Diarmuid Connolly

Replying To why:  "Again Where were these supposed traditional counties in the 00's?

If it's such an important part of your point where are they now ?"
This is what I was trying to say. Aside from Mayo, who are a cracking team but just short of that little bit of quality (or maybe just luck) to land the big prize, who is competing in this era?

Jimbo you can deflect about tactics all you want but there is a distinct lack of quality around at the minute. The drop off in Leinster and Ulster in the past few years is actually alarming. Never before have so many teams hit such lows all at the same time.

I would agree that Dublin would have won a All Ireland's regardless as they are a great team with a great manager, but I really doubt they would have it all their own way in the manner that they do now. Your put downs of Tyrone in your last few posts and referring to a Kerry team including Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, the O'Se's and Moynihan as some sort of ugly long ball merchants is just laughable, and just really shows up what you know about football tbh.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/04/2018 00:15:05    2089849

Replying To realdub:  "If Connolly comes back in and hes playing well, they'll find a spot for him, not necessarily for 70 minutes though."
Sincerely hope he will be back. It would be a much less entertaining summer, in so many different ways, without him.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 01/04/2018 00:32:38    2089851

He will be back. Nothing more sure.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 02/04/2018 13:46:37    2090299

Jim after the game yesterday:

It was reported in the Sunday Times yesterday that the two-time All-Star is taking a complete break from the game and has stepped away from the Dublin squad.

"Connolly has other priorities at the moment outside of football and that's where his focus currently lies," Christy O'Connor wrote. He added that Connolly is unlikely to even feature for St Vincent's in club football or hurling championship this month.

While Gavin didn't confirm the report, responding "that's news to me", he did say it was agreed between himself and Connolly that the 30-year-old would "take a rest."

"His status at the moment is that both Diarmuid and I agreed that what was best was that he would take a rest over these games," Gavin stated after Dublin's league final success over Galway.

"He has had a long number of years playing senior inter-county football, as have a lot of this group, and that decision was made in his best interests."

When he was asked if he was hopeful Connolly would return in time for the provincial campaign, Gavin responded: "Please God."

Dublin have a number of players absent through injury and James McCarthy left the fray in the opening half after picking up what looked to be a hamstring injury.

"I don't actually know," Gavin said on McCarthy's injury.

"He limped off but hopefully he will be back for Ballymun in two weeks' time."

There was more solid news about the fitness of All-Star defenders Cian O'Sullivan and Jack McCaffrey.

"Cian had a procedure on his shoulder three weeks ago," Gavin said on O'Sullivan.

"He is resting, he is in great form, Unfortunately for his club (this month) he won't make it back, but he will certainly be back for championship that is for sure."

"It's very positive news (on Jack). He's back (running) on the grass again. That's really positive. He's being very diligent with it. He's in great shape. Mentally, as bubbly as ever. He's looking forward to the championship."

Con O'Callaghan made a surprise return to county action just eight days after he won his second All-Ireland club hurling medal with Cuala. O'Callaghan was not listed on the match programme but came on in the 54th minute to a rousing reception.

Gavin confirmed that the Young Footballer of the Year resumed training with the panel "during the week."

"We just had a conversation," he said.

"If a player is that fortunate to have his club in a club campaign, I know Cuala have got two on the spin, but they're unique occasions and we have so much respect for the clubs in Dublin because of the players they keep developing and we are the sum of our parts in Dublin GAA.

"So you just back off and there was no conversations at all over the last number of weeks, we just let him concentrate fully with his club. We just touched base with him earlier in the week and had a chat.

"Obviously he's possibly fitter - we've done very little work in that regard - I'd say he's a lot fitter than the current group of Dublin players and he was just keen to go. So great to have him back."

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/04/2018 14:41:06    2090327

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "
Replying To why:  "Again Where were these supposed traditional counties in the 00's?

This is what I was trying to say. Aside from Mayo, who are a cracking team but just short of that little bit of quality (or maybe just luck) to land the big prize, who is competing in this era?

Jimbo you can deflect about tactics all you want but there is a distinct lack of quality around at the minute. The drop off in Leinster and Ulster in the past few years is actually alarming. Never before have so many teams hit such lows all at the same time.

I would agree that Dublin would have won a All Ireland's regardless as they are a great team with a great manager, but I really doubt they would have it all their own way in the manner that they do now. Your put downs of Tyrone in your last few posts and referring to a Kerry team including Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, the O'Se's and Moynihan as some sort of ugly long ball merchants is just laughable, and just really shows up what you know about football tbh."
Not trying to deflect at all

It's called having a different opinion

No doubt Kerry had great players in the 00's

But the game has advanced since they played.

It's superior now in numerous ways and it's very competitive at the business end with the level of tactical awareness now which far exceeds that of the 00's

It's very hard to win big games now and there's so much more going on compared to previous decades.

The day of 15 v 15 is over. Lumping in high ball is used very little now but can still be effective of course.

The games and results are there as clear as day across the 10's to back up just how competitive it's been. There's been very little cake walks as clearly seen in previous decades.

The tactics are now there to counteract a team with superior players, tactics that just weren't deployed or even conceived of in past decades.

4 teams have won Sam this decade so really its business as normal apart from the fact that it's not Kerry winning but honestly don't see it remaining that way for long.

It's a pity to see you talking so poorly about your current team.. worst side in 30 years? You've a very young team and they showed glimpses of what may come..

Think they deserve to be spoken about a little more favourably compared to what you contributed above.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/04/2018 20:05:27    2090805

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "[quote=why:  "Again Where were these supposed traditional counties in the 00's?

I would agree that Dublin would have won a All Ireland's regardless as they are a great team with a great manager, but I really doubt they would have it all their own way in the manner that they do now. Your put downs of Tyrone in your last few posts and referring to a Kerry team including Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, the O'Se's and Moynihan as some sort of ugly long ball merchants is just laughable, and just really shows up what you know about football tbh."

It's superior now in numerous ways and it's very competitive at the business end with the level of tactical awareness now which far exceeds that of the 00's

It's very hard to win big games now and there's so much more going on compared to previous decades.

The day of 15 v 15 is over. Lumping in high ball is used very little now but can still be effective of course.

The games and results are there as clear as day across the 10's to back up just how competitive it's been. There's been very little cake walks as clearly seen in previous decades.

The tactics are now there to counteract a team with superior players, tactics that just weren't deployed or even conceived of in past decades.

4 teams have won Sam this decade so really its business as normal apart from the fact that it's not Kerry winning but honestly don't see it remaining that way for long.

It's a pity to see you talking so poorly about your current team.. worst side in 30 years? You've a very young team and they showed glimpses of what may come..

Think they deserve to be spoken about a little more favourably compared to what you contributed above."]It is without question the worst Kerry team in 30 years.

I take your point on teams setting up to stifle the top teams, but all that does is keep the score down - if the top team has an off day, they will still win because the opposition hasn't set up to score heavily and punish them.

Dublin are the best team this decade, but it's a poor era. And even then they've rode their luck against Kerry (Who are a poor Kerry team) and particularly Mayo (Who have an amazing ability to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory).

As for there being no walkovers anymore - have you ignore your Leinster championship campaigns since 2011 and just shown up for the all ireland semi finals and finals!?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 03/04/2018 20:58:47    2090822

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=GeniusGerry:  "[quote=why:  "Again Where were these supposed traditional counties in the 00's?

Think they deserve to be spoken about a little more favourably compared to what you contributed above."]It is without question the worst Kerry team in 30 years.

I take your point on teams setting up to stifle the top teams, but all that does is keep the score down - if the top team has an off day, they will still win because the opposition hasn't set up to score heavily and punish them.

Dublin are the best team this decade, but it's a poor era. And even then they've rode their luck against Kerry (Who are a poor Kerry team) and particularly Mayo (Who have an amazing ability to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory).

As for there being no walkovers anymore - have you ignore your Leinster championship campaigns since 2011 and just shown up for the all ireland semi finals and finals!?"]I clearly said business end.

Provincial championships are indeed a walk over for a few counties this decade though but the business end is hugely competitive

If a poor enough 00 Dubs team setup like Dublin 2010/2011 they prob/could have done much better

That's how far the game has come nowadays. Tactically it's a far more advanced game and makes it even harder to win.

The results don't lie. There's a reason why big games are being won by a kick of a ball this decade.

The tactics and managerial knowledge has progressed to such a degree that teams can now compete and beat superior teams.

Kerry were collectively a better team they Dublin in 2011 and would of beaten that Dubs team in any other decade but Dublin deployed a strategy and game plan that no other Dubs team had before them and it worked

It's really not a poor era. How can a decade made up of such competitive games at such a high level of performance be a poor era.

Want to see really poor football - watch classic games on TG4

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/04/2018 21:15:57    2090827

Wasn't referring to the current team jimbo, which is a young team as you rightly say. The howls on here after that 2014 win were hilarious, where we were accused of stealing an All Ireland and all sorts. Many people said it was one of the weakest teams ever to win Sam, I don't know about that but it was certainly unexpected in the kingdom anyway. I think if Donegal hadn't caught ye that day in 2014 ye'd now have 5 in a row, no doubt in my mind anyway.

And it's a bit of a stretch to say that Cork team of 2010 was a team of the current era, they were very much the tail end of a very strong 00's team, and look at where they are now.

Look we will agree to disagree, there has never been fewer contenders in my view and a lot of good counties have fallen off a cliff for whatever reason. Mayo are a good side but outside of that ye haven't had much to worry about over the past few years, dress it up whatever way you want.

I understand the evolution of tactics and this has happened in just about every decade in one form or another. There were some very very good games in the past too btw, although your preference for the here and now is quite understandable tbf.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/04/2018 22:00:52    2090839

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Wasn't referring to the current team jimbo, which is a young team as you rightly say. The howls on here after that 2014 win were hilarious, where we were accused of stealing an All Ireland and all sorts. Many people said it was one of the weakest teams ever to win Sam, I don't know about that but it was certainly unexpected in the kingdom anyway. I think if Donegal hadn't caught ye that day in 2014 ye'd now have 5 in a row, no doubt in my mind anyway.

And it's a bit of a stretch to say that Cork team of 2010 was a team of the current era, they were very much the tail end of a very strong 00's team, and look at where they are now.

Look we will agree to disagree, there has never been fewer contenders in my view and a lot of good counties have fallen off a cliff for whatever reason. Mayo are a good side but outside of that ye haven't had much to worry about over the past few years, dress it up whatever way you want.

I understand the evolution of tactics and this has happened in just about every decade in one form or another. There were some very very good games in the past too btw, although your preference for the here and now is quite understandable tbf."
Good post.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/04/2018 22:06:21    2090842

He's back!

Togged out for Vinnies hurlers tonight.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/05/2018 23:00:07    2096749

Replying To TheUsername:  "He's back!

Togged out for Vinnies hurlers tonight."
I wasn't aware he was gone , but fair play to him I guess.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2018 12:26:01    2096792

Would it be fair to say that Kilkenny and O'Callaghan now have the 11 and 14 jerseys nailed down? Will be interesting to see where Connolly fits in this summer if he does come back. I know he was immense when he came in during the final last year but I can't see him being happy with a peripheral role like that long term, and I don't think a different role in the team would suit him. Would he start if everyone was fit Username?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/05/2018 13:20:03    2096798

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Would it be fair to say that Kilkenny and O'Callaghan now have the 11 and 14 jerseys nailed down? Will be interesting to see where Connolly fits in this summer if he does come back. I know he was immense when he came in during the final last year but I can't see him being happy with a peripheral role like that long term, and I don't think a different role in the team would suit him. Would he start if everyone was fit Username?"
Well now that brogan is out injured there is surely a spot for him in the corner, o'callaghan rock and Kilkenny are gaurenteed starters as is Flynn if he's fit and maybe paddy Andrews. Ah he'll get his place all right.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2018 15:05:02    2096806

Connolly for mid-field maybe?

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 05/05/2018 16:34:02    2096818

I wouldn't be assuming anything just yet. He may well link up with the footballers but I would not be counting chickens yet.
As for midfield suggestion , no chance.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/05/2018 17:47:46    2096825

Is Connolly a good enough hurler to get in to Gilroy's championship 15?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 05/05/2018 19:33:36    2096836

I was more speaking from a human point of view to be honest about being back. Hopefully he's just happy out and back doing his thing with Vinnies.

As for his role in the Dublin team, without question i think he will be accommodated. I personally hope he gets on top of any agro or difficulties and only comes back to the panel if or when he wants to.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/05/2018 19:35:11    2096838

Replying To TheUsername:  "I was more speaking from a human point of view to be honest about being back. Hopefully he's just happy out and back doing his thing with Vinnies.

As for his role in the Dublin team, without question i think he will be accommodated. I personally hope he gets on top of any agro or difficulties and only comes back to the panel if or when he wants to."
Sure can't ye rest him for the Leinster championship and let him of the leash in the super 8s , he'l be grand as I'm sure jim Gavin will get him some help with anger management , I remember Paul Galvin went to one of the mcnulty brothers in 09 and he went on to be footballer of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2018 11:58:32    2096886

Connolly won't be back with the footballers this year. Jim Gavin and him are just polar opposites and I don't think he feels the love from Jim. He 'll play some club and maybe link up with the hurlers. He's a great hurler, wing forward or centre. 4 points a game from play man. He'd form some ball winning half forward line if himself and Danny Sutcliffe link up. I struggle to see Dublin winning an All Ireland in football without him

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 06/05/2018 14:16:06    2096905

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Connolly won't be back with the footballers this year. Jim Gavin and him are just polar opposites and I don't think he feels the love from Jim. He 'll play some club and maybe link up with the hurlers. He's a great hurler, wing forward or centre. 4 points a game from play man. He'd form some ball winning half forward line if himself and Danny Sutcliffe link up. I struggle to see Dublin winning an All Ireland in football without him"
Dublin would be fine without Connolly, they blew every team away on their way to the final last year and even though Connolly did well when he came on and manufactured the winning free but I think Dublin would have won that game regardless, it might have been a different story if Vaughan hadn't lost his head after the john small incident.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2018 17:55:05    2096929