Andy Moran

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "He's a player I'd love to see win a Celtic cross after all the years he's battled for one, seems a nice fella too, Jim Gavin could pick up a few tips from him on how to speak to the media."
Moran classy opperator on and off the pitch , unknown quantity as an operator as a coach two completely different worlds

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/09/2017 23:05:10    2050858

Replying To endgame:  "Mayo shouldn't be far away next year but it is hard to keep getting back in to Finals after losing so many.It does look on the face of it like Dublin and Mayo again next year but another team may come out of the pack.Mayo are the best team in Connacht by a distance but they've lost the last 2 Connacht championships probably because they trained to peak in August /September rather than earlier in the Summer."
But they should be able to train to peak twice a year like many teams. Too many games next year won't help i feel.

I know this will sound disrespectful to Roscommon and Galway but i don't think ye can take on the Dubs. I know you (Ros) have a lot of players to come back.

The team that will emerge from the pack will be Kerry i'd say! They just know how to win all-irelands. To win in 2014 with an average, by Kerry's standards, team.

If Dublin do 4 in a row fair play to them. It's going to be tough next year.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 27/09/2017 00:12:24    2050877

Fair play to him, he is dead right, screw age, he'll be retired long enough and he is after having his best season in a Mayo shirt so hopefully, he has plenty more in the tank next year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 27/09/2017 01:27:37    2050880

In the form of his life why would he not be playing next year. These Mayo players have great resolve and resilience including Andy and give 2 fat fingers up to the certain sections of the biased media who have nothing better to do than write about players from certain counties in or around the age of 30 who should be retiring or retiring soon. From a Donegal perspective it was not just the media but management using the same excuse especially when it came to progressing through the qualifiers after not obtaining an Ulster championship. So here is hoping Andy plays just as well next year along with players of the same ilk in Colm Boyle and Keith Higgins who continue to show that age is no barometer. Manage these players correctly and no reason why they cannot play well into their mid thirties.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 27/09/2017 02:16:16    2050884

Hurt is the best Driver, fair play to Andy, though as A passionate Galway supporter I hope we become the best chance of bringing Sam back over the Shannon.

Notwithstanding Anyone who has played sport and understand the commitment and pain that goes into competing at the top level would not begrudge Mayo winning an All Ireland

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 27/09/2017 07:24:27    2050900

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "He's a player I'd love to see win a Celtic cross after all the years he's battled for one, seems a nice fella too, Jim Gavin could pick up a few tips from him on how to speak to the media."
Jim Gavin is well aware of how to speak to the media !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2017 07:32:35    2050902

Replying To TheUsername:  "Great news, he has just had his best year for me, sure why should he.

I often read posters on here wanting young players blooded or are quick to write of players who are 30 or over. This year arguably the most important players for the last four were:

Mayo: Moran (33)
Dublin: Cluxton (35)
Tyrone: S. Kavanagh (34)
Kerry: Donaghy (34)

Fair play to these lads for the longevity of their careers and the continued impact they make, maybe the new norm with advances in sports science is players playing longer. You have to admire the continued sacrifices."
Hate to say it but Cavanagh was far from a key player to Tyrone this year. The six lads nominated for All Stars were the real backbone of the team along with a few others.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 27/09/2017 10:18:58    2050929

On OTB last night great interview interesting how he struggles big time with confidence the week of a big game and how his family are all Roscommon Gaels people but he's proud to play for Mayo being a Roscommon man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/09/2017 10:43:49    2050942

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He was limping and not running as much as he was, as in multiple runs to get away from marker. Had signalled initially that he was injured and then again before he went off. He said he never had a hamstring tear so didn't really realise that is was that bad. He just knew something was wrong and the time was right to take him off."
If you had ever torn a hamstring you'd know that even limping would be a struggle, plus you then go on to laugh at people who gave out about the management on the sideline ???? you stated he was on the pitch for 15 mins with the injury. In a game of very small margins why did it take so long to replace him...

Robroy1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 121 - 27/09/2017 11:38:07    2050959

He was never gonna retire in fairness.

Has it ever happened that the Footballer/Hurler of the Year has retired straight after winning?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13719 - 27/09/2017 11:46:52    2050960

Replying To Robroy1:  "If you had ever torn a hamstring you'd know that even limping would be a struggle, plus you then go on to laugh at people who gave out about the management on the sideline ???? you stated he was on the pitch for 15 mins with the injury. In a game of very small margins why did it take so long to replace him..."
lol nobody can do right by you so if that's the case. Ya I do laugh. People on here gave out that he was taken off at all and you come back with this rubbish? Andy said himself he didn't know it was a tear as he never had one. He was still able to run certain ways but was in pain. I didn't think it was a serious injury but I knew he was struggling. I'm sure the management were hoping it wasn't a tear so left him on as long as they could. Pretty straightforward really, maybe not for you as you clearly no better.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 27/09/2017 12:02:32    2050968

Replying To TheFlaker:  "lol nobody can do right by you so if that's the case. Ya I do laugh. People on here gave out that he was taken off at all and you come back with this rubbish? Andy said himself he didn't know it was a tear as he never had one. He was still able to run certain ways but was in pain. I didn't think it was a serious injury but I knew he was struggling. I'm sure the management were hoping it wasn't a tear so left him on as long as they could. Pretty straightforward really, maybe not for you as you clearly no better."
yeah it is pretty straight forward if you take your blinkers off for a second, by your account he did not know it was torn but knew something was wrong and had signaled to be taken off but yet it took 15 minutes... I have every admiration for Andy he had a great year but a player at any age with limited movement in an all Ireland final of that pace was just mental. These are your descriptions by the way "he knew something was wrong" "limited movement".. and yes i obviously do know more than you about hamstrings if you think he torn it but continued on for 15 mins, look at mccaffery he was done the minute his injury happened and Mayo pay massive money to a big medical staff with gps systems to monitor all distances and pace off the mark , laughable for you to suggest they were seeing if he could run it off , those days are long gone

Robroy1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 121 - 27/09/2017 12:46:48    2050985

Replying To TheFlaker:  "lol nobody can do right by you so if that's the case. Ya I do laugh. People on here gave out that he was taken off at all and you come back with this rubbish? Andy said himself he didn't know it was a tear as he never had one. He was still able to run certain ways but was in pain. I didn't think it was a serious injury but I knew he was struggling. I'm sure the management were hoping it wasn't a tear so left him on as long as they could. Pretty straightforward really, maybe not for you as you clearly no better."
Could you provide a link confirming any of this?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/09/2017 12:55:23    2050988

Can you provide a link confirming any of this?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/09/2017 12:56:57    2050989

Replying To Robroy1:  "yeah it is pretty straight forward if you take your blinkers off for a second, by your account he did not know it was torn but knew something was wrong and had signaled to be taken off but yet it took 15 minutes... I have every admiration for Andy he had a great year but a player at any age with limited movement in an all Ireland final of that pace was just mental. These are your descriptions by the way "he knew something was wrong" "limited movement".. and yes i obviously do know more than you about hamstrings if you think he torn it but continued on for 15 mins, look at mccaffery he was done the minute his injury happened and Mayo pay massive money to a big medical staff with gps systems to monitor all distances and pace off the mark , laughable for you to suggest they were seeing if he could run it off , those days are long gone"
He didn't signal 15 minutes beforehand by the way, so we can forget that. Of course you can monitor his movement but the last straw would be taking him off as they did. Hindsight is great considering all the lads on here and in the media who didn't seem to notice his day was done. You are a gas man I assume you were on here afterwards saying how you couldn't believe they left Moran on? Nah didn't think so. I'll say it again. I like many supporters could tell he was not comfortable but that was only less than 5 minutes before he came off. Their best player unless it was really clear he had zero to add you are not gonna just whip him off straight away especially if he is saying he can give a few more mins. Hilarious the armchair managers on here with all the answers after the event.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 27/09/2017 13:27:27    2051007

Replying To the_walls:  "Can you provide a link confirming any of this?"
Google.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 27/09/2017 13:29:01    2051008

F**k the media. He gave a genuine talk to a school in Clondalkin the other day, the footage was online. He was addressing children and that's exactly how big shots in the game should sound when keeping the game alive and interesting to the young ones.

As for Andy Moran, looks like he'll get POTY and he deserves it. To receive such an accolade so late in his career will take some repeating a year down the road. But he's some man for one man and he definitely should give it a go.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 27/09/2017 14:33:42    2051033

Replying To realdub:  "F**k the media. He gave a genuine talk to a school in Clondalkin the other day, the footage was online. He was addressing children and that's exactly how big shots in the game should sound when keeping the game alive and interesting to the young ones.

As for Andy Moran, looks like he'll get POTY and he deserves it. To receive such an accolade so late in his career will take some repeating a year down the road. But he's some man for one man and he definitely should give it a go."
Listen this Jim Gavin thing is beyond tiring now. He puts on act and doesn't let the mask slip on the sideline. That's his choice. And if they keep winning who cares what the media think?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 27/09/2017 15:04:24    2051050

I have the utmost respect for Andy Moran and think he is a great footballer with a great attitude but the plaudits he is receiving this week for not retiring are way over the top.

Here is a man at the top of his game, doing something that he loves, representing people who love him and would never say a bad thing about him. He is receiving the very best treatment and benefits, while doors are opening for him that may never have opened if he didn't play football for Mayo. He is probably about to win the Player of the Year!! Let me state he is fully deserving of all that he has received.

For me the real heroes are the lads (and ladies) who are still plugging away at their clubs just so that their club can turn a team out. Or those intercounty footballers playing for counties that will never get to play football in August, not to mind September. The same lads that are getting dogs abuse for trying their best. A lot of the time, the actual benefits are few and far between. A lot of the time it's pure love of the game, local passion and / or a fear of retirement that is driving them.

Nothing against Andy. I wish him the best for next year but all those showering him with plaudits might look closer to home and pay some due respect to the other heroes that make up the GAA.

SallinsMan (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 27/09/2017 15:13:14    2051055

Replying To SallinsMan:  "I have the utmost respect for Andy Moran and think he is a great footballer with a great attitude but the plaudits he is receiving this week for not retiring are way over the top.

Here is a man at the top of his game, doing something that he loves, representing people who love him and would never say a bad thing about him. He is receiving the very best treatment and benefits, while doors are opening for him that may never have opened if he didn't play football for Mayo. He is probably about to win the Player of the Year!! Let me state he is fully deserving of all that he has received.

For me the real heroes are the lads (and ladies) who are still plugging away at their clubs just so that their club can turn a team out. Or those intercounty footballers playing for counties that will never get to play football in August, not to mind September. The same lads that are getting dogs abuse for trying their best. A lot of the time, the actual benefits are few and far between. A lot of the time it's pure love of the game, local passion and / or a fear of retirement that is driving them.

Nothing against Andy. I wish him the best for next year but all those showering him with plaudits might look closer to home and pay some due respect to the other heroes that make up the GAA."
Lol I was simply stating it is great news for Mayo for next year, so other posters are simply stating the same. The thread is about Andy Moran playing for another year and how significant it is for Mayo. Not really a thread designed to debate who the stalwarts are within our communities. Dramatic much?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 27/09/2017 16:10:37    2051073