The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4)

Replying To Toney:  "royaldunne stop embarrassing yourself with your alter egos 'Furlong1949' and 'LiamH2000'. I'm led to believe royaldunne is not a Meath supporter and gets a kick out of pretending to be one. If you follow the Meath forum you will find this poster has little or no knowledge of football within the county. Incase you've been living under a rock for the last eight years on hoganstand, royaldunne's agenda is to back Meath to the hilt, put the players up on a pedestal (eg. Graham Reilly (although that has calmed since 2016) whereby setting them up for a big fall, it doesn't matter what state we're in or who we're playing, offer up lame excuses when we don't win, always be optimistic never the other, completely dismiss Kildare, Roscommon and Tyrone chances, give out about Dublin's resources, put down northern counties and hurling in general at every opportunity, talk about the glory years and how GG is God, his connections to Ballinabrackey and Bettystown, let everyone know he's living in Mullingar as it's an excuse for not seeing any Meath club games. I could go on..."
Also don't live IN mullingar.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2018 22:11:31    2078883

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh you conleth today not royal king lol.
No pal you mistaken me with yourself, as been one of few who use their actual name as a username Its not that difficult to find out. Im friends with ziggy on social media, he found me quite easily.
I have one account and I'd appreciate admin verifying this as they know my IP address. But then I don't really care either as you'd have to be someone or at least someone's opinion I respect to care and you in any of your many different user names don't come remotely close to that."
Remember youvrolled out Joe Blogs 10 on the Meath forum a couple of years ago? The Dublin woman married to a Meath man? Now he's back butvposts more on the Meath forum than anywhere else and only on Meath games? Bit obvioys RD

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 20/02/2018 22:16:48    2078886

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I would be grateful if you would post this.
I am not Royaldunne I am Furlong from Dunboyne. But every county need a Royaldunne. A great county man. His optimisim and passion is mighty. Keep the faith Royaldunne. Dont mind the begrudgers.

Yes Cavan and kildare are ahead of Meath they both played div 1. But some of the results contradictory. The reason for this is Meaths consistency. As McEntee build this young new team trying to get them playing a system and building up the confidence. But people are ignoring Meaths good performance. Meath seem to play for 35 mins. That is because the team is a work in progress. But when they play more consistently over the 70 mins. They win make real progress in 2 to 3 years time.
Meath very good performances v Galway Roscommon Donegal Cork and Clare have been totally ignored. They are not Dublin. But the above counties belong to a group of new up and coming young teams who have little in between the them. Galway are ahead of the pack at the monent. But Gakway Roscommon kildare Donegal Tipp Meath are all young and upcoming teams
Meath have beaten Galway last year and drew the year before. Meath have played Galway 5 times in league and championship in the last 6 years. Meath have lost once. Kildare played Galway twice last year and lost both games. But Meath were undefeated v Galway in 2 in the last two years. Surely kildare should be beating Galway if Meath can.
Are Roscommon better then Cava . I would say most people would day If you say yes, definatly at tge start of the league. Well Meath have played Roscommon 3 times in the last year . ( 2 challenge games and a league game ). Meath were undefeated with 2 wins and draw v Rossies.
Meath went toe to toe with Donegal last year and where knocked out of the championship by div 1 team. Kildare were knocked out of the championship by div 3 team. Since the win over Meath kildare have lost 8 games in a row. Kildare lost to longford in the Byrne cup. A week later Meath defeated Longford in the Byrne cup.

Cavan drew Clare. So surely Clare should probaly beat Meath. Meath defeated Clare by 12 points in Ennis last year ( no one beats Clare by 12 points in Ennis in recent times). And Meath defeated Clare by 14 points this year. Yet Cavan could only draw with Clare a team that Meath defeated by an aggregate of 26 points in 1 year.
Meath drew with Roscommon in Roscommon and drew with Cork in Cork. Surely Cavan should be both be beaten these teams in the next few weeks if neither could beat Meath.
The results are contradictory. What it proves is Meath are not as bad as people want and need them to be be. Kildare and Cavan are ahead of Meath but not as big a gap as people think. People concentrate on Mesth loses to Cavsn and kildare abd yet ignore the vast majority of strong performances under McEntee in games V Galway Roscommon Cork Donegal Clare Louth ( a record 27 points scored ). And also great wins v Fermangh and Derry. Since Meath v kildare leinster semi final kildare have played 8 ganes and lost 8 times twice to div 3 teams. Meath have played 9 games with 6 wins 1 draw and two loses. No lose to any div 3. Meath have improved kildare have gone back. The results are there to see.."
Thank you furlong, I don't know how stupid someone would need to be to think you and I are same person, it's quite funny in a way, you just know they not the sharpest tool in the box. However I would never even try to pretend I would have as much knowledge as yourself when it comes to Meath football, you are a encyclopaedia and one I very much enjoy readin. Keep up the great work, you are a credit to Meath.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2018 22:27:19    2078890

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. No I'm just me always have been always will be. I have no other accounts, furlong is a great read even if at times a very long one. I doubt you ever have been to a Meath match unless it's to support your own county. Which is definitely not Meath. I'm a born ballinabrackey man. (Now without using google find that parish) in later years work and a young woman took me to bettystown where I grew immensely fond of and return regularly, I have a great affection to cilles club and had a great journey last year with them I hope the bracks will do same this year. Now if you haven't googled it yet, ballinabrackey is in Meath but is 5 miles from kinnegad one way in westmeath, borders Offaly closer depending on where you are, and is 7 miles from Kildare, the pitch in ballinabrackey is called boyne park but is not actually in ballinabrackey, it's in castle Jordan , incidentally so is the national school which is st kiarans , I have for a long time lived worked and indeed coached football in westmeath, I'm married to a Dublin woman.
And I am not either who you blatantly lied and said I was. Actually lad you are embarrassing yourself by saying it, I'm glad you nothing got to do with Meath"
If from ballnabracky and moved to bettystown for the missus sake I presume you would have played your underage and any football with ballinabracky...
How in the name of god could any man be so at home in a club they transferred too as you are I call bull straight away. As a die hard gaa man not for rihanna would I ever switch club loyalties. Stop pretending who you are man. No way could I ever shout for another club in my county the way you do about biggy and the boys and claim not to still live in the area as you "live in westmeath now

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/02/2018 22:27:26    2078891

Right this has got way out of hand. So I'll just say that Cavan people don't hate Meath football, indeed no county hates any other county. Hate is a stupid word to use.

Also when one team beats another team, 99/100 it's because they're the better team. The 1/100 being for example the 2010 Leinster Final :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 21/02/2018 10:09:22    2078935

Replying To Breffni39:  "Right this has got way out of hand. So I'll just say that Cavan people don't hate Meath football, indeed no county hates any other county. Hate is a stupid word to use.

Also when one team beats another team, 99/100 it's because they're the better team. The 1/100 being for example the 2010 Leinster Final :)"
Ah Bref don't mention the war.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/02/2018 10:21:38    2078937

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I would be grateful if you would post this.
I am not Royaldunne I am Furlong from Dunboyne. But every county need a Royaldunne. A great county man. His optimisim and passion is mighty. Keep the faith Royaldunne. Dont mind the begrudgers.

Yes Cavan and kildare are ahead of Meath they both played div 1. But some of the results contradictory. The reason for this is Meaths consistency. As McEntee build this young new team trying to get them playing a system and building up the confidence. But people are ignoring Meaths good performance. Meath seem to play for 35 mins. That is because the team is a work in progress. But when they play more consistently over the 70 mins. They win make real progress in 2 to 3 years time.
Meath very good performances v Galway Roscommon Donegal Cork and Clare have been totally ignored. They are not Dublin. But the above counties belong to a group of new up and coming young teams who have little in between the them. Galway are ahead of the pack at the monent. But Gakway Roscommon kildare Donegal Tipp Meath are all young and upcoming teams
Meath have beaten Galway last year and drew the year before. Meath have played Galway 5 times in league and championship in the last 6 years. Meath have lost once. Kildare played Galway twice last year and lost both games. But Meath were undefeated v Galway in 2 in the last two years. Surely kildare should be beating Galway if Meath can.
Are Roscommon better then Cava . I would say most people would day If you say yes, definatly at tge start of the league. Well Meath have played Roscommon 3 times in the last year . ( 2 challenge games and a league game ). Meath were undefeated with 2 wins and draw v Rossies.
Meath went toe to toe with Donegal last year and where knocked out of the championship by div 1 team. Kildare were knocked out of the championship by div 3 team. Since the win over Meath kildare have lost 8 games in a row. Kildare lost to longford in the Byrne cup. A week later Meath defeated Longford in the Byrne cup.

Cavan drew Clare. So surely Clare should probaly beat Meath. Meath defeated Clare by 12 points in Ennis last year ( no one beats Clare by 12 points in Ennis in recent times). And Meath defeated Clare by 14 points this year. Yet Cavan could only draw with Clare a team that Meath defeated by an aggregate of 26 points in 1 year.
Meath drew with Roscommon in Roscommon and drew with Cork in Cork. Surely Cavan should be both be beaten these teams in the next few weeks if neither could beat Meath.
The results are contradictory. What it proves is Meath are not as bad as people want and need them to be be. Kildare and Cavan are ahead of Meath but not as big a gap as people think. People concentrate on Mesth loses to Cavsn and kildare abd yet ignore the vast majority of strong performances under McEntee in games V Galway Roscommon Cork Donegal Clare Louth ( a record 27 points scored ). And also great wins v Fermangh and Derry. Since Meath v kildare leinster semi final kildare have played 8 ganes and lost 8 times twice to div 3 teams. Meath have played 9 games with 6 wins 1 draw and two loses. No lose to any div 3. Meath have improved kildare have gone back. The results are there to see.."
Furlong you conveniently forget to point out one thing. Kildare have been operating against teams at a higher level than Meath for the majority of those eight games you mention. Indeed two of those games were against Dublin. Meath haven't been playing the class of team Kildare have been playing. You can discount the OB simply because nobody takes it to be more than a training exercise although it's amazing how important it's suddenly become since Meath made the final. The one real blip was against Armagh, I have no problem in saying that. As far as our league form goes, maybe the fact it's 12 years since Meath have been in div 1 they have forgotten the level of the teams in it. As even a few neutral posters have said in here Kildare could just as easily have 4 points as no points at the minute but the experience will only bring these lads on. So come back to us when Meath have made a Leinster Final and played a few games in div 1 and then and only then can we truly compare notes. Otherwise you are busy comparing apples and oranges.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 21/02/2018 11:01:46    2078949

admins really need to get on top of this sort of rubbish. On some threads innocuous comments don't make it through and then others are let descend to this level of farce. A serious clean-up is needed on this thread to get it back on track or else just shut it down as a waste of time.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 21/02/2018 12:31:22    2078964

Replying To Greenfield:  "admins really need to get on top of this sort of rubbish. On some threads innocuous comments don't make it through and then others are let descend to this level of farce. A serious clean-up is needed on this thread to get it back on track or else just shut it down as a waste of time."
I agree Greenfield but please admin can you me allow me to say a few words to Furlong1949 before getting this thread back on track? I apologise Furlong1949 for accusing you of being a fake poster however there is no doubting that you are also LiamH2000! I do admire your enthusiasm but try not to turn every thread on the national forum into a debate about Meath. St Conleth is right you know a lot about Meath football whereas Royaldunne pretends he does with the help of google (had to laugh at his geography lesson on Ballinabrackey, ahem, google again). He says he doesn't live in Mullingar. Ok I worded it wrongly, he lives in rural Mullingar. Before the SImonstown v St Loman's game he was bladdering on about John Heslin and how he lives up the road and helps him load lambs (royaldunne thought him everything he knows).

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 21/02/2018 13:34:22    2078977

Replying To Greenfield:  "admins really need to get on top of this sort of rubbish. On some threads innocuous comments don't make it through and then others are let descend to this level of farce. A serious clean-up is needed on this thread to get it back on track or else just shut it down as a waste of time."
Well said, lets stick to the football, it has gotten way to personal.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 21/02/2018 14:16:48    2078988

This will be my last post on this matter and this thread
1 I enjoy this forum immensely. I check it everyday. And I find the discussions at times informative entertaining and excellent anyalsis of whatever is going down in the gaa world. Many a time I have spent an hour or two engrossed in 10 or 20 pages discussion on the latest gaa story on this forum. There are many great gaels on this forum with some great wisdom insights and information. But
And yes there is a but it can be a bit like a school yard playground. And when it starts going down the road of namecalling etc. It just gets boring really. But I do believe the Meath lads on this forum do get a hard time. When a Meath supporter says anything as sure as night follows day a Kildare Cavan Dublin and of course Tyrone supporters follow up with a put down or negative comment v Meath. I remeber a couple of months ago Meath fans where saying they were confident. One after another person told them they were to positive on the forum. A month or 2 later Meath fans said they were negative about Meath chances. They were accused of being to pessimistic and defeatist, we cannot win.

Usually when someone has said Cavan or kildare dont dislike Meath they have followed it up with a good dig afterwards about the royals. 2010 final is always brought up. Not 91 or meaths great players or Sean Boylan no. If I was paid a euro everytime a Cavan kildare or Dub has brought up the 2010 leinster final and followed it up with a diatribe v Meath football , I would be a very rich man. It happened. We will live it. But its just another thing to throw at us Meath in a long list of insults.

Its probaly a reflection that there is an anti Meath bias in the gaa world anyway. No county has more football rivals on it doorstep. And when we defeated teams in 80s and 90s eg Cork Mayo Tyrone. Teams could accept defeats from kerry Dublin Cork Galway. All world famous counties , counties with massive stature in Irish society. But when counties r beaten by Meath they saw an average midlands county in Irish society and where less likely to accept defeat. Its not just Meath, look at the reaction to Galway hurlers in the 80s , Clare hurlers in the 90s and Tyrone footballers in the 00s and Donegal in this decade. Donegal win an All Ireland with blanket defence in 2012, its the end of the world as we know it. Kerry do the same in 2014, no one bats an eyelid.

2 I know hate is a strong word. When someone says they had had bad experiences and others respond you haven't, my response is how is a kildare or a Cavan supporter no what any Meath supporter has gone through. They dont. The same way I dont know what a Cavan supporter gone through. Truthfully yes from 30 years following Meath I would say hate or at least border line hate has been the reaction of neighbouring fans, many a Kildare and Cavan complete strangers have told me to my fave they hate Meath. Yes and that has come from Cavan kildare Dublin and louth fans. Its ebbed and flowed.

For example Cork fans hated Meath in the 80s. I think most Cork fans would admit that and have done so to my face. The same with Tyrone. Every single Tyrone supporter I met has brought 96 and its alway the same auld story . I would say Tyrone also hated Meath over 1 game. And yes the Dubs in the 80s and 90s hated us also. It was said the Dubs hated REM. Not the band but Rangers England and Meath. Thats my experience. I cannot pretend otherwise. And it quite noticeable not one Meath supporter has come on the forum and disagreed regards kildare and Cavans feeling towards Meath. If you followed Meath for 30 years you know what peoples viewpoint of Meath. Because they tell u in no certain terms.

3 In terms of kildare and Meath. Yes kildare have played a couple of div 1 teams more then Meath. But Meath did play Galway Roscommon and Donegal. And only lost in injury time to Donegal. I feel since Dublin final last July kildare have not kicked on. It would be great for leinster football if kildare could stay in div 1 and give Dublin a real proper contest in the summer. But they need to start winning games. A 3rd relegation in 5 years is no good. My believe is O Neill is a excellent coach. But coaches dont make good manager's. I think Glen Ryan is the man to push kildare onto the bezt level. He was proper warrior on the field. These young talented kildare footballers are lacking belief. Glen Ryan manager with Johnny Doyle and Dermot Earley as selectors kildare will go places. Regards Cavan , there Ulster title in this Cavan team and it would be a pity if they dont achieve that. Cavan have huge potential also. I just think Meath also have potential. We dont have the underage sucess of Cavan or kildare but we do have a set of young good footballers and best manager we have had since Boylan. The next few years will be fascinating to see who will make the breakthrough.

So I will leave it there. I do apologise to one and all if hi jacked the thread and no disrespect to our neighbours, we all could have some exciting years to look forward to with these young up coming team in Meath kildare abd Cavan. Well Toney you did uncover my evil twin KevinH. Hes grumpier version of me. Hes nothing but trouble. Anyway apologies for the long winded messages. I dont seem to be like the rest of you guys and write concise and short messages. I will take a break for a while. But keep up the lively discussion it a great auld spot this forum with many great gaels with lots to say.
PS Meath leinster champions 2021

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/02/2018 15:32:39    2079007

I know my last message was to long I sent on the forum but it will be my last message on the topic. If you could post it would be great. Thanks again.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/02/2018 15:34:15    2079008

Furlong, you'll find if you don't take yourself so seriously, nothing really matters and you're getting yourself worked up over nothing. Nobody is as bothered about Meath football as you believe them to be. It's all just standard GAA rivalry and Meath are not a special case any different to any other county.

Meath Leinster Champions 2021

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 21/02/2018 15:51:27    2079011

Replying To Breffni39:  "Right this has got way out of hand. So I'll just say that Cavan people don't hate Meath football, indeed no county hates any other county. Hate is a stupid word to use.

Also when one team beats another team, 99/100 it's because they're the better team. The 1/100 being for example the 2010 Leinster Final :)"
How are ye boys fixed for Sunday? Our level of performance shown against Louth two weeks ago won't be good enough to win this one. Aidan Walsh was due back from his club commitments but he has unfortunately picked up an injury. A bad blow as midfield appears to be where we are at our weakest.

Motte (Cork) - Posts: 48 - 21/02/2018 15:57:05    2079014

Replying To Breffni39:  "Furlong, you'll find if you don't take yourself so seriously, nothing really matters and you're getting yourself worked up over nothing. Nobody is as bothered about Meath football as you believe them to be. It's all just standard GAA rivalry and Meath are not a special case any different to any other county.

Meath Leinster Champions 2021"
Fair enough point taken Breffni39. No more long winded messages. Apologies for any hi jacking the thread. The floor js all yours now guys. Furlong1949 has left the building.

PS Cavan Ulster Champions 2020
Meath leinster Champions 2021
Kildare leinster Champions 2022

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/02/2018 16:24:03    2079020

Very true. 12 games next weekend seem to have been forgotten about

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 21/02/2018 16:27:24    2079021

As the initiator of this Thread I am disgusted at the manner of some of the replyies being allowed posted here....TRIPE! (Said tongue in cheek btw, but still a little peeved) Grand initially a bit of cross border banter but seriously, and its the Meath posters mainly, lads...Calm down!!! ******ADMIN****** Can we make sure that after this weekends games all posts that get uploaded are match/League/Fixture related! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 21/02/2018 17:01:32    2079029

I think if Furlong1949 has an alter ego surely it's Columbo...'just one more thing'....

(It's a joke to lighten the mood a bit before anyone launches into me!!)

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 21/02/2018 17:14:00    2079036

Cork v Cavan predictions?
Tipp v Meath predictions?

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 22/02/2018 10:28:09    2079162

Replying To KildareKelly:  "I think if Furlong1949 has an alter ego surely it's Columbo...'just one more thing'....

(It's a joke to lighten the mood a bit before anyone launches into me!!)"
ha ha that's brilliant.... just one more thing

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 22/02/2018 10:51:41    2079166