Galway Vs Dublin

Both teams undefeated in Division 1. This could set up to be a great match. Galway have been doing brilliantly as are Dublin of course. Expecting a huge crowd in Pearce for this one. Galway could for sure shock us but I'm going for a Dublin win here.
Dublin 2+

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 11/03/2018 18:05:33    2083465

Should be a nice enough match but I believe Dublin are miles ahead of everyone including Galway.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 11/03/2018 18:43:14    2083507

Galway will have to apply pressure out the field and not let them solo up to our 45.

We will really see where Galway are after next Sunday and the League final.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 11/03/2018 19:10:09    2083528

Replying To Trump2020:  "Should be a nice enough match but I believe Dublin are miles ahead of everyone including Galway."
They've won the last two All-Ireland Finals by only a point,one after a replay so Dublin aren't miles ahead of everybody else.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 11/03/2018 19:16:06    2083533

Replying To endgame:  "They've won the last two All-Ireland Finals by only a point,one after a replay so Dublin aren't miles ahead of everybody else."
They are on current form.. miles ahead of everyone..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 11/03/2018 19:33:50    2083554

Replying To endgame:  "They've won the last two All-Ireland Finals by only a point,one after a replay so Dublin aren't miles ahead of everybody else."
Sorry but they are better this year than the previous two years, from what I can see, Galway wont be able for them.Even if its a dead rubber, the Dubs have another team of lads trying to get into the 15. O Callaghan , Connolly have to come in yet.

dubya (Kildare) - Posts: 423 - 11/03/2018 19:43:41    2083567

Next weeks game will tell us Notting. Dublin have to win and that's what is going to happen. Galway will rest and try out players.
The league final will give us a indicator as to how close/far Galway are from been in the top 4 championship contenders.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 11/03/2018 20:08:51    2083592

Galway have the best defensive record in the league

Dublin have the best offensive record in the league

It'll be interesting!

Just hope we stick with giving the younger lads game time.

That's the biggest bonus. The form and impact of the next generation of Dub players. Gavin is building very nicely and he's introduced the lads that many of us Dubs on HS wanted to see and they haven't let themselves down

Things are looking good for us supporters.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/03/2018 20:11:39    2083594

The sad reality for Gaelic football & for those of us outside Dublin is that Dublin are miles ahead of every other county. I have great admiration for the current Dublin team(s), but worry about the future of the current championship set up with the dominance of one county, albeit a county that has 21% of the island's population.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 11/03/2018 20:20:35    2083600

Are Galway the new rossies ?
They might have peaked too soon though they do have more quality in their squad.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 11/03/2018 20:25:22    2083603

Replying To Vishred:  "Are Galway the new rossies ?
They might have peaked too soon though they do have more quality in their squad."
Mayo r hoping dats da case coz dere afraid of wats coming on 13 may

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 11/03/2018 21:08:47    2083632

Replying To Vishred:  "Are Galway the new rossies ?
They might have peaked too soon though they do have more quality in their squad."
It is different. Rossies were hammering teams 2 yrs ago. Ours appears a slower upward curve and we would have more squad depth now than the Rossies had then. Div 1 status maintained is an achievement in itself for us as anyone outside Div 1 is unlikely to be at the business end of the season. It is a young squad and championship progress for Galway whoever wins on May 13th would be an all Ireland semi place. Big ask but at least we are moving in the right direction.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 11/03/2018 21:25:26    2083648

Bernard Flynn on radio 1 today.. "Mayo are back " They easily beat Kildare and have all the ould lads coming back.. Watch them go unbeaten now for the season. Galway be warned..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 11/03/2018 21:55:19    2083674

Big test for Galway. Better than any training session. Dublin are top team in country by a long way but we will only get beget by playing them.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 11/03/2018 22:08:27    2083683

Replying To kiloughter:  "It is different. Rossies were hammering teams 2 yrs ago. Ours appears a slower upward curve and we would have more squad depth now than the Rossies had then. Div 1 status maintained is an achievement in itself for us as anyone outside Div 1 is unlikely to be at the business end of the season. It is a young squad and championship progress for Galway whoever wins on May 13th would be an all Ireland semi place. Big ask but at least we are moving in the right direction."
Agree with all of the above, epically AI Semi-final, regardless of all else I said at start of year if we could stay up in Div 1 and make an AI semifinal that would be a great year and sign of good, soil progress.

Plus we have the Corofin lads to come back and strengthen the panel.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 12/03/2018 08:45:03    2083786

hard to know how Dublin and galway
will approach this game
looks like both teams are in league final
id say there will be changes to both teams
like to see varley and army get full games
hope we can lift our game again
as we will need too
we could get a nice beating
no matter what team Dublin put out
you can be sure they will maintain the high standard of football
I hope kevin walsh has a word with shane walsh
the lad is talented but would drive you mad
he tries some crazy stupid shots at times
past time for him to cop on he must be around 25 now
anyways looking forward to game
should be a big crowd of dubs in galway for weekend
im sure we will hear them long before we see them

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 12/03/2018 10:17:16    2083831

Replying To heartbroken:  "Next weeks game will tell us Notting. Dublin have to win and that's what is going to happen. Galway will rest and try out players.
The league final will give us a indicator as to how close/far Galway are from been in the top 4 championship contenders."
Why do Dublin have to win?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 12/03/2018 10:22:55    2083835

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Why do Dublin have to win?"
I think that technically Dublin not there yet as if ye lose next Sun and to Monaghan in round 7 and they win round 6 they will qualify with the head to head. Doesn't matter really. Ye will beat us next Sunday as sure KW will try squad members. We should be more competitive against ye in the final with the Corofin lads back and a full hand to pick from. The Galway support won't come out in force next Sunday given it is a nothing game to us. Plenty of ye booked in from what I hear.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 12/03/2018 10:48:24    2083847

Colm o Rourke really has issues with Tyrone now I know Galway weren't on anyone's radar last year as we weren't in div 1 but the articles he's writing basically paddy tally has ruined a great footballing county, a bit dramatic . It's been a long time since we were a great team and since he joined we've only improved. Regardless of the result Sunday we have progressed

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 12/03/2018 18:59:18    2084057

I would not say that Dublin have to win, I think we drew last time out, this might be the case again. In terms of the big picture, Dublin will be challenged by Mayo, Galway, Kerry and/or Tyrone in the Summer, not sure if I left any county out. Not sure if Dublin can be beaten, not worried if they catch up to the Kingdom's record either.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 12/03/2018 20:21:09    2084080