Diarmuid Connolly

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Dublin would be fine without Connolly, they blew every team away on their way to the final last year and even though Connolly did well when he came on and manufactured the winning free but I think Dublin would have won that game regardless, it might have been a different story if Vaughan hadn't lost his head after the john small incident."
Would of won that game regardless? Even with Connolly it felt like we stoled that game , we were very lucky to come out with a one point lead in the end , that game could of easily gone the other way and we'd have no complaints on the day. It came down to inches in the end with two free kicks they miss we didn't.

Still think John Smalls second yellow was harsh I've never seen anyone get sent off for a mis hit shoulder when a player is running full speed at you and Colm Boyle at that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/05/2018 19:47:57    2096941

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Would of won that game regardless? Even with Connolly it felt like we stoled that game , we were very lucky to come out with a one point lead in the end , that game could of easily gone the other way and we'd have no complaints on the day. It came down to inches in the end with two free kicks they miss we didn't.

Still think John Smalls second yellow was harsh I've never seen anyone get sent off for a mis hit shoulder when a player is running full speed at you and Colm Boyle at that."
I know when your team is involved in a game it's hard to keep perspective, but as a neutral looking on it never felt like Dublin weren't in control, you just knew Dublin had better players to come of the bench.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2018 21:34:35    2096951

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know when your team is involved in a game it's hard to keep perspective, but as a neutral looking on it never felt like Dublin weren't in control, you just knew Dublin had better players to come of the bench."
Maybe , but genuinely being at that game I never thought that. Maybe cause you were cheering for Mayo it felt that way.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/05/2018 22:07:34    2096964

Sean Cavanagh doesn't reckon Mayo will make the super 8 , I love Sean but Mayo will be in the super 8's not a chance they won't be.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/05/2018 22:18:49    2096966

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Maybe , but genuinely being at that game I never thought that. Maybe cause you were cheering for Mayo it felt that way."
I won't lie I was shouting for mayo , me and about 3 million others :-)
But if mayo were playing Kerry you'd be shouting for mayo and that's understandable,

You could really see that mayo were tired in that last 10 mins where ye were looking like ye were getting stronger and Connolly was excellent but I think ye'd still have managed even if he wasn't there.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2018 23:48:26    2096983

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Sean Cavanagh doesn't reckon Mayo will make the super 8 , I love Sean but Mayo will be in the super 8's not a chance they won't be."
A lot will depend on next weeks game against Galway, if mayo win that then they'll definitely make the super 8 whereas if they have to go the long route again they could possibly meet a Donegal Tyrone or Monaghan in the qualifiers. It would be tough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2018 23:51:50    2096985

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Sean Cavanagh doesn't reckon Mayo will make the super 8 , I love Sean but Mayo will be in the super 8's not a chance they won't be."
I suppose if they lose that opener to Galway and meet a tricky team in the qualifiers they could be in trouble, especially with the injuries they have. They are slow to start usually so I can see where he might be coming from but it would be a surprise if they didn't make it at the same time. They will be well aware of their predicament though, and will probably beat Galway in Castlebar.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/05/2018 01:34:59    2096991

Its a good sign for Mayo as most of his predictions are a bit off the wall- good footballer but poor at analysing like of lot of other ex footballers.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/05/2018 02:00:52    2096992

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I won't lie I was shouting for mayo , me and about 3 million others :-)
But if mayo were playing Kerry you'd be shouting for mayo and that's understandable,

You could really see that mayo were tired in that last 10 mins where ye were looking like ye were getting stronger and Connolly was excellent but I think ye'd still have managed even if he wasn't there."
That wasn't a dig I would be supporting Mayo aswell if it was against anyone else. Will agree to disagree on this one about Dublin winning regardless.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/05/2018 08:54:49    2097002

But he's saying Mayo are starting to slip a little , where is the evidence of this? Their league form? Their always brutal in the league plus half their team was out injured or playing hurling, Mayo bet Kerry last year and were a whisker away from beating Dublin and their oldest player won poty, so can someone point out how they've gone back so far in 6 months ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/05/2018 09:00:06    2097004

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Connolly won't be back with the footballers this year. Jim Gavin and him are just polar opposites and I don't think he feels the love from Jim. He 'll play some club and maybe link up with the hurlers. He's a great hurler, wing forward or centre. 4 points a game from play man. He'd form some ball winning half forward line if himself and Danny Sutcliffe link up. I struggle to see Dublin winning an All Ireland in football without him"
How do you know he won't be back? Any manager in his right mind would want him involved.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 07/05/2018 09:04:41    2097005

Replying To clondalkindub:  "But he's saying Mayo are starting to slip a little , where is the evidence of this? Their league form? Their always brutal in the league plus half their team was out injured or playing hurling, Mayo bet Kerry last year and were a whisker away from beating Dublin and their oldest player won poty, so can someone point out how they've gone back so far in 6 months ?"
I wouldn't say they've gone back necessarily, but the past two seasons they have started poorly and have had to go through the qualifiers where they really rode their luck at times. If they do that again they may get caught out. As above, would you back them on a trip to Tyrone or Monaghan with Keegan and a few others injured / half fit?

I think they will raise it enough to beat Galway myself. If they get everyone back for the Super 8's they are still very much a contender without a doubt.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/05/2018 10:11:46    2097022

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Connolly won't be back with the footballers this year. Jim Gavin and him are just polar opposites and I don't think he feels the love from Jim. He 'll play some club and maybe link up with the hurlers. He's a great hurler, wing forward or centre. 4 points a game from play man. He'd form some ball winning half forward line if himself and Danny Sutcliffe link up. I struggle to see Dublin winning an All Ireland in football without him"
It has nothing to do with Jim. His issue is a personal issue. If he comes back this year it will be because he feels ready to. Because of the nature of the issue the chap is keeping a low profile. I might add that his teammates both club & county have been very supportive.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/05/2018 10:55:29    2097031

Replying To clondalkindub:  "But he's saying Mayo are starting to slip a little , where is the evidence of this? Their league form? Their always brutal in the league plus half their team was out injured or playing hurling, Mayo bet Kerry last year and were a whisker away from beating Dublin and their oldest player won poty, so can someone point out how they've gone back so far in 6 months ?"
It has been the same the last 2 years,have a poor league because they couldn't care less about it (and still stay up) and media say they're finished! They havn't got a clue!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 07/05/2018 11:36:07    2097041

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I suppose if they lose that opener to Galway and meet a tricky team in the qualifiers they could be in trouble, especially with the injuries they have. They are slow to start usually so I can see where he might be coming from but it would be a surprise if they didn't make it at the same time. They will be well aware of their predicament though, and will probably beat Galway in Castlebar."
If they do lose next Sunday Cavanagh is right -- there is no way they will make the Super 8's. The backdoor games will come thick and fast and with an ageing team they will get caught out. But they know how important next Sunday is for them and with their experience and home advantage probably will have enough to get past Galway.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 07/05/2018 11:53:29    2097051

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I suppose if they lose that opener to Galway and meet a tricky team in the qualifiers they could be in trouble, especially with the injuries they have. They are slow to start usually so I can see where he might be coming from but it would be a surprise if they didn't make it at the same time. They will be well aware of their predicament though, and will probably beat Galway in Castlebar."
I agree with you Gerry, I think mayo will come out all guns blazing next weekend and beat Galway, Galway going through the back door won't be a bad thing for them as they have a young team and it could prepare them well for the super 8s.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/05/2018 11:55:09    2097053

Replying To clondalkindub:  "That wasn't a dig I would be supporting Mayo aswell if it was against anyone else. Will agree to disagree on this one about Dublin winning regardless."
Not a bother clon, we'll never know for sure and it's only all speculation at the end of the day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/05/2018 11:58:38    2097054

Replying To Jackeen:  "It has nothing to do with Jim. His issue is a personal issue. If he comes back this year it will be because he feels ready to. Because of the nature of the issue the chap is keeping a low profile. I might add that his teammates both club & county have been very supportive."
In you're opinion do you think will see him back this summer for Dublin ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/05/2018 12:24:11    2097066

Replying To clondalkindub:  "In you're opinion do you think will see him back this summer for Dublin ?"
Not sure. It's a fluid situation. It completely depends on him. The door is most definitely open and Jim is in contact with him weekly. But there's zero pressure on him. He had a very tough year last year personally & maybe it's just too soon. I'm leaning towards a no.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/05/2018 14:07:53    2097081

Replying To Jackeen:  "Not sure. It's a fluid situation. It completely depends on him. The door is most definitely open and Jim is in contact with him weekly. But there's zero pressure on him. He had a very tough year last year personally & maybe it's just too soon. I'm leaning towards a no."
Anthony Maher was in a semilar situation last year jackeen when he had a lot of fluid buildup after he had a hip operation. It can be a slow progression.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/05/2018 15:55:08    2097103