Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan

Replying To superbluedub:  "cant recall ? maybe you should watch it again , just saying like."
I will, I hope it hasn't been deleted .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 15:16:55    2086274

If anything this episode is sort of overshadowing Tyrone's excellent performance and utter demolition of the supposed 2nd best team in the country on their home turf..

You can't just flick on form and there's plenty for Mayo to be concerned with, injuries to key personnel and the lack of impact from their younger players

The end is nigh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 15:25:40    2086278

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "When should we hear if the GAA has any consistancy and Moran is banned or not?"
Why don't you ring them and ask them? We know ye Rossies just love our Andy!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 20/03/2018 16:20:32    2086308

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Outrage is what was directed towards Connolly by everyone and their dog when it happened last year.
There's very little outrage towards Moran now though.That's the difference and the only difference. Funny how you cannot see that either though.
By the way you do not need to be privy to any special camera angles to see there was contact ."
The difference between Connolly and Moran is that the Connolly incident was clear cut. The camera stayed on him and there was absolutely no doubt that he pushed the linesman. In Morans case, in the only clip that I saw, just as he reached the referee the camera changed from close up to long view. Moran put out his arms so the only place they could have touched was chest to chest and to me that was inconclusive. I have not stated at any stage that Moran is innocent or guilty. It's just that I'm not sure. As I have stated, if the referee says in his report that he was physically abused then Moran will be banned and rightly so. Telling me I'm blind,etc, etc because I don't see what you are convinced you see might make you feel better but will do nothing to influence the referees report. I stated at the time that the ban on Connolly was too long for the offence committed but don't let that get in the way of your resentment.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/03/2018 16:28:55    2086310

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The difference between Connolly and Moran is that the Connolly incident was clear cut. The camera stayed on him and there was absolutely no doubt that he pushed the linesman. In Morans case, in the only clip that I saw, just as he reached the referee the camera changed from close up to long view. Moran put out his arms so the only place they could have touched was chest to chest and to me that was inconclusive. I have not stated at any stage that Moran is innocent or guilty. It's just that I'm not sure. As I have stated, if the referee says in his report that he was physically abused then Moran will be banned and rightly so. Telling me I'm blind,etc, etc because I don't see what you are convinced you see might make you feel better but will do nothing to influence the referees report. I stated at the time that the ban on Connolly was too long for the offence committed but don't let that get in the way of your resentment."
Liam don't you know it is obvious that Andy did a mad chest bump into Deegan while having his hands fully outstretched, that is quite logical, don't you know that, despite the first slow mo showing there was nothing in it. Unless he verbally abused him which i highly doubt he will not get banned.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/03/2018 16:42:00    2086318

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Why don't you ring them and ask them? We know ye Rossies just love our Andy!"
I actually think its very funny people saying "Oh he has a great disaplinary record Compaired with Connolly, He doesnt deserve a ban" Cant ever remember Connolly goading and giving offensive hand gestures to oppistion fans before.
Gaa are a complete joke if they let him away with this and lads like Connolly,Burns,Comerford and Kelly are for similar and in some cases less incidents

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/03/2018 16:46:56    2086320

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Liam don't you know it is obvious that Andy did a mad chest bump into Deegan while having his hands fully outstretched, that is quite logical, don't you know that, despite the first slow mo showing there was nothing in it. Unless he verbally abused him which i highly doubt he will not get banned."
I'm sorry but I have to know....where does one put ones arms when chest bumping? I'm being totally genuine here by the way. Every chest bump I've ever seen the person has their arms outstretched.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 16:48:39    2086322

Replying To jimbodub:  "If anything this episode is sort of overshadowing Tyrone's excellent performance and utter demolition of the supposed 2nd best team in the country on their home turf..

You can't just flick on form and there's plenty for Mayo to be concerned with, injuries to key personnel and the lack of impact from their younger players

The end is nigh"
Have to agree here, Tyrone put in a serious performance and put down a marker. I think they have improved a lot as the league as gone and look to have uncovered an absolute gem in Lee Brennen had to rub my eyes and make sure it wasnt Bernard Brogan in his early 20s.

As for Mayo, really looked a horrible day, injuries to Keegan and O Connor, they will hope to get a result in Donegal next week in their absence its all in their own hands and with their experience you would have to tip Mayo, what a game that could be next week. Lets be honest, the league means nothing for Mayo, but DIv 1 status has its key indicators for development Mayo will have to pit in a big performance in Ballybofey.

Personally i hope Moran doesnt get banned, im really looking forward to the Connaght championship this year and with Mayo nursing a few, for footballs sake i hope he doesnt get banned. I thought it was harsh on Dermot at the time and Conmerford for Tipperary, so be hypocritical to say anything different now. For me the rule is to stark and narrow, it should allow for nebulous nature of the incidents and teared suspensions. Im sure it was brought in as a deterrent or more for clubs were lads could loose the run of themselves. Neither Moran, Connolly or COmerford intended to harm an official in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/03/2018 17:01:15    2086325

Replying To jimbodub:  "If anything this episode is sort of overshadowing Tyrone's excellent performance and utter demolition of the supposed 2nd best team in the country on their home turf..

The end is nigh"
Try not to sound too excited...going by commmets I've seen on social media people outside Mayo especially in Dublin are getting very giddy with excitement at the prospect of Mayo being relegated...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 20/03/2018 17:59:27    2086344

Replying To DannyMcA:  "I'm sorry but I have to know....where does one put ones arms when chest bumping? I'm being totally genuine here by the way. Every chest bump I've ever seen the person has their arms outstretched."
lol so you actually think he genuinely chest bumped the ref? Just think how daft that sounds . I have explained in a previous post what you could see happened and the slow mo proves that. Not going to explain it again. Moran is totally off balance by the time he gets to Deegan as he sidestepped AOS just before he got to Deegan. Anyone who thinks Andy Moran ran at the ref and decided to chest bump him should re-attach their brain. The first slow mo is conclusive as you could want, people claiming they can't see it properly but are sure that he chest bumped the ref in a rage are just hoping he gets banned.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/03/2018 18:03:05    2086345

Only similarity to Connolly incident is that Moran clearly broke a rule. Deegan decided it wasn't the same rule that Connolly was suspended for as he issued a black card
see rules
'Category II Infractions - Cynical Behaviour
5.10 To deliberately pull down an opponent.
5.11 To deliberately trip an opponent with hand(s),
arm, leg or foot.
5.12 To deliberately collide with an opponent after he
has played the ball away or for the purpose of
taking him out of the movement of play.
5.13 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a
Match Official..
PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Order the offender off by showing him a
Black Card.

The actual physical contact was completely different but to me a rule was broken and whatever the standard suspension for breaking that rule applies.
Deegan dealt with it on the day and deeded it aggressively remonstrating with an official ie. a black card offence
but for Connolly's suspension the rule below was clearly deemed to be broken by him
see rules 'Category VI Infractions
5.35 To strike or attempt to strike, or any type of
assault on, a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or
Sideline Official.
PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Order offender off.
(ii) Free kick from where foul occurred,
except as provided under Exceptions of
Rule 2.2.
That is a red card offence
There is no defined suspension for a single black card offence so that is the end of the Moran incident if Deegan's report reflects what I have above.

Connolly's offence wasn't dealt with on the day or it seems in the ref's report. So the disciplinary bodies could intervene and the suspension for Connolly ended up arising under a completely different rule but again the actual length of the suspension doesn't seem to be defined anywhere and that is the source of much of the annoyance here.

Suspensions should be clearly defined in association with each of the rules and any criteria/process allowing for variations of such suspensions need to be very tightly and clearly defined.

Refereeing GAA games is very difficult but made much more so by the ludicrous lack of clarity in the rules books and associated guidance to match officials, players, management and followers of GAA. As pointed out by other posters and in 'Cool Hand Luke' 'what we have here is a failure to communicate' which is threatening to destroy GAA

Do everything possible before during and after games in rule books and guidance to help and demand consistency from match officials and disciplinary bodies then everything would be so much easier with so much less aggravation all round. Let's concentrate on playing games not allowing madly different interpretations to flourish and waste all this energy on useless ill directed aggro.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 20/03/2018 18:06:35    2086347

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The difference between Connolly and Moran is that the Connolly incident was clear cut. The camera stayed on him and there was absolutely no doubt that he pushed the linesman. In Morans case, in the only clip that I saw, just as he reached the referee the camera changed from close up to long view. Moran put out his arms so the only place they could have touched was chest to chest and to me that was inconclusive. I have not stated at any stage that Moran is innocent or guilty. It's just that I'm not sure. As I have stated, if the referee says in his report that he was physically abused then Moran will be banned and rightly so. Telling me I'm blind,etc, etc because I don't see what you are convinced you see might make you feel better but will do nothing to influence the referees report. I stated at the time that the ban on Connolly was too long for the offence committed but don't let that get in the way of your resentment."
No, you see you're missing the point there for whatever reason.
Before there was any report on the Connolly incident there was outrage and people baying for connolly's blood.
It was fair that he got a ban whatever about the length of it but now you have silence and the ah sure he's a nice fella let's look the other way and see what the referees report and the powers that be decide.
Connolly wasn't given that privelage full stop whether you recognise that or not.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 18:15:28    2086348

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I actually think its very funny people saying "Oh he has a great disaplinary record Compaired with Connolly, He doesnt deserve a ban" Cant ever remember Connolly goading and giving offensive hand gestures to oppistion fans before.
Gaa are a complete joke if they let him away with this and lads like Connolly,Burns,Comerford and Kelly are for similar and in some cases less incidents"
Yip he's been a silly boy at times playing ye making gestures to the crowd and lucky to get away with it. But a disciplinary record is determined by what a player gets caught for rather than what he gets away with.

Connacht is looking good again for ye I think. Meeting a Galway team in the final that'll be well confident after a great league and beating us but perhaps a bit complacent. McStay has a better Roscommon this year but all the talk will be about Galway.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 20/03/2018 18:29:38    2086353

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Liam don't you know it is obvious that Andy did a mad chest bump into Deegan while having his hands fully outstretched, that is quite logical, don't you know that, despite the first slow mo showing there was nothing in it. Unless he verbally abused him which i highly doubt he will not get banned."
Yep one law for the dirty dubs and one for the culchies!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 20/03/2018 18:44:16    2086358

Replying To arock:  "Yep one law for the dirty dubs and one for the culchies!!"
Two wrongs do not make a right
Ye perfected the hand pass and now ye are in the process of perfecting the rugby tackle!! which will ye even more difficult to beat this year

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/03/2018 19:08:50    2086363

Replying To TheFlaker:  "lol so you actually think he genuinely chest bumped the ref? Just think how daft that sounds . I have explained in a previous post what you could see happened and the slow mo proves that. Not going to explain it again. Moran is totally off balance by the time he gets to Deegan as he sidestepped AOS just before he got to Deegan. Anyone who thinks Andy Moran ran at the ref and decided to chest bump him should re-attach their brain. The first slow mo is conclusive as you could want, people claiming they can't see it properly but are sure that he chest bumped the ref in a rage are just hoping he gets banned."
I don't want to see him banned at all. But he did run at him aggressively and their chests did come into contact. I, like thousands of others must need our brains reattached so.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 19:23:26    2086368

Replying To yew_tree:  "Try not to sound too excited...going by commmets I've seen on social media people outside Mayo especially in Dublin are getting very giddy with excitement at the prospect of Mayo being relegated..."
Much like they would if Dublin or Kerry got relegated I imagine.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 19:24:52    2086369

Replying To browncows:  "Two wrongs do not make a right
Ye perfected the hand pass and now ye are in the process of perfecting the rugby tackle!! which will ye even more difficult to beat this year"
If you want to know about rugby just ask big Joe. You lads seem to like scoring the odd try.Worked in 2010.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 19:33:35    2086374

Replying To yew_tree:  "Try not to sound too excited...going by commmets I've seen on social media people outside Mayo especially in Dublin are getting very giddy with excitement at the prospect of Mayo being relegated..."
More excited about competing in our 6th final in a row if I'm honest, our young lads are doing very well, we have lads getting rested and once again Jim is going about his business in an exceptional manner.

If ye barely scrape to stay up I wouldn't mind so much as playing Mayo has been an easy 2pts for our lads ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 19:39:23    2086375

You won't find a worse team of divers than this mayo squad, Diarmuid O'Connor and Alan McLoughlin go down easier than a cannonball in fishnets. They've always played as if they can get away with over-the-top tackling (see: Boyle's assaults on Sunday). Lee Keegan and Cillian are looking to get players sent off. But this is a new level of petulance. Disappointed that it came from Moran, I thought he was a different class of player.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/03/2018 19:43:16    2086378