Diarmuid Connolly

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah come on. You are counting the penalty as scoring. I am talking about a personal battle from play. Same v Kilkenny last year as well. Cleaned him and got a goal from play.

In the 2 games in 2015 Keegan again kept Connolly quiet and ourscored him. You can't count penalties as they were nothing to do with a personal battle. Anyway we are biased towards our own men."
P.S. Connolly scorred 1-2 of Keegan in the first day in 2015 i dont think Keegan scored. We all remember the circumstances of the replay his hearing ended the night before at 5:00 am.

Im not sure where you are getting the Keegan regularly outscores Connolly and his record isnt great on him. Much better on Kilkenny.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/03/2018 11:19:59    2086901

Replying To Jaden:  "Let's plat Devil's advocate, and list three Mayo players that we Dubs would take. I absolutely guarantee that the first name on everyone's list is Lee Keegan.

I'd have:
1. Lee Keegan. As an all rounder he's one of the best there is in the modern game. Right attitude too. If Mayo had two of him, we would not have three in a row.
2. Kevin McLoughlin. Probably the most underrated player in the country.
3. Tom Parsons. Would be a great pairing to Fenton in midfield.

Cillian O'Connor - Not needed, although any other county has him on their starting 15. Dublin are unique, as we have Deano.

Andy is another consideration, but we have a load of younger more mobile forwards, so we could afford to be without him.

A O'Shea? We couldn't take him, as the whole county of Mayo would combust at the sight of him in a Dubs Jersey. Good all-rounder but therein lies the issue - where would we play him? Maybe Midfield, but I think Parsons is a better fit for our game plan. Can't see Aidan adapting to The Process easily."
Can't argue with any of that. Boyler of old would get a run, the Hill would love him and ditto with Higgins as the Dubs system would suit him. Out from that I don't think any more of our lads would be in with a shout. Strange how we can go close to the Dubs even though they seem to have better players.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/03/2018 11:30:40    2086906

Replying To WunderBar:  "After his proposed transfer to a Galway club fell through its unlikely Gavin is going to hold him in such high regard is it?"
Anything to back this up?
Personally I think they could have come up with something other than him "being rested" given he had most of last summer off and didn't have a long campaign in either code with Vinnys either.
No player is bigger than the team Diarmuid included!

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 22/03/2018 11:31:43    2086907

Replying To WunderBar:  "After his proposed transfer to a Galway club fell through its unlikely Gavin is going to hold him in such high regard is it?"
Has he got galway connections by any chance

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/03/2018 11:57:23    2086920

Replying To TheUsername:  "P.S. Connolly scorred 1-2 of Keegan in the first day in 2015 i dont think Keegan scored. We all remember the circumstances of the replay his hearing ended the night before at 5:00 am.

Im not sure where you are getting the Keegan regularly outscores Connolly and his record isnt great on him. Much better on Kilkenny."
You are taking bias to a new level here lad! You are counting a penalty and a free lol. Keegan outscores him every time from play, check the record. Like seriously you are just being silly now counting 2 penalties he scored and a free lol. Man to man from play Connolly did nothing really and Kilkenny did even less. You look up what the 2 have scored and who was more influential, it was Keegan everytime. And yes that old black card in the replay. It was soft at best.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/03/2018 12:35:09    2086931

Kilkenny is only a rich man's Kevin McLoughlin!!!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 22/03/2018 13:17:55    2086949

Connolly did nothing really and Kilkenny did even less.

So we beat ye with only 13 men.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/03/2018 14:16:18    2086970

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Connolly did nothing really and Kilkenny did even less.

So we beat ye with only 13 men."
Oh good we are gone childish. Connolly did nothing when Keegan marked him. Kilkenny did nothing when Keegan marked him. Just so you know Keegan can't actually mark both players at once so your basic maths needs a little work there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/03/2018 14:21:00    2086972

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You are taking bias to a new level here lad! You are counting a penalty and a free lol. Keegan outscores him every time from play, check the record. Like seriously you are just being silly now counting 2 penalties he scored and a free lol. Man to man from play Connolly did nothing really and Kilkenny did even less. You look up what the 2 have scored and who was more influential, it was Keegan everytime. And yes that old black card in the replay. It was soft at best."
So if you discount the goals and points Connolly has scored playing Keegan, then Keegan comes out on top. :D

We clearly won't agree on this, but for anyone ho interested in wishing to look and Connolly and Keegan head to head and look at what Connolly has scored of him it's all there.

He did clean Kilkenny out though, but Connolly has gotten the better of him, looking at what he has scored in games Vs him. I suppose if anything me interested people can look for themselves, but spoiler alert Connolly has actually done quite well of Keegan, surprising so really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/03/2018 14:24:05    2086975

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh good we are gone childish. Connolly did nothing when Keegan marked him. Kilkenny did nothing when Keegan marked him. Just so you know Keegan can't actually mark both players at once so your basic maths needs a little work there."
He did nothing?

Jaysus man you don't half exaggerate

On top of his assists and scores from play just His mere presence alone greatly weakens one of Mayo's most important avenues for getting scores and setting up offensive play

We can afford for Connolly to be cancelled out if it means Keegan is greatly tied up dragging and grabbing at Connolly's jersey for 80% of the game

And has been proved many times now.. Mayo have suffered with not having Keegan committing himself forward and Connolly's mere presence does that job for Dublin as did Kilkenny

Connolly played a massive part in Dublin winning the AI final last year just as he did in 2011. That's something Lee Keegan can't say... and imo never will.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2018 15:08:50    2086997

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Oh good we are gone childish. Connolly did nothing when Keegan marked him. Kilkenny did nothing when Keegan marked him. Just so you know Keegan can't actually mark both players at once so your basic maths needs a little work there."
Ok then, I'll work on my maths if you work on your sense of humour .
God almighty.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/03/2018 15:18:42    2087001

Replying To TheUsername:  "So if you discount the goals and points Connolly has scored playing Keegan, then Keegan comes out on top. :D

We clearly won't agree on this, but for anyone ho interested in wishing to look and Connolly and Keegan head to head and look at what Connolly has scored of him it's all there.

He did clean Kilkenny out though, but Connolly has gotten the better of him, looking at what he has scored in games Vs him. I suppose if anything me interested people can look for themselves, but spoiler alert Connolly has actually done quite well of Keegan, surprising so really."
Diarmuid Connolly has lifted Sam on 5 occasions with Dublin, he also 4 league medals in his póca. These are the only stats that matter. Keegan is a fantastic player and has always done her part for Mayo at the highest level. It's a sideshow but history is a story told with medals.

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 22/03/2018 15:23:39    2087004

I wouldn't go so far as to say Connolly got the better of Keegan in all their previous encounters but surely the fact that Keegan has to sacrifice his own game to give Connolly the necessary attention robs Mayo of Keegans forward play. Keegan was having a great game up until he got the black card in the 2016 replay, it's a shame he didn't finish the game that day. It would have been interesting to see what either player ended up with score wise in that circumstance. I think Connolly had scored a point and set up another by that stage himself so it was turning into a right good battle at the time.
I don't think one side has the clear cut advantage over the other in this battle.
Now if you were to say Bernard Brogan vs Ger Cafferkey........

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/03/2018 15:24:19    2087005

Replying To TheUsername:  "So if you discount the goals and points Connolly has scored playing Keegan, then Keegan comes out on top. :D

He did clean Kilkenny out though, but Connolly has gotten the better of him, looking at what he has scored in games Vs him. I suppose if anything me interested people can look for themselves, but spoiler alert Connolly has actually done quite well of Keegan, surprising so really."
Eh yeah I would discount placed balls that had nothing to do with his marker. That is quite logical. You don't even have an argument there. By your logic a free taker who doesn't touch the ball from open play roasted his marker because he scored a couple of frees.

Anyway this has gone way off the point of the thread. I originally stated Connolly is not as good in big games as some people say and that 2018 Dublin have better options. Kinda funny that more than one poster referenced 2011 as if it has anything to do with the debate of the thread. It is 2018. Also the show us your medals argument is a bit childish. Some great, great players never won Sam, hardly their fault individually.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/03/2018 15:35:18    2087010

Ah well it had the makings of a good debate but I should have known it wouldn't last. The "my daddy would beat your daddy with one hand tied behind his back" brigade are back. Time to move on......

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/03/2018 15:49:33    2087019

Replying To keithlemon:  "I wouldn't go so far as to say Connolly got the better of Keegan in all their previous encounters but surely the fact that Keegan has to sacrifice his own game to give Connolly the necessary attention robs Mayo of Keegans forward play. Keegan was having a great game up until he got the black card in the 2016 replay, it's a shame he didn't finish the game that day. It would have been interesting to see what either player ended up with score wise in that circumstance. I think Connolly had scored a point and set up another by that stage himself so it was turning into a right good battle at the time.
I don't think one side has the clear cut advantage over the other in this battle.
Now if you were to say Bernard Brogan vs Ger Cafferkey........"
You echo my own opinion

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2018 15:54:32    2087023

What did Chrissy mckaigue score of Connolly in last years allireland club semifinal? Was it 1:03 and what did Connolly get? Was it no score?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/03/2018 16:00:06    2087025

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What did Chrissy mckaigue score of Connolly in last years allireland club semifinal? Was it 1:03 and what did Connolly get? Was it no score?"
Vincent's wouldn't have won those titles without his contributions

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2018 16:04:30    2087026

Fella there looking for attention.
Must be awful not being relevant anymore.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/03/2018 16:22:04    2087032

Yeah Diarmuid Connolly might be one of the most decorated players in the history of the game but I'm hearing some anecdotal evidence that other players have occasionally played better than him in certain games so I'm not so sure

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 22/03/2018 16:37:51    2087038