Calls to split Dublin

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "So...we split the football team, but not the hurling team...........rriigghhttt
And what happens as would be completely possible if they started meeting in the AIF??
What would Ewan McKenna and his cronies say then?
And Jack Off say they do split the Dubs and ye then get ye're act together and with ye're population ye could be next.....
Its a ridiculous idea, the logical conclusion to this is disbanding the IC scene and going all out with clubs
Forget it!

and just for the craic, say your from Dublin 12, but you live in Phibsboro, with the moth, but you still play with St James Gaels/Crumlin/Synge st etc....
Your living in the north side , your playing on the southside......
Who do you play for?"
There was a second hurling team competing called Fingal and not a word of protest or dissent about it remarkably, I suppose it goes to show the level of thinking towards hurling in the capitol, I'd say the hurlers could have five or six teams out and no one could give a monkeys but try it with the footballers and you risk a public flogging.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2017 20:30:43    2048267

Replying To iluvspuds:  "I've numerous misgivings about splitting Dublin, one that I never actually thought about until I read this thread was what happens with the hurlers? People only think of this in terms of the senior footballers but are people suggesting that there's 2 or possibly 3 Dublin football teams and only 1 hurling team?

Or do they suggest splitting the hurlers up too and thus ensuring the hurling renaissance in the capital is well and truly squashed before it ever takes hold?"
Look livespuds all their best young hurlers like Con, Keaney and several others all opt for football first anyway.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/09/2017 21:10:21    2048287

I dont believe O Rourke was specifically talking about spliting Dublin, he was (IMO) talking more about fielding a second team. You cant split Dublin GAA up its a really difficult thing to do. Fielding two teams is possible but the current Inter county structures dont allow for it and it couldnt happen at local level.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 19/09/2017 21:14:25    2048290

Arock I believe oRourke is upping the ante here. He sees all the Dubs moving to Meath. Like he has seen Meath people moving to Dublin. Only difference been the Dubs in Meath rear their kids as Dubs!!!
Which is disrespectful and disparaging. Same happens in Kildare and other places too. I don't want Dublin split but these counties have to awaken a bit of pride in themselves not to be taken for fools by providing club activity to local kids who sup port the neighbours! !!!

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 19/09/2017 21:36:29    2048303

I'd say in the Montrose car park on Sunday night the only splitting in two was going to be done by Ciaran Whelan on Colm O'Rourke!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 19/09/2017 21:48:30    2048314

Replying To arock:  "I dont believe O Rourke was specifically talking about spliting Dublin, he was (IMO) talking more about fielding a second team. You cant split Dublin GAA up its a really difficult thing to do. Fielding two teams is possible but the current Inter county structures dont allow for it and it couldnt happen at local level."
It's a nice idea in theory, but could you imagine Dublin fielding a good young team in the championship or league then when they are blooded bring them in to an A team. That surely only makes Dublin stronger. What if their are injuries, suspensions etc. Equally what if Dublin become unsuccessful again to they just revert back to one team etc.

The one thing that is contradictary to O'Roukes point is, has there be any other county that has given more of an oppurtuinity to new player or younger players then Dublin at the highest level? Look at the evolution of the team since 2011 - 2017. Surely that is the point.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/09/2017 21:58:45    2048322

Wouldn't take much heed of O'Rourke, splitting Dublin into 2, 4 or 20 may be the only way Meath will beat them, pay him better to throw his hat into the ring for the Meath manager job when it comes up next time around, very easy being the hurler on the ditch, every county wants to beat the best and by splitting counties won't bring much satisfaction, put a decent plan in place to bring up the standard of weaker counties within the next 10 years

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/09/2017 22:29:47    2048339

The idea should not be to split Dublin but to merge other counties. The all-Ireland should be a 12 team competition or perhaps 8. A super 8 consisting of merged counties consisting of enough playing subset of players to make it competitive. 1) Louth Meath Westmeath, 2) wicklow carlow laois and offaly, 3 Donegal Derry, 4 Kerry Cork, etc....... It's amazing how simple it would be to un bias what is currently an extremely biased competition. Something as simple as adding a quarter final to the all-ireland series has stopped Kerry march to a few titles every decade. Removing the population/ playing subset bias will bring an inevitable end to Dublins march to titles in future and therefore making it more competitive. To be honest the football was shocking until it was saved by an excellent final. The structures are so badly biased and skewed it's bordering on crazy. In fairness anyone looking in from outside would see that we run a crazy all ireland series which advantages stacked heavily in certain teams favor. Time to create a football championship for the future and be glad of what went before! The current system in on the road to failure. Change inevitable.

quicksand (Down) - Posts: 7 - 19/09/2017 23:23:22    2048369

Replying To salvador:  "Talk of splitting Dublin into three could never happen, unless of course splitting up other counties was on the agenda, obviously Cork would be split in half but also the other counties with huge population advantages over other counties like like Kildare, Meath and Galway would need to be looked at

Splitting Dublin would not address the massive population disparity between the lowest populated counties and the population superpowers like Meath,Kildare, Galway and Cork. Just because these counties who should be able to compete with the dubs can't its a problem never mind the massive advantages they have over the smaller counties."
Apart from Dublin I don't see splitting other counties being on the agenda for some time as Dublin's population is so much bigger than all others. If Dublin was split the next thing in this line could more likely be smaller populated counties fielding amalgamated teams in senior championship. I remember seeing a newspaper interview with Liam Muvilhill 10 or 15 years ago where he mentioned that he could see this eventually happening. I have also heard it suggested that an Ulster hurling team competing in the championship would promote hurling in Ulster (I'm guessing Antrim would hate this).
GAA competitions don't always stick to a rigid structure, I know Kerry for one have not stuck to a rigid traditional competition structure for their club championships, originally I think Tralee had 1 club which the county board insisted be divided into 3 separate clubs and junior/ intermediate club's in an area are allowed to field an amalgamated team (divisional teams I think they are called) in their senior club championship.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 19/09/2017 23:35:25    2048376

Replying To quicksand:  "The idea should not be to split Dublin but to merge other counties. The all-Ireland should be a 12 team competition or perhaps 8. A super 8 consisting of merged counties consisting of enough playing subset of players to make it competitive. 1) Louth Meath Westmeath, 2) wicklow carlow laois and offaly, 3 Donegal Derry, 4 Kerry Cork, etc....... It's amazing how simple it would be to un bias what is currently an extremely biased competition. Something as simple as adding a quarter final to the all-ireland series has stopped Kerry march to a few titles every decade. Removing the population/ playing subset bias will bring an inevitable end to Dublins march to titles in future and therefore making it more competitive. To be honest the football was shocking until it was saved by an excellent final. The structures are so badly biased and skewed it's bordering on crazy. In fairness anyone looking in from outside would see that we run a crazy all ireland series which advantages stacked heavily in certain teams favor. Time to create a football championship for the future and be glad of what went before! The current system in on the road to failure. Change inevitable."
Sure that's the answer. Ye can merge with Antrim for example. I'm sure the great GAA people of Down and Antrim will be only delighted to shout for the amalgamation safe in the knowledge that they'll soon be in the Super 8. Or will it be a Super 3 plus 5x 2s or a combination of actual 'counties' plus some amalgamations. They could rebrand it as the All Ireland inter-countyish football championship. Throw the whole pride in the county jersey ideal out the window, sure it was a bit old-fashioned anyway. Maybe get the GAA to let teams have 18 players for games against them big bad Dubs just to give everyone a chance. Sure why bother trying to get to their level when you can whinge and come up with a load of quick-fixes because it's just not fair.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 20/09/2017 01:33:11    2048393

Replying To theborderfox:  "Arock I believe oRourke is upping the ante here. He sees all the Dubs moving to Meath. Like he has seen Meath people moving to Dublin. Only difference been the Dubs in Meath rear their kids as Dubs!!!
Which is disrespectful and disparaging. Same happens in Kildare and other places too. I don't want Dublin split but these counties have to awaken a bit of pride in themselves not to be taken for fools by providing club activity to local kids who sup port the neighbours! !!!"
That's been happening for years in reverse in Dublin. Go to any GAA club in Dublin and you'll see kids in the jersey's of their parents' counties.

A load of Dubs have two or even three counties that they support! The Dubs are obviously number one but they'll always retain a fondness for their parents' county/counties.

The same thing should happen in Meath and Kildare etc. At the moment it probably looks worse than it is because Dublin are being successful whereas those two counties are struggling, although Kildare are improving.

Kids as they become teenagers should naturally gravitate towards their own county of origin. Maybe some won't but the vast majority will.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2017 08:27:55    2048413

I think it will do more harm than good but Colm O Rourke and Brolly seem to favour splitting the Dublin football team into 3 or 4, if Mayo had won would they still be for it?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 20/09/2017 10:09:33    2048442

Listen back to Off The Ball from yesterday evening, good discussion about all this in the first hour.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/09/2017 12:13:22    2048508

Replying To realdub:  "Listen back to Off The Ball from yesterday evening, good discussion about all this in the first hour."
Biggest worry was the comments by former GAA President Sean Kelly that the GAA needs a strong Dublin team because it has to compete with soccer and rugby, asked why Dublin get 7 times more funding than Cork even though they both have nearly the same amount of insured players that is club players, the response was the same. He wouldn't accept that the GAA have created a machine with Dublin GAA or that giving massive funding to 1 county creates a major disadvantage within Leinster and then nationally. Worryingly there appears to be an appetite within the top brass of the GAA for the machine to win a large amount of All Ireland titles and therefore build up the profile of the GAA in the capital, the question that has to be asked is how far will the GAA go for this plan to work? Will they continue to keep giving massive funding to the machine while ignoring the plight of their neighbours in Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow who should also have a large population boom? Will the GAA influence match officials to get the correct result? Do the GAA want counties outside of Dublin and Kerry to win All Ireland football titles? In my opinion the best period for the GAA was between 1988 and 2005, we has a large number of counties that won All Ireland titles from Cork, Meath, Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Armagh, since 2006 up to today the standard of teams is stronger the titles are played mainly by the top 5 or 6 consisting of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Cork (that was up to 2011), other counties feel they haven't a chance and is no coincidence that Dublin started getting massive funding 15 years ago and now at the top of the pile

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 20/09/2017 22:33:04    2048816

If they split Dublin then as a Dub I think they should force other counties to amalgamate.

North Dublin
South Dublin
Meath/Westmeath
Kildare/Offaly
Monaghan/Fermanagh
Mayo/Sligo/Leitrim
Cork/Waterford

Let's do that.

Maurice (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 20/09/2017 22:33:07    2048817

Replying To riverboys:  "Biggest worry was the comments by former GAA President Sean Kelly that the GAA needs a strong Dublin team because it has to compete with soccer and rugby, asked why Dublin get 7 times more funding than Cork even though they both have nearly the same amount of insured players that is club players, the response was the same. He wouldn't accept that the GAA have created a machine with Dublin GAA or that giving massive funding to 1 county creates a major disadvantage within Leinster and then nationally. Worryingly there appears to be an appetite within the top brass of the GAA for the machine to win a large amount of All Ireland titles and therefore build up the profile of the GAA in the capital, the question that has to be asked is how far will the GAA go for this plan to work? Will they continue to keep giving massive funding to the machine while ignoring the plight of their neighbours in Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow who should also have a large population boom? Will the GAA influence match officials to get the correct result? Do the GAA want counties outside of Dublin and Kerry to win All Ireland football titles? In my opinion the best period for the GAA was between 1988 and 2005, we has a large number of counties that won All Ireland titles from Cork, Meath, Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Armagh, since 2006 up to today the standard of teams is stronger the titles are played mainly by the top 5 or 6 consisting of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Cork (that was up to 2011), other counties feel they haven't a chance and is no coincidence that Dublin started getting massive funding 15 years ago and now at the top of the pile"
I did not realise it was that much of a difference (7 times as much as Cork). While that is far too much of a difference I would agree that the GAA has to make a bigger effort in Dublin than elsewhere as with their population Dublin has the most potential to grow participation rates in the games over anywhere else in the country (as Dublin have a greater population and traditionally many of these play/ interested in rugby and soccer over GAA).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 20/09/2017 23:50:11    2048840

Replying To lilywhite1:  "This issue has been flogged to death here and elsewhere. Dublin will not be split nor should it. Addressing the disparity in funding between Dublin and the rest, heavily promoting the game and employing more coaches particularly for schools, will go a long way towards improving the standards."
Yeah. Actually I think focusing on this nonsense of splitting Dublin is taking away from the real issue, which is the disparity in funding

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/09/2017 08:08:10    2048862

Replying To Richieq:  "There was a second hurling team competing called Fingal and not a word of protest or dissent about it remarkably, I suppose it goes to show the level of thinking towards hurling in the capitol, I'd say the hurlers could have five or six teams out and no one could give a monkeys but try it with the footballers and you risk a public flogging."
That is because if you were good enough you played for Dublin not Fingal which would not be the case if Dublin football was split up

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 21/09/2017 08:22:09    2048868

Having read through the post it just baffles me how people say to split up Dublin. There has been recent success but why punish a county for being successful? People bang on about population etc. The current population of Dublin is 1,345,402. Admittedly I do not have exact figures but a sizable portion of that are people not from Dublin or even Ireland or do not have any interest in GAA at all. As a result, spouting population as the sole reason is completely wrong. Yes we do have a large population playing GAA, but answer me this? How many rugby clubs are in Mayo, Kerry, Kildare, Meath and the likes? Dublin has in the region of 40 rugby clubs and god knows how many soccer clubs. Even the number of League of Ireland clubs can attract in the region of 6,000 spread over the city on any Friday night. We battle other sports like no other county has to contend with. Yes other counties have other sports of course but nothing like Dublin. We battle with other sports over the hearts of minds of young lads all over the city and county. Have we been lucky with funding? Of course we have but what we have been is clever with the money we've been given. Coaching, coaching, coaching, coaching.... That's the recipe for success. We targeted young lads north and south of the Liffey and we're reaping rewards.

The beauty of Dublin GAA is that there are lads from stereotypical affluent areas such as Clontarf, Monkstown, Dalkey playing alongside stereotypical working class suburbs such as Ballymun and Clondalkin. You just don't get that with the likes of Leinster Rugby and to split a team purely because they've had an amazing 7 years is such a shame and is purely jealously from people calling for it.

People might laugh but a website can tell a lot about a county board and whether they're marketing the games properly or live in the year 2017. Look at http://offaly.gaa.ie/ http://www.wexfordgaa.ie/

They're all over the shop. Other counties ---- Get your house in order like Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone. Coach kids, market your players, visit schools and you'll get your rewards. All the recent finals involving Dublin have been won by the smallest of margins. Did AIG and GAA funding help Rock score the winning point and did lack of funding stop Cillian hitting his over?

Maurice (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 21/09/2017 09:58:27    2048890

I can understand peoples frustration when they see Dublin doing so well. The solution however in splitting Dublin really is a non-runner. What they should be talking about is giving better funding to the less successful counties, putting coaching structures in place for younger kids and helping them to develop as players.It has about as much merit as amalgamating the less successful teams when you talk about splitting Dublin.
What do you get if you split Dublin ? You go back to the recent past when Kerry were winning every couple of years with the odd one going elsewhere without addressing the problem for the less successful counties. An Irish solution to an Irish problem and simply daft.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/09/2017 11:13:22    2048931