Aussie rules tears ago a player scored 100 goals in a season and after he scored his 100 thousands of fans invaded the pitch to congratulate him, afterwards they returned to their seats, also rugby matches in Galway the same happens even though you are asked not to, do the invasions in a safe manner, when you stop people entering the pitch they will try to find a way around it and usually it's from 4 directions which catch stewards off guard, if you allow supporters onto the pitch from the centre field then opposition players have time to leave the pitch if like some grounds there is a way off the pitch at the corner flag areas or if the only exit is at midfield then let the crowd enter the pitch from behind the goals. Done properly and respectfully it won't create any problems, the current system is a mess which can go horribly wrong where stewards, players and supporters can get hurt. For me the answer is Yay

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/03/2018 22:23:33    2086046

Only time I've seen it done in Ulster is at finals. If you were to invade the pitch after a league game you would be laughed out of the place.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 19/03/2018 22:40:10    2086052

Pitch celebration is a better word than invasions. Love to see kids on the field after a game having kick or puck about on the field of play and getting autographs off their heroes. What some seem to forget is our great sport is amateur game and every player goes back to work or college once playing a game for his county. Sadly pitch celebrations are no longer allowed in Croke Park because grey haired men in suits at HQ thought it was the way to go with the people sport.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 20/03/2018 00:12:28    2086079

The 100th Goal in a season was by Buddy Franklin of Hawthorn vs Carlton

heres the link to the video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6cTjUjabw4

Incidentally he was up against a Brendan Fevola of Carlton who was stranded on 99 goals for the Season in this game , he himself no stranger to Pearse Stadium and the great nightlife of Galway City

CJ2017 (Australia) - Posts: 10 - 20/03/2018 05:41:10    2086089

I appreciate that 90% of people going onto a pitch after a game (even though they are not allowed to do this in the first place) are doing so with good intentions, it only takes one to ruin it for everybody.

I have seen over the last number of years, deaths caused by one punch, it is not an exaggeration to say if these pitch invasions are allowed that is a remote possibility. For the health and safety of players they should be BANNED IMMEDIATELY.

Counties which allowed a pitch invasion to take place in their grounds should be fined €10,000.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 20/03/2018 10:43:21    2086151

Replying To G.A.A._fan:  "I appreciate that 90% of people going onto a pitch after a game (even though they are not allowed to do this in the first place) are doing so with good intentions, it only takes one to ruin it for everybody.

I have seen over the last number of years, deaths caused by one punch, it is not an exaggeration to say if these pitch invasions are allowed that is a remote possibility. For the health and safety of players they should be BANNED IMMEDIATELY.

Counties which allowed a pitch invasion to take place in their grounds should be fined €10,000."
Its a pity Laois win nothing because if they ever did you may experiance a pitch invasion. i suspect you were only a toddler in 2003. But i am sure the fans in this video had one of the best days of there lives.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Xq8awLDVIg

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/03/2018 10:53:05    2086158

Replying To riverboys:  "A correction they do allow pitch invasions in some sport, in Aussie rules tears ago a player scored 100 goals in a season and after he scored his 100 thousands of fans invaded the pitch to congratulate him, afterwards they returned to their seats, also rugby matches in Galway the same happens even though you are asked not to, do the invasions in a safe manner, when you stop people entering the pitch they will try to find a way around it and usually it's from 4 directions which catch stewards off guard, if you allow supporters onto the pitch from the centre field then opposition players have time to leave the pitch if like some grounds there is a way off the pitch at the corner flag areas or if the only exit is at midfield then let the crowd enter the pitch from behind the goals. Done properly and respectfully it won't create any problems, the current system is a mess which can go horribly wrong where stewards, players and supporters can get hurt. For me the answer is Yay"
I was at an Australian Rules game a few years back and they let people on the pitch for a kickabout after the game. Apparently it's a regular enough thing for them.

I think they should allow fans onto the pitch for cup presentations but only maybe after 10 minutes or so from the final whistle.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/03/2018 11:20:18    2086172

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Its a pity Laois win nothing because if they ever did you may experiance a pitch invasion. i suspect you were only a toddler in 2003. But i am sure the fans in this video had one of the best days of there lives.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Xq8awLDVIg"
Cookoosinging

I am attempting to create disclosure aimed at ensuring that players are protected. As it was already stated Tomas O' Sé was assaulted when a pitch invasion took place a number of years ago and Johnny Cooper was accosted at the weekend.

By the way since you brought it up, I was in the middle of the pitch when Laois won the Leinster in 2003. Ross Munnelly was interviewed a few weeks after the match and said that when he was younger, he thought pitch invasions would be a great thing, however, after the match he ended up at the bottom of a pile up, unable to breathe, obviously not a nice experience.

Since you brought up Laois winning or losing, Roscommon gave a fantastic performance in the quarter final replay last year vs Mayo, fair play.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 20/03/2018 12:23:01    2086206

Spot on MesAmis mostly at quarter time at some games lower league etc, Dads with sons, families kicking footballs to each other on the pitch, great for the game and happened around 15 mins after the Int Rules game this year with the sound of the siren being the signal to go on, maybe it could be done after some games in Ireland, maybe let kids bring the footballs into the ground, can you imagine it after an All Ireland or some games around the country, pitches usually out of bounds to general public nowadays which is a shame in a way

CJ2017 (Australia) - Posts: 10 - 20/03/2018 12:33:46    2086208

A lovely sight seeing children run on to the field at the end of a match. Of course you'll get the odd adult running on as well usually with a big happy head on them. Probably the brother of the lad, who pushes his way in behind the player being interviewed, so that he'll get his mug on TV. Doubtless it will be stopped as we can't have kids enjoying themselves!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/03/2018 12:53:15    2086218

yes for pitch invasions especially after a big championship win. limerick munster final win in 13 with pitch invasion was a site to behold. I think eddie Brennan mentioned it as one of the sports highlights that year.

notgonnahappen (Limerick) - Posts: 41 - 20/03/2018 13:09:48    2086221

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "A lovely sight seeing children run on to the field at the end of a match. Of course you'll get the odd adult running on as well usually with a big happy head on them. Probably the brother of the lad, who pushes his way in behind the player being interviewed, so that he'll get his mug on TV. Doubtless it will be stopped as we can't have kids enjoying themselves!"
Well said llaw I also like heading on to a pitch for a gallop after a game, there is nothing like it in fairness and if you can meet 1 of your heroes then that just makes the whole thing worth it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 13:32:03    2086225

Replying To CJ2017:  "Spot on MesAmis mostly at quarter time at some games lower league etc, Dads with sons, families kicking footballs to each other on the pitch, great for the game and happened around 15 mins after the Int Rules game this year with the sound of the siren being the signal to go on, maybe it could be done after some games in Ireland, maybe let kids bring the footballs into the ground, can you imagine it after an All Ireland or some games around the country, pitches usually out of bounds to general public nowadays which is a shame in a way"
Was in the Gabba in Brisbane about 10 years ago, was class to see the way things were done after the match. Amazing how relaxed it was, unlike when it used to happen in Croke Park when at the start everyone rushes it was lovely and laid back as people just knew the idea was just to wait 5 mins and stewards would just let you on. Pity it can't be arranged like this here. Presentations are so soleless now that crowd can't go on pitch after matches in Croke Park.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1360 - 20/03/2018 22:16:52    2086463