Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan

The funny thing about it is that we're disusing essentially a minor incident in relation to what were a couple of far more dangerous and nasty incidents that funnily only resulted in a yellow in one case and a red in the other.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2018 17:51:39    2085915

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Omg how blinkered can you get. The chap was completely wound up cos the decision went against him just like Connolly was last year. He then went straight over to Deegan and put it up to him aggressively using his chest. It was completely purposeful. It doesn't matter that he dealt with it at the time. The ref gave Evan Comerford a red card last year but he was still banned by the CCCC for 12 weeks for being aggressive with the ref. Brannigan was deemed to have dealt with DC too but the CCCC thought differently. I think you really need to take off your Mayo specs for this one. Andy was totally out of order and he knows it. The irony is that by shaking Deegans hand he may get away with it. A lovely chap by all accounts but I can't see on what basis he will get away with this given all the other players that havent. Most recently Gordon Kelly for squirting water at an umpire I believe. Not everything is being judged by the DC incident."
Andy doesn't have Connolly's disciplinary record though so we'd hope he'd get a shorter suspension if any. Debatable that he 'put it up to him aggressively using his chest'. He was aggressive but looked to me he copped at the last second he was and restrained himself holding his two arms out. I'd be biased saying that though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 19/03/2018 18:03:57    2085919

He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/03/2018 18:04:43    2085920

Replying To Gleebo:  "Have a look at it again, McNulty clearly sees Keegan coming and lifts his elbow.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_H8xgQYaZw

As regards Andy, if he jostled a match official then he can expect some sort of disciplinary action, and rightly so. Likewise, Boyle deservedly went."
No, that's incorrect. Watch it again. McNulty lifted his elbow - to no effect - AFTER he did the late shoulder . Reckless shoulder of course, and deserving of a yellow. You can hear the surprise in the commentator's voice when he gets a red. McNulty went in with a mistimed shoulder while the ball was in play and was a bit reckless about it. No remarks would have been passed on that in the 1980s, I can assure you; but today's refereeing is different and he should know that. The earlier foul from the Mayo lad was after the play and very deliberate. I still thought both were yellow, tbh; the Mayo foul was more premeditated but still both yellow for me; you don't get upgraded to a red for being a bit more cynical.

Cavanagh's "black" was a complete farce though - black-carded for trying to keep your feet after you've been clattered?! Joke.

Not a very dirty match overall; and I wouldn't read much into the result. Remember how desperate Mayo were against second-rate teams in the early stage of the c'ship last year, but then they were the only team who got even close to the Dubs at the end of the day. It's almost as if they can only get motivated for All Ireland finals these days.

I still think Mayo can lift it for Donegal, who looked very poor against us, McBrearty absent and Murphy a shadow of himself; the man's a genius but unfortunately is so talented and agreeable that he ends up doing too much energy-sapping donkey work instead of being on the edge of the square where he belongs.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 19/03/2018 18:16:15    2085926

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Andy doesn't have Connolly's disciplinary record though so we'd hope he'd get a shorter suspension if any. Debatable that he 'put it up to him aggressively using his chest'. He was aggressive but looked to me he copped at the last second he was and restrained himself holding his two arms out. I'd be biased saying that though."
Minor interference with an official carries a 12 week ban nothing got to do with previous record. This open and shut case but the big difference is the silence in the media and from pundits. He approached the ref aggressively and chest bumped him. You can see by his reaction afterwards he reliased what he had done. On a separate note Deegan had a mare yesterday very poor.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 19/03/2018 18:28:41    2085935

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents."
Sure you don't.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 19/03/2018 18:38:15    2085936

Andy Moran is a classy player always has been and always conducts himself well and I don't believe the ref felt physically threatened but he was barged and it dosent matter who committed the foul all players should be treated equally when punishment is given out. Diarmuid Connolly was punished for touching a linesman and it wasn't in an aggressive manner nor did the linesman think anything of it . He was still punished. I thought it was harsh but agreed rules are rules

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/03/2018 18:40:04    2085938

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Muck you're still on here I thought you'd be long gone by now, good to see you've still got some fight in you.

Muck the whole media , social media everyone and anyone had an opinion on Connolly for some reason the opinion on Andy is nowhere near as heavy , I wonder why not? Where are all the ex players and journalists who slated Connolly last year?? I was told last year so many times what sort of an example is this to kids to let Connolly off. For me Andy Moran like Connolly doesn't deserve a ban never mind a 3 month ban but the Gaa set a precedent that they have to up hold now.

By the way I like the look of Donegal when all their players are back especially with the Dub Mcbreaty class act, I think you'll go well this year. Murphy needs to step up he looks unfit right now."
Hi clondalkin, still here although I spend most of my time dispensing wisdom on the Donegal page!

I think Connolly always produces a reaction because of his colourful history. It's not a Dublin this per se just that Dermot is such a huge character in the game wheras most people would struggle to recognise Moran. I don't agree with you about neither of them deserving a ban for reasons I have already given but I can see both sides.

As for Donegal, you are far more optomistic than I am. We are in a perfect storm of trying to change the way we play, suffering a rash of injuries & key players in poor form. Maybe it will all come right for the championship but at the moment it is hard to see.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/03/2018 18:49:00    2085941

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents."
Hahahaa !
Good man. Sure neither do I.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2018 19:01:02    2085946

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Hahahaa !
Good man. Sure neither do I."
Ha fair enough if you think I do but my past posts show I don't, especially when Mayo lose. I barely post on the GAA forum because of the pettyness and bias.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/03/2018 19:13:46    2085954

Replying To TheFlaker: "He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents."
Hahahaa !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 1419 - 19/03/2018 19:01:02

fair play to you for such forensic analysis. I admire your observations. can I ask your opinion on the very last play of the drawn final in 2016 when m fitzsimmons blatantly picked the ball off the ground(foot not within 18 inches of it) and the ref chickened out of awarding mayo a close in free with last kick of the ball?

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 19/03/2018 19:46:04    2085967

Replying To kavvie:  "Replying To TheFlaker: "He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents."
Hahahaa !

fair play to you for such forensic analysis. I admire your observations. can I ask your opinion on the very last play of the drawn final in 2016 when m fitzsimmons blatantly picked the ball off the ground(foot not within 18 inches of it) and the ref chickened out of awarding mayo a close in free with last kick of the ball?"
What has that got to do with Moran making contact with a ref? Do you want Fitzsimmons banned for touching the ball on the ground in 2016?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 20:15:42    2085986

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ha fair enough if you think I do but my past posts show I don't, especially when Mayo lose. I barely post on the GAA forum because of the pettyness and bias."
Well I'd Agree with you on the pettiness thing. Look, Moran made obvious contact after rushing forward and moved Deegan back on impact.
You can interpret it as you like.
I think if you were not biased though you would apply the rule.
Nice guy or not.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2018 20:18:48    2085992

I thought Moran was just rushing to shake the ref's hand to show how much he agreed with his decision. Maybe he should just have run off the field and 'shook' the hand of some official there

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/03/2018 20:19:50    2085994

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Or by looking at the footage with your eyes!!"
I have played it back umpteen times, slowing it down and speeding it up, and I still can't decide if Andy actually touched him or not. Seems like along with every other advantage the Dubs are blessed with perfect eyesight as well!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2018 20:21:27    2085995

Replying To kavvie:  "Replying To TheFlaker: "He purposely chest bumped the ref, seriously lads. Call me biased all you want. Look where his arms are, you think that is a natural movement, his hands spread out wide while he chest bumps the ref! You only want to see controversy. I'll ask you to watch it again. He does go to give out to Deegan, nobody arguing that. By the way people trying to make out he was seething uncontrollably is hilarious. As he goes towards Deegan his own player steps across him, as he steps around AOS he steps towards Deegan again and as he does he misses his step and that's when he holds his hands out wide as he realises he is about to bump into Deegan. Just think about it logically for a second lads. A player with his arms spread like a bird and purposely chest bumping a ref? Lol. Watch it again, the first slow mo shows it all. I'm not biased. I was one of the few to point out a Mayo player should have got the line in the 2016 replay for a late hit after the goal. I have no bias on incidents."
Hahahaa !

fair play to you for such forensic analysis. I admire your observations. can I ask your opinion on the very last play of the drawn final in 2016 when m fitzsimmons blatantly picked the ball off the ground(foot not within 18 inches of it) and the ref chickened out of awarding mayo a close in free with last kick of the ball?"
I think Mayo have been given plenty of opportunities to win more than one AI.
I guess you're not biased then either hotshot.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2018 20:23:03    2085997

Its likely that he will get a suspension if the past is anything to go by. It will be most interesting to watch on tv tonight. That will hinge if the GAA are to follow up on it imo.

I have a feeling that it would be a massive moment in terms of gathering the mayo troops for the rest of the season were this to happen. It might not be a bad thing at all.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/03/2018 20:25:05    2085999

Hahahaa !

Sweet Jesus!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/03/2018 20:26:30    2086000

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You would have to laugh the way some posters are actually asking if there was any contact.
If you cannot see the contact you are either blind or just in denial.
What was the black card ?"
Remonstrating anyone! And speaking for myself I am neither blind nor in denial.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2018 20:26:47    2086001

Imagine the noise out of Spillane if that had a been a Tyrone player that barged into the ref?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 19/03/2018 20:38:07    2086010