Diarmuid Connolly

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you Gerry, I think mayo will come out all guns blazing next weekend and beat Galway, Galway going through the back door won't be a bad thing for them as they have a young team and it could prepare them well for the super 8s."
I have a feeling that Mayo will win on Sunday. There is a lot at stake for them re their progress in the championship, a defeat would probably see tne end of their aspirations for Sam. Hard to see them negotiating the qualifiers this year if they lose on Sunday.

Re Diarmuid Connolly, I hope he is back for Dublin, he is a brilliant player, maybe a little impetuous at times, but supremely talented. I also hope he can resolve his current personal issue.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 07/05/2018 16:07:12    2097104

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Anthony Maher was in a semilar situation last year jackeen when he had a lot of fluid buildup after he had a hip operation. It can be a slow progression."
I think you might have taken that reference up wrong.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/05/2018 16:46:56    2097113

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I think you might have taken that reference up wrong."
I thought kingdomboy was being funny

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/05/2018 18:16:36    2097129

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I won't lie I was shouting for mayo , me and about 3 million others :-)
But if mayo were playing Kerry you'd be shouting for mayo and that's understandable,

You could really see that mayo were tired in that last 10 mins where ye were looking like ye were getting stronger and Connolly was excellent but I think ye'd still have managed even if he wasn't there."
If we were awaiting the winners I'd be shouting for Kerry, otherwise Mayo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/05/2018 18:18:40    2097131

Replying To realdub:  "I thought kingdomboy was being funny"
Ah, maybe. Usually you get the smileys with that though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/05/2018 19:01:57    2097135

Replying To realdub:  "I thought kingdomboy was being funny"
No I wasn't being funny lads it's just the username said he was back and jackeen said he had some trouble with fluid and I just put two and two together and thought he had some kind of procedure like Maher had last year which was hard for him to clear up, he could only play about 10 minutes a game for us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/05/2018 22:42:57    2097172

Replying To realdub:  "If we were awaiting the winners I'd be shouting for Kerry, otherwise Mayo!"
Ah you'd only want us to win so ye could beat us realdub :-) the Ulster boys used always say that winning an allireland against Kerry was like winning 2 allirelands :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/05/2018 22:46:17    2097173

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I think you might have taken that reference up wrong."
After reading ye'r posts last night i thought there must be more to this than I was picking up so I did a bit of research and it turns out that Connolly is taking the year of for personal reasons and that's fair enough as he's not under any contract as such.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/05/2018 11:52:30    2097243

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah you'd only want us to win so ye could beat us realdub :-) the Ulster boys used always say that winning an allireland against Kerry was like winning 2 allirelands :-0"
That's correct my good man, in the last few years I would have felt more confident playing ye than Mayo.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/05/2018 18:55:54    2097366

Replying To realdub:  "That's correct my good man, in the last few years I would have felt more confident playing ye than Mayo."
I wouldn't blame you realdub and we are only a pale shadow of what we used to be.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/05/2018 21:51:39    2097406

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wouldn't blame you realdub and we are only a pale shadow of what we used to be."
That'll change for the better of the next 4/5 years

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/05/2018 22:03:54    2097408

Replying To realdub:  "That'll change for the better of the next 4/5 years"
God I hope so realdub but I'm afraid it'l take a change of management to change our fortunes as fitzmaurice is too conservative and will always fall on the side of caution and we need someone who'll maybe gamble a little.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/05/2018 22:28:59    2097412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "God I hope so realdub but I'm afraid it'l take a change of management to change our fortunes as fitzmaurice is too conservative and will always fall on the side of caution and we need someone who'll maybe gamble a little."
Is that a widespread feeling across the county? Do people want to stick with Fitzmaurice, or is this season a time to progress or move on?

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 09/05/2018 01:20:31    2097427

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "God I hope so realdub but I'm afraid it'l take a change of management to change our fortunes as fitzmaurice is too conservative and will always fall on the side of caution and we need someone who'll maybe gamble a little."
Well you won in '14 with a very average Kerry team so I wouldn't be that down anything can happen as '14 showed, with Clifford and O Shea coming through and players like Gavin White Kerry will Dominate soon enough again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/05/2018 08:22:20    2097436

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Is that a widespread feeling across the county? Do people want to stick with Fitzmaurice, or is this season a time to progress or move on?"
I think there is a bit of a split with Fitzmaurice. He has been a victim of his own success in a way, winning in 14, and running a much superior Dublin team close in 2013 and 2016 has created unreasonable expectations of what can / should be achieved annually with a limited playing squad.

That said, he messed up big time in the Mayo replay last year, by his own admission making several tactical and personnel errors that handed the initiative to Mayo. They were the better team of course, but we didn't need to make it easy for them. If we have a similar exit this year I don't think his job will be tenable, although with all the youngsters that will be playing he may get one more pass. The lack of an obvious replacement saved him last year as much as anything else.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/05/2018 09:28:24    2097447

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think there is a bit of a split with Fitzmaurice. He has been a victim of his own success in a way, winning in 14, and running a much superior Dublin team close in 2013 and 2016 has created unreasonable expectations of what can / should be achieved annually with a limited playing squad.

That said, he messed up big time in the Mayo replay last year, by his own admission making several tactical and personnel errors that handed the initiative to Mayo. They were the better team of course, but we didn't need to make it easy for them. If we have a similar exit this year I don't think his job will be tenable, although with all the youngsters that will be playing he may get one more pass. The lack of an obvious replacement saved him last year as much as anything else."
Who would Kerry people like to see in charge if fitzmaurices leaves the job anytime soon ,is there any standout person ye want

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 09/05/2018 10:23:21    2097477

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Who would Kerry people like to see in charge if fitzmaurices leaves the job anytime soon ,is there any standout person ye want"
The options are probably Jack O'Connor, Peter Keane, Stephen Wallace, Liam Kearns or Pat O'Shea, or you could get a wildcard like Maurice Fitzgerald who has a similar level of experience to Eamon when he took the reigns. I dont think there is any real consensus on who should get the next crack at it, all that talk has died down a bit until we see how 2018 goes.

Id like to see Kearns myself, but he is tied to Tipp at the moment.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/05/2018 10:42:23    2097481

Some serious discussion about Diarmuid Connolly in the Diarmuid Connolly threads lads, fair play!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 09/05/2018 12:02:35    2097502

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Is that a widespread feeling across the county? Do people want to stick with Fitzmaurice, or is this season a time to progress or move on?"
It is the wide spread feeling, I travel to a lot of matches within the county and you'd get talking to fellas from other clubs and all you get when you ask what are our chances this year is the eyes get thrown to heaven followed by sure we're going nowhere with fitzmaurice, I've only met one fella that backed him.

He was too slow to bring in the youth and he's too loyal to the older players imo and too cautious.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/05/2018 12:40:38    2097530

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Well you won in '14 with a very average Kerry team so I wouldn't be that down anything can happen as '14 showed, with Clifford and O Shea coming through and players like Gavin White Kerry will Dominate soon enough again."
I don't know clon, fitzmaurices hand was forced a bit in 2014 where gooch got injured and tomás o'sé and Paul Galvin retired so that meant fresh players like Paul Murphy Paul geaney coming into the team, jod got more game time had the season of his life. It meant not every ball having to go through the gooch so that made us more unpredictable .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/05/2018 12:50:50    2097537