Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan

Replying To essmac:  "No, that's incorrect. Watch it again. McNulty lifted his elbow - to no effect - AFTER he did the late shoulder . Reckless shoulder of course, and deserving of a yellow. You can hear the surprise in the commentator's voice when he gets a red. McNulty went in with a mistimed shoulder while the ball was in play and was a bit reckless about it. No remarks would have been passed on that in the 1980s, I can assure you; but today's refereeing is different and he should know that. The earlier foul from the Mayo lad was after the play and very deliberate. I still thought both were yellow, tbh; the Mayo foul was more premeditated but still both yellow for me; you don't get upgraded to a red for being a bit more cynical.

Cavanagh's "black" was a complete farce though - black-carded for trying to keep your feet after you've been clattered?! Joke.

Not a very dirty match overall; and I wouldn't read much into the result. Remember how desperate Mayo were against second-rate teams in the early stage of the c'ship last year, but then they were the only team who got even close to the Dubs at the end of the day. It's almost as if they can only get motivated for All Ireland finals these days.

I still think Mayo can lift it for Donegal, who looked very poor against us, McBrearty absent and Murphy a shadow of himself; the man's a genius but unfortunately is so talented and agreeable that he ends up doing too much energy-sapping donkey work instead of being on the edge of the square where he belongs."
I agree that Cavanaghs black was aa joke but McNulty's is a red all the way. Just because it was acceptable in 1980s (good song that) doesn't mean its grand now. Look at the video...he jumps into the air at full speed towards a defenseless player all while having his knee up and elbow bent. Its as red as it gets. The jump and the fact that Keegan was defenseless makes it very dangerous. I think it may have been heat of the moment and not necessarily intentional but that doesnt matter. I do agree that Boyle's also was red.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 19/03/2018 20:50:34    2086015

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Remonstrating anyone! And speaking for myself I am neither blind nor in denial."
Well then maybe there's a third option. I'll leave it to you to figure that out.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2018 20:51:31    2086016

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Imagine the noise out of Spillane if that had a been a Tyrone player that barged into the ref?"
Allegedly!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2018 21:08:35    2086024

Ah leave Andy alone. He's in the twilight of his career. I wouldn't mind if he slips through the net to be honest. I know that all should be equal blah blah but both himself and Connolly should have been let go, and on video evidence common sense should prevail. No harm done and never was there going to be.
Of course if I posted this after the Connolly incident I would've been shot.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 19/03/2018 21:08:59    2086025

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Allegedly!"
There are none so blind as those who will not see.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 19/03/2018 22:33:20    2086051

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "There are none so blind as those who will not see."
The allegation that Andy barged into Deegan has yet to be proven. Hence the allegedly. Plenty acting as judge, jury and executioner.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2018 22:55:55    2086064

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well then maybe there's a third option. I'll leave it to you to figure that out."
Somewhat insulting but my original reply, which was less so, was not allowed through. Interesting sensorship if not totally unexpected!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2018 23:10:12    2086071

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Imagine the noise out of Spillane if that had a been a Tyrone player that barged into the ref?"
It wasn't.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 20/03/2018 07:30:54    2086094

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Somewhat insulting but my original reply, which was less so, was not allowed through. Interesting sensorship if not totally unexpected!"
Not nearly as insulting as your suggestion that there may not have been any contact . Now that's insulting.
As I asked earlier , what was the black card for ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 09:06:30    2086102

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Not nearly as insulting as your suggestion that there may not have been any contact . Now that's insulting.
As I asked earlier , what was the black card for ?"
Good question. If he assaulted and battered Deegan it should have been red.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 20/03/2018 09:52:11    2086115

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Not nearly as insulting as your suggestion that there may not have been any contact . Now that's insulting.
As I asked earlier , what was the black card for ?"
When are you and other Dubs on here going to comment on what happened in the Dublin Galway game? Seeing are you're all so worried about the rules

why (Kildare) - Posts: 142 - 20/03/2018 09:54:54    2086116

Sorry but the difference between this incident and the Connolly one is chalk and cheese, Connolly looked like he wanted to slap the head off a linesman, Moran didn't and shook hands with the ref afterwards, furthermore whether you like it or not Moran doesn't have a reputation for losing the head on or off the field as Connolly does and has a record to prove it, they two completely different men in my view and whilst Connolly may carry a bullseye on his back well the fact is he created that bullseye himself with his actions so play with fire you get burned etc etc etc, the bleating of some Dubs about this is galling when you see some of the carry on in Salthill, there are no angels in Dublin no more than there are in any county but it seems now that being critical of a Dublin player or doing anything that upsets their assumed position as kings of the GAA is simply not allowed, you have one of the most successful teams of all times that is going to gather more success, just chill lads and enjoy the ride.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/03/2018 10:09:58    2086128

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Good question. If he assaulted and battered Deegan it should have been red."
If Connolly assualted Brannigan last year it should have been a red...... It wasnt but he got banned after for making contact the same Moran should.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/03/2018 10:10:34    2086129

Replying To why:  "When are you and other Dubs on here going to comment on what happened in the Dublin Galway game? Seeing are you're all so worried about the rules"
There's a thread set up for that if you want to wander over and have a peek.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 10:11:03    2086130

Replying To why:  "When are you and other Dubs on here going to comment on what happened in the Dublin Galway game? Seeing are you're all so worried about the rules"
A bit of deflection I think, let's talk about Andy Moran and people will forget about what the dubs were up to.

Also I noticed that RTÉ showed all the black and red card incidents that happened between Mayo and Tyrone but they never showed why o'gara was red carded or why rock was black carded for Dublin that's strange by RTÉ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 10:12:54    2086131

It was a draw.
In more ways than one is what I'd say.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 10:21:49    2086142

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Good question. If he assaulted and battered Deegan it should have been red."
It was minor physical interference and nothing more.
That's the rule. I don't write them but that's what the rule book says if that's what people want applied.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 10:24:25    2086143

Replying To Richieq:  "Sorry but the difference between this incident and the Connolly one is chalk and cheese, Connolly looked like he wanted to slap the head off a linesman, Moran didn't and shook hands with the ref afterwards, furthermore whether you like it or not Moran doesn't have a reputation for losing the head on or off the field as Connolly does and has a record to prove it, they two completely different men in my view and whilst Connolly may carry a bullseye on his back well the fact is he created that bullseye himself with his actions so play with fire you get burned etc etc etc, the bleating of some Dubs about this is galling when you see some of the carry on in Salthill, there are no angels in Dublin no more than there are in any county but it seems now that being critical of a Dublin player or doing anything that upsets their assumed position as kings of the GAA is simply not allowed, you have one of the most successful teams of all times that is going to gather more success, just chill lads and enjoy the ride."
What he said. No one likes to hear winners whinge.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 20/03/2018 10:40:07    2086148

Replying To DannyMcA:  "There's a thread set up for that if you want to wander over and have a peek."
I have and i haven't seen clondalkindub commenting to much on it, You know seeing as he all about being consistent and all

why (Kildare) - Posts: 142 - 20/03/2018 10:40:16    2086149

Replying To Richieq:  "Sorry but the difference between this incident and the Connolly one is chalk and cheese, Connolly looked like he wanted to slap the head off a linesman, Moran didn't and shook hands with the ref afterwards, furthermore whether you like it or not Moran doesn't have a reputation for losing the head on or off the field as Connolly does and has a record to prove it, they two completely different men in my view and whilst Connolly may carry a bullseye on his back well the fact is he created that bullseye himself with his actions so play with fire you get burned etc etc etc, the bleating of some Dubs about this is galling when you see some of the carry on in Salthill, there are no angels in Dublin no more than there are in any county but it seems now that being critical of a Dublin player or doing anything that upsets their assumed position as kings of the GAA is simply not allowed, you have one of the most successful teams of all times that is going to gather more success, just chill lads and enjoy the ride."
And therein lies the problem. Because Connolly isn't liked he got punished and because Moran is he will get off. Great message!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 10:47:06    2086152