Kerry v Mayo

Replying To Mayfair:  "Can't see two great semis
Dubs will wallop Tyrone and I'd be very surprised if Kerry don't dispatch Mayo easily. Look at quality of who Tyrone and Mayo have beaten so far, and Mayo lost to Galway."
Mayo also lost to Galway last year and it didn't prevent them taking Dublin to a replay in the final. What happens in May matters little in August or September.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 651 - 07/08/2017 23:58:39    2030721

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think it will be critical for Kerry mate, if you don't foul and don't give COC opportunities I think Mayo will struggle for scores and Kerry would have one foot in the final.

Personally I think Mayo will go into this game differently then today, I think they will set up very defensively as they did against Dublin as they will worry about your forward line and suck up that space and suffocate. Think they will play with physicality and big hits and hope for frees for COC or actively seek them and whatever else they can pop off will win the day.

I'm expecting a bruising game."
You're correct username,
O'Connors frees are pure oxygen for Mayo and I'm excited to see if fitzmaurice has solved our defensive conundrum ,
I'm looking forward to this game come what may , we're either good enough or we're not.

At the same time I'd hate to see us cut off our noses to spite our faces by going ultra defensive , we'd be better off leaving 3 up front.

I've seen Mayo 3 times this year against our selves in the league against cork 2 weeks ago and the rossies last week and they are physically massive and fast and they hit hard, if we beat them it'll be hard earned.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2017 00:07:05    2030724

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "Made to look that way by an outstanding Mayo side, we have played nobody on the stratosphere as Mayo and it's hard to know how we will react when facing such difficult opposition"
Exactly and that is the difference between those two teams at this level, tough on Roscommon and no offence meant to them. This is Mayo's best ever side, they're on their last legs and will probably go through some kind of transition in the next couple of years.
But they're a very capable proud team, they've been here a lot in the last decade or so. Who knows, maybe there's a kick!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 08/08/2017 00:15:37    2030726

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mayo have to be massive favourites after demolishing a division 1 team by 22 points.

We've beaten 3 div 2 teams by 6 , 11, and 8 points.

Mayo are battle hardened and have ironed out any kinks , and we haven't a clue where we stand at the minute, Mayo by 5 I'd say but I hope I'm wrong."
Yerra yerra

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 08/08/2017 08:29:52    2030768

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "Made to look that way by an outstanding Mayo side, we have played nobody on the stratosphere as Mayo and it's hard to know how we will react when facing such difficult opposition"
Yerra...Kerry demolished Cork. Mayo limped to victory against Cork after extra time. Some of the bull from Kerry lads on here. The next few weeks the papers and airwaves will be filled with Kerry men extolling the virtues of this fantastic, battle hardened and experienced Mayo team who must be favourites against an untested Kerry team who are "still in transition really". Give it a rest. Nobody believes a word at this stage, save yerselves the hassle

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/08/2017 08:57:43    2030774

Was listening to John Evans on Newstalk on the drive home yesterday...he was reading out of the script.

I don't think Mayo can go into this game with revenge for Limerick on our minds as that can lead to chaos. The focus should be about improving on the Roscommon game and coming up with a plan for the high balls that are going to be sent in on our full back line.

The game will be close with Kerry favourites.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 08/08/2017 10:34:53    2030847

Replying To yew_tree:  "Was listening to John Evans on Newstalk on the drive home yesterday...he was reading out of the script.

I don't think Mayo can go into this game with revenge for Limerick on our minds as that can lead to chaos. The focus should be about improving on the Roscommon game and coming up with a plan for the high balls that are going to be sent in on our full back line.

The game will be close with Kerry favourites."
I think the Kerry strategy is mate is that they use starbar as the focal point and funnel some of the play centrally there to draw in the corner backs and leave room for Geaney and JOD.

I think if you went a double sweeper even at the expense of a forward and the corner backs kept their discipline and are touch tight it would go a long way to dictating the result. The transition is key, with one of the best half back lines in the game if they can be triggered Mayo have the running game to hurt, its difficult to stop in full flow and the very least you will draw a free The difficulty may be the high press which the Kerry half forward line do well, its something Dublin struggled with in the league final and to be be honest won the day for Kerry, that said there is an out ball in AOS and Mayo have some decent fielders so may not be as much as an issue as it was for Dublin.

There are some fascinating match ups across the lines here and will be interesting to see will the lack of games leave Kerry under cooked or well prepared equally will Mayo be zapped or battle hardened, really looking forward to it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 08/08/2017 11:30:16    2030882

Replying To realdub:  "Exactly and that is the difference between those two teams at this level, tough on Roscommon and no offence meant to them. This is Mayo's best ever side, they're on their last legs and will probably go through some kind of transition in the next couple of years.
But they're a very capable proud team, they've been here a lot in the last decade or so. Who knows, maybe there's a kick!"
Is it fair to say that Mayo are at their most dangerous in a semifinal compared to a final?

Mayo won't carry the same psychological baggage into a semifinal that they'd say carry into a final so that's another thing they got going for them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2017 11:55:16    2030905

The usual dishonesty reigns from the Kerry support

The most dishonest sporting people in Ireland by quite a distance

Despite all their success... still have to play the poor mouth!

Kerry by 8..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 08/08/2017 12:54:07    2030961

Kerry have better forwards and will match Mayo for pace and power everywhere else on the pitch, Mayo done themselves no favours with that massive scoreline yesterday,it will only start the hype machine in Mayo, it won't matter to Kerry, they know how good they are, the other semi will be tighter but I expect Dublin to win it.
So that's my prediction, Dublin v Kerry final and Kerry to win Sam.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 08/08/2017 14:48:28    2031063

Traditionally Mayo thrash their opponents in the quarter finals- and lose either the semi or final. Will it be different this time? I hope so. I think though that Mayo will need 2 goals to do it. And they banged in 4 against Rossies. They should really bang in the 3 or 4 goals in the semi final or final. Anyway good luck this year. Maigh Eo abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 08/08/2017 15:13:19    2031081

Replying To jimbodub:  "The usual dishonesty reigns from the Kerry support

Kerry by 8.."
We just can't pull off ye'r west Brit arrogance Jim.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2017 15:16:47    2031083

Kerry by 8.."
Go back to the Dublin v Tyrone thread like a good man, you wont be missed I asdure you.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/08/2017 15:32:31    2031103

Kerry by 8.."
Do you copy and paste the exact same post a few times a day, everytime i log on here I see the same insulting language from you towards Kerry.

Bit hyprocritical talking about dishonesty when you back every Dublin related incident involved in anything controversial

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/08/2017 15:40:57    2031110

Gas isn't it

Numerous posters from right across the country have highlighted Kerry posters dishonesty on this thread

Yet they choose to attack a Dub - who's only saying the same thing

Yerra = dishonest.

Decades of yerra = decades of dishonesty.

Throw all the stones ye want lads :)

The state of yiz... and glad to see numerous posters highlight the cut of yiz

Keep it up!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 08/08/2017 15:59:27    2031125

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We just can't pull off ye'r west Brit arrogance Jim."
;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/08/2017 16:01:30    2031127

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gas isn't it

Numerous posters from right across the country have highlighted Kerry posters dishonesty on this thread

Yerra = dishonest.

Keep it up!"
Poor Jimbob he just wants to be loved, precious crater :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/08/2017 16:08:27    2031131

Yerra = dishonest.

Keep it up!"
We have you rattled Jim :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2017 16:20:07    2031142

Yerra = dishonest.

Keep it up!"
And they all show up at the same time. Funny that!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 08/08/2017 16:20:24    2031143

Yerra = dishonest.

Keep it up!"
Is it really worth getting so worked up about. Describing it as 'Dishonest' is being a tad melodramatic. I don't think they'll be adding Cute Hoorism as the 8th deadly sin anytime soon

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 08/08/2017 16:27:35    2031147