The Super 8

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just on another point, it also safeguards against being in a province with a behemoth of a team like a Kerry and Dublin who pretty much have dominated their provinces every year, Tipp, Kildare, Clare, Cork, Meath and Westmeath all have a fighting chance and a reasonable expectation of making the later end of the championship regardless of results against a Kerry or Dublin."
Does it tho?

Take Tipp for example. Let's say they have a similar run to 2 years ago. They lose to Kerry, come back thru the qualifiers, but instead of beating Galway to make an all ireland semi final, they would also have to beat possibly Tyrone or Dublin.

Does it really make it easier for them? Far more chance of a "smaller" team winning a 1 off knockout quarter final than 2 super 8 games, IMO.

I think the super 8s favour the big teams in so many ways. . . .

Less chance of being caught cold and having your championship ended.

A bigger squad to deal with the extra games.

And even the possibility to rest players in the 3rd super 8 game or against a team who may have crept into the super 8s but be way off the stamdard.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/04/2018 17:06:48    2092640

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "One thing that hasnt been made clear is how many games do Dublin play in croke park ?
Its meant to be one home one away and one in croker ,seen as croke is a home ground for the dubs they must play 2 games there ?
If that's true then would be fairer them playing 1 away ,1 at home (croke park) and one at neutral venue ,won't happen tho"
Don't you know they'll get their neutral venue game in crokepark, that's a given.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/04/2018 17:15:29    2092642

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "One thing that hasnt been made clear is how many games do Dublin play in croke park ?
Its meant to be one home one away and one in croker ,seen as croke is a home ground for the dubs they must play 2 games there ?
If that's true then would be fairer them playing 1 away ,1 at home (croke park) and one at neutral venue ,won't happen tho"
I would say it is unfair mate. So lets just acknowledge that and let the thread turn into a slanging match over fiances's advantages and hurling counties. Im sure everyone is bored of that.

There is a very simple solution play the home game in Parnell Park, would be beast. It would obviously mean tickets would be at a premium, but in the interests of fairness let us have a game in the neller.

I cant see it happening though. There are premium tickets and corporate boxes sold with Dublin games in Croke Park on the tin.

Interestingly in the opposite group teams could also be playing two games in Croke Park if Kildare get there i doubt they will be playing there home games in Newbrigde.

I actually think there may be changes to the home, away games if you read the small print on the Super 8s all venues are subject to health and safety approval by the competition council. I can think of many grounds around the country that may fall short of that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/04/2018 17:43:35    2092649

Replying To keithlemon:  "On the flipside, Dublin could be playing Mayo with Mayo needing a win and the game is in Castlebar or Thurles, that makes for a fascinating contest and a great day out for all the fans
There's always going to be dead rubber matches with this set up but I think there's also the potential for some great games too"
I can assure you if mayo play Dublin in super 8s it will mean mayo didn't win Connaught so that won't go down as automatic croke park game coz the winners of each province will be the croke park game ,but that will be penciled in by the gaa as dublins home game not mayos,gaa would want another 80000 crowd if them 2 go head to head again

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 12/04/2018 17:44:10    2092650

Replying To cavanman47:  "Does it tho?

Take Tipp for example. Let's say they have a similar run to 2 years ago. They lose to Kerry, come back thru the qualifiers, but instead of beating Galway to make an all ireland semi final, they would also have to beat possibly Tyrone or Dublin.

Does it really make it easier for them? Far more chance of a "smaller" team winning a 1 off knockout quarter final than 2 super 8 games, IMO.

I think the super 8s favour the big teams in so many ways. . . .

Less chance of being caught cold and having your championship ended.

A bigger squad to deal with the extra games.

And even the possibility to rest players in the 3rd super 8 game or against a team who may have crept into the super 8s but be way off the stamdard."
I take your point mate, and there are example son either side of it be it fair or unfair, which isnt really the objective it is competitive sport after all.

On the opposite end you could have also have Tipp beating or Tyrone at home in a shock one of, beating the other qualifier and with Dublin already through playing a second string team in a game down in Thurlas, there are so many scenarios to be definitive on just one. While most counties dont want a second tier championship as being exposed to the best trams will bring them on as arguably it would in your example of Tipp.

You are right in will benefit if squads and provincial winners, but arguably creates an extra incentive of actually winning a provincial and making it meaningful again. I think it will create huge interest in other counties and games and people will watch and be exposed to more games as results elsewhere will effect your county and generally raise the profile and interest in the football championship.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/04/2018 17:51:02    2092651

Replying To TheUsername:  "I take your point mate, and there are example son either side of it be it fair or unfair, which isnt really the objective it is competitive sport after all.

On the opposite end you could have also have Tipp beating or Tyrone at home in a shock one of, beating the other qualifier and with Dublin already through playing a second string team in a game down in Thurlas, there are so many scenarios to be definitive on just one. While most counties dont want a second tier championship as being exposed to the best trams will bring them on as arguably it would in your example of Tipp.

You are right in will benefit if squads and provincial winners, but arguably creates an extra incentive of actually winning a provincial and making it meaningful again. I think it will create huge interest in other counties and games and people will watch and be exposed to more games as results elsewhere will effect your county and generally raise the profile and interest in the football championship."
Why can't ye play ye'r neutral game in Thurles? Since the rest of the country have to travel to Dublin for their neutral games?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/04/2018 20:32:46    2092670

Good news for big quality panels thanks GAA, the movie sucks by the way.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 12/04/2018 20:40:34    2092673

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why can't ye play ye'r neutral game in Thurles? Since the rest of the country have to travel to Dublin for their neutral games?"
We'd love to mate

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 12/04/2018 20:41:21    2092674

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why can't ye play ye'r neutral game in Thurles? Since the rest of the country have to travel to Dublin for their neutral games?"
I'd love that to happen....think the GAA money men will go for it???

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 12/04/2018 20:48:04    2092676

Very little has changed really in that regard. Dublin got a home quarterfinal before. All that's been added in 1 home and away for each team. It was a problem that has existed the wholesale time.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 12/04/2018 21:08:37    2092681

Replying To cavanman47:  "I still can't warm to the idea. In theory, a team can lose 3 championship games and still win the all ireland. For me, that goes against the whole premise of the all ireland championship."
The best team should win out. The flip side to your argument is that the team that wins it has had a longer harder fought road to glory. For instance Kerry will no longer be able to play 3 games against only Munster opponents to reach an All Ireland semi à la 2016.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 12/04/2018 21:12:00    2092684

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just on another point, it also safeguards against being in a province with a behemoth of a team like a Kerry and Dublin who pretty much have dominated their provinces every year, Tipp, Kildare, Clare, Cork, Meath and Westmeath all have a fighting chance and a reasonable expectation of making the later end of the championship regardless of results against a Kerry or Dublin."
It doesn't really change anything in that regard since the qualifiers up until the final 8 are exactly the same.

The qualifiers need to change in any follow on format.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 12/04/2018 21:13:43    2092685

I know Dublin keeps expanding out mate, but it will be a while before we get to Thurles to consider it a home game.

The Neller would be grand,.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/04/2018 21:17:45    2092688

The original idea for the super 8 was that it would bring big games out of Croke Park and into provincial venues, when it comes to Dublin you can't put a square peg into a round hole, there is no way Dublin can avoid playing a 2 games in Croke Park unless some other county agrees to play their neutral game away from Croke Park, here is 1 idea, Dublin v Ulster champions to be played in New York or London

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 12/04/2018 23:10:38    2092704

Packed provincial grounds will bring great life around the country. Much better to have 30,000 in Mchale park or Limerick than 50,000 in Croker. If you ask most Mayo fans they will tell you the match in Limerick against Kerry was one of the best atmosphere's at any match.

Re weaker counties having less of a chance in Super 8's. Yes and no. Yes they will have less of a chance to pull off a one off shock but it will give them a better chance to develop and the theory being they won't be a weaker team for too long.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 13/04/2018 09:42:56    2092754

Replying To riverboys:  "The original idea for the super 8 was that it would bring big games out of Croke Park and into provincial venues, when it comes to Dublin you can't put a square peg into a round hole, there is no way Dublin can avoid playing a 2 games in Croke Park unless some other county agrees to play their neutral game away from Croke Park, here is 1 idea, Dublin v Ulster champions to be played in New York or London"
Is it definite that Dublin will play two games in Croke Park? I haven't heard any confirmation of this (or confirmation that they won't either).

To my mind, it seems largely doable to have a level playing field in terms of home, away and neutral games for all teams concerned. For example, in last years championship, Dublin, Tyrone, Armagh and Monaghan were on one side of the draw. Would it not have been possible for Dublin to play away in Omagh, neutral in Clones / Cavan (v Armagh - between both counties for relative convenience to travelling fans) and home in Croke Park? I doubt anyone would have had much of a problem with that setup (bar, maybe, the bean counters).

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 13/04/2018 11:17:54    2092773

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-super-8-croke-park-156666?utm_content=buffer50339&utm_medium=Social+organic&utm_source=Twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer

Totally agree with Parkinson, ridiclious Dublin being given the advantage of two home games over the other 7 teams. Send them down to Thurles, PUC, Gaelic Grounds, all these stadiums can hold big crowds. If the price is some Dublin supporters not getting tickets so what? Plenty of supporters around the country never get near an AI ticket.

If ticket revenue and corporate box receipts is the GAA's justification for giving Dublin yet another advantage, than the principles of the GAA are as dead as Cusack himself.

Cop yourself on Croke Park

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/04/2018 13:00:38    2092815

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Is it definite that Dublin will play two games in Croke Park? I haven't heard any confirmation of this (or confirmation that they won't either).

To my mind, it seems largely doable to have a level playing field in terms of home, away and neutral games for all teams concerned. For example, in last years championship, Dublin, Tyrone, Armagh and Monaghan were on one side of the draw. Would it not have been possible for Dublin to play away in Omagh, neutral in Clones / Cavan (v Armagh - between both counties for relative convenience to travelling fans) and home in Croke Park? I doubt anyone would have had much of a problem with that setup (bar, maybe, the bean counters)."
Now that would be fair and hopefully that's the way it'l work out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/04/2018 13:09:13    2092818

Exactly Parnell Park game is the fair solution to be fair no one has said it won't be.

It shouldn't be up to Dublin to rescue the GAA financially.

It is a bit ironic though, everyone wants more money, but then everyone would enjoy a petty win about Dublin not playing in Croke Park.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/04/2018 13:51:13    2092836

It shouldn't be up to Dublin to rescue the GAA financially.

It's not a case of rescuing - it's just keeping your end of the bargain. The GAA strategically put most of their eggs in the Dublin basket over the last 15+ years knowing that when it all clicked together then they would get the return in their investment. Now is that time and boy aren't those in HQ Finance Dept fairly rubbing their hands. Seems the bigger picture doesn't come in to it though.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/04/2018 15:12:03    2092848