Meath 2018

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Players Views??? This is a view by a westmeath has been...Come on Royaldunne..The break does no Harm"
Westmeath has been? Jesus man do you know who he is?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 16:15:09    2096917

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Players Views??? This is a view by a westmeath has been...Come on Royaldunne..The break does no Harm"
Since when has been one of the greatest midfielders in game today and been only 25 been considered a has been? I assume you mixing him up with another Westmeath player? Is Reilly keoghan menton has been?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 16:17:38    2096918

Replying To leftandwide:  "Westmeath has been??? Christ...."
I'm assuming graham has mixed him up with another player. It's the only logical explanation, calling a 25 yo a has been

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 16:18:46    2096919

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm assuming graham has mixed him up with another player. It's the only logical explanation, calling a 25 yo a has been"
Hope your right because otherwise its just plain stupid

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 06/05/2018 17:12:03    2096923

Replying To leftandwide:  "Hope your right because otherwise its just plain stupid"
Lol. Ahh now we have our disagreements, but I'm sure maybe he thinking of a past player.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 18:42:17    2096936

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lol. Ahh now we have our disagreements, but I'm sure maybe he thinking of a past player."
Even this got 3 thumbs down for some season ha..yeah I did mistake him..thanks my old pal for sticking up for me :)

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 07/05/2018 10:35:36    2097027

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Even this got 3 thumbs down for some season ha..yeah I did mistake him..thanks my old pal for sticking up for me :)"
Ahh if I don't get lots of thumbs down I'm not happy :).
I partly guessed it was another player you were thinking of.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/05/2018 11:31:34    2097039

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Even this got 3 thumbs down for some season ha..yeah I did mistake him..thanks my old pal for sticking up for me :)"
My apologies. All make mistakes

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 07/05/2018 11:46:58    2097045

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Firstly Thanks for the kind words MeathWawa, Ollie, Glasgowroyal, Bert09, Grahamc9897, Longfordbaz and a special thanks to Royaldunne.

Ollie the player name I got mixed up according to Dundalk local newspaper its Patrick Reilly who left the louth panel recently.

Another little stat of the 10 players called up to Cork and Galway teams from Clubs finalist Nemo and Corofin. Only 4 of the 10 players from both clubs accepted to play for Cork and Galway senior panels this year. It says allot when only 4 out of 10 of the best club footballers in the country wouldnt accept the invitation to play inter county this year for traditional superpowers like Galway and Cork.

For me , Sorry again for taking over the thread, I just wanted to say, I personally would rather be a daily observer of the forum then a participate. The forum works best for myself when I write now and again rather then continually. Its not because of some negative comments. Definatly no issue with that. Its more I start of with some decent contributions but then Im answering everyone and probaly my messages r a little all over the gaff and becomes less enjoyable for myself to write . But I just havent really got to grips with internet forums whatsoever and the best way for myself is to contribute the odd time when I believe there is something worthwhile to say. I hope that makes senses and sorry for being a bit self absorbed and talking about myself.

You see this forum its senior football , ur playing senior hurling when you put urs boots on to play here . And while Im capable of the odd flashs and moments of good play, Im not cut out for the rough and tumble of senior hurling yet. To inconsistent, I blow to hot and cold. So if I get a couple months hard training I might be able to step up to senior some day. So for now I will contribute now and again but watch and read daily. I cannot go day without a read up on the lastest chat and talk gossip from the Hogan Stand Meath community.
Anyway Im sure that is clear as mud. Thanks again for the nice comments guys, I really appreciate it , your all gentleman.

Keep the faith, I believe we r 24 months away from were we want to be. We just have to stick with it, through the bad and good performances and the current mangement and players like Keoghan McGill the McEntee the Wallaces Menton Rooney Sullivan kennelly Flanagan Reilly lenihan Mckeever McMahon and players from our current and recent U17 minor and U20 teams have years of football left in them. If we dont suceed we dont. The train will leave the station every year , the championship happens every year for decades to come. And then its up to the next generation of young Meath footballers to stand up and knock the Dubs from their perch. It will happen again, its what we do better then anything else , knocking Dublin from their perch. It defines who we are and what we stand for and where we came from and where we are going

So it is not the end , this is the beginning. We have extraordinary ability as a county to reinvent ourselves and have a long long tradition, history of being in really bad places and Dublin being superstrong and then suddenly miraculously coming from nowhere and knocking them from perch. If this generation can tap into that belief system and true hardcore values of Meath football and just believe in themselves more, we could do it again. There is serious lack of believe in young Meath footballers at the moment but if they can just find that old Meath self confidence , self belief, swagger , touch of arrogance, Im not scared of any county Dublin or Kerry or anyone atitude . If they can just find the passion, the never say die passion and the believe displayed in the 1991 4 games or the 1970 leinster final or the breakthrough years of 1947 1964 1986 and 1996 or the swashbuckling semi finals of 1966 and 96 and 2001 and the great national wins of 1949 67 75 88 and 99. If we could just tap into that again, we will have on our hands the most difficult opponent in gaelic football, for the most difficult opponent in gaelic football is a Meath footballer with a never say die spirit, buckets of passion and fire in their bellys and a fierce drive hunger and determination that would knock a nation of opponent players right off their feet. Its happened before, surely it can happen again.

Meath leinster Football Champions 2021."
Ah no probs Furlong. Yes Paddy Reilly will be a loss to the Wee County. Him along with James Stewart and Conall McKeever opted off the Louth panel this year. Considering wee lost from last year the players of Adrian Reid, Padraig Rath, Derek Crilly, Pepe Smith, James Califf, Eoin O Connor, Kevin Carr and Ruairi Moore that's 11 players altogether that could not commit for one reason or another.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 08/05/2018 18:29:11    2097360

Assume the championship panel will be finalised after this weekend? It probably picks itself at this stage.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 10/05/2018 18:20:20    2097947

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Assume the championship panel will be finalised after this weekend? It probably picks itself at this stage."
Yeah. I'd say there is about 5 panel places up for grabs that's it, team I'd say picks itself. I think we could all make a stab at it and get 13/15

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2018 21:16:54    2097980

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah. I'd say there is about 5 panel places up for grabs that's it, team I'd say picks itself. I think we could all make a stab at it and get 13/15"
Who would u pick..

I Fancy

1.Colgan
2.Burke
3.McGill
4.Lavin
5.J McEntee
6.Keoghan
7.McEntee
8.Menton
9.Flanagan
10.Wallace
11.Kennelly
12.OSullivan
13.Reilly
14.Lenihan
15.t Reilly

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 10/05/2018 22:38:45    2097987

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Who would u pick..

I Fancy

1.Colgan
2.Burke
3.McGill
4.Lavin
5.J McEntee
6.Keoghan
7.McEntee
8.Menton
9.Flanagan
10.Wallace
11.Kennelly
12.OSullivan
13.Reilly
14.Lenihan
15.t Reilly"
I'd personally have Curren for Burke, Kennelly for Flanagan and Cian O Brien wing forward

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/05/2018 01:41:31    2098006

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Who would u pick..

I Fancy

1.Colgan
2.Burke
3.McGill
4.Lavin
5.J McEntee
6.Keoghan
7.McEntee
8.Menton
9.Flanagan
10.Wallace
11.Kennelly
12.OSullivan
13.Reilly
14.Lenihan
15.t Reilly"
I think it's pretty close. The only thing I think might change is I have a feeling it will be Kennelly who partner menton.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2018 08:10:58    2098016

My starting team would be:

1. Andy Colgan
2. Sean Curran
3. Conor McGill
4. Seamus Lavin
5. James McEntee
6. Donal Keogan
7. Shane McEntee
8. Bryan Menton
9. Paddy Kennelly
10. Eamon Wallace
11. Joey Wallace
12. Graham Reilly
13. Thomas O'Reilly
14. Cillian O'Sullivan
15. Donal Lenihan

We still have a good starting 15, it is the bench that has been left short of options with the defections of Tobin, McKeever and Conlon. McKeever and Tobin probably would have started which is why I find there decision to walk away just before championship all the more baffling and disappointing.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 11/05/2018 08:37:11    2098020

Replying To BigJoe14:  "My starting team would be:

1. Andy Colgan
2. Sean Curran
3. Conor McGill
4. Seamus Lavin
5. James McEntee
6. Donal Keogan
7. Shane McEntee
8. Bryan Menton
9. Paddy Kennelly
10. Eamon Wallace
11. Joey Wallace
12. Graham Reilly
13. Thomas O'Reilly
14. Cillian O'Sullivan
15. Donal Lenihan

We still have a good starting 15, it is the bench that has been left short of options with the defections of Tobin, McKeever and Conlon. McKeever and Tobin probably would have started which is why I find there decision to walk away just before championship all the more baffling and disappointing."
Looks good to me, i would have Biggy @ 13 and O'Reilly @ 12.
I am fairly disappointed in Tobin to be honest but sure look maybe he has personal reasons, McKeever aswell. Cant imagine either running to the papers to spill why they left so we will just have to carry on regardless.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/05/2018 09:39:35    2098038

'We still have a good starting 15, it is the bench that has been left short of options with the defections of Tobin, McKeever and Conlon. McKeever and Tobin probably would have started which is why I find there decision to walk away just before championship all the more baffling and disappointing'.
BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 299 - 11/05/2018 08:37:11

You obviously watch very little football inside the county to come up with that opinion, or maybe the blinkers are on!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/05/2018 13:40:07    2098747

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 299 - 11/05/2018 08:37:11
Apology to Bigjoe14- mis-read your post and though you were slating the players who left which you did not do. I always support players who are still committed and the ones who have left for whatever reason. It is better for a player to leave if he cannot give the commitment required than hang on for the sake of staying.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/05/2018 14:05:23    2098826

Replying To browncows:  "BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 299 - 11/05/2018 08:37:11
Apology to Bigjoe14- mis-read your post and though you were slating the players who left which you did not do. I always support players who are still committed and the ones who have left for whatever reason. It is better for a player to leave if he cannot give the commitment required than hang on for the sake of staying."
Indeed I agree. That's why so many are annoyed with media man. Stayed when he offered nothing but negativity. Bad decision on that persons part.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2018 18:12:00    2099552

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Looks good to me, i would have Biggy @ 13 and O'Reilly @ 12.
I am fairly disappointed in Tobin to be honest but sure look maybe he has personal reasons, McKeever aswell. Cant imagine either running to the papers to spill why they left so we will just have to carry on regardless."
Look lads the 3 Simonstown lads are off to Canada and USA for summer... Not Andy's fault and they lads went with a heavy heart I'm told... We will see them again in green jerseys!! Just too good of opportunity's to turn down as young men

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 11/05/2018 22:25:13    2099750